GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Orior on April 18, 2007, 12:10:30 PM

Title: Change one historical GAA event
Post by: Orior on April 18, 2007, 12:10:30 PM
If there was one event in GAA history that you could go back and change what would it be?

While Armagh's semi-final defeats in 1999 and 2000 were hard to take, I'd like to go back and undo Diarmuid Marsdens sending off in the 2003 AI Final.
Title: Re: Change one historical GAA event
Post by: the colonel on April 18, 2007, 12:16:03 PM
i cant see that being too historical as it didnt have a negative impact on the result,

however i would have like to have seen nicky english being sent off in the 1st minute of the 89 hurling final!!
Post by: stephenite on April 18, 2007, 12:17:36 PM
Bloody Sunday in Croke Park for starters

Liam McHales sending off in 1996 replay

Colm Coyle bouncing the ball over the bar with a banana kick from half way in the first game

Maurice Fitz been born in Kerry

Crossmaglen in '99 club final, winning despite hardly touching the ball

... I can go on

Post by: Kerry Mike on April 18, 2007, 12:19:09 PM
QuoteI would go back and make sure Kerry scored a goal in the 2nd half of the 2002 AIF  

I would go back and make sure Kerry scored a goal in the 2nd half of the 1982 AIF  >:(
Post by: stephenite on April 18, 2007, 12:22:44 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on April 18, 2007, 12:19:09 PM
QuoteI would go back and make sure Kerry scored a goal in the 2nd half of the 2002 AIF  

I would go back and make sure Kerry scored a goal in the 2nd half of the 1982 AIF  >:(

You greedy bastard :P
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 18, 2007, 12:25:14 PM
Kevin Mc Cabe's penalty in the '86 final goes under the bar!  ;)
Post by: downredblack on April 18, 2007, 12:27:01 PM
Greg McCartans sending off Ulster Final 2003
Peter the Greats constant diving and resultant frees , same day .
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 18, 2007, 12:29:11 PM
Bring a Book Depository and a Grassy Knoll to Killarney last year and take out Donaghy with 5 mins gone.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 18, 2007, 12:33:47 PM
Anthony Finertys second goal shot does not run along the goal mouth & wide but into the goal in the 1989 Football All-Ireland Final.

As a result Mayo goes on to win Sam over Cork in 1989.

John O'Mahoney is therefore never hounded out of Mayo.

Mayo win 5-7 Senior All-Irelands between 1989 & 2007.

Therefore Leitrim never win Connacht Final in 1994 over Mayo.

Therefore Galway never reach their potential and are still in a 41 year football famine.

You see one ball and a few inchs either side of a line and the football landscape of Ireland could have been so different.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 18, 2007, 12:37:50 PM
So many, so many.

A lot of serious ones I could quote a la Bloody Sunday, but they are a given.

Barry O'Hagan kicking the ball into the keepers hand in the drawn semi against Kerry.

Portlaoise dicving to an AI  Final in 2005.  Thankfully Stephenite made up for the pain of 1999  ;D that day.

Eoghan Gormley running us ragged in the Ulster Club in 1997.  We would have won 4 in a row AI's and then there would have been no questions as to who is the greatest.

Killeavey winning the minor league final against us in 1994.  It was our only under age defeat as a team ever at any age group...feckers >:(

Circa 1970 Mr Fitzgerald of Kerry and Mr Canavan of Ballygawley should have been sterilised :P
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 18, 2007, 12:40:29 PM
Dublin being awarded a dodgey 45 and a free that never was in front of the Hill ::) in the last minutes of the Leinster Final 2005
Post by: Billys Boots on April 18, 2007, 12:41:17 PM
Mick O'Connell falls ill in August 1968, and is unable to start in AI Semifinal against Longford, who go on to win comfortably in that game and also in the final against Down, setting the Midlands county on its unstoppable drive to the pinnacle of Gaelic Football success.  Longford finally overtook Kerry on the Roll of Honour with its 32nd title in 2002, beating Armagh 7-14 to 0-4, in a mismatched decider.  ;)
Post by: realredhandfan on April 18, 2007, 12:44:04 PM
I think the attempt to get the suspension removed from Diramuid Marden on a technicality in late 2003 opened the door for fair game for  anyone to take a pot at the GAAs disciplinary system.. Sporrtsmanship suffered that day.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 18, 2007, 12:47:08 PM
Billy, are you on one of those chemical induced space trips that are in your blood or something? :P
Post by: Owenmoresider on April 18, 2007, 01:01:03 PM
Dara McGarty opts to go for goal when one-on-one with Benny Tierney in 2002.

Maybe the "big three" would have been Kerry, Sligo and Mayo then. :P
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 18, 2007, 01:03:49 PM
Well if Billy Boots can go on a trip

The great famine never happens, Mayo with a population of 450,000 does not decline to 100,000 & back up to 120,000(now) but instead rockets at the same rate it had pre-famine, Irelands most populated County (and worst affected by the famine) continues to grow until 2007 with a Population of 4 million is challenging for its 53 Senior Football Title, 66 NFL Title, 32 Senior Hurling Title & 50'th NHL Title.

Trip Over
Post by: blanketattack on April 18, 2007, 01:09:05 PM
I'm surprised there hasn't been any posts saying "go back to April 2006 and change 12 votes at the annual congress from "yes" to "no"!

I'd go back to Boody Sunday in 1920 and shoot all the black and tans who entered Croke Park.

For a proper GAA moment, I'd probably put a sedative into the Meath water supply before the 2001 semi-final.

Runner-up:
Tie Seamus Darby's boots together just before the ball was kicked in at the end of the 82 final.
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on April 18, 2007, 01:12:09 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on April 18, 2007, 12:33:47 PM
Anthony Finertys second goal shot does not run along the goal mouth & wide but into the goal in the 1989 Football All-Ireland Final.

As a result Mayo goes on to win Sam over Cork in 1989.

John O'Mahoney is therefore never hounded out of Mayo.

Eh, was Johno not still manager of Mayo for 1990 and 1991 when Ros won back to back Connachts.

For me Kerry's two goals in the 1946 All-Ireland to draw level and deny Jimmy Murray's men a third All-Ireland.

