Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Claw on September 05, 2007, 05:26:34 PM

Title: Skiing
Post by: The Claw on September 05, 2007, 05:26:34 PM
Im looking for recommendations for places to go skiing. It would be a young group going so nightlife would be important, im organising it though, and the most important thing for me are good slopes and guaranteed snow. One lad I was talking to said he heard Bulgaria was excellent. I went to Lilliehammer in Norway with the school years ago which had great slopes but was too expensive. Any recommendations?
Title: Re: Skiing
Post by: Drumanee 1 on September 05, 2007, 05:28:48 PM
sol or kitzbul in austria,great sking,great apre ski
Post by: ExiledGael on September 05, 2007, 05:34:43 PM
Was in bulgaria earlier this year, the start of February, and while it was excellent I'm not sure I'd go back there. For a ski resort the place was seriously short on snow, a few of the days we weren't even allowed near the slopes. Not once was the entire range open, some slopes closed all week. Nightlife was decent enough but I've heard much better reports from Andorra, and Arinsal in particular. Bulgaria is obviously the cheaper option though, drink is also dirt cheap when you get there
Post by: aontroim on September 05, 2007, 06:07:24 PM
Most Austrian resorts for good snow and great apres ski - hasnt come close in any of the other countries. Have heard great things about livigno though - cheap food/drink and good slopes.
Post by: Rois on September 05, 2007, 06:36:55 PM
I love these threads, starting to think about mine now.

For cheap food, drink etc hard to beat Livigno.  Great craic there, full of Irish people. 

France is expensive no matter where you are, I went to Val d'Isere and it was absolutely brilliant but dear.  Heading to Chamonix in Jan but trying to do it on the cheap - not sure how that will work out.

Andorra is a bit of a shit hole but it would do if you weren't too bothered about how the resort looked or the quallity of the pistes.  Didn't find Arinsal nightlife too hot - def preferred Livigno for that.

Heard great things about St Anton in Austria so going to look into going there in Feb/March. 
Post by: lfdown2 on January 13, 2008, 01:58:27 PM
headin til andorra's pas de la casa next sunday, cant wait, 1st proper skiing experience (went in southern california not the same!)

any of ye's isited here before?

tips etc...?
Post by: Puckoon on January 13, 2008, 03:48:19 PM
Quote from: lfdown2 on January 13, 2008, 01:58:27 PM
headin til andorra's pas de la casa next sunday, cant wait, 1st proper skiing experience (went in southern california not the same!)

any of ye's isited here before?

tips etc...?

Southern California? - You must mean on a fake slope?
Post by: lfdown2 on January 13, 2008, 04:19:26 PM
big bear, not fake though did have fake snow as poor season last year!
Post by: Puckoon on January 13, 2008, 04:22:11 PM
I did not know that, I must be sleeping every time I drive that way.
Post by: Leg End on January 13, 2008, 05:08:33 PM
Quote from: Rois on September 05, 2007, 06:36:55 PM
I love these threads, starting to think about mine now.

For cheap food, drink etc hard to beat Livigno.  Great craic there, full of Irish people. 

France is expensive no matter where you are, I went to Val d'Isere and it was absolutely brilliant but dear.  Heading to Chamonix in Jan but trying to do it on the cheap - not sure how that will work out.

Andorra is a bit of a shit hole but it would do if you weren't too bothered about how the resort looked or the quallity of the pistes.  Didn't find Arinsal nightlife too hot - def preferred Livigno for that.

Heard great things about St Anton in Austria so going to look into going there in Feb/March. 

I'm heading to chamonix in feb.. let me know how u get on and what it is like.. loads of details please... i cant wait
Post by: Tyrones own on January 13, 2008, 05:16:12 PM

South lake Tahoe is beautiful and great for the skiing this time of year i believe ;)
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on January 13, 2008, 06:00:25 PM
Bulgaria wouldn't always be snow sure. There was very littel there last year. 
Livigno is pretty snow sure as it is high up and is also a duty free resort so it is very cheap when there.  Good night life etc in it also, was there last year and heading back ont he 26th January with a group of 29.
Post by: Rois on January 13, 2008, 06:06:47 PM
Quote from: Leg End on January 13, 2008, 05:08:33 PM

I'm heading to chamonix in feb.. let me know how u get on and what it is like.. loads of details please... i cant wait

Came back last Tues there, spent five good nights in Cham.  It is prob the nicest resort I've been in, better than Val d'Isere even.  The skiing area is amazing with plenty for everyone - the problem was that it was really foggy on day 3 of my holiday so we had to come off the mountain early - it was just no fun skiing when you couldn't see more than four feet in front of you.  The weather on day 4 was worse so didn't get on the slopes at all but that was more a function of the lack of enthusiasm of my travelling companions. 
However, the resort more than made up for it.  The apres ski was great craic and there's plenty to see around the place.  The transfer from Geneva makes it a fantastic place to have a short ski break.  I'll def be back, this year again if possible. 

Have a number of good nightlife recommendations if you're interested though we went at probably the quietest time of the year, just after new year.
Post by: Over the Bar on January 13, 2008, 07:29:38 PM
If your group are beginners to intermediate you'll find Pas de La Casa or Livigno ideal wityh -plenty of night-life and both are tax free so a good bit cheaper than Austria or France.   

Our group now go to Chamonix each year flying to Geneva then hiring 2 cars and booking our own chalets.  Works out much cheaper.   
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on January 13, 2008, 07:59:00 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on January 13, 2008, 07:29:38 PM
Our group now go to Chamonix each year flying to Geneva then hiring 2 cars and booking our own chalets.  Works out much cheaper.   

Are you doing a week or a few days? I might be interested i something like this towards March/April.
Rough idea of cost?
Post by: lfdown2 on January 13, 2008, 09:44:39 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on January 13, 2008, 07:29:38 PM
If your group are beginners to intermediate you'll find Pas de La Casa or Livigno ideal wityh -plenty of night-life and both are tax free so a good bit cheaper than Austria or France.   

you been, any idea on sports bars?
wanna see nfl next sunday wondering whether to bring laptop
Post by: Rois on January 13, 2008, 10:18:21 PM
I didn't come across too many sports bars - there's one place I saw that showed UK soccer - seems to be wifi everywhere tho, lots of people with laptops.

I went to Cham for 5 nights, Thurs to Tues.  Flights were about £80 (£25 or so for my skis, so could have been cheaper).  Stayed in a "hotel" with a couple of friends - very very basic but it was €120 each for the five nights - we really got what we paid for (there was a noisy nightclub underneath but it was fantastically central).  Lift pass was €140 for four days - that was the Chamonix-only one, if you want to go to and do all the advanced skiing around Les Houches and on the Aigulle du Midi (nearest to Mont Blanc) then it's more expensive.  Miles upon miles of piste on the basic ski pass though.  Transfer was €50 return each, which was cheaper for us than hiring a car but a car would have been v useful as we needed to use the bus a lot.

