Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: heganboy on September 23, 2015, 02:22:16 PM

Title: Arlene Foster going to be the new First Minister?
Post by: heganboy on September 23, 2015, 02:22:16 PM
http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-34337965

Bryson makes his claims today to the Inquiry that Robinson was paid on the Nama deal to an Isle of Man account.

If that is proved to be correct, Robinson would not be in a position to continue as FM, and would likely face legal proceedings. Also the one and only Arlene Foster would likely be the new FM...
Title: Re: Arlen Foster going to be the new First Minister?
Post by: foxcommander on September 23, 2015, 02:56:30 PM
At least she'll bring a little bit of glamour to the proceedings at Stormont.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 23, 2015, 02:59:10 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on September 23, 2015, 02:56:30 PM
At least she'll bring a bit of glamour to Stormont.

Sweet Lord - she has a puss that would sour milk.

Does Wee Jamie have immunity if his claims are found out to be libellous?
He's confirming what the dogs in the street have been barking for a while now.
Post by: 5 Sams on September 23, 2015, 03:26:11 PM

Is this yours FoxC

(https://c2.staticflickr.com/6/5032/7167416842_27e1144d97_b.jpg)
Post by: whitegoodman on September 23, 2015, 03:36:31 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on September 23, 2015, 03:26:11 PM

Is this yours FoxC

(https://c2.staticflickr.com/6/5032/7167416842_27e1144d97_b.jpg)

Post by: foxcommander on September 23, 2015, 03:53:05 PM
(https://c2.staticflickr.com/4/3685/11115297045_b404733327_b.jpg)

Here's the little minx already seducing Martin McGuinness
Post by: ziggysego on September 23, 2015, 04:07:02 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on September 23, 2015, 03:53:05 PM

That's "Ian Paisley Snr" :p
Post by: muppet on September 23, 2015, 05:22:37 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 23, 2015, 04:07:02 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on September 23, 2015, 03:53:05 PM

That's "Ian Paisley Snr" :p

It looks like a walking Hedge School.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 23, 2015, 06:51:25 PM
Arlene according to my mum is even more black than Peter lol
Post by: AZOffaly on September 23, 2015, 07:04:20 PM
Ha ha. I read this as Arien Foster. Our fantasy football players will get it!
Title: Re: Arlene Foster going to be the new First Minister?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 23, 2015, 11:30:24 PM
From NFL i presume
Post by: armaghniac on September 23, 2015, 11:39:31 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 23, 2015, 02:59:10 PM

That's her face, isn't it?
Post by: T Fearon on September 23, 2015, 11:51:09 PM
Met Arlene a few times.She's far from the worst I can tell you! A lot of people,presumably intelligent on here, alas can't see behind the playing to the gallery facade in politics here.My home town Portadown is twinned with Ballina,and I've seen the DUP mayor issue greetings in Irish to visitors up from Ballina at private functions,and another DUP mayor visited Ballina and couldn't be bate out of it,he liked it so much!

The only tension I have seen in my time at meetings away from the glare of publicity was between DUP and UUP members
Post by: ashman on September 24, 2015, 12:00:12 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 23, 2015, 11:51:09 PM
Met Arlene a few times.She's far from the worst I can tell you! A lot of people,presumably intelligent on here, alas can't see behind the playing to the gallery facade in politics here.My home town Portadown is twinned with Ballina,and I've seen the DUP mayor issue greetings in Irish to visitors up from Ballina at private functions,and another DUP mayor visited Ballina and couldn't be bate out of it,he liked it so much!

The only tension I have seen in my time at meetings away from the glare of publicity was between DUP and UUP members

Ballina

Tipp or Mayo ???

Important !!
Post by: gallsman on September 24, 2015, 12:07:41 AM
Portadown and Ballina. Two glorious bastions of style, culture and glamour.
Post by: T Fearon on September 24, 2015, 06:41:30 AM
Mayo
Post by: 5 Sams on September 24, 2015, 10:56:45 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 23, 2015, 06:51:25 PM
Arlene according to my mum is even more black than Peter lol

Yep...heard the same from several sources.
Post by: Applesisapples on September 24, 2015, 05:01:57 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 23, 2015, 02:59:10 PM

Does Wee Jamie have immunity if his claims are found out to be libellous?
He's confirming what the dogs in the street have been barking for a while now.
Yes on Stormont but he has challenged Robbo on his blog today to sue him. He is adamant that Robbo would lose.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 24, 2015, 05:05:25 PM
He would have no money though.

I don't think the fella has anything to lose. This is him, again, trying to make something of himself.

Don't get me wrong - it's great someone challengs your man. Very hard to have anything but disdain for Bryson though!

Post by: Applesisapples on September 24, 2015, 05:24:24 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 24, 2015, 05:05:25 PM
He would have no money though.

I don't think the fella has anything to lose. This is him, again, trying to make something of himself.

Don't get me wrong - it's great someone challengs your man. Very hard to have anything but disdain for Bryson though!
He is a puppet (as well as a muppet) for someone with an axe to grind.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 24, 2015, 07:51:58 PM
Very much so. A pawn in a much bigger game. I wonder will we ever find out who it is though.
Post by: GJL on September 24, 2015, 07:53:19 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on September 24, 2015, 07:51:58 PM
Very much so. A pawn in a much bigger game. I wonder will we ever find out who it is though.

Junior..
Post by: imtommygunn on September 24, 2015, 08:00:06 PM
I was thinking that...
Post by: Harold Disgracey on September 24, 2015, 08:50:06 PM
Heard that.
Post by: StGallsGAA on September 24, 2015, 09:21:17 PM
Lads.  Do you even think for a second that junior would have been allowed with 100yds of Peter's dirty dealings?  After Peter and Dodds stabbed Doc in the back??  Sinn Fein would be considered closer to Robinson than junior! 