And of course Jimmy Burke's fluke (pushed Gay Sheerin, fell on the ball, somehow fumbled it into the net) in the 1989 Connacht final, after extra time in a replay.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 18, 2007, 01:21:24 PM
Bradley and Muldoon goal efforts go wide in 2004 quarter final and Lakers ease into semi-final where Kerry get their best/only test of the year...
Post by: Ryano on April 18, 2007, 01:23:56 PM
That Derek Thompson "hand pass" (in its loosest interpretation) in the 98 Connaught final replay between Ros & Galway in the Hyde......it must still be keeping him awake at night. We had them feckin bet ya T-I-T!!!!
Post by: thebandit on April 18, 2007, 01:25:03 PM
Armagh:
Bumpy wouldn't have kicked the ball into the keeper's hands,
Oisin would have buried the goal chance in extra time in 2000,
Gormley just misses blocking the ball in '03,
Bill McCorry would have scored the penalty in '53.
Minors got the result they deserved in 92

Monaghan:
the 90's are wiped from the memory bank,
they'd have taken the goal chance to go 9 ahead v Tyrone in '04
the club fixtures for ths year would have been made out with some sort of rhyme or reason to them
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 18, 2007, 01:41:42 PM
Kevin Fitzpatrick missing a great goal chance in injury time in Leinster Final v Westmeath 2004...How did he miss :'(
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 18, 2007, 01:45:38 PM
Quote from: Ryano on April 18, 2007, 01:23:56 PM
That Derek Thompson "hand pass" (in its loosest interpretation) in the 98 Connaught final replay between Ros & Galway in the Hyde......it must still be keeping him awake at night. We had them feckin bet ya T-I-T!!!!

Ah sure ye would only have got humped in the semi-finals anyway. ;D
Post by: continuity tug on April 18, 2007, 01:48:56 PM
sean mc cauge was never president
then rule 21 would never have gone
Post by: realredhandfan on April 18, 2007, 01:50:59 PM
Are you anything to a real tug?
Post by: Donagh on April 18, 2007, 01:54:47 PM
Ger Reid's retaliatory trip on Geraghty in the '99 semi final.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 18, 2007, 01:57:07 PM
I know it only said one..but the bad memories are flowing back

Pauric Horan(Offaly) being awarded a goal against Laois when he and everyone knew it had gone through the side netting..Offaly go on to win All Ireland and many more afterwards,Laois hurling never recovered ;)
What made it worse it was my uncle who was in goal that day for Laois
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 18, 2007, 02:33:13 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 18, 2007, 01:41:42 PM
Kevin Fitzpatrick missing a great goal chance in injury time in Leinster Final v Westmeath 2004...How did he miss :'(

I'm convinced he's gonna goal it every time I watch it. Cold sweat every time...
Post by: ziggysego on April 18, 2007, 02:37:28 PM
When Charlie Redmond was sent off in the 1995 All Ireland Final, I would have liked to seen him actually leave the pitch ASAP.

Actually no, have the point Peter Canavan set up in the same game be allowed.
Post by: cavanmaniac on April 18, 2007, 02:43:36 PM
Did any Westmeath folk mention Dessie Dolan's appalling miss from a free against meath at Croke Park a few years ago??? What a nightmare for maroons!

From a Cavan perspective, I'd like to take a big f**k-off scalpel to the last 40 years or so, but if pushed to narrow it down I'd go for something recent and have Jayo give the ball enough length to clear the crossbar in the dying minutes of the qualifier against Derry in 2004/5. We might have done something more under Coleman that year, as it was we hung the heads and were whipped out the gate in extra time.
Post by: highfielder on April 18, 2007, 02:52:14 PM
i would not so much change anything but i would have like to have stopped whelans assault on mcgarrity in the early stages on the semi final last, despite the fact he could have permanently damaged him but it robbed mc garrity of a certain all star he was ruling midfield that day, and this is especially pertinent since we have realised of mc garritys illness in the past few months just hope he can get back to full fitness and get the all star he deserves
Post by: ziggysego on April 18, 2007, 02:54:33 PM
INTERNATIONAL RULES
Post by: Hardy on April 18, 2007, 02:56:18 PM
"Retaliatory"
:)
Post by: ONeill on April 18, 2007, 03:05:58 PM
2002. Canavan decides not to pass to Thornton and slams it over. La Manga and all that.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 18, 2007, 03:10:57 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on April 18, 2007, 02:43:36 PM
Did any Westmeath folk mention Dessie Dolan's appalling miss from a free against meath at Croke Park a few years ago??? What a nightmare for maroons!

Personally speaking I don't think we'd have won Leinster that year if Dessie had scored that point or in 2004 as Lukie would have probably remained in charge. Add that to the fact only allowed change one historical event plus it felt a lot more depressing coming out of Croke Park in after de quarter-final in 04 than it did in 03.
Post by: ONeill on April 18, 2007, 03:15:53 PM
1996. The guards step in and arrest half of the Royals for disorderly behaviour and attempting to pervert divine right.
2004. Wind picks up and balls veers from hitting Gormley on mug.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on April 18, 2007, 03:33:40 PM
Haven't had a row here in ages - feel in the form for one;

Quote from: realredhandfan on April 18, 2007, 12:44:04 PM
I think the attempt to get the suspension removed from Diramuid Marden on a technicality in late 2003 opened the door for fair game for  anyone to take a pot at the GAAs disciplinary system.. Sporrtsmanship suffered that day.

You'll find that sportsmanship suffered in 2003 long before September, or in someone else's words,

Quote from: downredblack on April 18, 2007, 12:27:01 PM
........ Ulster Final 2003
Peter the Greats constant diving and resultant frees , same day .

Oh darn it - I've just been wound up!!!   :-[     

Regrets - I have a few!!!

Gormleys block,
Loughran playing wing half forward the same day,
Bumpy passing to Declan O'Keefe in 2000,
Diarmuid Marsden's fisted effort hitting the bar in the first half of the Fermanagh game, 2004 (how many of you remember that?)
Post by: armaghniac on April 18, 2007, 03:42:58 PM
Bumpy 2000
Donegal not getting an extra point against Fermanagh in 2004
Paul McGrane stumbling and the ball going over the sideline in Armagh and Tyrone 2005
Post by: realredhandfan on April 18, 2007, 03:44:24 PM
Long before Armagh Rufus, between 95 - 96 Leinster football robbed Tyrone of probably their best ever 2 in a row chance.  Once with brutality and once with brutal refereeing.  
Post by: Ryano on April 18, 2007, 04:33:58 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 18, 2007, 01:45:38 PM
Quote from: Ryano on April 18, 2007, 01:23:56 PM

Ah sure ye would only have got humped in the semi-finals anyway. ;D

Maybe but we would still have had the pleasure of beating ye ;)
Post by: Donagh on April 18, 2007, 04:35:00 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 18, 2007, 02:56:18 PM
"Retaliatory"
:)

Indeed...  :D
Post by: CSC on April 18, 2007, 05:38:11 PM
Sean Kelly would never have become president. For two reasons
1 Not concerned with the decision to open up Croke Park, but the way he failed to defend the Ulster counties during the media campaign which portrayed us as bigots was a disgrace. He failed to articulate the fact where the 26 counties can look to the Dail as its ultimate symbol of the Irish nation, it doesn't apply to us (6 northern counties) and Croke Park is our ultimate symbol of the Irish nation. That was where during the last 90 years we could stand proud as an Irish man with out looking over our shoulders for a baton, plastic bullet etc. He was the whole organization's president and not a 26 county pres. He failed to identify the importance of the symbolism of Croke Park to Ulster counties esp. the 6 northern counties

2 His sinister involvement in the scuppering of the NY RIGGs project. Whereby with sheer greed, he along with Brennan, Quinn and Hannahoe collectively ensured the only way of protecting the GAA in NY was lost. I mean lads, on one hand he was for opening up Croke Park, at the same time he wouldn't allow the NY GAA share future grounds with soccer and rugby, in the most diverse city in the world.