Still I fell in love with the place and ended up wandering around looking in estate agent windows to see what I could set my sights on there in a few years. 
Post by: new devil on January 13, 2008, 10:24:50 PM
Watch your self...I broke my hand last year skiing and a friend broke her ankle and suffered whiplash yesterday :-\
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on January 13, 2008, 10:27:03 PM
Thanks Rois, must look into it a bit further. 

Post by: Puckoon on January 13, 2008, 10:27:31 PM
Quote from: new devil on January 13, 2008, 10:24:50 PM
Watch your self...I broke my hand last year skiing and a friend broke her ankle and suffered whiplash yesterday :-\

the snow can be a little slippy, or is that the point?

in fairness i cracked 3 ribs in a freak accident myself. still love it though. lake tahoe is great right now.
Post by: Minder on January 13, 2008, 10:29:18 PM
Quote from: new devil on January 13, 2008, 10:24:50 PM

Are you sure thats how you broke your hand? A heavy session of five knuckle shuffle perhaps?
Post by: new devil on January 13, 2008, 10:31:15 PM
Thats how i broke the left hand!
Post by: Leg End on January 13, 2008, 10:40:49 PM
Quote from: Rois on January 13, 2008, 06:06:47 PM
Quote from: Leg End on January 13, 2008, 05:08:33 PM

Came back last Tues there, spent five good nights in Cham.  It is prob the nicest resort I've been in, better than Val d'Isere even.  The skiing area is amazing with plenty for everyone - the problem was that it was really foggy on day 3 of my holiday so we had to come off the mountain early - it was just no fun skiing when you couldn't see more than four feet in front of you.  The weather on day 4 was worse so didn't get on the slopes at all but that was more a function of the lack of enthusiasm of my travelling companions. 
However, the resort more than made up for it.  The apres ski was great craic and there's plenty to see around the place.  The transfer from Geneva makes it a fantastic place to have a short ski break.  I'll def be back, this year again if possible. 

Have a number of good nightlife recommendations if you're interested though we went at probably the quietest time of the year, just after new year.

all recommendations welcome. i hear there's a casino... did u check it out.???
just outta curiosity and so i know where to stay away from ;) ;) ;) is there any of those special type of bars were women feel the urge to take their clothes off when u give them money :D  ::) 8)
Post by: Aerlik on January 13, 2008, 11:46:51 PM
Folks,
alot of the Slovenians and Croatians I work with rave on about the snow in those two countries.  But then the Croats think their country is heaven anyway.  If you ever get rich enough, try Hokkaido in Japan or slopes on the eastern side of the Japan Alps north of Niigata.  Bloody brilliant but bloody cold with very chilly Siberian winds bringing the wind chill factor to way below -20C.  I'm looking at a wee trip to NZ next July/August.  Get good insurance wherever you go.
Post by: Rois on January 14, 2008, 08:30:27 AM
Quote from: Leg End on January 13, 2008, 10:40:49 PM
all recommendations welcome. i hear there's a casino... did u check it out.???
just outta curiosity and so i know where to stay away from ;) ;) ;) is there any of those special type of bars were women feel the urge to take their clothes off when u give them money :D  ::) 8)

Didn't check out Casino but some of the lads we met tried to get in - you have to be well enough dressed because they were refused entry.

Yes, to answer your question, I believe there are some of those special types of bars - well there were posters on the walls of a few pubs advertising at least one night when this was happening in a certain bar in the town.  Not being remotely interested, I didn't pay much more attention.

For apres ski, head to Chambre Neuf in front of the train station about 5pm - there's a band playing in there every day and they're very good, the place is bunged with people just off the slopes.  Afterwards head to Chamonix Sud, Monkey Bar and the Munster Bar are part of the complex and are pretty good, although Munster Bar was disappointing when we were there.  Monkey Bar does great bar food.  At night time we ended up in La Terasse - again live music was the draw here. 

Oh I'm so jealous.  Def going again in March.
Post by: Bensars on January 14, 2008, 10:04:20 AM
Im so jealous. This is my  first time in 6 years not going ( Mrs Bensars due very shortly).

Girl i work with got a great deal to Tignes. £520 SC with full ski pack and passes.

Wish you all well.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on January 14, 2008, 10:23:01 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on January 13, 2008, 11:46:51 PM
Folks,
alot of the Slovenians and Croatians I work with rave on about the snow in those two countries.  But then the Croats think their country is heaven anyway.  If you ever get rich enough, try Hokkaido in Japan or slopes on the eastern side of the Japan Alps north of Niigata.  Bloody brilliant but bloody cold with very chilly Siberian winds bringing the wind chill factor to way below -20C.  I'm looking at a wee trip to NZ next July/August.  Get good insurance wherever you go.

I was in Slovenia Skiing a few times.  stayed in a wee place called bled.  The slopes are about 20 mins away and the prices are very cheap.  there's the likes of Kranjska Gora, there's world cup skiing events there ever year.

bled itself is very cheap.  3 pints for €5 cant be bad
Post by: Radda bout yeee on October 04, 2011, 10:38:49 AM
Just booked Chalet Anna in La Plagne 1800 - anyone ever been to this are and if so whats it like?
Post by: sans pessimism on October 04, 2011, 10:56:25 AM
the way our winters are going we'll all be headid to a piste in Kerry!!!
Post by: seafoid on October 04, 2011, 11:14:54 AM
Tignes has some very nice slopes. We went to Sainte Foy  nearby and it's good for beginners.

I reckon the ski resorts will be offering good value this year with all the economic shenanigans going on.
Post by: ludermor on October 04, 2011, 12:00:34 PM
http://www.dare2b.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Browse?storeId=11551&DisplayProductList=false&categoryId=55417&catalogId=20054&langId=-1

Anyone want any skiing gear the attached website currently has a crazy sale
Post by: seafoid on October 04, 2011, 12:05:04 PM
Bend the knees and let go
Post by: Rois on October 04, 2011, 12:35:32 PM
Booked a catered chalet in Chamonix including transfers from Geneva for £350 for end Feb/start of March.  Flights were £75, so that's a cracking price.

Never been to La Plagne.

Need to sort out somewhere to go in Jan too.  There's a good looking all inclusive deal in Alpe d'Huez through a company called Take Me To Ski if anyone is interested in going there.

Post by: pullhard on October 04, 2011, 04:58:59 PM
Where is a good place to look for cheap(ish) ski break?  Was told christmas/new york was quite cheap is this right?
Post by: seafoid on November 29, 2011, 03:35:43 PM
There is no snow in any of the Euro resorts below 2000 m at the moment

http://www.chamonix.net/english/webcam/courmayeur.htm

http://www.chamonix.net/english/webcam/letour.htm

Post by: Radda bout yeee on November 29, 2011, 04:54:45 PM
Worrying going to La Plagne 1800 on 17 March. 1800m altitude - what are the chances the snow will have gone??  :-\
Post by: Rois on January 06, 2012, 10:02:15 AM
2 spare return flights going for this week coming to Geneva (Sunday to Sunday) - anyone want them (you can pay for the name change).  Absolutely amazing snow this week. 
Post by: theskull1 on January 06, 2012, 10:13:46 AM
Be gone satan
Post by: mikasas on January 06, 2012, 03:14:50 PM
You not fit to make your trip Rois? That's crap if not! Been getting Snow reports all week, apparently the snow is amazing! Bring on the 21st! Then hope it holds out till the 3rd of March!
Post by: Rois on January 06, 2012, 03:32:04 PM
Ah I can't make this week but just booked for four days 26 Jan - 29 Jan to Morzine, and then off to Chamonix 26 Feb for a week - so don't be feeling sorry for me.  Wasn't efficient to change the easyjet flights so there's going to be two spare spots this Sunday.
Post by: seafoid on January 06, 2012, 09:19:27 PM
There is loads of snow now so i hope it stays cold for the next 3 months.

