Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: longball on March 04, 2009, 02:48:25 PM

Title: business closures/job struggles formerly 'its the waiting that is hell'
Post by: longball on March 04, 2009, 02:48:25 PM
Ive applied for about 15 jobs in the last month. Ive heard back from 2 of them so far. Everyone is saying it could take up to a month before u hear back. Money is very tight at the mo and another lock of weeks with nothing will be hell. anyone else experiencing this at the minute?
Title: Re: Its the waiting that is hell
Post by: illdecide on March 04, 2009, 02:59:15 PM
Quote from: full back on March 04, 2009, 02:56:50 PM
Can someone explain what a 90 day redundancy risk is?

Yeah..it means your fooked saan. And the way my jobs going i could be the same as we just lost a massive job in Newry
Post by: longball on March 04, 2009, 03:08:25 PM
we were all put on protected notice meaning we could be paid off at any time! currently we are layed off on 100pound a week we could be called back in at any stage but have been advised to seek alternative employment. There is nothing out there and any job there is they is 100+ people in for it. Ive had to apply for jobs over an hour away from where im living
Post by: one for the road on March 04, 2009, 03:18:26 PM
LB been in the same position myself. Had my hours cut back but the bills still keep rolling in. Have applied for 20+ jobs, had 2 interviews but no luck so far. In general i havent heard back for positions that I am more than qualified for, its frustrating as hell
Post by: longball on March 04, 2009, 03:22:33 PM
One for the road- ive applied for a number of positions that im over qualifed for- im an accounting technician and part qualifed chartered accountant- and i haven't heard back from anythin. I changed jobs from an accountants to a manufacturing firm 18 months ago when leaving the accountants i had my pick of jobs now its very hard to even get an interview. Our post doesnt come to 2.30 so waiting around all morning sucks as well.

This has been my day for last few weeks:

9AM Get up, breakfast brush teeth, clean self etc

(the following is whilst on Internet on GAAboard, hotmail and a number of job sites)
10AM: Scrubs on Paramount
11AM: King Of Queens on Paramount
12NOON: Usually make somethin to eat
12.40PM: Scrubs is on E4
13.40PM: Play X Box
14.30PM: Post comes fingers crossed- NOTHING THERE
15.00PM: Woman working in school finishes so usually spend afternoon with her.
(a lot of days il do weights, go for run, cycle etc just to break up this pattern)
Post by: illdecide on March 04, 2009, 03:28:23 PM
F**k as much as your job does your head in i would not like to be on the dole as it's mad and no money...
Post by: full back on March 04, 2009, 03:29:07 PM
Quote from: longball on March 04, 2009, 03:22:33 PM

(the following is whilst on Internet on GAAboard, hotmail and a number of job sites)
(a lot of days il do weights, go for run, cycle etc just to break up this pattern)

What about Jerry Kyle?
Post by: Donagh on March 04, 2009, 03:31:11 PM
On the flip side I've been pulling 70 and 80 hours weeks without overtime for the past two months because we've a moratorium on new staff and had 5 leave since November without being replaced. Fecking wrecked, but suppose it's better than being on the dole...
Post by: Hereiam on March 04, 2009, 03:32:19 PM
Does anyone see how this is going to be turned around. Not looking to hot at the minute.
Post by: longball on March 04, 2009, 03:34:55 PM
Quote from: full back on March 04, 2009, 03:29:07 PM

What about Jerry Kyle?

Cant stand it... sorry would be all right if u didnt have sky but we do so there ya go
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 04, 2009, 03:36:43 PM
One for the road- ive applied for a number of positions that im over qualifed for- im an accounting technician and part qualifed chartered accountant- and i haven't heard back from anythin. I changed jobs from an accountants to a manufacturing firm 18 months ago when leaving the accountants i had my pick of jobs now its very hard to even get an interview. Our post doesnt come to 2.30 so waiting around all morning sucks as well.

No harm to you Longball, but get off your hole and stop waiting for the post, knock on doors, ring people, pester recruitment agencies.  If you're not in theior faces they will not do anything for you.
Post by: thebigfella on March 04, 2009, 03:53:06 PM
Well I got into work this morning and got told by our head buck cat in the states I was taking a salary cut effective from March. Little does he know their are employment laws in Europe that prevent him from sending a company wide email out declaring this without consulting me and everyone else  >:(

Post by: one for the road on March 04, 2009, 04:12:56 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 04, 2009, 03:36:43 PM

No harm to you Longball, but get off your hole and stop waiting for the post, knock on doors, ring people, pester recruitment agencies.  If you're not in theior faces they will not do anything for you.

Recruitment agencies are a pack of useless wh*res you will ever come across in your life.

Im working in the accounts end of things as well and there is very little about unless you are a qualified accountant (which im not)  >:( get email alerts everyday abnout jobs and id say 70% or more are looking for qualified accountants

LB you in the north or south of the border?
Post by: longball on March 04, 2009, 04:13:35 PM

Im involved with a number of different agencies Hays, brightwater and rutledge. Was at interviews for all them. Again its just the waiting game. Been on the phone to places but theres nothing out there. Anybody notice any Accountancy or Office Work going in Northern Ireland let me know.

Im constantly on jobcentre online and think ive applied for every job that im even near suitable for. Would do anythin at the min thou doesnt have to be an office job.
Post by: one for the road on March 04, 2009, 04:16:40 PM
register with nijobs.com they send you daily alerts of jobs your interested in. Your another fecker that il be competing against now  8)
Post by: longball on March 04, 2009, 04:18:11 PM
Quote from: one for the road on March 04, 2009, 04:12:56 PM

Recruitment agencies are a pack of useless wh*res you will ever come across in your life.

Im working in the accounts end of things as well and there is very little about unless you are a qualified accountant (which im not)  >:( get email alerts everyday abnout jobs and id say 70% or more are looking for qualified accountants

LB you in the north or south of the border?

Up North but living near the border so would cross it if needs be. Im not chartered either but qualified accounting technician. Applied for a couple of Payroll jobs which i would prob be over qualified for but at the min i dont care. Getting job alerts as well everything chartered. No harm to anyone who works in a recruitment agency but have to agree with onefortheroad they are not proving to be much use. But again cant see it being their fault there not much out there.

However on these job websites I think recruitment agencies like Hays just make up poisitons and advertise them so that they get ur details cause ive applied for 'jobs' and whenever they have rang me back there was no mention of the position i applied for they mentioned other positions if u no what i mean.
Post by: longball on March 04, 2009, 04:19:38 PM
Quote from: one for the road on March 04, 2009, 04:16:40 PM
register with nijobs.com they send you daily alerts of jobs your interested in. Your another fecker that il be competing against now  8)

Already done this jobcentreonline is good enough but again as stated in my earlier post its up to a month before closing dates for most of these jobs so it takes a rite wile to hear anything back. I see abbey bank in Omagh need workers gonna apply here
Post by: one for the road on March 04, 2009, 04:24:00 PM
Quote from: longball on March 04, 2009, 04:18:11 PM

Up North but living near the border so would cross it if needs be. Im not chartered either but qualified accounting technician. Applied for a couple of Payroll jobs which i would prob be over qualified for but at the min i dont care. Getting job alerts as well everything chartered. No harm to anyone who works in a recruitment agency but have to agree with onefortheroad they are not proving to be much use. But again cant see it being their fault there not much out there.

However on these job websites I think recruitment agencies like Hays just make up poisitons and advertise them so that they get ur details cause ive applied for 'jobs' and whenever they have rang me back there was no mention of the position i applied for they mentioned other positions if u no what i mean.

either that or that the position has been filled.

you may take up running or something. daytime tv would drive you mad in the head
Post by: longball on March 04, 2009, 04:26:54 PM
Quote from: one for the road on March 04, 2009, 04:24:00 PM
Quote from: longball on March 04, 2009, 04:18:11 PM

either that or that the position has been filled.

you may take up running or something. daytime tv would drive you mad in the head

I do weights or running during the day just to get out of the house. I cycled 8 mile the other day.....very hard to know what to be at.... anybody with any money making schemes?
Post by: one for the road on March 04, 2009, 04:30:07 PM
sell the other half  :D
Post by: Puckoon on March 04, 2009, 04:31:05 PM
I thought you'd been a bad boy with a good catholic girl when I read this title.

No wait, that would be youngfella.
Post by: one for the road on March 04, 2009, 04:35:15 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 04, 2009, 04:31:05 PM
I thought you'd been a bad boy with a good catholic girl when I read this title.

No wait, that would be youngfella.

youngfella is due a bit of controversy
Post by: Mario on March 04, 2009, 04:39:32 PM
Longball, your search will not have been made any easier following KPMGs recent announcement. They are laying off 200 people, most of them high level staff or recently qualified chartered accountants.
Post by: illdecide on March 04, 2009, 04:48:21 PM
Full Back i wouldn't say your fooked but i think what they're telling you is they can let you go at anytime they feel fit as they have put you guys on a notice. It's their way of saying we will let guys go, but when is up to them. They also know everyone will work like hoors so that when there is payoffs that it is some lazy cnut and not them
Post by: lfdown2 on March 04, 2009, 04:56:35 PM
Quote from: full back on March 04, 2009, 04:55:03 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 04, 2009, 04:48:21 PM
Full Back i wouldn't say your fooked but i think what they're telling you is they can let you go at anytime they feel fit as they have put you guys on a notice. It's their way of saying we will let guys go, but when is up to them. They also know everyone will work like hoors so that when there is payoffs that it is some lazy cnut and not them

Aye, just heard they are going to make major moves in the company in a matter of days/weeks
But, and I quote, "We have not decided what criteria we will be using regarding staff redundancies yet"
FFS  ::)

can ye sleep with the boss?
Post by: thejuice on March 04, 2009, 05:01:36 PM
Here's something to cheer you up! (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GLCJEYLIBQY)
Post by: SidelineKick on March 04, 2009, 05:12:04 PM
Quote from: full back on March 04, 2009, 05:09:25 PM
Quote from: lfdown2 on March 04, 2009, 04:56:35 PM
Quote from: full back on March 04, 2009, 04:55:03 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 04, 2009, 04:48:21 PM

Aye, just heard they are going to make major moves in the company in a matter of days/weeks
But, and I quote, "We have not decided what criteria we will be using regarding staff redundancies yet"
FFS  ::)

can ye sleep with the boss?