No morals, no back bone no loyalty, that's our Sean Kelly
Post by: Tippfan on April 18, 2007, 05:46:22 PM
Tipperary v Clare All Ireland hurling final 1997. John Leahy drills the ball to the back of the net in the last minute, instead of Davy Fitzgerald saving the shot.
Post by: willo on April 18, 2007, 05:54:57 PM
Quote from: Orior on April 18, 2007, 12:10:30 PM
If there was one event in GAA history that you could go back and change what would it be?

While Armagh's semi-final defeats in 1999 and 2000 were hard to take, I'd like to go back and undo Diarmuid Marsdens sending off in the 2003 AI Final.
I would love to back to the start and tell those idiots who started this bigoted organisation to think again.Let the masses play a real game like soccer like it is done throughout the world and we would all be happier.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 18, 2007, 06:04:00 PM
Jays willo you're harsh don't ya think?

Anyway if I could change a few things, Mayo would have won the AIF in 96, 97 and 99. We wouldn't have got beaten by Sligo in 2000. We'd have beaten the Rossies in the Connacht final in 01 and won the AIf that year as well. Carolan would have scored the peno against Galway in 03, we'd have won the 04 and 06 all Irelands. I know Orior said only one thing but I'd change all of these and I'd be a very happy man.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 18, 2007, 06:31:32 PM
Quote from: willo on April 18, 2007, 05:54:57 PM

I would love to back to the start and tell those idiots who started this bigoted organisation to think again.Let the masses play a real game like soccer like it is done throughout the world and we would all be happier.

gobshite ::)
Post by: Gnevin on April 18, 2007, 06:43:35 PM
Never impose the ban

Move that goal post  1 inch  in 2002
Post by: willo on April 18, 2007, 07:30:27 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 18, 2007, 06:31:32 PM
Quote from: willo on April 18, 2007, 05:54:57 PM

Rovers till the end..stay out of tallaght and play a real game..clowns

gobshite ::)
Post by: highfielder on April 18, 2007, 07:34:10 PM
stop that bounce of a ball that cost it for mayo oh it pains me even to think about it
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 18, 2007, 07:40:27 PM
Love to go back in time and stand on the Hill in 1974 in the Leinster championship beside Jimmy Keaveny, who had retired, and convinced him that the Dubs are shite and not to even think of coming back, not matter what Kevin Heffernan said  ;)
Post by: armaghniac on April 18, 2007, 07:49:04 PM
QuoteLove to go back in time and stand on the Hill in 1974 in the Leinster championship beside Jimmy Keaveny, who had retired, and convinced him that the Dubs are shite and not to even think of coming back, not matter what Kevin Heffernan said

Shamrock Shore, a lot of Armagh people would have to agree with that one!
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 18, 2007, 07:57:56 PM
willo

Re: Change one historical GAA event
« Reply #44 on: Today at 05:54:57 PM »   

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Quote from: Orior on Today at 12:10:30 PM

Ya far better to join an organisation that gives you
Celtic V Rangers
Shamrock Rovers Ultras
Millwall
English Soccer Fans
Turkish Soccer Fans
Italian Soccer Fans
Dutch Soccer Fans
German Soccer Fans
Racist Spanish Soccer
Norn Iron Soccer Fans

Ya Id much rather be part of this Non-Bigoted Hari-Krishna organisation.

Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 18, 2007, 08:11:03 PM
QuoteShamrock Shore, a lot of Armagh people would have to agree with that one!

Orior - when you put it like that.......Jimmy, Jimmy, see Heffo over there.....listen to the man and do what he asks.... ;)
Post by: deiseach on April 18, 2007, 08:29:48 PM
Paul Flynn's last-puck-of-the-game free in the 1998 Munster final. All of 100m out and it couldn't have been been more two metres wide. It still brings a tear to my eye to think how much craic we had that year and it would have been just perfect had we won something. As it was, players like Sean Cullinane, Billy O'Sullivan and Stephen Frampton would not be there four years later when we finally did it. If only for their sakes, I'd like to change that
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 18, 2007, 08:33:03 PM
QuoteSean Kelly would never have become president. For two reasons
1 Not concerned with the decision to open up Croke Park, but the way he failed to defend the Ulster counties during the media campaign which portrayed us as bigots was a disgrace. He failed to articulate the fact where the 26 counties can look to the Dail as its ultimate symbol of the Irish nation, it doesn't apply to us (6 northern counties) and Croke Park is our ultimate symbol of the Irish nation. That was where during the last 90 years we could stand proud as an Irish man with out looking over our shoulders for a baton, plastic bullet etc. He was the whole organization's president and not a 26 county pres. He failed to identify the importance of the symbolism of Croke Park to Ulster counties esp. the 6 northern counties

2 His sinister involvement in the scuppering of the NY RIGGs project. Whereby with sheer greed, he along with Brennan, Quinn and Hannahoe collectively ensured the only way of protecting the GAA in NY was lost. I mean lads, on one hand he was for opening up Croke Park, at the same time he wouldn't allow the NY GAA share future grounds with soccer and rugby, in the most diverse city in the world.

No morals, no back bone no loyalty, that's our Sean Kelly

The war is over. Japan lost. You can come out of your cave now.
Post by: Pangurban on April 18, 2007, 08:33:23 PM
Sean Kellys Disastrous Presidency
Post by: thewingedlady on April 18, 2007, 09:09:26 PM
I know its been said a lot, bt wud really have liked to seen how the game wudda went in '05 if JK hadnt taken off McGeeney. Cavanagh's equaliser still wrankles.

Also, that block in '03.
Post by: CSC on April 18, 2007, 09:13:32 PM
Mike
Come out of my cave, I was never in one, but Sean Kelly hasn't come out of his. Did you read the post? I am in favour for opening up Croke Park, as well as sharing grounds with soccer and rugby in NY, but surprisingly, Kelly while publicly campaigning for soccer and rugby playing in Croke Park, at the same time was actively campaigning for no ground sharing with them in NY which resulted in the program collapsing.
Our love of Croke Park and its deeper meaning to us should have been respected, and defended. Instead we were subjected to a nasty public media campaign, to which our leader said...... typical politician, didn't have the interest of the GAA at heart, only his future job interests.
The war is over? Easy to say in Kerry, not as easy to say however in North Belfast, South Derry, SW Antrim etc etc. I notice you mention WWII, not the troubles. Typical.