Post by: Radda bout yeee on January 26, 2012, 10:12:22 AM
Wheres the best place/website to buy ski goggles and ski sunglasses?
Post by: theskull1 on January 26, 2012, 10:25:09 AM
For good value TK MAXX
Post by: Radda bout yeee on January 26, 2012, 11:55:49 AM
I have found this website for cheap (fake) oakley sunglasses. I'm not a bit worried about wearing a cheap imitation i'm just wondering would it be save to use this website to pay etc. Anyone any experience in this?

www.discount-oakley-sunglasses.us
Post by: johnneycool on January 26, 2012, 04:06:48 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on November 29, 2011, 04:54:45 PM
Worrying going to La Plagne 1800 on 17 March. 1800m altitude - what are the chances the snow will have gone??  :-\

Skied once in La plagne around the same time a good fewyears ago. It may be a pain in the arse but there used to be a regular bus that took you up to some of the higher resorts and I'm almost sure that there's runs and chair lifts that can take you to a glacier where they allegedly ski all year round.

Don't expect much night life though.
Post by: mikasas on March 13, 2012, 09:41:30 AM
Just back from a week in Morzine, staying with Morzine Ski Chalets, great job. Couldn't reccomend any more. Snowed twice when we were out too so the snow was brilliant! Can't believe its going to be a year at least before I've ski's back on me!
Post by: Rois on March 13, 2012, 12:37:28 PM
Morzine Ski Chalets appear pricey though! 

I hear the resorts are staying open a bit later - boyfriend is going for a few days after Easter and if I'm not busy, i might join him.

Post by: WeeDonns on October 18, 2012, 10:29:52 AM
That time of year again when I'm looking into ski holidays again. Has anyone booked anything yet? 
Any good websites for deals to share with us?
Our group has taken a big hit with people getting married and having kids. Looks like it'll just be 4 of us this year, and one of them is a teacher so we have to go mid-term!

Not sure where to go either. Have been comparing DIY and package deals and there's not an awful difference in price
Has anyone been to Slovenia? I'm seeing some good deals, with really nice hotels but I'm not sure about the number of slopes
Post by: Rois on October 18, 2012, 11:49:54 AM
I'm obv a DIY advocate on these things and prob going back to Morzine for a week.  Coming out with a price of around £800 all in (flight, transfer, catered chalet, lift pass, eqp hire) for January, about £30 more for 3 half days of lessons.  Our catered chalet last year was the best value I have had skiing - apart from the initial outlay, I prob spent €250 extra. 

Half term is completely different and I will be avoiding as long as possible.

I looked at Val Thorens this time as well which was coming out at a similar price but the transfer is the off-putting part - up to 4hrs from Geneva.

Absolutely Snow and Alpine Elements are two small travel companies that have lift pass deals etc but you're kidding yourself if you think you will find many deals for half term.
Post by: WeeDonns on October 18, 2012, 12:11:36 PM
Well the plan is to convince the teacher to, ahem, 'take leave' another week...
Not only will it be way more expensive, but the slopes will be far busier on half term

Went to Val Thorens 3 years ago and have to say it was class. We got the full 3 valleys pass but probably only needed it 1 day when we went to Meribel as theres so many slopes in Val Thorens. Nearly everywhere is ski in ski out too. I'd definitely go back, the transfer didn't seem too bad to be honest.

How many of you went to the catered chalet? I like the idea of it, breakfast & evening meal made for you :)
Post by: Rois on October 18, 2012, 12:42:02 PM
There were 16 of us I think last year, we did a deal where we paid £40 extra each and had unlimited drinks provided by the chalet.  They prob made money on us to be honest as all we drank was beer and wine.  The downside was that we didn't go out into town too much after apres ski, but that was our choice. 

Look up the website www.chaletsdirect.com and check out the Solutions Room - I use it quite a bit.  If you want a catered chalet, post up your requirements and private chalet owners come back to you with their options. 

I've stayed in a few catered chalets and you can get really reasonable ones and really fancy ones - unfortunately I've yet to stay in a mega-fancy one...the majority have outdoor hot tubs or saunas which are a nice touch at the end of the day.

If you haven't been to Portes de Soleil, seriously think about it - Morzine is one option but there's also Avoriaz, Les Gets, Chatel and a few other smaller resorts.  The ski area is immense, maybe a bit smaller than 3 Valleys but you don't have to ski the same slope twice in a week. 
Post by: seafoid on October 18, 2012, 01:27:34 PM
I think prices will be lower this season because of the recession. Ski resorts have to compete harder for a smaller pool of skiers.
Post by: Rois on October 18, 2012, 01:53:00 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 18, 2012, 01:27:34 PM
I think prices will be lower this season because of the recession. Ski resorts have to compete harder for a smaller pool of skiers.

Why this season rather than the last few? 

I reckon it's the tour operators rather than the specific resorts that control the pricing dynamics, and in Ireland, they just limit the flights so their prices don't fluctuate so much.  I rarely see really really good bargains from tour operators who fly from Ireland.

Us Nordies like the movement of the euro over the last yr...
Post by: seafoid on October 18, 2012, 02:11:49 PM
Quote from: Rois on October 18, 2012, 01:53:00 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 18, 2012, 01:27:34 PM

Why this season rather than the last few? 

I reckon it's the tour operators rather than the specific resorts that control the pricing dynamics, and in Ireland, they just limit the flights so their prices don't fluctuate so much.  I rarely see really really good bargains from tour operators who fly from Ireland.

Us Nordies like the movement of the euro over the last yr...
I noticed it in Switzerland last year. They were offering free passes to kids under 9 in the Alps near Lake Geneva. This year it's free passes and free accommodation for kids under 9. 
Lots of people on the continent have stopped skiing because of the recession.
Post by: Orior on October 18, 2012, 02:19:15 PM
Val Thorens is brilliant. Guaranteed snow and great variety of slopes.
Post by: Rois on October 18, 2012, 02:43:07 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 18, 2012, 02:11:49 PM
I noticed it in Switzerland last year. They were offering free passes to kids under 9 in the Alps near Lake Geneva. This year it's free passes and free accommodation for kids under 9. 
Lots of people on the continent have stopped skiing because of the recession.

Ah I see.  I think it's a different kettle of fish in Switzerland where their exchange rate has made them uncompetitive in the context of European skiing.  Esp around Lake Geneva, when you could choose to ski in the (relatively) cheaper French or Italian resorts.

Kiddies savings not really relevant for people like WeeDons and myself who don't have to consider any nippers when booking ski hols. 