There's a disgruntled member who was much closer to the inner circle who is feeding this one.....
Post by: T Fearon on September 24, 2015, 09:48:36 PM
What exactly is mean't be referring to someone as "black?" Bitter against who? Catholics and Catholicism? Plenty of black b's on this board then.

Arlene turned up at Cardinal Daly's funeral to pay her respects. The IRA tried to kill her father out in the fields in Fermanagh,she herself was in a school bus as a teenager which came under gunfire in an attempt to murder the driver.In short if anyone has a reason to be bitter it is she,but I don't believe that she is.She will play to the gallery for votes of course but who doesn't in this quagmire
Post by: StGallsGAA on September 24, 2015, 10:18:08 PM
QuoteWhat exactly is mean't be referring to someone as "black?" Bitter against who? Catholics and Catholicism? Plenty of black b's on this board then.

Arlene turned up at Cardinal Daly's funeral to pay her respects. The IRA tried to kill her father out in the fields in Fermanagh,she herself was in a school bus as a teenager which came under gunfire in an attempt to murder the driver.In short if anyone has a reason to be bitter it is she,but I don't believe that she is.She will play to the gallery for votes of course but who doesn't in this quagmire

Met Arlene on holidays and the family were all on diet cokes, hardly surprising. Very well behaved children.      The way you see some other people from this island and their children behave away from home tells you a lot.  Forget the Orange or Green segregation - those with decent Protestant or Catholic family values do stand out miles from those with absolutely no family values.  They are the ones who shame all of us!
Post by: Rois on September 24, 2015, 10:26:50 PM
I was at a CBI lunch in the Culloden today. First minister was headline speaker and didn't show up. Wee Marty read his speech instead. Nesbitt, McDonnell, Durkan, Farry were all there, DUP conspicuous by their absence. Even Edwin Poots wasn't there  ;)
CBI chair laid into the politicians, and rightly so.
Post by: T Fearon on September 24, 2015, 10:29:42 PM
Arlene Foster has brought a lot of investment to the North,she's highly thought of.Among the most able politicians at Stormont.
Post by: ONeill on September 24, 2015, 10:31:19 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 24, 2015, 10:29:42 PM
Arlene Foster has brought a lot of investment to the North,she's highly thought of.Among the most able politicians at Stormont.

Analysing this, it suggests you must have made your wife take a photo of you and Arlene.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 24, 2015, 10:32:05 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on September 24, 2015, 10:18:08 PM
QuoteWhat exactly is mean't be referring to someone as "black?" Bitter against who? Catholics and Catholicism? Plenty of black b's on this board then.

Met Arlene on holidays and the family were all on diet cokes, hardly surprising. Very well behaved children.      The way you see some other people from this island and their children behave away from home tells you a lot.  Forget the Orange or Green segregation - those with decent Protestant or Catholic family values do stand out miles from those with absolutely no family values who nevertheless think they uphold the values of the community to which they belong.   They are the ones who shame all of us!
Look at the Holylands (the Belfast version).
Post by: ONeill on September 24, 2015, 10:37:00 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on September 24, 2015, 10:18:08 PM

Met Arlene on holidays and the family were all on diet cokes, hardly surprising. Very well behaved children.      The way you see some other people from this island and their children behave away from home tells you a lot.  Forget the Orange or Green segregation - those with decent Protestant or Catholic family values do stand out miles from those with absolutely no family values who nevertheless think they uphold the values of the community to which they belong.   They are the ones who shame all of us!

What are protestant and catholic values? Not drinking and well behaved on holidays...but as blinkered and sectarian as they come?

Just good manners and tolerance. That's the key, not religious values.
Post by: T Fearon on September 24, 2015, 10:53:52 PM
It is generally connected to religious belief, in these parts at any rate,to refrain from drinking,smoking and rowdyism in general.
Post by: armaghniac on September 24, 2015, 10:59:18 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 24, 2015, 10:53:52 PM
It is generally connected to religious belief, in these parts at any rate,to refrain from drinking,smoking and rowdyism in general.

Indeed it is. Unfortunately though, protestantism of the NI variety regards occupying and colonising other countries as a good thing, as long as you don't drink while doing it.
Post by: ONeill on September 24, 2015, 11:02:39 PM

No, just good health education.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on September 25, 2015, 08:23:43 AM
Never met the woman so can only go on how she comes across on TV but she has to be the rudest politician ever. She can play to the galleries all she likes fine but do it with a bit of respect and dignity instead she just constantly interupts and pulls faces like a child. Watch her next time a feckin eejit like Gerry Kelly looks like a proper statesman sat next to her.
Post by: FermGael on September 25, 2015, 09:03:11 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 24, 2015, 09:48:36 PM
What exactly is mean't be referring to someone as "black?" Bitter against who? Catholics and Catholicism? Plenty of black b's on this board then.

ah now Tony I could tell you a million stories about Arlene.
She's actually not liked by a lot of UUP supporters in Fermanagh for obvious reasons.
One of the main reasons there has been such difficulties getting a joint unionist candidate at times.

And then there's the whole fracking thing.  Her support for it has nothing to do with the fact that most of the proposed fracking zone belongs to the family.