No back bone, no morals, no loyalty, Sean Kelly's legacy as CLG pres
Post by: Ethan Edwards on April 18, 2007, 10:00:53 PM
Tony Davis's sending off in the our AIF final victory over Cork, it was a real injustice on a good hard clean footballer and  Niall Cahalane getting off scot free the dity hour  >:(
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 18, 2007, 10:45:48 PM

I might have some sympathy for your sensitivities if you didnt pepper your arguments with personal  insults for Sean Kelly....

Post by: deiseach on April 18, 2007, 11:04:01 PM
Jaysus, Sean Kelly really has got up a lot of peoples noses if they can't find something on the pitch that was more traumatic than him becoming President!
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 18, 2007, 11:13:34 PM
I dont mind Sean Kelly & all I think he was a very good President, but even I took offence to his I nver felt as proud to be Irish comment.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 18, 2007, 11:16:41 PM
Whitey to blow up after a couple of minutes injury time in 2000, not allow play to go on for almost 6 minutes over time.

Marty Duffy to give the deserved free when Joycie was pulled down in injury time in 2002 drawn final.

The ref to wave play on after Padraig Joyce's dive in 1999.

My views on Mr. Kelly are well known but I think they were right to not support the RIGGs project.
Post by: Donagh on April 19, 2007, 12:29:54 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 18, 2007, 11:16:41 PM
Whitey to blow up after a couple of minutes injury time in 2000, not allow play to go on for almost 6 minutes over time.

Marty Duffy to give the deserved free when Joycie was pulled down in injury time in 2002 drawn final.

The ref to wave play on after Padraig Joyce's dive in 1999.

My views on Mr. Kelly are well known but I think they were right to not support the RIGGs project.

Feck Seanie, I just lost a five pound bet with the missus - I was sure you were going to mention a contentious last minute event during a certain quarter final replay.  :(
Post by: Lone Shark on April 19, 2007, 03:22:39 AM
Several different perspectives. Contentious decisions happen, I'd just love to see a few what if scenarios.

Weather

1997 All Ireland football semi against Mayo. We were on a serious roll that year, playing some ridiculously fluid football - haven't seen the like since. I'd love to know how that game would have gone on a dry day, rather than spilling out of the heavens and playing into the hands of the far bigger lads from MAyo. Gut feeling is we would have rattled Kerry in the final a bit more than they did as well.

Refereeing

More than any refereeing decision out there, the one that kills me was the deliberate malevolence of Paddy Russell in 2002. Leinster semi replay in Nowlan Park, extra time and two points down to the Flourbags. 20 metre free and both Ciaran McManus and Colm Quinn asks if there's more time. Russell says there is, the ball is tapped over and Russell blows up on the kickout - hence McManus infamous "The Ref rode us" outburst on TV. More than likely the ball would have been blocked, but I'd love to know what would have happened if we got the chance to go for it. I'd forgive any ref a mistake, but to this day I have no idea what Russell's agenda was with that.

Hurling

1995, & David Hughes/Batman. Let the fricking ball over the bar, AI final finishes 2-8 to 0-14, we'd skin them in the replay, the Clare revolution would never have happened. Probably was great for hurling, just not for us.

Football

The umpire didn't have that ridiculous myopic moment against Westmeath in 2004. Losing was hard enough to take, never mind losing on a score of 0-10 to 0-10. Crashed the car on the way up to Croke Park that day as well.

The Greater Good

That Rory O'Connell would have taken his suspension and not set the trend of bringing the courts into GAA.

Gambling

That Ger Farragher hadn't gone postal against Kilkenny in the AI semi in 2005. I had got on James Young at the start of the year for top hurling scorer at 66/1 for a rather large amount. Coming into the KK vs Galway semi, Farragher was 17 in arrears of Young amd Shefflin was 25 behind - I was actually more worried about Shefflin. No bookie would quote me a price to hedge, Farragher scores 2-9 out of nowhere, then gets four in the final against Cork to beat me by a lousy two points. Cost me a mahoosive win that one. I still get emotional thinking about it.
Post by: Bod Mor on April 19, 2007, 05:23:39 AM
Quote from: Lone Shark on April 19, 2007, 03:22:39 AM
Weather

1997 All Ireland football semi against Mayo. We were on a serious roll that year, playing some ridiculously fluid football - haven't seen the like since. I'd love to know how that game would have gone on a dry day, rather than spilling out of the heavens and playing into the hands of the far bigger lads from MAyo. Gut feeling is we would have rattled Kerry in the final a bit more than they did as well. 

Does it not rain at all in Offaly?
Post by: stephenite on April 19, 2007, 05:59:52 AM
Quote from: Bod Mor on April 19, 2007, 05:23:39 AM
Weather

;D Good answer
Post by: mouview on April 19, 2007, 10:26:16 AM
Football;

Savo passing inside to Joyce in the 2000 final instead of going for a score himself off his weaker right foot. Also, Sean Og or Mikey D converting late chances in that game when we had Kerry on the ropes. Liam Sammon to score the peno in the 1974 final. If we'd won perhaps the Dubs of that era may never have been heard of?

Hurling;
Cyril playing an orthodox line-up against Cork in the '86 final.
Cyril not making a big deal of the Keady affair in '89
Ger Cunningham's forehead not being so big in '90

So many, so many....
Post by: magpie seanie on April 19, 2007, 11:08:12 AM
QuoteFeck Seanie, I just lost a five pound bet with the missus - I was sure you were going to mention a contentious last minute event during a certain quarter final replay

I was thinking if a certain well known contributer who has left our midst was lurking that this thread might have been enough to lure him back to answer for me. Navan was tough alright but not as tough as the other 3 mentioned. If we had got the pen and scored it I don't think we would have gone on to lift Sam. The club ones speak for themselves and I have NEVER seen us beat Galway. At any grade, ever.
Post by: Lone Shark on April 19, 2007, 11:30:17 AM
Quote from: stephenite on April 19, 2007, 05:59:52 AM
Quote from: Bod Mor on April 19, 2007, 05:23:39 AM
Weather

;D Good answer

God no - the boglands drain it off and it's dry as a bone again in four minutes. Anyway, if you're preparing thoroughbreds for the Derby in June, you don't expect the going to be soft/heavy.....  :)
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 19, 2007, 12:08:41 PM
here here with the davis sending off!

also a happier outcome for kildare in the three in a row with meath in '97.

Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 19, 2007, 01:43:48 PM
The Donegal team going on the piss for a year after bringing "Sam to the hills" in 1992...!!!!