Don't see much difference in price for my own holiday, lift pass price for Portes de Soleil has increased.

Val Thorens sounds like a good place alright.  It doesn't have the same number of private catered chalets and options for DIY hols. 
When you were there did you ski into Les Menuieres?  It holds itself out as being a good gateway into Val Thorens and the other 3 Valleys resorts. 
Post by: Hardy on October 18, 2012, 03:27:33 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 18, 2012, 02:19:15 PM
Val Thorens is brilliant. Guaranteed snow and great variety of slopes.

I can't wait to meet her.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on October 18, 2012, 03:38:59 PM
Quote from: WeeDonns on October 18, 2012, 10:29:52 AM
Has anyone been to Slovenia? I'm seeing some good deals, with really nice hotels but I'm not sure about the number of slopes

I'm heading to Bled in Slovenia the day after boxing day.  I haven't been there in a few years but the last time I was there everything seemed pretty reasonable in terms of equipment etc.

Got flights last week for about £130 each flying into Venice from Dublin.  We are gonna get a bus hired out between about 10 of us.
Post by: Rois on January 04, 2013, 04:13:46 PM
Well - anybody going?  Anyone been? 

My friend flew out this morn for a weekend skiing and a colleague is heading off in the morning.  I'm not off myself until 23 Feb - first time i won't have skied in January for about five years. 
Post by: WeeDonns on January 04, 2013, 04:25:02 PM
Going to Soll on 16th Feb. Been there before, would have preferred to check out somewhere new but feck it, can't wait now!
Post by: Orior on January 04, 2013, 04:28:28 PM
I'm heading on the 17th Feb. Keep out of my way if you don't want flattened!
Post by: Rois on January 04, 2013, 04:33:01 PM
Just paid off our final balance at the end of Dec - there's 17 confirmed which will be great craic in our own big catered chalet. 

Going back to Morzine for the sixth time.  Still can't wait. 

Are we black/red/blue skiers?  I'm prob happiest on reds, crap myself on the blacks but I usually try to give a few of them a go each trip.  Find I enjoy skiing much better on reds than blues as well. 
Post by: ziggysego on January 04, 2013, 05:04:13 PM
Gadget Show's and new BBC F1 presenter Suzi Perry tweeted yesterday she was going on a ski-ing holiday. I decided to tweet her good luck and said 'break a leg'. I opened up a wave of hate upon myself from lots of Suzi fans.  :o
Post by: Just Puck It on January 04, 2013, 05:50:20 PM
Back two weeks ago from Val Thorens - went from the 15th to 22nd December.  Flew to Geneva from Belfast for about £90 and £90 again for the transfers.  Took about 3.5 hours.  Only four of us went and stayed in Temple du Soilel which is right on the piste.  Think we got accommodation and our ski pass for £239, plus £69 for equipment.

Snow was unbelievable.  First day we had brilliant clear skies and sun, but the second and third days were complete white-outs.  Couldn't see more than 10-15ft ahead but was skill skiable.  Left us with brilliant snow for the rest of the week with off-piste being seriously deep powder!

Cost of eating out/drink was quite dear.  A vodka and mixer in one of the main nightclubs (Malaysia) will cost you 7euro and a large beer (40cl) is 5euro.  From being in Andorra last year it was quite a jump in price but still definitely worth it for the vast range of slopes and the quality of the snow.

Tough to think it will be another year at least before we're back.
Post by: seafoid on January 04, 2013, 07:17:11 PM
Quote from: Just Puck It on January 04, 2013, 05:50:20 PM
Back two weeks ago from Val Thorens - went from the 15th to 22nd December.  Flew to Geneva from Belfast for about £90 and £90 again for the transfers.  Took about 3.5 hours.  Only four of us went and stayed in Temple du Soilel which is right on the piste.  Think we got accommodation and our ski pass for £239, plus £69 for equipment.

Snow was unbelievable.  First day we had brilliant clear skies and sun, but the second and third days were complete white-outs.  Couldn't see more than 10-15ft ahead but was skill skiable.  Left us with brilliant snow for the rest of the week with off-piste being seriously deep powder!

Cost of eating out/drink was quite dear.  A vodka and mixer in one of the main nightclubs (Malaysia) will cost you 7euro and a large beer (40cl) is 5euro.  From being in Andorra last year it wj7as quite a jump in price but still definitely worth it for the vast range of slopes and the quality of the snow.

Tough to think it will be another year at least before we're back.
Food in the resorts tends to be expensive and poor enough quality in my experience . I would prefer sandwiches to paying 15eur for a burger. But the snow this week was grand and powdery .
Post by: Orior on February 24, 2013, 09:06:34 PM
Just back from 4 days skiing in Austria.  Spent time at Postalm and Gosau. Snow was very good.

What's happening in the boring world?
Post by: Rois on October 16, 2013, 04:52:56 PM
Just booked ski flights there for £100 return from Belfast.

Anyone booked yet? 
Post by: Orior on October 16, 2013, 05:30:00 PM
Quote from: Rois on October 16, 2013, 04:52:56 PM

Anyone booked yet?

The powers that be are thinking of Norway this year. Have you a spare couple of hundred pounds you can lend me?
Post by: armaghniac on October 16, 2013, 05:32:35 PM
I never go on the Piste.
Post by: haranguerer on October 16, 2013, 07:40:35 PM
Boarding these days Rois, went with a loada boarders to Livignio last year, and never looked back!

Think we'll probably head the same spot this year, but havent looked at anything yet, could do with sorting it soon.

Where you for?
Post by: Rois on October 16, 2013, 10:11:08 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 16, 2013, 05:30:00 PM
Quote from: Rois on October 16, 2013, 04:52:56 PM

Anyone booked yet?

The powers that be are thinking of Norway this year. Have you a spare couple of hundred pounds you can lend me?
Nice! I have heard of Geilo but only know it is dear. Booked a holiday once with Absolutely Group who did hols there.

Boarding??? Hard to beat Livigno though.

We are off to Chamonix, getting married there in summer so it seemed appropriate. Catered chalet, not sure I could do anything else these days, getting old.

Title: Skiing - late season
Post by: WeeDonns on October 17, 2013, 02:49:30 PM
Heading to Thailand for 3 weeks in November, so probably won't get skiing(Boarding) Jan or Feb. Thinking of going March/April.
Has anyone been in April? Suggestions of snow sure resorts would be appreciated... anywhere with a glacier i suppose

We've always went through a tour operator, Saturday - Saturday but if we were to book ourselves, there are some good deals on flights Thursday-Thursday. Would many of you have done this before? I'm just thinking about difficulty in booking accommodation as most places like to rent Sat-Sat or Sun-Sun

Also - any teachers here? when are the Schools off for Easter (Sunday 20th April)? is it the week after normally? That might be very late :-[
Post by: Rois on October 17, 2013, 08:50:18 PM
I always do my own these days.

Go to www.chaletsdirect.com and post up your requirements on their Solutions Room - if you're pretty flexible, you'll find a lot of chalet owners are too, and they will gladly take you, but maybe not until a bit closer to the time of booking.