And then there is the rest.....
Post by: Applesisapples on September 25, 2015, 09:36:46 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 24, 2015, 09:48:36 PM

Tony you of all people working in Portadown should know better. Many of us had friends killed in the troubles, I was threatened at gun point by the UVF and had more exposure to death and violence than is healthy for a youngster, I wouldn't refer to unionists in the way that she has to Nationalists. There is a bitterness within actively political unionism that no amount of exposure to the other side can mitigate. Don't forget that Arlene left the party that houses the well known "moderate" Tom Elliott to join the DUP, I'd say that gives a fare indication of the mind-set. As for this board just because some posters take issue with the antics of the church they grew up in with regard to abuse, or don't hold steadfastly to your orthodoxy does not equate to the same type of sentiment expressed by Ms Forster.
Post by: Applesisapples on September 25, 2015, 09:39:43 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 24, 2015, 10:29:42 PM
Jim Allister is a very able barrister.
Post by: Applesisapples on September 25, 2015, 09:41:09 AM
Tony put down that spoon.
Post by: johnneycool on September 25, 2015, 09:53:10 AM
Alasdair saying what we all know;

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-34355951 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-34355951)

I just hope he's the balls to stand over his remarks in the face of unionist indignation!
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on September 25, 2015, 10:21:49 AM
Fair play to him its about time he said something to remid us that the SDLP still exist. The DUP ARE sectarian and they abhor anything to do with nationalism. They would rip up the GFA agreement if they could and are completely oblivious to the fact that the good old days of Protestant Ulster are long gone. Noted also that Dolores Kelly was critical of his words again showing the deep divisions within the party.
Post by: Orior on September 25, 2015, 11:12:48 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 25, 2015, 09:53:10 AM
Alasdair saying what we all know;

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-34355951 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-34355951)

I just hope he's the balls to stand over his remarks in the face of unionist indignation!

McDonnell could have been a little bit more diplomatic. His clumsiness has in some respects let the DUP off the hook.

To be honest, I actually expected the Dissidents to do something stupid that lets Unionists say "well I told you so".
Post by: red hander on September 25, 2015, 05:11:45 PM
The death of irony ... Robbie Coltrane telling Dr Ignorant to apologise to Catholics for insulting them by calling them Taigs.  :o
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 25, 2015, 06:03:33 PM
This Taigs must be a Belfast or city thing, have never heard it anywhere else, Kinda lowers yourself calling uself a term which offends
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on September 25, 2015, 06:19:52 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 25, 2015, 06:03:33 PM
This Taigs must be a Belfast or city thing, have never heard it anywhere else, Kinda lowers yourself calling uself a term which offends

Er he is using the term to underline the disdain for catholics among the DUP. The term taig has been used for centuries and in Scotland the anglicized Tim is used in the same way.
Post by: T Fearon on September 25, 2015, 06:31:58 PM
Sorry,but even growing up in Portadown with all the hazards back in the day being from the minority community,I didn't witness a lot of raw anti Catholicism,or hatred of Catholics.Times have changed too,now the town centre is now almost awash with GAA and Celtic shirts,with no one batting an eye lid.

I don't believe any substantial section of unionism is anti catholic people or hates catholic people irrationally.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 25, 2015, 06:34:17 PM
Then you are a fool!!
Post by: red hander on September 25, 2015, 06:53:10 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 25, 2015, 06:31:58 PM
Sorry,but even growing up in Portadown with all the hazards back in the day being from the minority community,I didn't witness a lot of raw anti Catholicism,or hatred of Catholics.Times have changed too,now the town centre is now almost awash with GAA and Celtic shirts,with no one batting an eye lid.

I don't believe any substantial section of unionism is anti catholic people or hates catholic people irrationally.

You mustn't have lived in the Tunnel then (my grandmother and mother did). They didn't have a sectarian bone in their body, but they had any amount of stories about the bigotry and hatred in Portadown. All I can say is, you were very lucky... unlike Robert Hamill and plenty of others
Post by: T Fearon on September 25, 2015, 07:16:33 PM
I'm not talking about a relatively small minority of scum,and on more than one occasion I had to do a pretty good impression of Usain Bolt to escape a hiding for no other reason than my religion,but I don't think there was widespread anti Catholicism or hatred of Catholics.

By the way in recent times have Protestants not been beaten up while walking in the Tunnel and wasn't the DUP mayoress the subject of sectarian abuse in the nearby People's Park?
Post by: armaghniac on September 25, 2015, 07:24:12 PM

The entire unionist project is anti native. Individuals do not reflect on the contrast of being personally decent while pursuing a political philosophy designed to make "Catholics" second class citizens.
Post by: T Fearon on September 25, 2015, 07:27:57 PM
Undoubtedly there are some unionists who are anti Catholic but these are a tiny minority.Neither do I believe Unionism seeks to render non unionists second class citizens.I think it's core aim is simply to preserve the union but admittedly it needs to be much more inclusive and less exclusively Protestant in this regard
Post by: red hander on September 25, 2015, 07:49:30 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 25, 2015, 07:16:33 PM
I'm not talking about a relatively small minority of scum,and on more than one occasion I had to do a pretty good impression of Usain Bolt to escape a hiding for no other reason than my religion,but I don't think there was widespread anti Catholicism or hatred of Catholics.

By the way in recent times have Protestants not been beaten up while walking in the Tunnel and wasn't the DUP mayoress the subject of sectarian abuse in the nearby People's Park?

I wasn't aware of that. Totally inexcusable. But Portadown did (does) have a reputation unlike other similar sized towns of similar make-up
Post by: armaghniac on September 25, 2015, 07:57:46 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 25, 2015, 07:27:57 PM
Undoubtedly there are some unionists who are anti Catholic but these are a tiny minority.Neither do I believe Unionism seeks to render non unionists second class citizens.I think it's core aim is simply to preserve the union but admittedly it needs to be much more inclusive and less exclusively Protestant in this regard

The union is a colonisation project, whose objective is subject the natives to the rule of the colonisers. This is the elephant in the room which unionists pretend does not exist and where in a version of the Stockholm syndrome many people from a nationalist background now buy into this also.
Post by: give her dixie on September 25, 2015, 07:59:01 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 25, 2015, 07:16:33 PM

Tony, would soccer related trouble in Portadown be more of a problem than sectarian trouble?
Post by: stew on September 25, 2015, 08:15:26 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 25, 2015, 06:03:33 PM

It depends on the context on which it was said.

