Sking Holiday

Started by Keepthefaith93, October 15, 2008, 09:02:21 AM

lfdown2

is that for the apt, jaysus i think i would ye know...

Mhic Easmuint

That aint half bad, the oul lift pass would nearly cost that itself. 
21st would be grand.  Wedding 20th, away the next day would be sweet!
Val d'Isere's snow is usually good well into April. 

bendurback

Lads, heading to andora on sunday, pas de la casa to be exact, this is I my first skiing holiday.

Anyone able to recommend any good bars or eating houses there?

Jimmy

Booked a week in Livigno at the start of March. It worked out at £477 for a self catering apartment, pass and equipmet. Got the insurance seperately through www.complete-ski.com. This will be my second time going. The first time a mate who has been a couple of times  taught us the basics rather than going for the ski school. Was a bit hairy for the first couple of days but finally picked it up. Would it be worth getting a couple of intermediate lessons or should I just tear on.

We fly into Brecia. Not looking forward to the 4hr coach trip though. Has anyone ever been before? Is the coach trip as bad as it sounds? Whats the self catering apartments like.

Mhic Easmuint

You don;t know the name of the apartments or are they just name on arrival?
Up to yourself about lessons. What you really want to get out of it.  Lessons might help technique which could make it easier.
I only took lessons on my first holiday, and have managed grand.  My technique might not be 100% but I can get down all slopes.  Strength probably makes up for lack of proper technique.  I'm happy enough with that as only manage 1 or 2 weeks skiing a season.

Ah the journey isn't that bad as long as things go well.  Prob more like 4.5-5 hours.  1st time going there it was a grand journey.  2nd time it was a nightmare, took alot longer as there was snow and the likes.  (Plus we were last to be dropped off in the resort, spent an hour in resort going round dropping others off)

Jimmy, are you going next weekend?  If you are, there'll be 20 of us out there.

I've been skiing six times now and only went to ski school once, on my first trip.  I'd advise a private lesson for a few hrs if even to show you the slopes in the resort.  

I hate that long journey - bringing the laptop with a few movies to keep me going.  Last time I went we got some beers in Geneva Airport and brought them onto the bus but there's only one stop between there and Livigno so it may be a risky option!

Jimmy

We leave on the 7th Rois. Livigno must be a pretty popular place as I've heard from a few people who have been.

Soll was the last place I was in. They guy who I was with and had been skiing before said the slopes in Soll would have been tricky for a beginner so I'm hoping Livigno is a little easier as I'd still consider myself a novice. I'll maybe see about the lesson when I get there and if anyone else in our group is for taking one.

harlechman

Just back from a week in Livigno. Brilliant.

Flight out was delayed by 4 hours which was a nightmare followed by a 5 hour coach transfer. Well worth it though, the resort is class. Loads of quality slopes. Food and drink is relatively cheap, would recommend the chateaubriand in Baachus (downstairs in Bella Vista) it was unreal. You can get a good feed and a few drinks for €30.

Stayed in L'Ables apartments, very decent. The only thing was we needed a bus to most of the slopes but that wasn't too bad. Apparently they had the best snow in the last 20 years. The apres-ski in the bar at the bottom of the Carosello 3000 is serious craic, up on the tables at 6pm!

Couldn't recommend a skiing holiday highly enough.

mikasas

Jeeze all you guys have so much info.
I am thinking of organizing a trip for a few buddies no more than 10 and was wondering where to go for a good price?
I was in Morzine last year and it was very good, but are there better places. The ski area in Morzine is Massive if you get the portes du Soleil ski pass.
Would want good skiing/snowboarding with lively apres ski for reasonably cheap-£350-£500 all in.
Lot of you guys recommend Livingno, who you book that with?
Break Ball Specialist.

Mhic Easmuint

Do you mean half board all in? 
Might be tight for that price unless you pick up a good deal.
Neilsons or Directski.com go to Livigno.

mikasas

Bed and Breakfast would be enough.
Could you give any recommendations for a group of lads?
Would Livingno be the best in Europe for Aprés Ski and good slopes?
Break Ball Specialist.

Mhic Easmuint

All lads, wouldn't be fussy on accommodation, no problem there.
Livigno - cheap and good apres ski, and would have alot of Irish about it. 
Austrian Apres Ski is supposed to be the best, but I haven't been there yet.
Slopes grand, but not the best in Europe. 

mikasas

So your saying Austria is the spot to be?
Any recommendations? Soll? Mayerhoffen? Allbourg?
Break Ball Specialist.

Mhic Easmuint

Never been to Austria.  When pricing last year couldn't get anything suitable.

Mayrhofen is great. Nice wee town, excellent skiing. Saalbach and Hinterglemm is another one you should consider in Austria. It's more speadeagled than Mayrhofen, meaning more walking unless you're lucky with your hotel, but it's a fine place.

The only thing I'd say against Austria is that most of the resorts are far from snowsure during warmer winters. The top end of France comes into its own then. But the prices are shocking - I wouldn't fancy getting in a round with 5 or 6 drinkers for a night in Val Thorens or Tignes.

Don't rule out Soldeu in Andorra either. The snow record is either feast or famine, but when there's snow, there's no end of skiing since it joined up with Pas de la Casa a few years back. I wouldn't recommend the Pas de la Casa end for staying in unless you really have no concerns for accommodation standards. Andorra has got more expensive, but is still the best value in Europe if you want to weigh skiing and drinking in pubs up in roughly equal measures.