I reckon I could, but she would make Monica from Shameless look like Cheryl Cole
Dont know if would do any good either as she would probably suck me in & blow me out in bubbles 8)

What are you waiting for?!
Post by: full back on March 04, 2009, 05:17:34 PM
Selective quoting sk, selective quoting  :D
Post by: SidelineKick on March 04, 2009, 05:20:39 PM
Quote from: full back on March 04, 2009, 05:17:34 PM

Oops! Didn't realise I had done that  :D ;)
Post by: muppet on March 04, 2009, 05:23:36 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on March 04, 2009, 05:20:39 PM

Premature problems?
Post by: SidelineKick on March 04, 2009, 05:24:42 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 04, 2009, 05:23:36 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on March 04, 2009, 05:20:39 PM

Premature problems?

:-X
Post by: Puckoon on March 04, 2009, 05:25:25 PM
For fucks sake fellas - the boards going down the tubes, Fullback is on the brink of the pink slip and all you boys can do is make jokes?

Ask not what your board can do for you, but what you can do for your board.

Post by: full back on March 04, 2009, 05:29:21 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 04, 2009, 05:25:25 PM
For f**ks sake fellas - the boards going down the tubes, Fullback is on the brink of the pink slip and all you boys can do is make jokes?

Cheers Puck
Them other fcukers dont give a flying fcuk, the bunch of fcuks
Post by: Puckoon on March 04, 2009, 05:30:06 PM
Back to your original question concerning how they decide the layoffs...

I hope its not based on gaaboard posting.
Post by: SidelineKick on March 04, 2009, 05:32:09 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 04, 2009, 05:25:25 PM
For f**ks sake fellas - the boards going down the tubes, Fullback is on the brink of the pink slip and all you boys can do is make jokes?

True, fair point Puck.

FB whats the likelihood of you getting bad news? Cut pay? Cut hours? Cut completely?
Post by: illdecide on March 04, 2009, 05:32:49 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 04, 2009, 05:30:06 PM
Back to your original question concerning how they decide the layoffs...

:D Me neither
Post by: Eoghan Mag on March 04, 2009, 05:33:07 PM
Forget about what you've trained for up to now Full back. Go do a training course and change direction.

I'm in a strange boat I've been head-hunted to go back to work next week and I'll be doing a job I've never done before, but you can't buy the experience I've built up in the job over the years! In all my time in the job only one lad has ever been sacked and no-one has ever been laid off. People cannot stick the pace (or the place) and leave of their own accord. You have to beg people to stay!
Post by: Puckoon on March 04, 2009, 05:44:07 PM
Repossessions.
Post by: full back on March 04, 2009, 05:45:11 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 04, 2009, 05:30:06 PM

Hope not, my posts have slipped badly recently :-[
Post by: Eoghan Mag on March 04, 2009, 05:50:46 PM
Do a training course to train people!
Post by: The Iceman on March 04, 2009, 06:12:50 PM
I try very hard not to read the papers or watch the news and remain positive about everything in the midst of a recession.
I was always of the opinion that if you want to work you will have a job - no matter what it means doing.
But it is easy to say that when my job is safe and I am not in the predicament facing a lot of posters on the board.

It is scary how hard this has hit and how fast it is snowballing.  I am sure there are a lot of contacts and networking opportunities on this board itself - I know a lot of it would mean revealing identities but maybe if people knew of jobs going and could post up opportunities, offer recommendations, point people in the right direction etc. I suppose any kind of help is better than none.......
Post by: DrinkingHarp on March 04, 2009, 06:53:48 PM
Just turned down as a delivery driver (delivering groceries) for a part time job.  :o

Seems I was over qualified to drive a truck and carry three sacks of groceries to someones front door.  ::)

Looks like a fast food or retail job to help me pay for school, although the one store just built has 250 jobs and over 5,000 applicants.

Post by: erne bhoy on March 04, 2009, 07:12:25 PM
I'm not even joking when I say this but if you simply must have a job then asda in enniskillen is the place to go. There is literally an army of employees, couple of mates have picked up jobs there in the past couple of weeks, £6.50 an hour I believe, so there you go. Jobs like nothing normal, for the record it's actually the fifth largest grossing walmart (yes walmart ) in the world. Thousands of crazy southern cnuts coming up and buying whatever they can carry lol
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 04, 2009, 07:13:57 PM
Quote from: Donagh on March 04, 2009, 03:31:11 PM
On the flip side I've been pulling 70 and 80 hours weeks without overtime for the past two months because we've a moratorium on new staff and had 5 leave since November without being replaced. Fecking wrecked, but suppose it's better than being on the dole...

That's the way I'm going too, as you say though, rather that than sitting in the house  :(
Post by: longball on March 04, 2009, 07:14:50 PM
Quote from: erne bhoy on March 04, 2009, 07:12:25 PM
I'm not even joking when I say this but if you simply must have a job then asda in enniskillen is the place to go. There is literally an army of employees, couple of mates have picked up jobs there in the past couple of weeks, £6.50 an hour I believe, so there you go. Jobs like nothing normal, for the record it's actually the fifth largest grossing walmart (yes walmart ) in the world. Thousands of crazy southern cnuts coming up and buying whatever they can carry lol

Gonna apply here in the morning!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on March 04, 2009, 07:28:56 PM
Tough break lads I hope it works out for ye all..

I was talking to a Plumber lately who told me he had just landed a big contract,he went to the bank and asked for 20k as a short term loan to buy materials for the job and hire a couple of guys a for a while until he started getting paid from said job,the bank refused him the money and he couldn't take the contract..

He never missed a payment on any loan he has ever got off the bank and he could given two fellas who were on the dole work for 8 months and pay back the loan in a even shorter time but now he is at home on the dole himself because he couldn't raise the finance to start the job..

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 04, 2009, 07:42:38 PM
Quote from: longball on March 04, 2009, 07:14:50 PM
Quote from: erne bhoy on March 04, 2009, 07:12:25 PM

Gonna apply here in the morning!

Could be something similar in the Asda in Strabane too longball, it's not far off Enniskillen I believe in either turnover or customer throughput.

It's dire out there at the minute indeed, with all strata of (ex-)employees affected, and the really scary aspect is that any of the economists or such who know anything about it say that there's a long way to go yet, downwards.
Post by: muppet on March 04, 2009, 07:45:04 PM
Reading through this thread I hadn't realised so many posters were in bother.

Hopefully things will turn around quickly for everyone.

TRLL I think your mate needs to name and shame the bank and I mean the actual Branch. Contact a good journo or even a good politican if there is one. Richard Bruton maybe.
Post by: longball on March 04, 2009, 08:16:31 PM
To be honest Muppet ive been seeking work from the start of Feb but to be honest its really only hit me this week first few weeks i was so optmistic thinking id find a job no problem but now im really starting to worry. Have recently started a house as well just getting foundations in to keep the site but thats even gonna be a struggle. Fear ive applied for an Accountancy job in Strabane so hopefully hear back from that in next few days.
Hopefully everyone else gets sorted, the world is fu*ked i duno what to be at. Seriously i asked earlier and no-one seemed to respond but any money making schemes out there? Willing to deliver 'packages'  ;) if needs be lol
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on March 04, 2009, 08:40:30 PM
Longball you could always join the british army.

just sayin  ???

(waits for the barrage of abuse to start)  :D
Post by: longball on March 04, 2009, 08:51:40 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on March 04, 2009, 08:40:30 PM

just sayin  ???

Was looking at the PSNI website earlier there to see if there was any administrative roles going.
Post by: Pangurban on March 05, 2009, 12:10:23 AM
While it is sad to see so many people in desperate situations being used and abused by employers and the system generally, i cant help noting that some of the people posting on this thread, were very critical and patronising towards those who advocated the need for strong trade unions or professional bodies to uphold and defend workers rights. I was just wondering if any of you are now having second thoughts on this subject.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on March 05, 2009, 04:58:17 AM
Quote from: Pangurban on March 05, 2009, 12:10:23 AM
While it is sad to see so many people in desperate situations being used and abused by employers and the system generally, i cant help noting that some of the people posting on this thread, were very critical and patronising towards those who advocated the need for strong trade unions or professional bodies to uphold and defend workers rights. I was just wondering if any of you are now having second thoughts on this subject.

Pangurban,

I can see the positives and minuses for unions (use to belong to the Iron Workers), but in this economy a union can only do so much. If the work is not there they (union) will not be able to manufacture jobs for their industry. Unions are only going to really help you when there are plenty of jobs about and help with bene's, pay and hours.

Until this recession/depression ends the unions are going to loose a lot of members and their strangle hold on employers. If you have been out of work for a long spell and a company offers you a non-union job, at less money that will feed your family and keep a roof over their heads you would jump at it. So I see a lot companies going non-union to keep costs down and provide work for employees,
this will be more so in the trade unions.