As for diplomacy and his need to be more diplomatic, why? It is refreshing to see a politician call a spade a spade and back it up.
Post by: T Fearon on September 25, 2015, 08:15:52 PM
Soccer related trouble unheard apart from the odd skirmish with Cliftonville.Sectarian continues to be a problem in general,but there is no attempt to make anyone second class citizens these days
Post by: armaghniac on September 25, 2015, 08:22:05 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 25, 2015, 08:15:52 PM
Soccer related trouble unheard apart from the odd skirmish with Cliftonville.Sectarian continues to be a problem in general,but there is no attempt to make anyone second class citizens these days

Northern Ireland was set up to advantage one class of people over another. Things have improved, to be sure, but there are still first and second class citizens, the main difference now is that the second class group have been acclimatised to touching to the forelock.
Post by: stew on September 25, 2015, 08:24:18 PM

Tony I lived in that hellhole portadown for the first seven years of my life, in number one queens gardens no less in killycomaine, our neighbors were brilliant and mostly prods but loyalist scum from a nearby estate came and threw a petrol bomb through my sister's window and set her bed on fire. My mother was spat on when walking to work and to this day I have never known a more bitter community that that shithoke you called home. My uncle Kenny Brownlee is a prod and he and his wife got dogs abuse for years and they live in portadown, I don't buy your utopian view on that down Tone.

Post by: T Fearon on September 25, 2015, 08:31:01 PM
Funnily enough I spent two very early years of my life in Killicomaine,before the troubles started.Portadown is staunchly unionist but I do not think unionists as individuals are anti Catholic in any great numbers.
Post by: give her dixie on September 25, 2015, 08:49:38 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 25, 2015, 08:15:52 PM

You must have been away on a free weekend somewhere when this happened a couple of months ago:

Football fans blamed for attack on Portadown bar

The IFA is to be asked to investigate after an attack on a Portadown pub was blamed on Linfield supporters attending a match in the town yesterday (Saturday).

Windows were smashed in McKeever's bar and it was alleged that staff and customers also came under attack.

http://armaghi.com/football-fans-blamed-for-attack-on-portadown-bar/

Post by: T Fearon on September 25, 2015, 09:03:11 PM
Heard about that.Isolated incident,Portadown Railway station is on edge of the town's nationalist area.I would guess there's a bit of history here,Linfield supporters possibly attacked or taunted by bar patrons in the past.Not saying that Linfield supporters are whiter than white.

The Public Park,a shared area when I was a small boy pre troubles, is just about to re open after having £5m European peace money spent on refurbishment.Huge efforts going on now to attract Protestant community back to the Park.

Troubles sadly ghettoised every town.
Post by: T Fearon on September 26, 2015, 08:01:42 AM
I could recount other tales of sectarianism from the so called Catholic side,like the case of a small town which still retains a Catholic GP in a single handed Practice,resisting all attempts to merge with a larger nearby mixed General Practice (which has both Catholic and Protestant GPs), simply because a large proportion of the town insist on a Catholic only General Practice, because historically they've always had one.
Post by: armaghniac on September 26, 2015, 08:12:01 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 26, 2015, 08:01:42 AM
I could recount other tales of sectarianism from the so called Catholic side,like the case of a small town which still retains a Catholic GP in a single handed Practice,resisting all attempts to merge with a larger nearby mixed General Practice (which has both Catholic and Protestant GPs), simply because a large proportion of the town insist on a Catholic only General Practice, because historically they've always had one.

If you create a place, Northern Ireland, defined by sectarianism, then clearly both sides are going to fall into the template.
Post by: general_lee on September 26, 2015, 09:01:31 AM
Portadown (and Lurgan to a lesser extent) is one of the most sectarian places you can encounter in the north. My own family had to up sticks in the 70s and leave such was the ongoing threat. Things aren't as bad as they were but that doesn't mean they still aren't bad
Post by: Applesisapples on September 26, 2015, 11:35:27 AM

Tony this is utter tosh, right through the 90's a catholic in Portadown wasn't safe, ask Robert Hamills family. I saw plenty of ant-catholic
episodes in the town. I was chased one evening for daring to drive through the town with a Celtic shirt on.
Post by: Applesisapples on September 26, 2015, 11:41:54 AM
Guys there is undoubtedly sectarianism on both sides. The big difference though between Nationalists and Loyalists is that for us it is political sectarianism for Loyalists it is religious as well. Also Nationalists would quite happily accommodate the British identity culture flags etc... along side our own but that is not reciprocated.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 26, 2015, 12:36:19 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on September 26, 2015, 11:35:27 AM

Tony this is utter tosh, right through the 90's a catholic in Portadown wasn't safe, ask Robert Hamills family. I saw plenty of ant-catholic
episodes in the town. I was chased one evening for daring to drive through the town with a Celtic shirt on.
When the Mid - Ulster LVF were in their pomp I can imagine Portadown was a smashing place to live if you were a Catholic.
Post by: T Fearon on September 26, 2015, 01:04:16 PM
As I have said before,the existence of pockets of extremists should not be allowed to demonise an entire area or section of people.Many Catholic businesses have been in Portadown town centre for generations etc.

Do the terrible deeds which took place in Crossmaglen and Newry mean that they deserved the title "bandit country"
Post by: Windmill abu on September 26, 2015, 09:28:07 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 26, 2015, 01:04:16 PM

Do the terrible deeds which took place in Crossmaglen and Newry South Armagh mean that they deserved the title "bandit country"

Yes they do and they should wear the title with pride for their battle with the British security forces.

