A Tyrone book

Started by seafoid, October 23, 2016, 12:19:46 AM

McCarron on the latest second captains podcast as well. I thought he came across alot better on it than the Anton Savage interview

Quote from: Beffs on November 02, 2016, 08:43:45 AM
Quote from: seafoid on November 02, 2016, 02:07:33 AM
Quote from: Minder on November 01, 2016, 11:03:03 PM
'I'm probably a bit of the victim in there. The one thing I was looking forward to was my book launch in Dublin"

Not big on the self awareness, he seems like an absolute cretin
He was gambling since he was 15. He probably neglected his education.

Secondary school teachers don't exactly go flat out to teach teenagers about self awareness. Nor do their university counterparts, unless they are lecturing in Psychology or Philosophy. I know plenty of people who left school at 16 and/or have no third level education, and they have plenty of basic cop on about themselves & how to conduct themselves in the wider world. You don't learn that kind of stuff in a classroom, or out of a book.
It's part of general life education and he was hooked on gambling from age 15. He has a lot of catching up to do.
Maybe the love of a good woman would help

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s2LYuRzF-c8

I think this picture sums up Savage's opinion...

Here he is with Alan Carr!

Thank Christ Cathal and yer man Carr weren't on at the same time; jeebus knows what way that would've ended  ;D ;)

Haven't heard the Today FM interview but part of me thinks fair play to Savage for taking a less than sympathetic line of questioning with him.
Nowadays, it seems like crying "ADDICTION!" is the non-American equivalent of asking God for forgiveness.
Basically, "I couldn't help it and you can't hold me accountable for my actions".
Plenty of people with addictions of various types, and family backgrounds much more troubled than Cathal's, would never sink to the levels of deception and depravity he did.
In general, I have a rule of thumb in life.
If I see somebody with entire paragraphs of profound inscriptions on their arms, legs, face, neck, eyeballs etc. about God & judgement and that type of thing, I file them under 'Selfish moron', and if I'm honest, 'Probable criminal tendencies'.
I hope Cathal goes on to live a happy and healthy life, but I hope much more strongly than that, that he learns to respect others and stop making excuses for his behaviour.
It seems to me that a lot of people have gone above and beyond the call of duty to help him, so it's up to him now to move forward in a positive way.
However, the more I hear and read about the chap, the more I think he's just your bog-standard manipulative liar.

Quote from: Jinxy on November 02, 2016, 11:14:37 AM
Haven't heard the Today FM interview but part of me thinks fair play to Savage for taking a less than sympathetic line of questioning with him.
Nowadays, it seems like crying "ADDICTION!" is the non-American equivalent of asking God for forgiveness.
Basically, "I couldn't help it and you can't hold me accountable for my actions".
Plenty of people with addictions of various types, and family backgrounds much more troubled than Cathal's, would never sink to the levels of deception and depravity he did.
In general, I have a rule of thumb in life.
If I see somebody with entire paragraphs of profound inscriptions on their arms, legs, face, neck, eyeballs etc. about God & judgement and that type of thing, I file them under 'Selfish moron', and if I'm honest, 'Probable criminal tendencies'.
I hope Cathal goes on to live a happy and healthy life, but I hope much more strongly than that, that he learns to respect others and stop making excuses for his behaviour.
It seems to me that a lot of people have gone above and beyond the call of duty to help him, so it's up to him now to move forward in a positive way.
However, the more I hear and read about the chap, the more I think he's just your bog-standard manipulative liar.
Sometimes there is nothing more other people can do. Christy O'connor helped to write a good book.  But the work has to come from inside.

Jacobmorrisseyx
2 weeks ago
Yeah I heard about this guy Cathal he has an eight year old daughter he has not seen in four years. Next, he got a new woman pregnant and he tried to meet up with a teen girl on tinder. He seems to have serious issues he sounds like a con man to be honest. How can someone just wake up and decide to do gay porn?

longballin

Word is McCarron has pulled out of Nolan Show due to illness... will probably be on at a later date then...  ???

Estimator

Quote from: longballin on November 02, 2016, 05:57:31 PM
Word is McCarron has pulled out of Nolan Show due to illness... will probably be on at a later date then...  ???

Nolan has confirmed that on Twitter.
Ulster League Champions 2009

Thought he spoke relatively well on second captains. It's clear he's not built for public speaking and there is also a huge element of narcissism in his personality, bordering on pathological. IMO, these impact on the ability to emphasise with him.