Oh what could have been!  :'(
Post by: oneillcup2007 on April 19, 2007, 01:46:37 PM
ffs do they not do that every year.
Post by: An Cloch Scoilte on April 19, 2007, 01:49:22 PM
Paddy O'Rourke taking Liam Doyle off against Donegal in Ballybofey last summer with time up, then Down being awarded a free kick ideal for a left footed kicker. Could have drawn the game, saved Downs Summer, and in the long run saved him his job!
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 19, 2007, 01:56:31 PM
For the whole Canal End Terrace (including myself) not to start chanting "We want Sam, we want Sam, for the last 15 minutes relentlessly" in the first game in 1996, I really do believe not alone did we convince ourselves that victory was a cert, but the cockness waved onto the pitch and this negative positivity into the heads of the Mayo players
Post by: saffron sam2 on April 19, 2007, 02:04:50 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 18, 2007, 12:37:50 PM
Eoghan Gormley running us ragged in the Ulster Club in 1997.  We would have won 4 in a row AI's and then there would have been no questions as to who is the greatest.

Oh no you wouldn't have.  This is a point I tried to argue (in a roundabout sort of way) on the Derry thread, but apparently Dungiven were unbeatable that year and but for a sending off in the AI semi-final they would have been AI champions that year, regardless of the fact that they fell at the first meaningful obstacle.

For me, it would have been Central Council taking direct, decisive and well-merited action against the Kerry thugs who disgraced football in the All-Ireland semi-final of 1946. No more should these brutal animals or subsequent generations of animals been allowed to sully the hallowed sod of Croke Park with their cynical, puke football, which although it may have delivered another 19 All-Irelands it has turned more people away from the GAA than anything else.

There is no question that Antrim would have gone on to win the All-ireland in '46 and that this would have been a springboard to greater success.  Who knows, we may never have heard of Jim McKeever or Sean O'Neill etc.  As it was a dispirited team failed to build on the Ulster title and gradually faded into the wilderness.

Oh and Finn McCool could have sunk all those boats containing scottish men with shinty bats and turf spades who ended up settling in north Antrim and inventing their crude version of hurling.  That would have been good.

Oh and Anthony Tohill dropping the ball onto the top of the net, rather than the cross bar or John Bannon not shiting himself and blowing for full itme as Kevn Madden bore down on goal in injury time in the same game.  That too would have good. And quite funny.

Oh and John Bannon not refereeing the qualifier against Armagh, when he steadfastly refused to send Justin McNulty off and awarded Armagh a scoreable free every time Antrim got within two points of them. That could have been good.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 19, 2007, 02:32:45 PM
Or the big one that amazingly did happen, the year Mayo won the All-Ireland but neve played Galway on the way because they refused to play the game, then came back & changed their minds and beat Mayo when it was all over. Therefore robbing Mayos All-Ireland.

Does any Mayo, Galway or other know the exact facts of this historical event.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 19, 2007, 02:41:04 PM
QuoteQuote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 18, 2007, 12:37:50 PM

Oh no you wouldn't have.  This is a point I tried to argue (in a roundabout sort of way) on the Derry thread, but apparently Dungiven were unbeatable that year and but for a sending off in the AI semi-final they would have been AI champions that year, regardless of the fact that they fell at the first meaningful obstacle.

I am sorry Sam but I have no doubt that we would have beaten Dungiven in the Final if we had beaten the Ballygawley men.  No team is unbeatable as you put it.  We were as close as you would get at one stage(60 odd games unbeaten) but we were eventually beaten.  I have no doubt if we had have won we would have beaten Corofin in the semi final an would have completed the task in the Final.  We didn't so what more can I say.
Post by: saffron sam2 on April 19, 2007, 02:51:01 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 19, 2007, 02:41:04 PM
QuoteQuote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 18, 2007, 12:37:50 PM

Oh no you wouldn't have.  This is a point I tried to argue (in a roundabout sort of way) on the Derry thread, but apparently Dungiven were unbeatable that year and but for a sending off in the AI semi-final they would have been AI champions that year, regardless of the fact that they fell at the first meaningful obstacle.

I am sorry Sam but I have no doubt that we would have beaten Dungiven in the Final if we had beaten the Ballygawley men.  No team is unbeatable as you put it.  We were as close as you would get at one stage(60 odd games unbeaten) but we were eventually beaten.  I have no doubt if we had have won we would have beaten Corofin in the semi final an would have completed the task in the Final.  We didn't so what more can I say.

No my point on the Derry thread was that Dungiven over-achieved in 1997 and that their Ulster title was a soft one. They beat Castle Dawson (who have never won the Derry senior championship) in the Derry final and the Fermanagh and Antrim champions on their way to the Ulster final.  There they beat a team who had left everything behind them in the semi-final when beating yourselves and who simply couldn't raise the necessary gallop in the Ulster final.  I too have no doubt that you would have beaten Dungiven in the final and gone on to do the four-in-a-row.

Lynchbhoy may argue however.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 19, 2007, 02:54:39 PM
Well, if he argued with you that they would have beaten us he is lying as he told me that he has no doubt we would have beaten them. ;D
Post by: Hardy on April 19, 2007, 03:42:04 PM
It's no surprise to find John Bannon figuring so prominently in the ruined dreams of so many counties. In our case it was his handling of the final game of our great 3-match tilt with Kildare in '97. He sent off 3 of our top players. He sidelined Mark O'Reilly for falling over and doing his best to avoid touching any Kildare man in the vicinity. Darren Fay was done for (another) Martin Lynch swan-dive, when he chose to go down clutching his ribs away from play for no good reason. Sorry. That's wrong. The reason was to get Fay sent off. And Bannon didn't even see it, but felt able to sed Fay off. And then Graham Geraghty got sent off. In fairness, he actually made contact with a Kildare player.

The short term outcome was a shredded defence for the Leinster final, the memorable sight of Roy Malone careering through unopposed on several occasions, for what seemed like several goals and the failure to defend our All-Ireland title. The long term result was to deprive us of an unprecedented six-in-a-row All-Irelands, which would have been a formality, really. If it wasn't for Trevor Giles's 'crucial legament' in the Leinster Final of '98. And Offaly taking us by surprise and beating us in the first round in 2000. And Galway in 2001.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on April 19, 2007, 04:13:19 PM
Pat McEneaney (excuse the spelling but you know who I mean)  >:(
Post by: dec on April 19, 2007, 05:08:30 PM
If the meeting in the billiard-room of Miss Hayes's Commercial Hotel in Thurles hadn't taken place then none of these other events that you are complaining about would have happened :)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 19, 2007, 08:22:53 PM
QuoteFor me, it would have been Central Council taking direct, decisive and well-merited action against the Kerry thugs who disgraced football in the All-Ireland semi-final of 1946. No more should these brutal animals or subsequent generations of animals been allowed to sully the hallowed sod of Croke Park with their cynical, puke football, which although it may have delivered another 19 All-Irelands it has turned more people away from the GAA than anything else.