Whereas the sectarian scum who murdered a catholic as a birthday present for Billy Wright show Portadown up as the anti catholic shit hole it always has been.
Post by: T Fearon on September 26, 2015, 09:47:57 PM
I suppose it depends on your perspective.The Mid Ulster UVF did not represent any significant section of the Portadown community.Did you know that two of Billy Wright's brothers in law are Catholics and are both still alive.
Post by: Windmill abu on September 26, 2015, 10:45:22 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 26, 2015, 09:47:57 PM
I suppose it depends on your perspective.The Mid Ulster UVF did not represent any significant section of the Portadown community.Did you know that two of Billy Wright's brothers in law are Catholics and are both still alive.

Billy Wright is dead and neither of his brother in laws live in Portadown, which may go towards why they are still alive.

The Portadown protestant community of which you speak performed their triumphalist marches down the mostly catholic Garvaghy Road, where they were not welcome, and when they were stopped they escalated the violence which led to the deaths of three children, because they were catholic.

Till this day the protestant community of Portadown try to parade down the Garvaghy Road, without ever offering a public condolence for the deaths of the catholic children caused by their incitement to violence.
Post by: T Fearon on September 26, 2015, 11:20:26 PM
I am no fan of the Orange Order, but have no problems with members of the Orange Order. From their perspective they Saw it as being able to march along a public highway.In any event the scumbags who threw a petrol bomb into the house where the 3 kids were had no connection with the Orange Order or with any sane person or organisation.The violence here is long gone,and thankfully both tribes,or their extreme members seem to have largely cottoned on to that.

You cannot demonise a whole people or community because of the actions of a relatively few scumbags.
Post by: ziggysego on September 27, 2015, 12:01:02 AM
For someone who has been very outspoken about the northern soccer team and it's sectarianism from supporters and players alike Tony, this is quite the turn around.
Post by: michaelg on September 27, 2015, 12:24:35 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 27, 2015, 12:01:02 AM
For someone who has been very outspoken about the northern soccer team and it's sectarianism from supporters and players alike Tony, this is quite the turn around.
What NI players have been sectarian?
Post by: armaghniac on September 27, 2015, 12:33:52 AM
Quote from: michaelg on September 27, 2015, 12:24:35 AM
What NI players have been sectarian?

NI itself is sectarian, those who promote it as promoting sectarianism.
Post by: michaelg on September 27, 2015, 12:37:43 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 25, 2015, 07:57:46 PM

The union is a colonisation project, whose objective is subject the natives to the rule of the colonisers. This is the elephant in the room which unionists pretend does not exist and where in a version of the Stockholm syndrome many people from a nationalist background now buy into this also.
What a bullshit statement.  By maintaining the union, "the natives" will also benefit.  i.e. The goal in not to "subject them to the rule of the colonisers", as they too will continue to benefit from free healthcare, JSA, housing benefit etc.
Post by: Windmill abu on September 27, 2015, 01:08:59 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 26, 2015, 11:20:26 PM
I am no fan of the Orange Order, but have no problems with members of the Orange Order. From their perspective they Saw it as being able to march along a public highway.In any event the scumbags who threw a petrol bomb into the house where the 3 kids were had no connection with the Orange Order or with any sane person or organisation.The violence here is long gone,and thankfully both tribes,or their extreme members seem to have largely cottoned on to that.

You cannot demonise a whole people or community because of the actions of a relatively few scumbags.

This organisation has at its basis an anti catholic agenda. Why would a protestant who sees his catholic co-worker/neighbour as an equal want to be a member of such a blatantly sectarian orginisation?

You seem to be having a problem using the word murder when describing the killing of children.

If at any stage the members of Portadown orange order come out and offer their condolences to the family of the children and condemn the murdering scum who killed them, then we may change our view of loyalist Portadown.

Post by: armaghniac on September 27, 2015, 01:32:42 AM
Quote from: michaelg on September 27, 2015, 12:37:43 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 25, 2015, 07:57:46 PM

What a bullshit statement.  By maintaining the union, "the natives" will also benefit.  i.e. The goal in not to "subject them to the rule of the colonisers", as they too will continue to benefit from free healthcare, JSA, housing benefit etc.

There are 2 things here. Pragmatic unionism which might argue that NI's temporary continuation makes practical sense, Alliance party if you like. Then there is Unionism which opposes the GAA, Irish language, cross border cooperation and the like, and advocates flying union jacks at every opportunity.

The first group make a calculation and particular elements can be argued about for that calculation. The second, I.e. Unionist parties, have the colonial proposition that NI is British, continuing a disgusting 17th century project into the 21st century.
Post by: T Fearon on September 27, 2015, 07:26:35 AM
Windmill,one of the prominent clergymen at Drumcree ,William Bingham,said after the children's murders that a march down Garvaghy Road would be a hollow victory,and he walked away.Paisley visited the home.There is no way anyone,other than the scum who carried it out,condoned this terrible atrocity.

Most people in all areas here,on both sides,want nothing more than to get on with their lives and live and let live.Same applies to Portadown.
Post by: T Fearon on September 27, 2015, 08:45:49 AM
Armaghmaniac the Unionism which opposes everything Irish is now the minuscule TUV.
Post by: Rossfan on September 27, 2015, 11:06:02 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 27, 2015, 08:45:49 AM
Armaghmaniac the Unionism which opposes everything Irish is now the minuscule TUV.
Don't forget a certain chap called Elliott  ;) or the Archbigot Campbell .
Post by: T Fearon on September 27, 2015, 11:42:16 AM
Elliott has no interest in going to a GAA game? That doesn't make him a bigot anymore than my lack of interest in attending Remembrance Sunday or Orange Order events makes me one.Gregory did attend GAA games when he was DCAL Minister.Do not confuse political posturing with bigotry.
Post by: Bazil Douglas on September 27, 2015, 12:24:22 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 27, 2015, 11:06:02 AM
Don't forget a certain chap called Elliott  ;) or the Archbigot Campbell .
These guys will always tolerate a few token gestures of Irish culture but they will never accept it, Foster included.
These guys had to be dragged kicking and squealing into the 21st century, and I think you'll find if it wasn't for fair employment legislation, they still would,nt give much ground.
Post by: Rossfan on September 27, 2015, 12:34:58 PM
Elliott was also blathering about how terrible and upsetting was  flying a Tricolour and playing the National Anthem at Brewster Park.
Not much respect for 52% of his neighbours there.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on September 27, 2015, 12:44:39 PM
Sorry but this is becoming ridiculous. Big Tom is a bigot full stop, not only is he anti gaa, anti irish language, anti gay rights but he is still pro gerrymandering as he felt the DUP were at fault for not 'fixing' the Belfast city council boundaries to keep belfast unionist controlled. As for Arlene it is laughable that she now thinks mcdonnell should apologise  to catholics for calling them taigs like wtf is she completely stupid. She has a degree for ffs but then again she keeps saying I have went all the time so who knows.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 27, 2015, 12:56:41 PM