Post by: longball on March 05, 2009, 09:56:38 AM
My job search update:

So far this morning I have applied for 6 jobs taking my total jobs applied for in last 3 weeks to 23. went and got the Belfast telegraph this morning and no jobs in it!! went through Irish news there was well. How is everyone else getting on in their quest to get a job. Full Back anymore news on ur situation?
Post by: Minder on March 05, 2009, 10:01:05 AM
Anything good on Paramount at the minute LongBall?
Post by: longball on March 05, 2009, 10:03:14 AM
Everybody hates chris is just over... not a bad show couple of cheap laughs during it. scrubs has just started now..... Here wile im on this you know on Sky during the day u have to have a pin to watch the films... where do i get this pin number?
Post by: SidelineKick on March 05, 2009, 10:15:37 AM
I think its the last 4 digits on your sky card. I THINK.
Post by: longball on March 05, 2009, 10:28:29 AM
Quote from: full back on March 05, 2009, 10:21:52 AM
Quote from: longball on March 05, 2009, 09:56:38 AM
Full Back anymore news on ur situation?

Not yet, bit like a wake in here at the minute
Loads of people sitting around whispering to each other
Women bitching like fcuk about who should/shouldnt go
The top table in & out of meetings. Everytime they walk through the door you can see people trying to read their facial expression to see if anything has happened yet
And full back sitting here wondering who the fcuk told the IN that John Mac was coming back & if its right or not

Hate to say it FB but thats the way our place was before we all got layed off.... lasted about a week before the axe fell..... worst feeling in the world hi... people who are usually good craic are moping around and looking depressed.... anyone who tells u money doesnt make u happy is full of sh1te.... in our place first week 20 paid off (sacked) 20 layed off for a month (told to stay at home but on 100 a week thats me). Then after that month 14 of that 20 sacked and 6 of us still at home on the 100 a week.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 05, 2009, 10:33:30 AM
Full Back what do you do? Where are you based?
Post by: longball on March 05, 2009, 10:37:00 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 05, 2009, 10:33:30 AM
Full Back what do you do? Where are you based?

U should be ok thou Full Back is a hard position to fill  :D
Post by: one for the road on March 05, 2009, 10:49:01 AM
got a phone call yesterday evening about a job interview in the morning so have to hunt out the lucky socks this evening.

LB if you have lasted tll now then there might be a bit of hope for you.

Great episode of scrubs on now
Post by: longball on March 05, 2009, 10:51:40 AM
Quote from: one for the road on March 05, 2009, 10:49:01 AM
got a phone call yesterday evening about a job interview in the morning so have to hunt out the lucky socks this evening.

LB if you have lasted tll now then there might be a bit of hope for you.

Great episode of scrubs on now

Yea i like Ryan Reynolds as an actor anyway.. did u ever c two guys, a gril and a pizze place very funny....

All the best in the job interview hi

If i started to get interviews id be happy as i said above its the waiting that is hell
Post by: its me again on March 05, 2009, 12:01:09 PM
longball did you not say on another thread that you lived on a farm??

i no anytime work is slack with me or i have time i be straight out to the farm

they say the best thing to do when out of work is to keep as active and focused as possible and not to fall into the trap of daytime tv etc.....

just a thought
Post by: longball on March 05, 2009, 12:10:23 PM
Quote from: its me again on March 05, 2009, 12:01:09 PM
longball did you not say on another thread that you lived on a farm??

i no anytime work is slack with me or i have time i be straight out to the farm

they say the best thing to do when out of work is to keep as active and focused as possible and not to fall into the trap of daytime tv etc.....

just a thought

Its my dads farm just lock of cows but besides morning feeding theres not much else to do. been doing bit of weights and running as well as footie training a couple of nights a week. Foundations of my house are being dug out this week so i'll be labouring next week if i have no job interviews. One for the Road- Whats the job interview for?
Post by: The Iceman on March 05, 2009, 04:30:53 PM
Quote from: longball on March 05, 2009, 12:10:23 PM

Its my dads farm just lock of cows but besides morning feeding theres not much else to do. been doing bit of weights and running as well as footie training a couple of nights a week. Foundations of my house are being dug out this week so i'll be labouring next week if i have no job interviews. One for the Road- Whats the job interview for?

Theres always something to do about a farm - if you could be bothered doing it......
Keep busy man
Post by: longball on March 05, 2009, 04:33:43 PM
Damn post brought no news today either. I no its not his fault but in a strange way im starting to hate our postman.

(http://www.project-me.com/images/postman.gif)
Post by: ardmhachaabu on March 05, 2009, 04:40:29 PM
Quote from: full back on March 05, 2009, 10:21:52 AM
Quote from: longball on March 05, 2009, 09:56:38 AM
Full Back anymore news on ur situation?

Not yet, bit like a wake in here at the minute
Loads of people sitting around whispering to each other
Women bitching like fcuk about who should/shouldnt go
The top table in & out of meetings. Everytime they walk through the door you can see people trying to read their facial expression to see if anything has happened yet
And full back sitting here wondering who the fcuk told the IN that John Mac was coming back & if its right or not:D
Good to see you have your priorities straight  :D
Post by: bingobus on March 05, 2009, 04:59:23 PM
Longball,

Tough times but hope its doesn't last.

Have you thought of setting up as bookkeeper? I work in practice and the lack of book-keepers with any kind of knowledge is shocking. Many small business can do with them on a part-time basis and alot of accountancy firms have turned their noses up this work (in the past anyway) as it was messy work and to be done right you need to be at the persons place of business on regular time.

Can easily be set up for your basic VAT, Payroll etc. Word of mouth and local advertising is golden in this area. You'd be surprised who needs one.
Post by: erne bhoy on March 05, 2009, 06:04:35 PM
It's all about supply and demand gentlemen, and my keen Market instincts sense a large gap in the male prostitution field. Longball, get yourself some highheel shoes, I suggest you take up street walking.
On the plus side it's a chanceto get out of the house for some excersise in more ways than one and also a great opportunity to meet new people...
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on March 05, 2009, 06:40:53 PM
Quote from: erne bhoy on March 05, 2009, 06:04:35 PM
It's all about supply and demand gentlemen, and my keen Market instincts sense a large gap in the male prostitution field. Longball, get yourself some highheel shoes, I suggest you take up street walking.
On the plus side it's a chanceto get out of the house for some excersise in more ways than one and also a great opportunity to meet new people...

Maybe I am wrong, but using this thread for immature jokes pisses me off.  LongBall and alot of other posters are under severe pressure at the moment.  With things seeming ever more desperate they turn to the board for some help.  I'm sure they don't want to read that dung.

Or maybe I'm out of order?
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 05, 2009, 06:41:58 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 04, 2009, 07:13:57 PM
Quote from: Donagh on March 04, 2009, 03:31:11 PM

That's the way I'm going too, as you say though, rather that than sitting in the house  :(

Looks like I don't have this problem anymore, lost work today, back to counting every day in a job as a bonus
Xbox on hold
f**king nightmare
Post by: longball on March 05, 2009, 07:01:54 PM
DYJ Linesman yes i'm under serious pressure at the moment and it would be easy to fall into a state of depression and i'm sure everyone on here who is in a similar situation as myself are feeling the same. People come onto this thread and make a joke or two to be honest I don't mind that, its a discussion board for people to air there views I wouldnt get upset erne boy has imagined me in high heels etc and had to use his happy tissues after that post.

Its a tough situation to be in and to be honest when we were first layed off I never thought it would be this hard to get a job, but it just shows you. Jobs that i'd be over qualified for are out of my grasp at the moment. Just not hearing back from anywhere which is the hardest I think. I mean if I at least heard back from places that i'd applied saying naw ur not shortlisted or something but to go this long without even hearing is a nightmare. Even when ya ring them they cant give u an answer on when the position will be filled or if it already has been filled. (just venting a bit here people)

So personally I don't mind the jokes or whatever put that is just my opinion there could be others out there who could seriously be pushed into depression and thats very hard to get out of. Sucide rates are up 15% since start of Jan.
Post by: longball on March 05, 2009, 07:03:07 PM
All I need is the six numbers this sat then its  8)
Post by: tyroneboi on March 05, 2009, 07:08:56 PM
Quote from: longball on March 04, 2009, 08:51:40 PM

just sayin  ???

Was looking at the PSNI website earlier there to see if there was any administrative roles going.

There was an ad in the Irish News today looking for Police Officers if you would be interested in that (www.joinpsni.co.uk)

Am in the same boat myself for the past 4 weeks or so. Not a lot out there unfortunately. Been to numerous job agencies but as soon as you sign up with them you never hear back. Found it best to apply straight to employers instead which is a better strategy in my opinion. I use the job centre website, nijobs.com and loadzajobs.co.uk mainly. Its a frustrating process and its just a matter of keeping patient and trying to keep busy.
Post by: longball on March 05, 2009, 07:11:35 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on March 05, 2009, 07:08:56 PM
Quote from: longball on March 04, 2009, 08:51:40 PM

just sayin  ???

There was an ad in the Irish News today looking for Police Officers if you would be interested in that (www.joinpsni.co.uk)

Am in the same boat myself for the past 4 weeks or so. Not a lot out there unfortunately. Been to numerous job agencies but as soon as you sign up with them you never hear back. Found it best to apply straight to employers instead which is a better strategy in my opinion. I use the job centre website, nijobs.com and loadzajobs.co.uk mainly. Its a frustrating process and its just a matter of keeping patient and trying to keep busy.

I have found the exact same tyroneboi once u sign up they never get back to u. Ive been applying straight to the employer since. Have applied to 30 places now and still only heard back from 2 both of which I wasnt shortlisted for! Despite being over qualified.
Post by: tyroneboi on March 05, 2009, 07:20:38 PM
Can you sign on with the position your in with your employer? Don't know how people can stay on the dole for years. Im getting £50 a week. Not just the crap money but it can be very boring sitting round all day!
Post by: longball on March 05, 2009, 07:26:23 PM
Naw I cant go on the dole but we getting 100pound a week but dunno how much longer that will last. Dunno how anyone could survive on 50 a week im stuggling as it is. going to another recruitment agency 2moro.
Post by: The Iceman on March 05, 2009, 08:54:03 PM
Recruitment agencies are only a short term solution as they charge the company a finders fee for doing the leg work or take a % of your pay - so you are not earning what you are worth.
I know people in the past who have walked into companies and simply handed their CV to HR or some of the management team  -you never know it could be worth a try and shows a bit of initiative.
Accountancy, book keeping and taxes are definitely areas worth looking at.  Maybe consider taking on a part time course if possible.