If you can avoid Easter, you will find lots of flexibility. 
Post by: seafoid on October 17, 2013, 09:09:28 PM
Ischgl in austria is mad for the apres ski.
Post by: seafoid on December 21, 2013, 08:49:42 AM
The snow is very poor this week in Switz. Only 33% of the usual cover. Last year was way better.
Post by: Rois on December 21, 2013, 08:56:07 AM
Quote from: seafoid on December 21, 2013, 08:49:42 AM
The snow is very poor this week in Switz. Only 33% of the usual cover. Last year was way better.

Rubbish - are you out there?  Hope it hasn't ruined your holiday.
I keep an eye on the Snowheads forum where people who are out in the resorts post updates on what it's like.  I've booked a short break end of Jan, hoping the predicted snowfalls next week happen. Apparently avalanche risk is really high.
Post by: seafoid on December 21, 2013, 05:19:29 PM
Quote from: Rois on December 21, 2013, 08:56:07 AM
Quote from: seafoid on December 21, 2013, 08:49:42 AM

Rubbish - are you out there?  Hope it hasn't ruined your holiday.
I keep an eye on the Snowheads forum where people who are out in the resorts post updates on what it's like.  I've booked a short break end of Jan, hoping the predicted snowfalls next week happen. Apparently avalanche risk is really high.
End jan should be ok but it is bad for stations that make 30 to 40% turnover between christmas and new year.
Waiting for the full set of pistes to open- earliest is wednesday. Did a bit today . It is great to be back on the skis.
Post by: Just Puck It on November 07, 2014, 11:18:35 PM
Thought I'd get this back to page one!

Any teachers/family skiers who have to go during holidays any advice?

I've always skied throughout my time at Uni and even organised university trips to Andorra and Val Thorens but now I'm out on the other side and I have to go during school holidays I can't believe the price difference! A quick look on Thompson Ski and the difference in going to Val Thoren during mid term week in Feb and the week before is £500!

Looking to book something lively for a group of teachers during Feb, 14th-21st. Is my best option to book everything separately rather than use a tour operator? Any advice appreciated!
Post by: seafoid on November 08, 2014, 12:27:31 AM
Quote from: Just Puck It on November 07, 2014, 11:18:35 PM
Thought I'd get this back to page one!

Any teachers/family skiers who have to go during holidays any advice?

I've always skied throughout my time at Uni and even organised university trips to Andorra and Val Thorens but now I'm out on the other side and I have to go during school holidays I can't believe the price difference! A quick look on Thompson Ski and the difference in going to Val Thoren during mid term week in Feb and the week before is £500!

Looking to book something lively for a group of teachers during Feb, 14th-21st. Is my best option to book everything separately rather than use a tour operator? Any advice appreciated!
It might be better to shop around. Tour operators will charge more during school holidays because that is when the demand is.
A UK operator will jack up prices during UK holidays - mostly because of the price of flights and because they can. 
Rentals at French resorts are more expensive during French holidays.

If you can find a resort that won't be too busy during your school hols you can benefit.

Post by: Just Puck It on November 08, 2014, 11:49:54 AM
Thanks Seafoid. Looking at the French resorts they are a lot more expensive, and it seems that the French midterm is falling at the same time as ours this year which obviously jacks up prices too. Cheapest skiing seems to be in Andorra which wouldn't be the worst thing. Only downside would be that I've skied Andorra twice in the last three years and would rather broaden our horizons than go back.

Has any one any experience of skiing in Austria?
Post by: seafoid on November 08, 2014, 04:12:27 PM
Quote from: Just Puck It on November 08, 2014, 11:49:54 AM
Thanks Seafoid. Looking at the French resorts they are a lot more expensive, and it seems that the French midterm is falling at the same time as ours this year which obviously jacks up prices too. Cheapest skiing seems to be in Andorra which wouldn't be the worst thing. Only downside would be that I've skied Andorra twice in the last three years and would rather broaden our horizons than go back.

Has any one any experience of skiing in Austria?
if you go to a site like interhome.com you can compare apartment rental costs at ski resorts by country.
In most cases prices are cheaper outside the local school holidays so you just need to find somwhere that the price is reasonable and not too far from an airport.
Post by: Rois on November 08, 2014, 04:27:14 PM
Have you checked Livigno in Italy? Should be broadly comparable price wise to Andorra (same awful transfer).

Would def avoid France at that time. I'm going first wk of March when all holidays will be over.
Post by: seafoid on November 08, 2014, 05:03:11 PM
I was looking at this

http://www.interhome.com/italy/lombardy/livigno/

but there must be places with better transfers

http://www.interhome.com/austria/tyrol/ischgl/
isn't so far from Zurich airport
Post by: seafoid on December 25, 2014, 04:03:04 PM
I was skiing today in the Alps. Very poor snow and a lot of resorts are closed eg Morzine. I imagine it is worse in the Pyrenees. Snow is expected this weekend but it is very late.
Post by: Rois on December 26, 2014, 04:31:03 AM
Quote from: seafoid on December 25, 2014, 04:03:04 PM
I was skiing today in the Alps. Very poor snow and a lot of resorts are closed eg Morzine. I imagine it is worse in the Pyrenees. Snow is expected this weekend but it is very late.
At least some of Avoriaz is open - some friends were skiing yesterday so it's an option if Morzine is closed.
First half of March for me this yr.
Post by: seafoid on December 26, 2014, 07:11:25 AM
Quote from: Rois on December 26, 2014, 04:31:03 AM
At least some of Avoriaz is open - some friends were skiing yesterday so it's an option if Morzine is closed.
I feel sorry for the people who work in the ski resorts when there isn't enough snow in one of the most importantweeks in the season. March should have a good bit more snow.
Post by: Last Man on December 26, 2014, 12:16:00 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 26, 2014, 07:11:25 AM
I feel sorry for the people who work in the ski resorts when there isn't enough snow in one of the most importantweeks in the season. March should have a good bit more snow.
Not quite as grim in Austria according to the Zell am See web cams, another 21/2 weeks to improve things for us, fingers crossed.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on December 31, 2014, 01:24:39 AM
Quote from: seafoid on December 26, 2014, 07:11:25 AM

Are you back from the slopes yet ?

Your concern for the workers is touching. That's what I always liked about you Seafoid. Even in your most bourgeois moments you still find time to think of the little man. 

Post by: bennydorano on December 31, 2014, 11:29:32 PM
Harry Enfield brummy skit (20 years ago rite enuf) "I appear to be considerably richer than you".
Post by: Rois on October 29, 2015, 06:12:09 PM
Booked the annual trip today to Morzine for early March 16 with an Irish chalet operator for the first time called Highlife.  Good customer service so far and very accommodating.  They seem to have gone from strength to strength despite the recession years.

Anyone else skiing this winter?
Post by: haranguerer on October 30, 2015, 02:09:09 PM
Engleberg just after Christmas Rois - going to go back to skiing too - going with gf and some of her family and they'll all be skiing

debating trying to squeeze in the annual trip to livignio for snowboarding later on seeing as missed it last year, but its probably not that likely...very first world problems :)
Post by: WeeDonns on October 30, 2015, 03:06:23 PM
Booked ours a few weeks ago for 23rd Jan in Val Thorens 8) 7 of us going. Going earlier this year,went in March the past 2 years.
Booked all separately for the first time as we'd normally always use crystal ski or directski etc
Flights were only £18 e/w before luggage. Belfast to Lyon with easyjet so £370 for flights, transfers & (what looks like) nice accommodation.