The gay marraige vote sent him over the edge.
Post by: T Fearon on September 27, 2015, 02:47:56 PM
And how many Sinn Feiners respect Unionist culture,stand for the UK National Anthem?
Post by: armaghniac on September 27, 2015, 04:34:56 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 27, 2015, 02:47:56 PM
And how many Sinn Feiners respect Unionist culture,stand for the UK National Anthem?

There you have it. The attempt to draw an equivalence between advocating colonialism and opposing it. If you don't accept that there is a moral difference in these two things there is no point in further debate. That said, in the interests of peace nationalists of all sorts have put up with a lot.
Post by: StGallsGAA on September 27, 2015, 05:58:08 PM
What might the UK National Anthem be then Tony?? :o
Post by: T Fearon on September 27, 2015, 06:09:59 PM
Bullshit.Its no longer colonialism.The British wanted out 100 years ago.As the late Fr Faul said they now see their role here as merely refereeing a fight between warring tribes.Lets examine the facts.

There are two large blocs here,one Irish Nationalist one British.Paradoxically the current governments in London and Dublin (and their peoples) do not want  or identify with either of them.

The only way to solve the mutually exclusive sovereign allegiances is by mutual respect and tolerance for each other's cultures.

You cannot criticise or accuse one community's politicians of bigotry if your own politicians do not offer magnanimity and tolerance of the other community's culture.
Post by: StGallsGAA on September 27, 2015, 06:38:34 PM
QuoteYou cannot criticise or accuse one community's politicians of bigotry if your own politicians do not offer magnanimity and tolerance of the other community's culture.

Oh yes you can!!
Post by: T Fearon on September 27, 2015, 06:57:44 PM
Yes,but that's called hypocrisy
Post by: armaghniac on September 27, 2015, 07:45:13 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 27, 2015, 06:09:59 PM
Bullshit.Its no longer colonialism.The British wanted out 100 years ago.As the late Fr Faul said they now see their role here as merely refereeing a fight between warring tribes.Lets examine the facts.

There are two large blocs here,one Irish Nationalist one British.Paradoxically the current governments in London and Dublin (and their peoples) do not want  or identify with either of them.

The only way to solve the mutually exclusive sovereign allegiances is by mutual respect and tolerance for each other's cultures.

There is no doubt that is by mutual respect and tolerance is the way forward. But an honest analysis is needed, not the type of bollix that says there are two sides, therefore one is a bad as the other.

QuoteYes,but that's called hypocrisy

Hypocrisy is the stock in trade of politics in every country. But unionists take hypocrisy to a level never seen before, they totally lack any concept of shame in demanding something for your lot while denying the same kind of respect for the other lot.

Post by: T Fearon on September 27, 2015, 08:18:38 PM
Er I happen to think the extremes on both sides are as bad as each other,and sadly nothing pleases one side than some action that displeases the other.Until there's widespread acknowledgement on both sides that the other exists and has a legitimate different sovereign allegiance, and has a culture that deserves respect and tolerance (when it is practiced respectfully and inoffensively), there will be no progress unfortunately.
Post by: armaghniac on September 27, 2015, 08:39:32 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 27, 2015, 08:18:38 PM
Er I happen to think the extremes on both sides are as bad as each other,and sadly nothing pleases one side than some action that displeases the other.Until there's widespread acknowledgement on both sides that the other exists and has a legitimate different sovereign allegiance, and has a culture that deserves respect and tolerance (when it is practiced respectfully and inoffensively), there will be no progress unfortunately.

The extremes being as bad as each other isn't really the point, nor is it really true. Once again you are pedalling the falsehood that an intention to colonise a country is as legitimate as wishing to see it democratically ruled by its own people on an equal basis. Many of the most virulent unionists purport to have respect for the bible, which disregarding the adage "thou shalt not steal", which pretty much precludes invading and colonising other places.
Post by: T Fearon on September 27, 2015, 08:43:19 PM
Ah you're going back centuries.In any case, the vast majority of Irish people voted for unity by consent only,including all nationalist parties,in 1998.This ends the colonisation argument.
Post by: armaghniac on September 27, 2015, 09:17:02 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 27, 2015, 08:43:19 PM
Ah you're going back centuries.

I have no concern for what happened in the past, unless people are still trying to do it. Arlene Foster has the same aim as Cromwell, to bring Ireland or part of it under British rule, her methods are certainly preferable but her aims remain objectionable all the same.

QuoteIn any case, the vast majority of Irish people voted for unity by consent only,including all nationalist parties,in 1998.This ends the colonisation argument.

This indicates the process by which the colonisation will be solved, it was not some sort of vindication of colonisation.
Post by: T Fearon on September 27, 2015, 10:11:47 PM
It is nothing more than one tradition trying to preserve its identity,while viewing the other community as a danger and a threat to that identity.Once both communities get beyond this viewpoint,then mutual tolerance and respect will ensue.