Just throwing some ideas out there lads
Post by: Midman on March 05, 2009, 10:01:12 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on March 04, 2009, 03:53:06 PM
Well I got into work this morning and got told by our head buck cat in the states I was taking a salary cut effective from March. Little does he know their are employment laws in Europe that prevent him from sending a company wide email out declaring this without consulting me and everyone else  >:(

Not Agilent is it?  A few  mates work for them and had a similar mail, kicked off a huge Ruckus!!
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 05, 2009, 11:03:18 PM
Janey, this is the saddest thread I have come across. It's shocking that so many posters I had been taking for granted turn out to be laid off or in danger of this happening.
It seems from the looks of it that things are even worse up north than in the republic.
I'm not directly involved myself as I am retired on a disability pension. My major personal concern is that Biffo and the shower of fools with him might decide to give medicine prices a lash.
Still, as I read through the posts here, I'd be inclined to take my chances as I am, rather than trying to cope with unemployment or the fear of it.
I'm genuinely moved at the plight of all who have come on here and the countless thousands of others who have been laid off.
Post by: thebigfella on March 05, 2009, 11:10:29 PM
Quote from: Midman on March 05, 2009, 10:01:12 PM

Not Agilent is it?  A few  mates work for them and had a similar mail, kicked off a huge Ruckus!!

Nah, they must had the same idea as our place - seen HP & EDS trying it and though we would all roll over like the Yank's and Indian's and take it.

Problem the is the c**** on the board didn't understand the different employment laws for Europe that were in effect. First of all they tell us the bonus fund is safe and double the dividend to shareholders. A month later get told bonus's have been cut and there are no promotions to prevent pay offs. 2 days later lay off a load of people and start f**king people over on expenses. 2 weeks later get informed without consultation we are taking a pay cut from immediate effect and will continue till they see fit to return it.

A ruckus is not even close to what they started in our place  >:(    Personally I would consider it for a period of time to stop more redundancies but as the board has lost the trust of the company, no one is going for it.
Post by: thebandit on March 05, 2009, 11:15:12 PM
Quote from: bingobus on March 05, 2009, 04:59:23 PM
Longball,

Tough times but hope its doesn't last.

Have you thought of setting up as bookkeeper? I work in practice and the lack of book-keepers with any kind of knowledge is shocking. Many small business can do with them on a part-time basis and alot of accountancy firms have turned their noses up this work (in the past anyway) as it was messy work and to be done right you need to be at the persons place of business on regular time.

Can easily be set up for your basic VAT, Payroll etc. Word of mouth and local advertising is golden in this area. You'd be surprised who needs one.

The man has a good point..... I can back that up from personal experience.
Post by: Bensars on March 05, 2009, 11:22:17 PM
I had a fella knock on the door this yesterday offering to tidy up the garden. This time of year ,as anyone knows is a pain in the arse for getting the garden started. Two weeks of graft and maintaining it is simple enough. Thought it was a great idea and fair play for the inititive shown. Anyone who wanted a wee bit of money could do well at this , especially this time of year.

Hope everyone gets sorted out.

Thankfully my job is fairly secure ( touch wood) and our management made tough decisions last may in lue of what they predicted happening. Result is 100 emplyees safe and company actually grown despite the current crisis.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 05, 2009, 11:45:51 PM
Euromillions is higher than the lotto longball and its on friday so less time waiting...
Post by: SidelineKick on March 06, 2009, 09:05:32 AM
Quote from: full back on March 06, 2009, 08:39:29 AM
Aye, Euromillions is £85 million tonight, Jaysus that would be tasty

Got updated this morning, one of the head honchos is coming over on Monday & Tuesday, so there may be a move on things pretty soon. I doubt if he will deliver the news as the top boys normally leave it to other people to delievr the sh1te.

They have taken a lot of our duties off us in the last week, leaving us very fecking little to do.
Just makes it easier for them to deliver the news
Hoping they keep half of us leaving me with a 50/50 chance  :-\

Have you been there longer than most or will that not even come into the equation?  Hope you get on the right side of that 50/50.
Post by: nifan on March 06, 2009, 10:46:39 AM
If you are in sales fb, surely it will be a fairly straightforward "who sold how much"

what do you sell out of a matter of interest (you can be vague if you dont want to give away the company!)
Post by: Bogball XV on March 06, 2009, 11:05:30 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on March 05, 2009, 11:10:29 PM

Nah, they must had the same idea as our place - seen HP & EDS trying it and though we would all roll over like the Yank's and Indian's and take it.

Problem the is the c**** on the board didn't understand the different employment laws for Europe that were in effect. First of all they tell us the bonus fund is safe and double the dividend to shareholders. A month later get told bonus's have been cut and there are no promotions to prevent pay offs. 2 days later lay off a load of people and start f**king people over on expenses. 2 weeks later get informed without consultation we are taking a pay cut from immediate effect and will continue till they see fit to return it.

A ruckus is not even close to what they started in our place  >:(    Personally I would consider it for a period of time to stop more redundancies but as the board has lost the trust of the company, no one is going for it.

I'd say there are very few of us who haven't taken drastic cuts, at times like this employment laws go out the window and the choice has to be either pay cuts or lay offs, of course pay cuts mightn't be enough and the lay offs will probably still happen, but....
Post by: Hound on March 06, 2009, 11:12:35 AM
We've all been asked to take a 10% paycut. No consultation, just called into a room and its announced. Literature to follow outlining our revised terms. Dunno what'll happen if people refuse to accept it, but I doubt there'll be any. Everyone happy to be in a job. Hoping that the 10% will be enough to avoid redundancies.

Post by: scud on March 06, 2009, 11:34:02 AM
Quote from: full back on March 06, 2009, 11:17:06 AM
Quote from: nifan on March 06, 2009, 10:46:39 AM
If you are in sales fb, surely it will be a fairly straightforward "who sold how much"

Unfortunately it wont work like that in here
Old pals act & all that
If half go, I have worked out that I am in the middle at the minute
The certainties to stay are the ones that are friends with the manager, been here for years etc
The certainties to go are the w4nkers & the ones who have attendance,sickness, performance issues etc
I am in between I reckon, so it will depend on how many they let go

Good luck with it FB. If they do lay you off, might be worth your while stickin in a claim, they'll usually offer you a grand or two just to buy it off, regardless of its merit!
Post by: BennyHarp on March 06, 2009, 12:15:26 PM
A mate of mine lost his job about 6 months ago and is in the process of training to be a driving instructor! Still think theres a shortage of those around - he seems pretty confident he'll get a job quickly enough or go out on his own! Just a thought!
Post by: SidelineKick on March 06, 2009, 12:22:11 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 06, 2009, 12:15:26 PM
A mate of mine lost his job about 6 months ago and is in the process of trainiing to be a driving instructor! Still think theres a shortage of those around - he seems pretty confident he'll get a job quickly enough or go out on his own! Just a thought!

Same here.  Thought that was an original idea alright! He seems confident too and is rightly on in the process!
Post by: thebigfella on March 06, 2009, 12:25:57 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on March 06, 2009, 11:05:30 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on March 05, 2009, 11:10:29 PM

I'd say there are very few of us who haven't taken drastic cuts, at times like this employment laws go out the window and the choice has to be either pay cuts or lay offs, of course pay cuts mightn't be enough and the lay offs will probably still happen, but....

I'd be one of the few then   >:(  

Actually they lay me off and they are going against their previous criteria for redundancies and will p*ss a pretty major client off by putting a number of high profile projects at risk. Swapping me out of a client site that has signed an agreement to keep me here till next year for another resource (with no experience of what they have to deliver) so they can make me redundant would add up to constructive dismissal.

The problem is also if you work for a consultancy and are billing, like myself, and know how much guaranteed revenue you will make them for the next year, it's a bit hard to swallow pay/bonus cuts ect.... just to save people who are sitting at home (one for 8 months after I effectively removed them from a project myself for their attitude and should have been sacked) who can't be billed out. I don't mind saving the good resources but there is some dead weight in our place (quite alot of people been at home on full salaries since last august) and its caused a complete division. When you read some of the reports I get sent each week for what internal work/training ect... they have done, it's a f***ing joke, especially the team here (expected to take a pay cut) are doing 50/60 hour weeks.

Post by: longball on March 06, 2009, 01:50:44 PM
Post here early 2day still no news. applied for a couple more jobs this morning.
Post by: muppet on March 06, 2009, 01:56:33 PM
Quote from: full back on March 06, 2009, 09:48:55 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on March 06, 2009, 09:05:32 AM
Quote from: full back on March 06, 2009, 08:39:29 AM
Aye, Euromillions is £85 million tonight, Jaysus that would be tasty

Got updated this morning, one of the head honchos is coming over on Monday & Tuesday, so there may be a move on things pretty soon. I doubt if he will deliver the news as the top boys normally leave it to other people to delievr the sh1te.

They have taken a lot of our duties off us in the last week, leaving us very fecking little to do.
Just makes it easier for them to deliver the news
Hoping they keep half of us leaving me with a 50/50 chance  :-\

Have you been there longer than most or will that not even come into the equation?  Hope you get on the right side of that 50/50.