I think i'd struggle going back to the Skiing Haranguerer! The board is just so much handier to carry about once you're off the slopes for a start :)

Really looking forward to it now; I see lots of places are offering early bird hire deals atm so must get that sorted soon.

Never heard of Highlife Rois, sticking their url in here so I can find it again next year http://www.highlife.ie/

@Rois, you've done the fully catered chalet a few times now ? Do you find your group stays in the chalet most nights or do you still venture up to the resort in the evenings?
Post by: Rois on October 31, 2015, 10:48:48 AM
I would struggle to do anything other than catered chalet now if going for a week. Nice home-cooked food and bottomless wine bottles, not to mention daily soaks in the hot tub before dinner. We tend now not to go out after dinner too much, but prob because we're getting too old and would prefer to be up for first lifts than going out in the resort. If we go to a pub, we usually just chat to each other anyway. That said, we're staying close to the resort centre this time so I'm looking forward to wandering around the town some evenings this time.

That's a super price for Val Thorens WeeDons!

Haranguerer, you're being forced back to the two planks?? At least draglifts will be a bit easier...
Post by: gallsman on November 30, 2015, 05:13:06 PM
Anyone been skiing in Andorra? If so any recommendations. Have never done it but seems like too good an opportunity to turn down with the pyrenees on the doorstep.
Post by: Rois on January 04, 2017, 02:59:18 PM
Any ski trips planned this winter?  The Alps appear to being having a horrendous time.

Part of me is thinking about biting the exchange rate bullet and going to Canada (Banff or Whistler).  Any of you well travelled people been there? 
California seems to be getting amazing snow but the dollar rate is just too bad for me to think about Mammoth, where I'd love to go someday.
Post by: seafoid on January 04, 2017, 05:41:27 PM
Quote from: Rois on January 04, 2017, 02:59:18 PM
Any ski trips planned this winter?  The Alps appear to being having a horrendous time.

Part of me is thinking about biting the exchange rate bullet and going to Canada (Banff or Whistler).  Any of you well travelled people been there? 
California seems to be getting amazing snow but the dollar rate is just too bad for me to think about Mammoth, where I'd love to go someday.
There is a big dose of snow due this week.
http://www.meteofrance.com/previsions-meteo-france/annecy/74000
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2017, 07:47:32 PM
Daughter just back from 9 days skiing in Lincoln Newhampshire... Said snow was amazing slopes were great!! School trips have changed!! I went to Helen's bay Ffs
Post by: Rois on January 04, 2017, 08:47:36 PM
Aw jeez very nice! Freezing there though I'd say MR.

Seafoid, as predicted by Meteo France, the snow has started falling in the Portes de Soleil - my FB page is littered with photos of it, people are so excited!
Post by: seafoid on January 05, 2017, 10:23:01 AM
Rois , the PdS was dependent on artificial snow and to get the real thing is fabulous. It is far cheaper and it doesn't ice like the artificial stuff. More snow tonight  .
Post by: Rois on January 05, 2017, 10:32:51 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 05, 2017, 10:23:01 AM
Rois , the PdS was dependent on artificial snow and to get the real thing is fabulous. It is far cheaper and it doesn't ice like the artificial stuff. More snow tonight  .
Consensus from what I've read is that the snowmakers in the PdS have done a super job around the Avoriaz sector with what they had as more of the resort was open than would have been expected.  I'm on mailing lists for what feels like half of the chalet companies in the area and they're all discounting amazingly in Jan, beyond normal.   
More snow forecast from Tues onwards too but that's probably too far out at this stage.
Post by: seafoid on January 05, 2017, 10:40:52 AM
Quote from: Rois on January 05, 2017, 10:32:51 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 05, 2017, 10:23:01 AM
Consensus from what I've read is that the snowmakers in the PdS have done a super job around the Avoriaz sector with what they had as more of the resort was open than would have been expected.  I'm on mailing lists for what feels like half of the chalet companies in the area and they're all discounting amazingly in Jan, beyond normal.   
More snow forecast from Tues onwards too but that's probably too far out at this stage.
I think ski numbers are falling via a combination of unpredictable snow and economic recession. Sales of skis in CH have been falling for a decade.

Fewer skiers mean better skiing for those who persist but it's bad for the resorts. Lots of hotels have gone bust.
Post by: WeeDonns on January 05, 2017, 10:43:18 AM
The wife & I went to Chamonix for Christmas, the snow wasn't great. None at all on the lower slopes.
We only had 4 days skiing so there was enough piste to keep us occupied, kinda.

Some friends went to Sierra Nevada in Spain on the 2nd week of December and had great snow. Its definitely on the list now for a last minute early season trip next year. Some of them booked late with cheap flights into Malaga, all very handy  - although they said the resort was pretty dead in the evenings.

A group of us are headed to alpe d'huez now on 4th Feb. Never been there before so looking forward to it. Fingers crossed for plenty of snow
Post by: Rois on January 05, 2017, 10:48:10 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 05, 2017, 10:40:52 AM
I think ski numbers are falling via a combination of unpredictable snow and economic recession. Sales of skis in CH have been falling for a decade.

Fewer skiers mean better skiing for those who persist but it's bad for the resorts. Lots of hotels have gone bust.
Well they have fallen off a cliff this year in the PdS judging by the abnormal prices I'm seeing for Jan. 

WeeDonns had you skied in Chamonix before?  I've a few friends going at the end of the month so they'll be watching closely.
I used to work with a Spanish guy who couldn't believe we didn't ski in the Sierra Nevada and when I looked into it last year, it was def a very atrractive option.  If you had good conditions later in the year you could do skiing and golf in one trip.
Post by: WeeDonns on January 05, 2017, 11:02:53 AM
No, hadn't been before. Had the flights booked for Geneva a few months back & just picked the resort closer to the time based on available hotels within an hour and 'predicted' snowfall. Left Belfast @6am and was on the slopes before lunch so was good in that way.
I wouldn't be a fan of the resorts where you've to get a bus between different mountains.
Val Thorens/Soll are still my 2 favourite resorts for ski & apres. VT probably shades it because of ski in/ski out

My Bro-in-law is headed to Whistler in the next 2 weeks. They went for their honeymoon last year and then got a good deal during the summer back to the same place this year. Would love to do it some year
Post by: Rois on January 05, 2017, 11:08:37 AM
Quote from: WeeDonns on January 05, 2017, 11:02:53 AM
No, hadn't been before. Had the flights booked for Geneva a few months back & just picked the resort closer to the time based on available hotels within an hour and 'predicted' snowfall. Left Belfast @6am and was on the slopes before lunch so was good in that way.
I wouldn't be a fan of the resorts where you've to get a bus between different mountains.
Val Thorens/Soll are still my 2 favourite resorts for ski & apres. VT probably shades it because of ski in/ski out