Stop talking shit. Everyone knows that 1946 was the first Ulster attempt at diving to the ground at every opportunity. Thankfully, in those days refs werent fooled by such crap and ye got the pasting ye deserved  and haven't been back since.

Post by: Redgreenery on April 19, 2007, 08:54:12 PM
For Mayo to have won an All Ireland between 1989 and 2006.

For them to not have been so embarresed in '04 and '06.

The list goes on....
Post by: slow corner back on April 19, 2007, 10:02:43 PM
Antrim pipping the cats in 91 semi, we really should have, sloppy late goal let them back in. I am not sure we would have beat Tipp in the final but I am convinced it would have been close,  unlike 89
Post by: Craigyhill Terror on April 19, 2007, 10:22:41 PM
Quote from: slow corner back on April 19, 2007, 10:02:43 PM
Antrim pipping the cats in 91 semi, we really should have, sloppy late goal let them back in. I am not sure we would have beat Tipp in the final but I am convinced it would have been close,  unlike 89

Sure if we're looking at wish-fulfillment, how about beating Tipp in 89, a victory so seismic and influential for Antrim hurling it set in motion an unprecedented run of 18 All-Ireland victories in a row, and counting...
Post by: Armaghtothebone on April 19, 2007, 10:54:20 PM
2000 AI Football semi final.We go six points down inside 5 minutes :'( !Yet somehow we drag ourselves back into the game.Unbelievably as we enter extra time an Andy McCann goal and a point from Geezer see us sneak into the lead :).The next kickout is the most vital in the 30 plus years that I've been an Armagh fan.We win possession.A place in the final is ours.Barry O Hagan has the ball,and space to run into.He can make another 15/20 yards and then shoot.
He doesnt :'( Instead he drops the ball into the keepers hands.If only he had mis kicked and screwed it out over the end line.Or even the side line.
The rest is history.Kerry get an equalizing free.They win the replay and the All Ireland.It takes us 2 more years to finally win Sam.We nearly retain it but tyrone are too good for us on the day :'( It has taken this team too long to win their first All Ireland.a second one is beyond them.
A win in 2000 might have seen us win 2 or even 3 but it was'nt to be. 
Post by: heganboy on April 20, 2007, 02:06:48 AM
I think a lot of the arnagh fans are missing the AI minor final in '92. That management could have brought success a few years earlier, and repeated the feat
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on April 20, 2007, 12:02:43 PM
For me as a Kerry fan there is only one moment I would like to change.
The push that Tommy Doyle got in the back in the lead up to the Offaly goal in '82 would be spotted by the ref and a free out given....
I know it's asking a lot when you hear the ref (Mr Aldridge) saying there was no free watching the incident on TV 20 years later....
Good to note the standard of refing hasn't got worse over the years....

A possible second moment would be the All-Ireland final of '02 - Eoin Brosnan shot at the end of the game which barley went wide.
I was directly in line with it when he struck it, it look over all the way before tailing off very late in the day. The worst I have ever felt leaving Croke Park. 
Post by: Kevin on April 20, 2007, 04:54:43 PM
Sorry Super,

What you meant to say was:

I wish Tommy Doyle had judged the ball better so that he was in position to catch it.

The contact was caused by Doyle's last gasp attempt to jump back having misjudged it.

Post by: Onlooker on April 20, 2007, 05:14:06 PM
Kerry have received the benefit of so many dodgy decisions by referees that they should be very slow to refer to any decisions that they (and no one else) feel went against them.
Post by: stew on April 20, 2007, 06:12:11 PM
Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on April 20, 2007, 12:02:43 PM
For me as a Kerry fan there is only one moment I would like to change.
The push that Tommy Doyle got in the back in the lead up to the Offaly goal in '82 would be spotted by the ref and a free out given....
I know it's asking a lot when you hear the ref (Mr Aldridge) saying there was no free watching the incident on TV 20 years later....
Good to note the standard of refing hasn't got worse over the years....

A possible second moment would be the All-Ireland final of '02 - Eoin Brosnan shot at the end of the game which barley went wide.
I was directly in line with it when he struck it, it look over all the way before tailing off very late in the day. The worst I have ever felt leaving Croke Park. 

I was shocked at how much space Armagh gave him before they went to close him down and it did look like it was going to go over the bar but thank God it didnt. That second half performance by Kerry might rank as one of the worst ever efforts by a kerry team in Championship history and they did not deserve to win that game, their midfield went awol and the pony looked like he had been shot such was the roasting he received at the hands of a 19 year old Ogs man.

All in all, that day in 02 was surreal,  to beat the mighty Kerry and finally show Tyrone how to win an AI was something I will treasure forever.

The defeat in the minor final was the hardest thing i have ever had to stomach, even worse than the loss to Kerry in the AISF years later when Fitzgerald bailed them out. That loss in the minor game was devastating because it felt like we were forever destined to lose the most meaningful matches and I got to thinking about generations fo supporters who have suffered following Armagh and that made it worse.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 20, 2007, 07:35:16 PM
QuoteKerry might rank as one of the worst ever efforts by a kerry team in Championship history

hmmm..yeah, maybe you have a point there...... I suppose that would devalue your AI so, I mean it hardly took much winning if it was one of the worst efforts by a Kerry team.....wouldn't you agree ?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 20, 2007, 07:37:05 PM
QuoteKerry have received the benefit of so many dodgy decisions by referees that they should be very slow to refer to any decisions that they (and no one else) feel went against them.

Give us some examples.
Post by: thejuice on April 20, 2007, 09:37:37 PM
I'd give the whole Meath team a wake up call after beating Kerry by 15 points in the 2001 semi. let them know they had won nothing yet, that Galway were a bigger threat, as they had reached 3 of the last 4 AI at the time.  Even if they didnt win, at least they might have given a better account of themselves, unlike what transpired.