Only 2 people have been here a shorter time than me, so I hope the fcuk they dont use last in first out scenario

LIFO is illegal in the North assuming that's where you are.
Post by: muppet on March 06, 2009, 02:55:50 PM
adviceguide.org.uk (http://www.adviceguide.org.uk/nireland/life/employment_northern_ireland/redundancy___an_introduction/redundancy___procedures_your_employer_must_follow.htm)

Read the above for the Law for all of the UK but I am fairly sure that Northern Ireland has additional laws preventing LIFO (last in first out) as selection criteria for redundancy. (There may be ways around that such as transferring you out of the North and then doing it).

Phone equalityni.org (http://www.equalityni.org/site/default.asp?secid=home) for some facts, no harm in being fully informed before any such meeting or if you have a union get your rep to do it.
Post by: longball on March 06, 2009, 03:08:58 PM
FB have u got ur mortgage insured. A lot of the fellas when they got wind of us getting layed off got their mortages insured for loss of job. If u are on notice or protected notice before you make this upgrade the insurance company will not cover u. just a thought!
Post by: longball on March 06, 2009, 03:40:21 PM
(http://img.thisismoney.co.uk/i/pix/2008/10/CreditCrunch33_1000x674.jpg)
Post by: longball on March 06, 2009, 03:41:39 PM
seen a sign in a shop in dungannon 2day saying 'closed for crunch'  :D
Post by: longball on March 09, 2009, 09:00:24 AM
Any word on ur job yet FB?
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 09, 2009, 01:19:52 PM
Any Nortel employees here as I hear they are for the heave-ho soon too (again!)?
Post by: Rois on March 09, 2009, 02:44:31 PM
Where'd you hear that Tony?
Post by: screenexile on March 09, 2009, 03:26:08 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on March 06, 2009, 12:22:11 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 06, 2009, 12:15:26 PM
A mate of mine lost his job about 6 months ago and is in the process of trainiing to be a driving instructor! Still think theres a shortage of those around - he seems pretty confident he'll get a job quickly enough or go out on his own! Just a thought!

Same here.  Thought that was an original idea alright! He seems confident too and is rightly on in the process!

Funny you should mention this as I'd seen loads of ads about becoming a Driving Instructor and thought I might go for it until I did a bit of research and it doesn't sound all it's cracked up to be.

http://www.ukadi.co.uk/2008/06/becoming-driving-instructor-dont-do-it.html (http://www.ukadi.co.uk/2008/06/becoming-driving-instructor-dont-do-it.html)
Post by: tyroneboi on March 09, 2009, 04:26:55 PM
Any luck in the post today Longball?

I have an interview for next week so fingers crossed!!

I thought about that RED Driving school as well but read into it and it definitely isn't all its cracked up to be.
Post by: SidelineKick on March 09, 2009, 05:17:01 PM
In what way lads?
Post by: tyroneboi on March 09, 2009, 05:43:21 PM
The article which screenexile posted a link to pretty much sums up what i have read about it as well. The training (time and cost) as well as the actual franchise fee seem to be the main difficulties.
Post by: longball on March 09, 2009, 11:23:56 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on March 09, 2009, 04:26:55 PM
Any luck in the post today Longball?

I have an interview for next week so fingers crossed!!

I thought about that RED Driving school as well but read into it and it definitely isn't all its cracked up to be.

All the post brought me 2day was a letter saying my car insurance had to be renewed by end of the month- 619quid i cant afford this rite now  :'( :-[ dunno what to do seriously stressing at the minute
Post by: one for the road on March 10, 2009, 12:32:23 AM
LB have you tried the book keeping route. what about putting an advert out to assist with payroll year end? a short term  solution but could be worth a try
Post by: longball on March 10, 2009, 08:25:52 AM
Quote from: one for the road on March 10, 2009, 12:32:23 AM
LB have you tried the book keeping route. what about putting an advert out to assist with payroll year end? a short term  solution but could be worth a try

put a wee ad in the tyrone courier two weeks back didnt have much response must get it run again.
Post by: longball on March 10, 2009, 06:24:04 PM
Good news 2day ive an Interview this Friday.. been keeping busy all week out labouring at the site and news was in my inbox thank god..... hope it goes well  :-X :-\
Post by: Maguire01 on March 10, 2009, 09:02:09 PM
Accountancy is a real bitch at the minute. This time last year you could have walked out of your job and picked up a new one straight away. Now there's hardly anything and when you do have something, you're in serious competition.
The other thing is, if you're a technician, you'll probably be competing with qualified accountants and recruiting employers will be 'enhancing the criteria' to shortlist.

I think my job is fairly safe at the minute, but I've had to take a 10% pay cut. It's shit, but you don't have any options really - there's nowhere else to go and employers know it.
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 10, 2009, 10:21:33 PM
Quote from: longball on March 10, 2009, 06:24:04 PM
Good news 2day ive an Interview this Friday.. been keeping busy all week out labouring at the site and news was in my inbox thank god..... hope it goes well  :-X :-\
Good luck, lb.
I sincerely hope things go well for you.
Post by: longball on March 10, 2009, 11:26:38 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 10, 2009, 09:02:09 PM
Accountancy is a real bitch at the minute. This time last year you could have walked out of your job and picked up a new one straight away. Now there's hardly anything and when you do have something, you're in serious competition.
The other thing is, if you're a technician, you'll probably be competing with qualified accountants and recruiting employers will be 'enhancing the criteria' to shortlist.

I think my job is fairly safe at the minute, but I've had to take a 10% pay cut. It's shit, but you don't have any options really - there's nowhere else to go and employers know it.

It is a real bitch out there at the min esp with these ones from KPMG getting the road lot of qualified people looking work. The role I have the interview for is more Accounts admin involving PAYE, VAT and invoicing etc a lot of qualified people wont look at this sort of 'dirty' work. Chatting to a fella this afternoon as well and looks like i'll have another interview next week in Belfast so fingers crossed I get something sorted soon.

dont wanta jinx anythin but the woman said to me today that 'you'll be back in work a week and you'll be complaining that you need time off'  :D thought it was funny.

Hope everyone out there realises how precious there job is rite now
Post by: one for the road on March 11, 2009, 11:05:31 AM
best of luck LB

still waiting to hear about the interview from friday, good job cheltenham is on to take my mind off it
Post by: tyroneboi on March 13, 2009, 05:02:37 PM
Well longball how did you get on today at your interview?
Post by: longball on March 13, 2009, 06:19:43 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on March 13, 2009, 05:02:37 PM
Well longball how did you get on today at your interview?

I feel it went well enough they were very nice. So fingers crossed hope somethin comes out of it.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 15, 2009, 05:15:38 PM
Quote from: Rois on March 09, 2009, 02:44:31 PM
I'm an ex-employee, so I have my sources. It been in the process of winding up for about five years now!
Post by: longball on March 16, 2009, 05:16:06 PM
I got the Job!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  ;D :o
Start on 30th of March!
Post by: Shortso79 on March 16, 2009, 05:17:58 PM
Congratulations Long Ball

Great News
Post by: Roger on March 16, 2009, 05:18:22 PM
Congratulations  :)
Post by: longball on March 16, 2009, 05:20:17 PM
Thanks Lads relived hi but nof pressure off me now
Post by: Maguire01 on March 16, 2009, 06:12:23 PM
Good stuff - congratulations!
Post by: baoithe on March 16, 2009, 06:40:04 PM
Well done Longball. :)
Post by: stiffler on March 16, 2009, 06:41:15 PM
Good lad LB

Is it a permenant position?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 16, 2009, 08:25:59 PM
Good man Longball...

...Might not be everyone's cup of tea but Asda are looking wans. The wife does a few hours in there, and loves it. There are decent wee bonuses, and of course the 10% discount is decent. AFAIK working less than 15 hours means you retain your benefits as well. It might tie someone over until something else came along.

http://www.jobcentreonline.com/JCOLFront/FreeSearchJobDetails.aspx?VRef=870303&FreeSearch=strabane&SortBy=Date&Desc=True&JobNo=2 (http://www.jobcentreonline.com/JCOLFront/FreeSearchJobDetails.aspx?VRef=870303&FreeSearch=strabane&SortBy=Date&Desc=True&JobNo=2)
Post by: longball on March 17, 2009, 09:37:25 PM
Thanks to all the well wishers on this thread and in PMs much appreciated
Post by: tyroneboi on March 17, 2009, 11:29:03 PM
Congratulations Longball. I hope my wait wont be too long now but I remain confident enough that something will turn up soon even if it is temporary. Its a crap position to be in and I think when I do get a job I won't moan anymore about having to go to work on a Monday morning!
Post by: nifan on March 19, 2009, 08:42:42 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 15, 2009, 05:15:38 PM
I'm an ex-employee, so I have my sources. It been in the process of winding up for about five years now!

I would have said even longer.
I had a few mates there when the redundancies where starting and they have really dragged the shit out of it.
Post by: Rois on March 19, 2009, 09:32:30 AM
Quote from: nifan on March 19, 2009, 08:42:42 AM

I had a few mates there when the redundancies where starting and they have really dragged the shit out of it.

I think they're trying their best to restructure it to minimise any redundancy impact - Monkstown is pretty key in the European supply chain.
Post by: longball on March 19, 2009, 06:30:28 PM
Just got word back from another job have an interview next Thursday!
Im gonna go for it! Even thou i start work on the Monday!!!!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 19, 2009, 07:45:33 PM
Quote from: Rois on March 19, 2009, 09:32:30 AM
Quote from: nifan on March 19, 2009, 08:42:42 AM

I think they're trying their best to restructure it to minimise any redundancy impact - Monkstown is pretty key in the European supply chain.

It's death by a thousand cuts there. People are hanging on in there as there are few alternatives at the minute but when the market finally recovers anyone sensible should be looking to escape. It's a pity as it was some place to work in it's heyday.
Post by: longball on March 20, 2009, 06:17:34 PM
i got word today that ive been shortlisted for another job (thats 3 now) interview wednesday@!
Post by: maggie on March 20, 2009, 06:23:36 PM
Great news LB- isn't that typical-after all that time waiting, then you get three in a row!!!!!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 20, 2009, 07:58:39 PM
Quote from: maggie on March 20, 2009, 06:23:36 PM
Great news LB- isn't that typical-after all that time waiting, then you get three in a row!!!!!