His response when asked about the tinder setup was telling. He appears to genuinely not understand why that dad is gunning for him. Incidentally, it sounds like he was duped by the young doll and didn't do anything illegal but he is morally corrupt and as alluded to Jinxy this appears to be deeper rooted than addiction alone.

From balls.ie. Cathal the victim....

Gavin Cooney (GC): I want to discuss the issue of the 15-year-old girl you met on Tinder. Her father spoke to the Independent and he said that "to write the book so soon after the incident and to not express any remorse. What does that tell you? It feels like he wants to cash in on what he's done". How do you respond to that?

Cathal McCarron (CC):  It's a sensitive issue. I feel sorry for the father, I can see his point completely, but at the time I was writing the book, this incident happened. It happened last October, and it was going on until earlier this summer.

For me...it happened. I feel sorry for the father. At the same time, I wish it never happened. I wasn't going to talk about this, it was never going to be in the book other than he brought the spotlight to the guards and made a complaint.

From my own speaking of it, I am far from cashing in. If I had one thing I wouldn't want in the book, that would be it. Unfortunately, that's the way it is, and these things happen.

I'm probably a bit of the victim in there. The one thing I was looking forward to was my book launch in Dublin. My family and friends were going to be there, and everyone who I was going to celebrate [with] and [mark] the tough times that we've been through, and people were flying home from London. That's been postponed now because he made complaints. Look, it's a sensitive issue that is being dealt with legally, but I can understand where his anger is coming from, and I do feel sorry for him.

GC: With respect, you calling yourself a victim is an extraordinary turn of phrase.

CC: I would think that I'm a victim of....I hold my hands up for going on a dating website, and I shouldn't have been on it because I had a partner, and I take full responsibility for that. But at the same time,when someone was portraying themselves as someone they're not...If I had known the girl's age, or anything like that... When the father called me in the office, I was as shocked as anyone. I nearly fell off my chair.

When I say I'm the victim... I could have been very easily taken to court over that, and there have been incidents where lads have been. That's how I mean I'm a victim. I went into this completely unknowing as to the fact she wasn't the age she said she was.

The way I say I'm the victim is because it cost me a great night with my family and friends. Obviously, I was to appear on the Late Late Show and I didn't, because of this.

It disturbed a lot of things we had planned. I was never going to talk about this, I wasn't cashing in on this incident, I hold my hands up and say that it's unfortunate that it happened.

GC: I do want to address this for another moment or two. Don't you think you deciding not to talk about this in the book could be construed as you not thinking it's that important?

CC:  It's not that. He doesn't realise the effects it's had on my family and my partner, he is thinking of it from his family. He doesn't realise the effect its had on my family. Going to the papers and them writing stories. This has an effect on me, my family, my partner, and her family. There are a lot of victims in this case and I think he isn't looking very openly with his eyes and thinking straight, to be honest.

GC: Do you feel responsible for what she is going through?

CC: Do I feel responsible for what she is going through?

GC: Yes.

CC: [Pause]... No.

GC: Have you thought of how people will think of you after they've read the book?

CC: Not really, no. that's irrelevant. There could be a million people that read that book and 500,000 people will think that 'he's an asshole'.

Put it like this: don't judge me if you haven't read the book. Read the book and then you can judge the story. If you read the book and you still think the same, well then I can't change anybody. The only person I can change is myself.

It has been an incredibly hard time these past two years, getting back and trying to be a normal human being.

I don't want people going around thinking 'Oh Jesus, I feel sorry for that man'.

I don't want pity.

I just want people to understand what I went through.

So just make sure to buy the book no matter what

Jim Bob

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on November 02, 2016, 10:59:27 AM
Thank Christ Cathal and yer man Carr weren't on at the same time; jeebus knows what way that would've ended  ;D ;)

Eh?

Quote from: Jim Bob on November 02, 2016, 10:42:20 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on November 02, 2016, 10:59:27 AM

Eh?

Must be Tommy Carr. Imagine the two of them talking total shite!

the goal was on

Don't judge me for

Stealing money and lying for over 10 years from numerous people
Fighting and assaulting numerous people
Never mine many other offences

Yet judge me once u read the book!!

He's been clean 5 mins and he's writing a book. Should never have been writing a book at this stage