Colonisation is obsolete by at least a couple of centuries.
Post by: armaghniac on September 28, 2015, 12:06:22 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 27, 2015, 10:11:47 PM
It is nothing more than one tradition trying to preserve its identity,while viewing the other community as a danger and a threat to that identity.Once both communities get beyond this viewpoint,then mutual tolerance and respect will ensue.

The sash my father wore  is all very fine, but what your father and grandfather was trying to do was not right it does not justify you trying to do it. If your entire identify is based on division and supremacism then normality is a threat and only the continuation of abnormality will suffice.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on September 28, 2015, 10:40:33 AM
Portadown is one of the biggest kips in the North. Craigavon and Lurgan too.
Post by: imtommygunn on September 28, 2015, 11:01:15 AM
Don't forget Larne...
Post by: Kickham csc on September 28, 2015, 11:51:13 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 28, 2015, 12:18:44 AM
Quote from: Windmill abu on September 27, 2015, 01:08:59 AMThis organisation has at its basis an anti catholic agenda. Why would a protestant who sees his catholic co-worker/neighbour as an equal want to be a member of such a blatantly sectarian orginisation?
While cross-community relations across NI/The North/OWC/Six Counties etc. vary wildly from place to place, I think it's worth giving an example of Fintona. Back in July it was the "turn" here to host the 12th demonstration for the West Tyrone area. The local LOL lodge responsible for organising the event did not put up any bunting or flags until they started at around 5am on Monday 13th, in an aftermath of anti-social behaviour that seen a local pub's front door getting rammed. The Catholic owners of the pub, whom were ready for a busy day of custom, managed to contact a local Protestant joinery business whose owners are members of the local LOL early that morning to fix them up with temporary double-doors in a couple of hours while a mixture of Catholics & Protestants helped clean up the mess done by the joyriders knocking over floral displays. The day passed, and the local lodge took down the flags, banners & bunting and cleaned up all the streets and roads used for demonstrations before sunset. In prior preparations, the local Parish Priest and PE opened up car parking space at the parish hall in the centre of Fintona and also at the pastoral centre on the edge of town on the day. While marching bands are not much my scene and I didn't go out to watch any of them, the day went well for all involved despite what happened before sunrise. A bit of mutual sense & respect that goes both ways works here.

Now, places like Portydown on the other hand...

But is this not the argument about country 'v' town

In the country, relationships between communities is much stronger because historically they relied on each other, eg. farmers helping each other out etc.

Where I come from, a relation of mine (republican background) has a  farm that runs onto a unionist farm (of DUP background)

When the catholic farmer went away to the All Ireland etc, the protestant farmer milked the cattle and visa versa.

The part I loved, was that the Catholic farmer bought green white and gold rock back as a gift and the Protestant farmer usually brought red white and blue
rock, and the both had a good laugh about it.

They always marched down the road on the twelfth, and never met any hassle.
Post by: johnneycool on September 28, 2015, 11:59:44 AM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 28, 2015, 12:18:44 AM
Quote from: Windmill abu on September 27, 2015, 01:08:59 AMThis organisation has at its basis an anti catholic agenda. Why would a protestant who sees his catholic co-worker/neighbour as an equal want to be a member of such a blatantly sectarian orginisation?
While cross-community relations across NI/The North/OWC/Six Counties etc. vary wildly from place to place, I think it's worth giving an example of Fintona. Back in July it was the "turn" here to host the 12th demonstration for the West Tyrone area. The local LOL lodge responsible for organising the event did not put up any bunting or flags until they started at around 5am on Monday 13th, in an aftermath of anti-social behaviour that seen a local pub's front door getting rammed. The Catholic owners of the pub, whom were ready for a busy day of custom, managed to contact a local Protestant joinery business whose owners are members of the local LOL early that morning to fix them up with temporary double-doors in a couple of hours while a mixture of Catholics & Protestants helped clean up the mess done by the joyriders knocking over floral displays. The day passed, and the local lodge took down the flags, banners & bunting and cleaned up all the streets and roads used for demonstrations before sunset. In prior preparations, the local Parish Priest and PE opened up car parking space at the parish hall in the centre of Fintona and also at the pastoral centre on the edge of town on the day. While marching bands are not much my scene and I didn't go out to watch any of them, the day went well for all involved despite what happened before sunrise. A bit of mutual sense & respect that goes both ways works here.

Now, places like Portydown on the other hand...

Is it just me but are 'mutual sense and respect' more likely to occur in a nationalist dominated area, council?

Just thinking of how come councils share out the Mayors duties and how some don't!
Post by: T Fearon on September 28, 2015, 05:51:47 PM
Bummer did you not try to mobilise the march protestors in the same way as you attempted to mobilise the Fermanagh support for the 2002 Ulster semi final clash against Armagh? ;D ;D

In Portadown the local Orange lodge loaned a local nationalist band instruments for its trip to New York for St Patrick's Day a couple of years ago.As I said the vast majority of people simply don't care about parades or protests!
Post by: Applesisapples on September 29, 2015, 10:50:36 AM
Tony you are deluded. I do not recognise this utopia that is Portadown and I know it intimately.
Post by: Applesisapples on September 29, 2015, 10:54:27 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 27, 2015, 02:47:56 PM
Emmm Marty and the Queen?
Post by: Applesisapples on September 29, 2015, 11:11:39 AM
Tony, I was always keen to give you a fair hearing when those on here were berating you, but Christ if you really believe some of the crap you have posted on here then you are beyond help.
Post by: T Fearon on September 29, 2015, 06:13:36 PM
Nobody is claiming Portadown is Utopian.I am merely saying that an entire area or people should not be judged or demonised by the actions of the extremes.