Maggie - just like the feckin metro buses in Belfast!  :D ;D
Post by: tyroneboi on March 20, 2009, 10:06:40 PM
Just got word through today there that I got a temporary job starting on 30th March. While its temporary, the woman at the recruitment agency said that it is on going so I could be positioned there for a long period of time. It will do for the time being anyway and it will pay the bills at least. Was unemployed for almost 2 months which I suppose compared to others isn't very long but it wasn't a nice place to be. Good luck to all those other posters still looking.
Post by: longball on March 21, 2009, 08:10:06 AM
Quote from: tyroneboi on March 20, 2009, 10:06:40 PM
Just got word through today there that I got a temporary job starting on 30th March. While its temporary, the woman at the recruitment agency said that it is on going so I could be positioned there for a long period of time. It will do for the time being anyway and it will pay the bills at least. Was unemployed for almost 2 months which I suppose compared to others isn't very long but it wasn't a nice place to be. Good luck to all those other posters still looking.

My story exactly the same tyroneboi two months off and have been offered a temp position for maternity they told me that there is a chance the doll wont come back so i accepted there offer. Then after doing that heard back from 2 more places one perm the other temp!

Tyroneboi least it a years work many of person out there would jump at the chance of a years work. Hopefully the whole economy will have sorted itself out by the time we are looking for jobs again!
Post by: thebigfella on March 25, 2009, 08:57:55 AM
Quote from: full back on March 25, 2009, 08:24:01 AM
Had our first consultation yesterday
Said that the unsuccessful people will be out of work in 30 days
Out of 22 of us 11 are going

They have set a criteria to give yourself points that is dodgy as fcuk IMHO
So many grey areas, if they want you out you are fcuked :-\

Yeah we had our consultation about introducing a temporary pay cut (still contract to work the same number of hours  >:() a few weeks ago. No justification for it (wont guarantee no more redundancies and we are already having to consider recruiting some resources again), legally it's forcing us to sign a new permanent contract and lose all continuation of service, holidays paid at the lower rate, pension contributions ect...... Biggest issue though is there is no period of time it's to be employed or criteria to get the full salary back, therefore not temporary  >:(
It actually deteriorated into our finance director singling out people in a room and threatening to sack them (left them completely open to unfair dismissal action) if they didn't sign up, which is probably why they haven't had a 2nd consultation or sent out the new contracts  :D
So many companies using the current financial climate as an excuse to cut salaries, make redundancies without justification. Ours didn't even realise that the employments law meant they couldn't do it in Europe (unlike America and India) without our agreement.
Post by: thebigfella on March 25, 2009, 09:20:40 AM
They can review pay all they want but you have to agree to take any cut as a result of that review. Other that that they can make you redundant or terminate your existing contract and then re-offer the contract back at a reduced rate but again you could go after then for unfair dismissal.
Post by: illdecide on March 25, 2009, 09:29:25 AM
Quote from: full back on March 25, 2009, 09:24:26 AM
Suppose I should think about keeping my job rather than talk about a pay review, although the feeling in here is they know already who is staying

Good luck to ya chief, hope all works out for you. I'm f**ked too man, we have nothing on at the minute too and i'm worried big time
Post by: longball on March 25, 2009, 11:45:14 AM
It is shit out there at the min hi i applied for 64 jobs and got 3 interviews thankfully i start work on monday, most of the stuff is on a temp basis thou.

Goodluck to u FB hope u still keep ur job!
what do u mean about 'They have set a criteria to give yourself points'? what sorta criteria does this involve? timekeeping etc?
Hardly seems fair.

Agree with the comments that a lot of firms seem to be jumping on the bandwagon and using the recession as an excuse to get people out the door.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 30, 2009, 01:05:26 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 15, 2009, 05:15:38 PM

87 to get the road:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7971704.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7971704.stm)
Post by: Rois on March 30, 2009, 01:09:20 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 30, 2009, 01:05:26 PM

87 to get the road:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7971704.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7971704.stm)

Don't think the decision was made until last week.
Post by: Minder on March 30, 2009, 01:16:01 PM
Quote from: Rois on March 30, 2009, 01:09:20 PM

87 to get the road:

A lady (use the term loosely) i work with has a brother that works there and they were told two weeks ago they were going.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 30, 2009, 01:23:38 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 30, 2009, 01:16:01 PM
Quote from: Rois on March 30, 2009, 01:09:20 PM

87 to get the road:

A lady (use the term loosely) i work with has a brother that works there and they were told two weeks ago they were going.
I heard 2 weeks before that. I assume they'll get the standard 90-day consultation bullshit followed by a decent redundancy package. Unfortunately (and hindsight is great!) a lot of them should have got out a few years back when Schrader, Hathaway etc. were taking on people as the grim reaper is never far away in that place.
Post by: Rois on March 30, 2009, 01:44:02 PM
Will they though?  If the company is in administration, they may not have the money and consultation will not be required.  I'm no expert in this to be honest but having had the joy of making people redundant after Christmas following an administration, I know those people had to claim from the redundancy payments service. 

I presume it was unofficial then two weeks ago.   
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 30, 2009, 05:39:08 PM
Quote from: Rois on March 30, 2009, 01:44:02 PM
Will they though?  If the company is in administration, they may not have the money and consultation will not be required.  I'm no expert in this to be honest but having had the joy of making people redundant after Christmas following an administration, I know those people had to claim from the redundancy payments service. 

I presume it was unofficial then two weeks ago.   
I don't know - I would assume under "normal" circumstances that would be the case but the tramps sent me a letter a few weeks ago saying they were having to dip into an emergency war chest to cover the pension pot!
Post by: thebigfella on March 31, 2009, 12:51:18 PM
Quote from: full back on March 31, 2009, 11:02:43 AM
Have my meeting @ 11.30 this morning to discuss/tell me what score I am getting out of 30.
Dont know any other scores as all the other ones in work wont say anything :-\
Reckon 25 or above should save my bacon (am telling her I want 29)  :D

Never did understand all that personal assessment crap, I mean no matter what you give yourself they already have decided the outcome. Good luck in the meeting, I have my 2nd consultation over our pay cut tomorrow, should be interesting  ;)
Post by: stpauls on March 31, 2009, 01:09:18 PM
Quote from: full back on March 31, 2009, 11:02:43 AM
Have my meeting @ 11.30 this morning to discuss/tell me what score I am getting out of 30.
Dont know any other scores as all the other ones in work wont say anything :-\
Reckon 25 or above should save my bacon (am telling her I want 29)  :D

how did you get on FB?
Post by: the scenic route on March 31, 2009, 01:14:38 PM
Well folks looking for a bit of advice.

Im a final year student at university, im hovering righ on the border of a 2:1/2:2 literally 2% or 3% i dunno what to do next year would i be mad in the head to come out looking for work or should i go for a masters get myself the extra qualifications and hope the economy will be on the rise when i get out..

It all has my head wrecked, no-one out there can earn money and im racking up more debt.
Mate of mine came out of university there with a solid enough degree and masters in planning and sustainability stuff making him eligible for work in both public and private sector he hasnt got so much as a sniff of a job yet.

So what do you reckon
Masters? or No Masters?

Post by: Tony Baloney on March 31, 2009, 01:30:41 PM
If the Masters is essential for you getting a particular job then it's a no brainer. If you are doing it so waste a year then I wouldn't bother. I'd follow the first part of Bensars plan and forget about the Masters even on my return as you will be a further 2 years out of the job market - those 2 years are more important than another meaningless certificate.
Post by: the scenic route on March 31, 2009, 02:00:23 PM
Im more thinking of the masters because it seems any clown can get a degree these day's, you should see some of the ones that are guna be teaching our children some day.

I thnk the goin to australia one to ride the ball of myself is a major no, doubt the woman would have issues there, left her to go to america for a summer for a bit of football and work. We had "To go on a break" for that summer which was grand for me summer over there tied down would have been tough, but the other thing about oz is the jobs are drying up over there few boys from my club are over there with trades and they cant get work all i have is the summers on site with my da to my name to try and bluff a trade.

While masters is not essential it will definately imporve my prospects and how far i can go with regards a career when i eventually take one up and give me a chance to get chartership while my regular degree is only a micky mouse one in geography.
Its just the prospect of spending another year in education avoiding finishing an assignment by spending time on the gaa board asking strangers for advice on my future lol  :-\ :-\ :-\ 
Post by: stpauls on March 31, 2009, 02:39:03 PM
Quote from: full back on March 31, 2009, 02:37:23 PM
Got 28
Should be safe enough, thank fcuk

fair play, fingers crossed for you mate!
Post by: full back on March 31, 2009, 02:48:31 PM
Cheers mate
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 31, 2009, 02:48:57 PM
Got 28

Wouldn't be the first time you ducked under the flak, I suppose you don't have too far to duck :P
Post by: full back on March 31, 2009, 02:50:13 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 31, 2009, 02:48:57 PM
Got 28

Wouldn't be the first time you ducked under the flak, I suppose you don't have too far to duck :P

>:( :D :D
Cheeky fecker
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 31, 2009, 07:46:48 PM
Got 28
Glad to hear it fullback!

Thank God internet browsing wasn't considered eh!?  ;)
Post by: DrinkingHarp on April 01, 2009, 04:40:10 AM
Quote from: the scenic route on March 31, 2009, 02:00:23 PM
Im more thinking of the masters because it seems any clown can get a degree these day's, you should see some of the ones that are guna be teaching our children some day.