My Bro-in-law is headed to Whistler in the next 2 weeks. They went for their honeymoon last year and then got a good deal during the summer back to the same place this year. Would love to do it some year
Yeah I know what you mean re: Chamonix but the last few times I've skied there I've stayed in chalets that run private minibus transfers every morn and eve which makes it so much easier, though the lift queues at Grands Montets and at Flegere weren't good with the old lifts.  We got married in the Church in the middle of the town there in summer season and we're heading back again in summer as my husband is doing a race.  I love the town.
If you hear again about any of those Whistler deals, let us know!  We were in Aspen this summer - it's a class place, would also love to ski there.
Post by: WT4E on January 05, 2017, 11:41:20 AM
Thinking of booking something if I can get the right price - where would be the best/cheapest deal in mid march. Would like somewhere with a god buzz as just the two of us going.
Post by: Rois on January 05, 2017, 12:04:17 PM
Quote from: WT4E on January 05, 2017, 11:41:20 AM
Thinking of booking something if I can get the right price - where would be the best/cheapest deal in mid march. Would like somewhere with a god buzz as just the two of us going.
Have you stayed in catered chalets before?  If just the two of you, they are really good for meeting with people over dinner. 
Post by: seafoid on January 05, 2017, 02:38:10 PM
The snow is so fragile and when it comes it reminds me of this song

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fr3hkNdZ0Ns
Post by: seafoid on January 10, 2017, 09:07:54 PM
Tá an sneachta go flúirseach anois
Post by: Rois on January 10, 2017, 09:45:16 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 10, 2017, 09:07:54 PM
Tá an sneachta go flúirseach anois
Ar fheabhas!
Post by: leenie on January 10, 2017, 11:17:43 PM
I'm heading ski-ing in march to Andorra , I've never been before going with regular skiers but there's another girl going that hasn't been before, so we'll do our lessons together... how many days of lessons do you think we'll need..
Post by: seafoid on January 11, 2017, 06:49:25 AM
Quote from: leenie on January 10, 2017, 11:17:43 PM
I'm heading ski-ing in march to Andorra , I've never been before going with regular skiers but there's another girl going that hasn't been before, so we'll do our lessons together... how many days of lessons do you think we'll need..
After 3 days of lessons you should be ready to start on a few pistes. You can learn the basics in a week and then it's practice
Post by: Last Man on January 11, 2017, 07:56:17 AM
Quote from: seafoid on January 11, 2017, 06:49:25 AM
After 3 days of lessons you should be ready to start on a few pistes. You can learn the basics in a week and then it's practice
If both of you can afford a tutor to just look after the 2 of you for 3 or 4 hours a day then 3 days might give you enough of a start. If part of a larger group i'd say do 5 days. Youll be glad of it next year. Park the idea of skiing with your mates, they wont be interested in waiting for you. Unless you dont mind wrecking yourself or taking someone else out.
Post by: Rois on January 11, 2017, 09:43:14 AM
Go to group lessons and just go all week.  My first trip was to Andorra and I had a complete ball in ski school.  I met some brilliant people - it was really good fun.  We were in Arinsal and had two fab English instructors.

Private lessons are good for improving but I think at the start, don't make it like a job and put yourself under too much pressure, make it fun and enjoyable. 

(according to my ski instructor, girls learn a little slower than guys at the start of their skiing career, but because they listen and do things at the right pace, they are often better technical skiers by the end of their first set of lessons) 
Post by: seafoid on January 11, 2017, 10:13:25 AM
Watch a few ski videos before you go.
Post by: Aristo 60 on January 11, 2017, 10:43:47 AM
My first and only ski trip was also in Andorra. Day 1 I went all gung ho and scared the sh outta myself. The fear was shortly overtaken by depression at how bad I was and then a feeling of isolation for another day or two as I wandered around the bottom of the slopes and the local shops.

Then took a hour private lesson and for the last few days of the trip never looked back.

That is my skiing history.

Post by: WeeDonns on January 11, 2017, 10:47:05 AM
Go to ski school for the 5 days.
My first trip was to Pas de la Casa in Andorra, also in early March & I would definitely recommend it.
When I went, the lessons were over around 2pm, so you can always go and meet up with the rest of your group for a couple of hours.
Its a much bigger resort now than when I went in 2008
Post by: Rois on January 11, 2017, 12:12:52 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on January 11, 2017, 10:43:47 AM
Day 1 I went all gung ho and scared the sh outta myself.

Q.E.D re: my earlier post about fellas making progress earlier than girls.
Post by: leenie on January 11, 2017, 01:17:17 PM
Quote from: WeeDonns on January 11, 2017, 10:47:05 AM
Go to ski school for the 5 days.
My first trip was to Pas de la Casa in Andorra, also in early March & I would definitely recommend it.
When I went, the lessons were over around 2pm, so you can always go and meet up with the rest of your group for a couple of hours.
Its a much bigger resort now than when I went in 2008

That's where I'm going, we are going to head down to the dry ski slopes just to get use to wearing skies but the experts in the group say it's nothing like the real thing but if we learn how to stop it's a big advantage.. is the nightlife good here?
Post by: theskull1 on January 11, 2017, 03:25:43 PM
Try to visualize standing on a steep hill facing down. Imagine putting your weight forward and lean down the hill with your feet together ..... your body naturally wants to go back onto its heels to stop itself falling. But this is what you have to do when you ski (lean down the hill) and your brain will have a bit of a time getting over that 'contradiction'. Put your weight forward onto your toes/ball of feet/shins and the back of the skis become light making them easy to change direction/control. Leaning back on the heels puts all the weight on the tails making them really difficult to control at which point a learner can get the heebie geebies. I found once I got over this this brain fart, I was grand confidence wise and progressed well from there.

One on one lessons are worth the money especially on your 1st trip. I'd set aside a few quid that.
Post by: WeeDonns on January 11, 2017, 03:26:58 PM
IMO the apres ski in any resort differs from week to week depending on the people out there.
When we went there were 16 of us, so enough to create our own craic, but we also went on those tour company organised pub crawls which turned out pretty mad....

We're too sensible for that now  ;)
Post by: Rois on January 11, 2017, 06:10:17 PM
Quote from: WeeDonns on January 11, 2017, 03:26:58 PM
IMO the apres ski in any resort differs from week to week depending on the people out there.
When we went there were 16 of us, so enough to create our own craic, but we also went on those tour company organised pub crawls which turned out pretty mad....

We're too sensible for that now  ;)

I think I'm on the same ski holiday maturity curve as you WeeDonns. 

Private lessons: learning speed is accelerated but can be a bit intensive for your first week
Ski school: slower pace of learning but the craic can be great and you'll learn loads anyway 
It's a holiday - enjoy it!  You don't need to be an expert after a week. 
Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 11, 2017, 08:18:16 PM
Once got a random free skiing lesson in indoor ski slope in Dubai from a NZ lad who was there passing a few days between the snowboarding seasons in Alps and NZ.
He was a professional instructor.