Also anyone who thinks "soccer" is a real game, they need a f**kin wake up call too. Its a p***ys game played by hair dressers. which makes me laugh at the thug element in its supporters. All these hard men watching the sporting equivelent of graham nortan
Post by: Onlooker on April 20, 2007, 10:15:23 PM
What about the goal that was given to them against Tipperary in the Munster Championship in 1999.  You may say that Kerry would have won anyway, but at one stage midway through the second half, Kerry's lead was down to two points.  If they had got fair play, Tipp would have been  leading by a point.  It is hard enough to play against Kerry without the referee giving them a helping hand.  Kerry's refusal to consider replaying the game did not say an awful lot for their sportsmanship.  That must have been one of the worst refereeing decisions ever made in a Munster Championship match.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 20, 2007, 10:21:11 PM
QuoteAlso anyone who thinks "soccer" is a real game, they need a f**kin wake up call too. Its a p***ys game played by hair dressers. which makes me laugh at the thug element in its supporters. All these hard men watching the sporting equivelent of graham nortan

Of what relevance has that bitter rambling got to with this thread ::)
Post by: thejuice on April 20, 2007, 10:49:27 PM
sorry someone earlier was harping on about soccer being better than GAA, im not bitter i just dont like the sport, and some of those who follow it. i accept my comments were off topic, didnt mean to divert the tread, but i stand by what i said
Post by: stew on April 20, 2007, 10:52:59 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 20, 2007, 07:35:16 PM
QuoteKerry might rank as one of the worst ever efforts by a kerry team in Championship history

hmmm..yeah, maybe you have a point there...... I suppose that would devalue your AI so, I mean it hardly took much winning if it was one of the worst efforts by a Kerry team.....wouldn't you agree ?

I didnt say the whole game mick, just the second half, I was not trying to be funny I just feel that in the 2nd half kerry were not at the races and lost as a result, and in answer to your question i would say no, you played as well as you were let, Armagh would not be denied in the second half.

In the first half it was at times men against boys and you lot were sublime.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 20, 2007, 10:59:02 PM
Quote from: thejuice on April 20, 2007, 10:49:27 PM
sorry someone earlier was harping on about soccer being better than GAA, im not bitter i just dont like the sport, and some of those who follow it. i accept my comments were off topic, didnt mean to divert the tread, but i stand by what i said

::) bitter man
Post by: ONeill on April 20, 2007, 11:24:54 PM
Quote from: stew on April 20, 2007, 10:52:59 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on April 20, 2007, 07:35:16 PM

I didnt say the whole game mick, just the second half, I was not trying to be funny I just feel that in the 2nd half kerry were not at the races and lost as a result, and in answer to your question i would say no, you played as well as you were let, Armagh would not be denied in the second half.

In the first half it was at times men against boys and you lot were sublime.

I think Kerry in the first half v Tyrone in 2003 was their worst. 2 pts?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 20, 2007, 11:33:56 PM
Brewster's kick in injury time in the 04 q/final to have gone wide. Pretty sure we would have won the replay convincingly and won the All Ireland that year. 2004 was the real one that got away. We could have won it in 99, 00, 05 and even 01 but 04 was the year I really think we were the best county but couldn't get the job done. But sure them's the breaks.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 20, 2007, 11:47:16 PM
QuoteI think Kerry in the first half v Tyrone in 2003 was their worst. 2 pts?

I noticed you left  "game of football" out of that sentence. A very apt omission.
Post by: Hardy on April 21, 2007, 10:42:38 AM
Quote from: ONeill on April 20, 2007, 11:24:54 PM
I think Kerry in the first half v Tyrone in 2003 was their worst. 2 pts?

That's if you don't include the second half v. Meath in 2001 - 1 point. The first half is up there as well - 4 points.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 21, 2007, 12:38:36 PM
QuoteI noticed you left  "game of football" out of that sentence. A very apt omission

What are you on about?
Post by: stew on April 21, 2007, 02:13:42 PM
In that Kerry Tyrone game Tyrone were magnificent in the first half and they blew kerry away with some fantastic passages of play, naturally in the second half they decided to sit on their lead and make a mockery of proceedings by holding up play, going to ground very easily and cheating when all they had to do was play football and they would have won going away. This was the day soccer style playacting was introduced and the refs did not know how to handle it in that game or the AIF in the next one. This is a huge part of Mickey Hartes legacy, well that, two All Irelands and threatening to sue the association at every farts turn. Mickey is a walking enigma. :o
Post by: AhFeckRef on April 23, 2007, 10:42:45 AM
Carrick On Shannon 1995.

Reality!
Leitrim, reigning provincial champions, loose by a late late injury time point to Galway after a terrible match in Pairc Sean.

Alternative ending!
Leitrim, reigning provincial champions, draw with Galway after a terrible match in Pairc Sean.
Next weekend they repeat the heroics of the two years before and snatch a victory from Galway in their home ground Tuam Stadium.

After a poor Connaught Final Leitrim retain their title and proceed to meet Tyrone in the All Ireland Semi Final.
The team have crossed swords before in recent league outings.
After a titianic strugle Leitrim overcome the Tyrone team to reach the All Ireland Final against last years Semi Final opposition Dublin.
Young Tyrone player Peter Canavan has a nightmare day when he is marked out of it by Seamus Quinn. As a result he decides to hang up his boots from  inter county football to concentrate on his teaching career.

The all Ireland final sees a much improved Leitrim team match Dublin blow for blow and a late late Mickey Quinn point snatches victory as Leitrim goes on to win it's first all ireland to scenes of wild extatic celebrations in Croke Park.

:'( ::) :'(
Post by: Gnevin on April 23, 2007, 11:43:47 AM
Quote from: AhFeckRef on April 23, 2007, 10:42:45 AM
Carrick On Shannon 1995.

Reality!
Leitrim, reigning provincial champions, loose by a late late injury time point to Galway after a terrible match in Pairc Sean.

Alternative ending!
Leitrim, reigning provincial champions, draw with Galway after a terrible match in Pairc Sean.
Next weekend they repeat the heroics of the two years before and snatch a victory from Galway in their home ground Tuam Stadium.

After a poor Connaught Final Leitrim retain their title and proceed to meet Tyrone in the All Ireland Semi Final.
The team have crossed swords before in recent league outings.
After a titianic strugle Leitrim overcome the Tyrone team to reach the All Ireland Final against last years Semi Final opposition Dublin.
Young Tyrone player Peter Canavan has a nightmare day when he is marked out of it by Seamus Quinn. As a result he decides to hang up his boots from  inter county football to concentrate on his teaching career.

The all Ireland final sees a much improved Leitrim team match Dublin blow for blow and a late late Mickey Quinn point snatches victory as Leitrim goes on to win it's first all ireland to scenes of wild extatic celebrations in Croke Park.

:'( ::) :'(

Its Change one historical GAA event , not the entire fabric of the universe
Post by: nrico2006 on April 23, 2007, 12:32:29 PM
The 95 All Ireland Final, Charlie Redmond should have got off the pitch when he was sent off and Paddy Russell should for once make a good decision and allow Tyrones genuine equalising point to stand.