I thnk the goin to australia one to ride the ball of myself is a major no, doubt the woman would have issues there, left her to go to america for a summer for a bit of football and work. We had "To go on a break" for that summer which was grand for me summer over there tied down would have been tough, but the other thing about oz is the jobs are drying up over there few boys from my club are over there with trades and they cant get work all i have is the summers on site with my da to my name to try and bluff a trade.

While masters is not essential it will definately imporve my prospects and how far i can go with regards a career when i eventually take one up and give me a chance to get chartership while my regular degree is only a micky mouse one in geography.
Its just the prospect of spending another year in education avoiding finishing an assignment by spending time on the gaa board asking strangers for advice on my future lol  :-\ :-\ :-\ 

You will have 40 plus years to work, stay in school. The Masters will improve your chances of landing a great job instead of a good job.
The economy should be on the upswing by the time you finish. It's better to finish the schooling while you're younger than going back to school like an old fart like me.

Post by: one for the road on April 01, 2009, 10:38:28 AM
dont mean to highjack from scenic route but been offered a new job and i accepted it. When i was handing in my notice my boss offered to up my hours to fulltime work so that I would stay. I was fuming that I had been put on a 3 day week for what appears to be a purely cost cutting exercise.

Felt like telling him to shove it up his a**e so I have till tomorrow to decide. Think Im gonna go for the way they have f**ked me about
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on April 02, 2009, 11:31:53 AM
Lads, anybody got any recommendations for looking for Accountancy jobs? who are the most useful recruitment agencies?
Post by: Donagh on April 02, 2009, 11:49:44 AM
Quote from: one for the road on April 01, 2009, 10:38:28 AM
dont mean to highjack from scenic route but been offered a new job and i accepted it. When i was handing in my notice my boss offered to up my hours to fulltime work so that I would stay. I was fuming that I had been put on a 3 day week for what appears to be a purely cost cutting exercise.

Seems quite a lot of employers are doing this to avoid paying redundancy i.e. hoping the employee will leave before they're forced to pay.
Post by: Billys Boots on April 02, 2009, 11:54:24 AM
Quote from: Donagh on April 02, 2009, 11:49:44 AM
Quote from: one for the road on April 01, 2009, 10:38:28 AM

Seems quite a lot of employers are doing this to avoid paying redundancy i.e. hoping the employee will leave before they're forced to pay.

In fairness Donagh, a lot of employers are doing this to try to prepare for improved business conditions too, so that people are not losing their jobs even though the money/orders aren't there to sustain the jobs.
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 02, 2009, 12:09:53 PM
Bombardier to pay off 1,000 in Belfast now too.
Post by: johnneycool on April 02, 2009, 12:14:11 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on April 02, 2009, 12:09:53 PM
Bombardier to pay off 1,000 in Belfast now too.

i wonder if they'll do the decent thing and give their workers redundancy unlike Visteon and Nortel?
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 02, 2009, 12:19:19 PM
According to the beeb 350 + are permanent posts the rest are agency staff so I would say they are fooked.
Title: The Sky's the Limit.
Post by: ONeill on April 13, 2009, 08:07:47 AM
Fox to make reality show out of layoffs
'Someone's Gotta Go' lets employees of small businesses decide who is cut

NEW YORK - The Fox network is letting employees of some troubled small businesses decide which one of their colleagues will be laid off and turning the results into a reality show.

The series, "Someone's Gotta Go," is in production, but Fox wouldn't say on Wednesday when it would go on the air.

Each episode will feature a company with about 15 or 20 employees that needs to cut costs because of the economy. Instead of the boss deciding who is fired, the company will open its books to show everyone's salaries and let the employees make the call.
Story continues below ↓advertisement | your ad here

In an inverse to "The Apprentice," the chosen one loses, instead of gets, a job.

Fox says the laid-off worker will get a small severance, but isn't saying whether the network or producers are paying the participants in anything beyond the chance for prime-time fame. Fox is developing the show with Endemol USA, the company behind "Big Brother," "Deal or No Deal" and "Fear Factor."

Tory Johnson, founder and chief executive officer of Women For Hire, which organizes job fairs and advises women seeking work, said she wonders whether "Someone's Gotta Go" is a good idea at a time so many people are out of work.

"For most people who are concerned about job security or are desperate to get hired, I don't think there's much to laugh at in terms of watching someone else's pain and misery," said Johnson, a regular contributor to ABC's "Good Morning America."

But Mike Darnell, chief of alternative programming at Fox, said everyone who participates in the show knows fully what they are doing.

"I feel that it's part of the times that we are living in," Darnell said. "It's certainly no worse than watching the news every night and hearing all the statistics and watching what is happening. To be frank, like all these shows, if you don't want to watch, don't watch it."

Fox and Endemol have had "absolutely no trouble" finding companies willing to participate, he said.

Fox wouldn't reveal the show's host, which it says is a business consultant who will offer advice to participating companies.

Darnell, a fan of "The Office," said he'd been working with Endemol about a workplace show, perhaps involving an expert coming in to help a dysfunctional workplace, when he saw a news report about a company where the boss couldn't decide who to lay off and left the job to his employees.

That became the basis for "Someone's Gotta Go."

He envisions it as a story about employee empowerment. Many people in the workplace can relate to seeing a colleague laid off and wondered why someone else they perceived as less valuable kept their job, he said.

Darnell said he wasn't concerned about the emotional fallout in a workplace after "Someone's Gotta Go," where an employee might be left to work with a colleague they'd just said on national television should be fired.

"Sounds like good reality television," he said. "You just described a good concept for a reality TV show."

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/30108232/
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 13, 2009, 10:47:22 AM
Sick
Post by: DrinkingHarp on May 30, 2009, 06:50:24 AM
After filling out over 500 applications (yes,500) at local hospitals, I had my third interview for a position at the hospital I wanted to get into. Granted it is only a housekeeping job (janitor) but the pay starts at 12+ an hour, its nights (great for my school schedule) and the benefits are through the roof. They will pay ALL my tuition/books/fees for nursing after 6 months of employment.

Will find out Tue or Wed, fingers crossed.

Post by: Capt Pat on May 30, 2009, 10:52:30 AM

That get off your hole comment is a bit unfair what else can he do but sit and wait once he has applied. He could try approaching all the companies directly himself and not wait for the jobs to show up in the press or with recruiting agents, but once he has done that it is a case of sitting on your hole and waiting.
Post by: Tyrones own on May 30, 2009, 03:23:30 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on May 30, 2009, 06:50:24 AM
After filling out over 500 applications (yes,500) at local hospitals, I had my third interview for a position at the hospital I wanted to get into. Granted it is only a housekeeping job (janitor) but the pay starts at 12+ an hour, its nights (great for my school schedule) and the benefits are through the roof. They will pay ALL my tuition/books/fees for nursing after 6 months of employment.

Fair play to you DH...There's a lot of people wouldn't entertain making the move you've made, good luck with it!
Post by: rosnarun on May 31, 2009, 03:32:34 AM
QuoteAfter filling out over 500 applications

do you live in a watr zone how many local hospitals are you near . or are you appying for the same jib under different names?
or do you just not want to hear the ever caring and sensitive advice of 'getting off your hole'
Post by: DrinkingHarp on May 31, 2009, 06:16:55 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 31, 2009, 03:32:34 AM
QuoteAfter filling out over 500 applications

do you live in a watr zone how many local hospitals are you near . or are you applying for the same jib under different names?
or do you just not want to hear the ever caring and sensitive advice of 'getting off your hole'

There are over 45 hospitals within a 25 mile radius of my house, I think by applying in person and on the net for over 500 different positions is "getting off my hole". I applied for janitor, transportation, security, material handler/stock supply, cafeteria, dishwasher and lab courier positions.

You have to remember in Chicago there are over 2.8 million people (a little bit more than half of Ireland's population) hence all the hospitals.
Post by: longball on June 02, 2009, 04:43:14 PM
Meteor Electrical Cookstown closed down yday!
Post by: orangeman on June 02, 2009, 04:45:37 PM
Quote from: longball on June 02, 2009, 04:43:14 PM

70 jobs gone - 70 families devestated I'm sure.
Post by: longball on June 02, 2009, 04:52:41 PM
Quote from: orangeman on June 02, 2009, 04:45:37 PM
Quote from: longball on June 02, 2009, 04:43:14 PM

70 jobs gone - 70 families devestated I'm sure.

Didnt hear how many. was it 70?
Title: Re: business closures/job struggles formally 'its the waiting that is hell'
Post by: tyroneboi on June 02, 2009, 06:10:22 PM

70 jobs lost at electrical firm
Meteor
Meteor headquarters in Cookstown

Seventy people have lost their jobs after one of mid-Ulster's biggest employers announced that it has been forced to close.

Meteor, Ireland's largest independent electrical wholesalers, closed because of financial difficulties.

The Cookstown-based family-run business has been trading for almost 25 years.

In a statement on Tuesday, the company said it had explored all options to address its problems in the current recession, but was forced to close.

The downturn across the construction sector and exposure to foreign exchange fluctuations led to the closure.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/8079066.stm
Title: Re: business closures/job struggles formally 'its the waiting that is hell'
Post by: Rav67 on June 02, 2009, 06:42:31 PM
Should the subject title not read "formerly" as opposed to "formally".

Perhaps this should be in the spelling and grammar thread.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 08, 2009, 07:04:31 PM

Just received a letter of offer (via internet), start in two weeks time. The benefits and school tuition are worth the job alone minus the pay. I haven't had medical insurance in over 7 years (too costly) and now will be fully insured.

I will not become rich at this position, just enough to get by, but to get into a hospital that will pay for nursing school and will offer me a full-time position once I graduate is incredible in these economic times. Only if I didn't have a test tomorrow I would go and celebrate.