Only last week,Brownstown man Darren Causby,Mayor of ABC Council,welcomed Michael D Higgins to Keady.My sister in laws parents,from Navan,with accents to prove it,a few months ago, and not knowing any better,entered one of the most renowned loyalist pubs in the town centre,for lunch,and they discerned no difference in their treatment or service than any other establishment they've been in North or South.

A few weeks ago a prominent catholic businessman died and his funeral was crammed with people from both communities.

Post by: lawnseed on September 29, 2015, 09:12:49 PM
she needs a make over first. worst hair in politics worse than donal trump
Post by: Harold Disgracey on September 29, 2015, 10:16:05 PM
http://m.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/storm-erupts-after-craigavon-council-votes-to-fly-union-flag-every-day-30920948.html

The true face of unionists in Craigavon.

Post by: Bazil Douglas on September 29, 2015, 10:16:53 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on September 29, 2015, 09:12:49 PM
she needs a make over first. worst hair in politics worse than donal trump
Nah,  Caral ni chuilin jez she's scary.
Post by: Applesisapples on September 30, 2015, 09:45:24 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 29, 2015, 06:13:36 PM
Nobody is claiming Portadown is Utopian.I am merely saying that an entire area or people should not be judged or demonised by the actions of the extremes.

Only last week,Brownstown man Darren Causby,Mayor of ABC Council,welcomed Michael D Higgins to Keady.My sister in laws parents,from Navan,with accents to prove it,a few months ago, and not knowing any better,entered one of the most renowned loyalist pubs in the town centre,for lunch,and they discerned no difference in their treatment or service than any other establishment they've been in North or South.

A few weeks ago a prominent catholic businessman died and his funeral was crammed with people from both communities.
Are you Tom or Tone?
Post by: heganboy on November 19, 2015, 06:00:22 PM
So whats the betting on this now?

Foster or Dodds ?

Post by: Keyboard Warrior on November 19, 2015, 06:07:42 PM
Quote from: heganboy on November 19, 2015, 06:00:22 PM
So whats the betting on this now?

Foster or Dodds ?

Foster - First Minister
Dodds - Leader
Post by: T Fearon on November 19, 2015, 10:09:59 PM
DUP have only had two leaders in 47 years.
Post by: Pub Bore on December 07, 2015, 05:52:13 PM
Doddsie not standing.  Looks like a clear run for Arlene.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 07, 2015, 06:35:57 PM
Quote from: Pub Bore on December 07, 2015, 05:52:13 PM

Wee Sammy may make a late dash!
Post by: passedit on December 07, 2015, 06:47:42 PM
(http://i226.photobucket.com/albums/dd107/unclewulf/temp/streaker.gif)

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 07, 2015, 06:35:57 PM

Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 07, 2015, 06:50:23 PM
Quote from: passedit on December 07, 2015, 06:47:42 PM
(http://i226.photobucket.com/albums/dd107/unclewulf/temp/streaker.gif)

he he!
Post by: armaghniac on December 07, 2015, 07:02:17 PM

A man of naked ambition.
Post by: Tothefuture on December 08, 2015, 12:23:53 PM
Cant see Sammy running for Leadership. The DUP have never had a head to head for Leadership and I really can't see that changing. Wonder if Arlene as leader and First Minister will see any change in Party Policy at all.
Post by: general_lee on December 08, 2015, 01:52:28 PM
Wonder (or should that be wounder) how some elements within Unionism will react to a female leader?
Post by: ziggysego on December 08, 2015, 02:44:28 PM
Quote from: general_lee on December 08, 2015, 01:52:28 PM
Wonder (or should that be wounder) how some elements within Unionism will react to a female leader?

Dawn Purvis was the leader of the PUP for a few years ago, until she got scundered with them.
Post by: Applesisapples on December 08, 2015, 03:58:03 PM
Arlene would have a bit more balls than Dawn. Dodds doesn't want to have to work with the Shinners.
Post by: general_lee on December 08, 2015, 05:02:25 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 08, 2015, 02:44:28 PM
Quote from: general_lee on December 08, 2015, 01:52:28 PM

Dawn Purvis was the leader of the PUP for a few years ago, until she got scundered with them.
I wouldn't really class the PUP as a serious political party, nor a unionist one at that.
Post by: armaghniac on December 08, 2015, 08:33:51 PM
Robbo showed the odd bit of leadership, while blowing hot and cold. Has Foster ever said or done anything that constituted a bit more than the minimum?
Post by: T Fearon on December 09, 2015, 06:16:51 AM
Another blow for the Paisleyite wing,which is diminishing in numbers and influence.A good thing and perhaps the latest step in ultimately paving the way for a DUP/UUP merger.
Post by: Rossfan on December 09, 2015, 11:18:42 AM
Ah Tony I thought you were a fan of the Paisleyite religious cult wing of the DUP ;D
Post by: seafoid on December 09, 2015, 11:49:11 AM
there was an interesting point in the IT about Dodds and the leadership. Maybe he didn't want the long nights, the crap food, the time away from family and the lack of exercise that Robinson had. It's a thankless job.
Post by: red hander on December 09, 2015, 07:16:45 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 09, 2015, 11:49:11 AM
there was an interesting point in the IT about Dodds and the leadership. Maybe he didn't want the long nights, the crap food, the time away from family and the lack of exercise that Robinson had. It's a thankless job.

Or maybe, on balancing things up, preferred to be a pig at the Westminster trough rather than the Stormont one ... look at the money Robbo and the wife were raking in before Iris blew it for them. Look at the money junior and Jim Shannon are raking in. DUP will always be more loyal to the half-crown than the crown
Post by: Orior on December 10, 2015, 01:14:14 PM
Great link on the exploits of Ruth Patterson.

https://eurofree3.wordpress.com/2015/10/07/ruthless-dup/ (https://eurofree3.wordpress.com/2015/10/07/ruthless-dup/)