The 2005 Ulster Final should have been won by the better team, and not won by Armagh due to the incorrect dismissal of the teams top 2 forwards (SON & Canavan) when the side were comfortably leading.  How the ref sent Canavan off for being dragged around the ground amazes me still, and how the hoor who dragged him was only shown a second yello in comparison with Peter the Greats straight red is unbelievable(I also feel for Marsden 03 - disgrace, still sickens me seeing Jordan play acting on the floor like a bitch!).  If the referee did his job properly then he could have stopped the most irritating GAA picture ever from being taken:

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/41340000/jpg/_41340685_mcgeeney_cup.jpg)

QuoteCirca 1970 Mr Fitzgerald of Kerry and Mr Canavan of Ballygawley should have been sterilised

Good one!
Post by: armaghniac on April 24, 2007, 07:46:41 PM
An extra point for Kerry in the drawn Munster final 2006. Their defeat by Cork forced them to get their act together, whereas they might have cruised on and been beaten by Armagh in the AI semi-final.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 24, 2007, 09:47:49 PM
QuoteI noticed you left  "game of football" out of that sentence. A very apt omission
QuoteWhat are you on about?

as in,  I dont consider the 2003 semi-final as a "game of football"

Post by: Jinxy on April 25, 2007, 10:23:29 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 23, 2007, 12:32:29 PM
The 95 All Ireland Final, Charlie Redmond should have got off the pitch when he was sent off and Paddy Russell should for once make a good decision and allow Tyrones genuine equalising point to stand.

The 2005 Ulster Final should have been won by the better team, and not won by Armagh due to the incorrect dismissal of the teams top 2 forwards (SON & Canavan) when the side were comfortably leading.  How the ref sent Canavan off for being dragged around the ground amazes me still, and how the hoor who dragged him was only shown a second yello in comparison with Peter the Greats straight red is unbelievable(I also feel for Marsden 03 - disgrace, still sickens me seeing Jordan play acting on the floor like a bitch!).  If the referee did his job properly then he could have stopped the most irritating GAA picture ever from being taken:

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/41340000/jpg/_41340685_mcgeeney_cup.jpg)

Never saw that Geezer pic before. I did hear a rumour though, the last thing he shouted at his team-mates before charging out of the dressing room at half-time was "Lets win this one for the hardworking photographers out there!!"
Post by: magpie seanie on April 25, 2007, 10:38:06 AM
Quoteas in,  I dont consider the 2003 semi-final as a "game of football"

Why? Because the other team tried to take the ball of your team and didn't let them run through them? Sad.

Kerry, as well as many other things, are well known for taking defeat with good grace and your whinging is out of sync with most of your county mens attitudes. Get over it already. I'm sure ye will beat Tyrone again in the championship some day.
Post by: An Cloch Scoilte on April 25, 2007, 11:47:21 AM
Ray Cosgrove pointing the last minute free in the '02 semi against Armagh.
Dubs winning the replay and Armagh still being on 1 All-Ireland!!!! ;)
Post by: full back on April 25, 2007, 11:52:17 AM
Quote from: An Cloch Scoilte on April 25, 2007, 11:47:21 AM
Ray Cosgrove pointing the last minute free in the '02 semi against Armagh.
Dubs winning the replay and Armagh still being on 1 All-Ireland!!!! ;)

Eh?  ???
Post by: An Cloch Scoilte on April 25, 2007, 11:53:23 AM
OOPs my mistake meant to say NO All-Irelands!!! :o
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 25, 2007, 07:41:13 PM
QuoteKerry, as well as many other things, are well known for taking defeat with good grace and your whinging is out of sync with most of your county mens attitudes. Get over it already. I'm sure ye will beat Tyrone again in the championship some day.

Once again you show your hypocrisy. Were you not whinging for years after Armagh beat sligo ?
Post by: ONeill on April 26, 2007, 09:25:03 AM

You're right. There was only one team in it (had the balls for it) that day.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 26, 2007, 01:02:26 PM
QuoteOnce again you show your hypocrisy.

Excuse me?

QuoteWere you not whinging for years after Armagh beat sligo ?

I think you'll find that its usually Armagh contributers (and in particular one rather rotund one) who jabber at me about that. For instance, I didn't mention it on this thread until one of the Armagh boys did.

You really don't like me do you?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 26, 2007, 07:55:53 PM
QuoteYou really don't like me do you?

You instigated this particular exchange, I responded. I wouldn't go reading too much into it.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 26, 2007, 08:15:48 PM
QuoteYou're right. There was only one team in it (had the balls for it) that day.

Look, just accept the fact that you betrayed whatever footballing instincts you had in order to win by any means necessary. Perhaps this was an understandable approach in order to win your first AI, however, that doesnt change the facts of how you played.
Post by: ONeill on April 26, 2007, 09:02:43 PM
Want me to send you the video? Kerry supporters themselves were so humiliated by that defeat that they attacked Paidi on the field of play. Tyrone's play in that first half was magnificent, attacking in waves, scoring points when goals were there for the taking. I think that was one of the most humiliating factors for the Kingdom's supporters. Kerry's foul count was massively higher than Tyrone's that day, as discussed in last year's Times, as all they could do was haul Tyrone to the ground. A Kerryman on TV tried to explain it away by calling it puke football. Fortunately, the rest of the nation knew otherwise and that Kerryman's stock fell dramatically since to the point that he's viewed as a joke.
Post by: tyssam5 on April 26, 2007, 11:35:51 PM
I disagree O'Neill, I didn't think Kerry were that humiliated during the game. They kept trying hard but just couldn't get into it, no shame in that.

The humiliating part came afterward when the Kerry county chairman demanded the rules of the game be changed. I've hardly stopped laughing at him since.

But I suppose if Kerry were good losers they'd probably have won a lot less.
Post by: Jinxy on April 26, 2007, 11:45:25 PM
Look, Kerry got their ass kicked by Tyrone in 2003, just like Tyrone got their ass kicked by Meath in '96. You don't hear them whinging about it years later. ;D ;D
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on April 27, 2007, 12:39:53 PM
Dont thing this topic will ever die but here is my take on the '03 semi final. It was a shite game of football for three reasons.
1. Tyrone blew Kerry away in the first half 0-9 to 0-2 played that swarm shite and should have had a few goals in the first half. Kerry half backs were constantly fouling their men as the broke in on goals. A fair share of the Tyrone scores came from frees including one from a dive by Mr Canavan (shortly before he went off) that got Mike Mac booked after 4 minutes.
2. Kerry opened well in the second half and had the score at 0-10 to 0-6 by which time Tyrone had lost interest in playing football, they went down when touched and took every opportunity to slow the game down. Messer's McGuigan, McMeniman and Dooher the worst offenders if memory serves. Tyrone scored the last 3 point, late on, to win by 0-13 to 0-6.The game was not a good spectacle and Tyrone did what they had to do after building up a lead - no argument the better side won but the 'tactics' used in the second half to slow the game down didn't sit well. Don't think you will find a solitary Kerry person to say Kerry were better on the day. '05 final a far better game 'cos none of the negativity of the second half of '03 was there.
3. The worst ref in Ireland took charge of the game....Mr Keneevy or whatever he is calling himself these days.....