Title: Re: business closures/job struggles formerly 'its the waiting that is hell'
Post by: tyronefan on June 08, 2009, 07:40:06 PM
well done  glad to hear some good news

Post by: longball on June 08, 2009, 08:06:23 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on June 08, 2009, 07:04:31 PM

Just received a letter of offer (via internet), start in two weeks time. The benefits and school tuition are worth the job alone minus the pay. I haven't had medical insurance in over 7 years (too costly) and now will be fully insured.

I will not become rich at this position, just enough to get by, but to get into a hospital that will pay for nursing school and will offer me a full-time position once I graduate is incredible in these economic times. Only if I didn't have a test tomorrow I would go and celebrate.

Well done drinkingharp great to hear ur good news!
Title: Re: business closures/job struggles formerly 'its the waiting that is hell'
Post by: rosnarun on June 08, 2009, 11:42:29 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on June 02, 2009, 06:42:31 PM
Should the subject title not read "formerly" as opposed to "formally".

Perhaps this should be in the spelling and grammar thread.

or you could be wrong as pedants usually are.
the thread despite changing name could retain the formal title of 'Its the waiting that is hell'
but if you want to show off your half assed educations don't let me stall ye
Post by: Donagh on June 18, 2009, 06:39:36 PM
Been waiting the last two weeks to hear if I was to get the bullet or not. Thankfully I wasn't one of the unfortunates that got notice today so it looks like I am safe enough for now. Still the knowledge of the personal circumstances of the many colleagues got their notice takes away any desire to celebrate. There but for the grace of God go I.
Post by: longball on June 18, 2009, 06:49:10 PM
Good to hear u avoided the chop Donagh. BUT be warned the next couple of weeks will be so depressing fellas who used to be good craic will now be moping around. girls will be crying. its hard to be honest but at least u no that u'l be ok.
When it happened us u were thinking these are people ive worked with for X amouint of years and to be honest i'll prob never see them again. The world sucks at the minute.
I see 14000 people applied for a 200 new jobs in a Primark in England. CRAZY!
Post by: Donagh on June 18, 2009, 07:30:22 PM
Cheers lb. Still leaves a nasty taste with the way management have handled the whole thing. All very underhand with no attempt to keep those people who actually keep their head down and do a bit of work. A couple of good people I know to be experts in their field got the chop and that's going to have major implications down the road when someone realises we've now too many chiefs who know f**k all about getting the job done. A big thumbs down for all our local politicians from all sides who I tipped off last week about what was coming and how it was being handled. The only honourable mention goes to an Assembly member from the SDLP who has taken an interest.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 18, 2009, 08:08:44 PM
Quote from: Donagh on June 18, 2009, 07:30:22 PM
Cheers lb. Still leaves a nasty taste with the way management have handled the whole thing. All very underhand with no attempt to keep those people who actually keep their head down and do a bit of work. A couple of good people I know to be experts in their field got the chop and that's going to have major implications down the road when someone realises we've now too many chiefs who know f**k all about getting the job done. A big thumbs down for all our local politicians from all sides who I tipped off last week about what was coming and how it was being handled. The only honourable mention goes to an Assembly member from the SDLP who has taken an interest.
You public sector or private? What criteria did they use for axing people?

Glad to hear you survived the cull but is this the end of it? In my last place I survived until the fourth round of cuts, but by that stage the place was treading water and life had been knocked out of the employees so looking back it was a relief to go. Having said that the local economy was in decent shape so most people got jobs elsewhere. Situation is somewhat different now.
Post by: The Iceman on June 18, 2009, 09:01:03 PM
So after 6 months of waiting we finally got our comp plan yesterday.
We got a $5000 increase in salary which will then be retroactive and paid in a lump sum in the next bonus period (last pay period of July).
Then comes the bad news:  They increase our sales quota by 26% and cut our commission in half.  The commission we have been paid out on at last year's rate has to be retro acted over the past 6 months and paid back.  So if you have done well in sales you owe them money back - if you have had a bad 6 months then you get paid the back dated salary increase and come out better than the boys who were the top of the sales board.

How's that for shite?
Post by: Donagh on June 19, 2009, 11:50:00 AM
Watching people go into a meeting room one after the other here to be told they're out of a job. f**king raging about the way this is being handled. Doing this is a public place is offering no dignity to these people at all.
Post by: lynchbhoy on June 19, 2009, 12:33:26 PM
glad you survived Donagh
I feel for the poor hoors that are getting the chop throughout the country.
Know of  few getting this today.

However I also know of a company that are trying to publicise that they are taking on 25 IT developers, and the media/press/TV etc dont want to bother announcing this !
Post by: Massey-135 on June 19, 2009, 01:00:46 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on June 19, 2009, 12:33:26 PM
glad you survived Donagh
I feel for the poor hoors that are getting the chop throughout the country.
Know of  few getting this today.

However I also know of a company that are trying to publicise that they are taking on 25 IT developers, and the media/press/TV etc dont want to bother announcing this !

Is that a outfit in Newry Lynchbhoy?
Post by: ludermor on July 01, 2009, 08:54:47 AM
Our sites were given notification yesterday that pickets will be in place next monday as the electricians union (the TEEU) have called for strike action.
http://www.teeu.ie/default.asp

http://www.teeu.ie/enjic_downloads/Rates_leaflet_25_06_09.pdf
Above is a link to the current hourly rates and the proposed rates ( 10% reduction). I must say there is a time and a place for these negotiations but it is hardly now when most workers are either out of work or in grave danger of losing their jobs. Most people i know would e happy to take a 10% pay cut. We are negotiating with the brickies and carpenters union at the minute and they will accept 20% deduction on rates they probably still have to come down more but that is purely because they are starting from a very high base ( this is just union jobs might i add, the moeny on non union jobs would be a fraction of this)
Could be an interesting few weeks as i cant see the electrical contractors backing down on this
Post by: longball on July 01, 2009, 08:56:45 AM
Considering so many people are out of work and desperate for a job this is a bit of a joke.
Post by: ludermor on July 01, 2009, 09:06:29 AM
Its nto good timing i agree but the TEEU would be known as one of the fairer non militant unions in the construction industry and they do have a point in that agreed increases last year were not honoured ( like they were in other areas of construction). But now is not the time to be pushing for the increase and i doubt if they will get much sympathy from the public
Post by: Jimmy on October 30, 2009, 10:31:00 PM
What does anyone think of the state of the economy? 6 people got laid off from my work this week. I had thought we had seen off the worst of the recession. We all took a cut in hours and pay in January and thought that would be the height of it at this stage. I was even thinking of asking for my money back as things had seemed to be looking better as we were quite busy. Do you think is there still worse to come from this recession, particularly in the construction industry?

The whole thing was handled pretty badly. Were split over 3 office's and the boss told 1 office first which led to rumours in our office which left a pretty bad feeling all week. Also some people were given a month's notice and some people were told it was effective now, which I'm sure isn't exactly legal.

The way it was done was that everyone was talked to at some point over the last 2 days and told they were all right or not. However he hasn't talked to me yet which I'm not sure is all that great a sign.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 30, 2009, 10:41:22 PM
Quote from: Jimmy on October 30, 2009, 10:31:00 PM
What does anyone think of the state of the economy? 6 people got laid off from my work this week. I had thought we had seen off the worst of the recession. We all took a cut in hours and pay in January and thought that would be the height of it at this stage. I was even thinking of asking for my money back as things had seemed to be looking better as we were quite busy. Do you think is there still worse to come from this recession, particularly in the construction industry?

The whole thing was handled pretty badly. Were split over 3 office's and the boss told 1 office first which led to rumours in our office which left a pretty bad feeling all week. Also some people were given a month's notice and some people were told it was effective now, which I'm sure isn't exactly legal.

The way it was done was that everyone was talked to at some point over the last 2 days and told they were all right or not. However he hasn't talked to me yet which I'm not sure is all that great a sign. The worst thing is that he has got rid of the people I would be more friendly with and kept the ass holes!
Um, none of that sounds very legal!or handled well
Post by: muppet on October 30, 2009, 10:42:50 PM
Am I right in thinking that only the OP or an administrator can edit the title of a thread?

If so welcome back Longball.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 30, 2009, 10:50:46 PM
Quote from: Jimmy on October 30, 2009, 10:31:00 PM

The way it was done was that everyone was talked to at some point over the last 2 days and told they were all right or not. However he hasn't talked to me yet which I'm not sure is all that great a sign. The worst thing is that he has got rid of the people I would be more friendly with and kept the ass holes!
I am not sure why you want to tell the world this  :o
Post by: Archie Mitchell on October 30, 2009, 11:09:49 PM
muppet, longball's 1st post on this thread was last edited on 3rd June 09, so unfortunately he's not back with us.

ardmhacaabu, why would he not tell us? It's not as if these assholes are likely to read the board. It's his opinion, so he can say what he wants on the board, whether you or pints like it or not!
Post by: Treasurer on October 30, 2009, 11:29:35 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on October 30, 2009, 11:09:49 PM
muppet, longball's 1st post on this thread was last edited on 3rd June 09, so unfortunately he's not back with us.

ardmhacaabu, why would he not tell us? It's not as if these assholes are likely to read the board. It's his opinion, so he can say what he wants on the board, whether you or pints like it or not!

Would you ever change the record

Post by: Archie Mitchell on October 30, 2009, 11:32:22 PM
Records are so 80's. It's iPods and MP3's now.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on October 30, 2009, 11:35:37 PM
Now your talking hardstation. Good to see someone is keeping with the times.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 30, 2009, 11:36:10 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on October 30, 2009, 11:09:49 PM

'Coz like... he told us all the cuts in his workplace left the ass holes, and that included him...  :o
Post by: Archie Mitchell on October 30, 2009, 11:41:52 PM
He'd hardly call himself an asshole now would he? Maybe assholes would only think that.