Bit mad really
Post by: Puckoon on January 12, 2017, 03:41:25 PM
3 pretty basic ideas Leenie

Lean into the hill as Skull suggested. Weight in the heels and leaning back is a recipe for uncontrolled terminal velocity.

Pizza and French Fries

"Pizza" = thought for stopping/slowing. Toe end of skis pointed towards one another and the heel
End pointed away from one another. / \

"French Fries" = open the skis up into parallel to get moving l l
Post by: leenie on March 13, 2017, 11:47:56 AM
I'm came back yesterday from what was the most amazing holiday.. don't think I'll b going on any other types of holidays now, I'm bruised head to toe and don't care
Got private lessons which defo was worth every penny, where else would you get a French man shouting at you to open your legs wider and it be exceptable  :P
Post by: Rois on March 13, 2017, 12:17:42 PM
Delighted to hear it Leenie - isn't it just the best type of activity holiday?  Did you get sunshine?

I just got back from a week in Canada skiing in Banff/lake Louise and absolutely loved it.  A long way to go for a week but an amazing trip. 
Post by: leenie on March 13, 2017, 03:00:51 PM
We had fantastic weather , the regular ski goers I was with said it was one of the sunniest weeks the had. I'm definetley hooked now. It's so active and you make the most of everyday.. I'll b back next and determined to ski the black mountain.
Post by: Rois on January 02, 2018, 06:34:23 PM
Return flights Belfast to Geneva the week we're heading skiing (4-11 March) for less than £70 return! Train from Belfast to Dublin return is about the same price. Just a heads up in case anyone is thinking of booking a DIY-er.
Post by: seafoid on January 02, 2018, 06:46:44 PM
The snow is excellent this season so far.
Post by: michaelg on January 02, 2018, 07:13:55 PM
Quote from: leenie on March 13, 2017, 03:00:51 PM
We had fantastic weather , the regular ski goers I was with said it was one of the sunniest weeks the had. I'm definetley hooked now. It's so active and you make the most of everyday.. I'll b back next and determined to ski the black mountain.
I hear Divis is pretty good too.
Post by: Rois on March 02, 2018, 09:38:40 PM
Seafoid, what's happening in Geneva, airport closed for a spell the last two days?? I'm flying in on Sunday, will I get there ok?
Post by: leenie on March 03, 2018, 09:18:56 PM
Heading shortly to Dublin airport and all being well will be back in andorra tomorrow.. I see the coppers ski trip to Italy got cancelled today.. two separate flights of skiers - must be gutted ..please God our flight still goes .. so far it's looking good but aer lingus are still cancelling some of their flights...
Post by: seafoid on March 03, 2018, 09:43:27 PM
Quote from: Rois on March 02, 2018, 09:38:40 PM
Seafoid, what's happening in Geneva, airport closed for a spell the last two days?? I'm flying in on Sunday, will I get there ok?
Rois, the combination of snow and minus 6 to 10 degrees messed up things at the airport but since then the Foehn wind has brought temperatures back to normal so I imagine Sunday will be OK. 
Beautiful powdery snow today.
Post by: Rois on March 03, 2018, 09:52:01 PM
Quote from: leenie on March 03, 2018, 09:18:56 PM
Heading shortly to Dublin airport and all being well will be back in andorra tomorrow.. I see the coppers ski trip to Italy got cancelled today.. two separate flights of skiers - must be gutted ..please God our flight still goes .. so far it's looking good but aer lingus are still cancelling some of their flights...
Leenie, are you on a package trip? Hopefully if any delays, the tour op will get you there at some stage, if not on time.

Saw things getting back to normal in Geneva Seafoid, heading to Les Gets, first time staying in that resort in PdS. Glad to hear you had a good day, where were you?
Post by: seafoid on March 03, 2018, 09:59:10 PM
Quote from: Rois on March 03, 2018, 09:52:01 PM
Quote from: leenie on March 03, 2018, 09:18:56 PM
Leenie, are you on a package trip? Hopefully if any delays, the tour op will get you there at some stage, if not on time.

Saw things getting back to normal in Geneva Seafoid, heading to Les Gets, first time staying in that resort in PdS. Glad to hear you had a good day, where were you?
Villars sur Ollon.Across the Rhône valley from PdS.
Last Saturday the pistes were rock hard
Post by: HiMucker on March 24, 2018, 06:18:21 PM
Been skiing a pile of times, but going next week for the first time with the kids.  Any advice or simple pointers I may have overlooked welcome, as I imagine it will be a pretty hectic holiday with kids?  They are 2, 4 and 9, so only ski school for the oldest 2.  Cheers.
Post by: haranguerer on December 05, 2018, 09:13:08 AM
Heading for Morzine (our chalet is in Montriond) in January. Just starting to do a bit of research - the area seems so massive as to be overwhelming though. Any recommendations for any runs/bars/anything else that we should ensure we see or do in particular? Most of group will be skiing (and a few beginners in that who'll be in lessons for most of the week), but a couple of us will probably board, and we're decent enough - will def be looking out for boarder cross tracks.
Post by: Rois on December 05, 2018, 10:12:00 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on December 05, 2018, 09:13:08 AM
Heading for Morzine (our chalet is in Montriond) in January. Just starting to do a bit of research - the area seems so massive as to be overwhelming though. Any recommendations for any runs/bars/anything else that we should ensure we see or do in particular? Most of group will be skiing (and a few beginners in that who'll be in lessons for most of the week), but a couple of us will probably board, and we're decent enough - will def be looking out for boarder cross tracks.
Which chalet did you go for? You'll be closest to buses up to Ardent that links well to Avoriaz and good access to the Swiss sectors. My fav run in that area starts at a collection of lifts called Plain Dranse and is a wide red run down to the lift at the bottom. I have plenty of tips on the Morzine/Les Gets side that I can send on.
Not much entertainment in Montriond but there is a little bar-tabac that is run by a girl from Omagh! I've had a few good seshes in there.
Post by: haranguerer on December 05, 2018, 10:31:32 AM
https://www.mountainutopia.co.uk/chalet-azalee

Thats it there. They'll drop us to lifts in either Morzine or Avoriaz each morning. Send on surely Rois, that'd be great. I don't think the week will be that raucous, so that bar-tabac sounds like it could be a good option - despite the tyrone connection  :P
Post by: Rois on December 05, 2018, 11:15:09 AM
Oh yes - you may have mentioned that one. I stayed in a chalet run by the Mountains utopia people in Chamonix and it was great, though they wrangled "hot tub cleaning" money out of us - was deffo a racket.
The pub is called lamarmottedor.com (http://lamarmottedor.com) and it is good for showing soccer and rugby, and also showed the AIF. Follow them on FB to see when they have music running. There's a good après bar at the bottom of the Ardent lift called Happy Hours and they run buses back into Montriond and Morzine a few days a week but am sure the chalet guys would pick you up.

There is what I understand to be a good board park in the runs above the Ardent Lift called The Stash. Never been in.
Post by: haranguerer on December 05, 2018, 01:42:22 PM
Cheers Rois, will look out for all that. Is the ardent lift somewhere other than Morzine/Montriond then? What are the lift queues like, and are there any which should be avoided?