Tír Eoghain vs Áth Cliath '08

Started by Fear ón Srath Bán, August 03, 2008, 05:57:30 PM

i'm a complete dublin sceptic as everyone here knows. i don't believe dublin have been tested properly yet, but I'm struggling to  see the current Tyrone team beating us next week. if they do, Harte should be canonised because he hasn't anything like the team he had in 2005. Tyrone need all the big guns starting and take it from there.
Its a good draw for Dublin because its shit or burst for the current crew. to beat tyrone,armagh to even get to the all-ireland final will either make or break it. My biggest fear was getting kildare, beat them by 10 points and learn nothing. Either way we'll find out whether we are good enough. and if we're not we may as well find out against tyrone or armagh.
do a wonderful job by all means, but not one of the tyrone forward line frightens me. in 2005 mc guigan,mulligan and o neill ran us ragged. Dublin's defence is still a work in progress but i'm not sure tyrone can exploit it. Armagh could though if the two sides ever meet.

Not playing too well in the qualifiers - get the dubs in the quarter finals - play armagh in the semis  and kerry in the final. Have we been here before!! Cant wait!!

Good draw. Dublin going into it as massive favourites. Tyrone not expected to come close. A Dublin side that has to deliver Sam to the capital.

If Tyrone beat Dublin ( with all the expectation Dublin has ) it would be one hell of a kick in the balls

An Fear Rua

Tis better to go out now than a semi of worse lose a final.  Wouldnt it be wonderfull if a game of football broke out in Croker next weekend, instead of what we have seen today and yesterday?

Dubs will be favs for this.. thank God I dont know any.
Its Grim up North

tyronefan

Quote from: heffo on August 03, 2008, 07:25:34 PM
Perfect draw for Dublin - if this Dublin team are to finally win the AI, they'll be doing it the hard way this year.

A strong ref needed as Tyrone will be up to their usual gamesmanship and won't want to let an open game of football develop - Banty's brother or any other nordie ref better not be appointed.

maybe you will get Paddy Russell and he can hand you another win

reddgnhand

Perfect draw for Dublin - if this Dublin team are to finally win the AI, they'll be doing it the hard way this year.

A strong ref needed as Tyrone will be up to their usual gamesmanship and won't want to let an open game of football develop - Banty's brother or any other nordie ref better not be appointed.

When was the last time they met were it wasnt an open game of football?

Gamesmanship?  What, like screaming into the faces of the opposition after scoring like the hateful jackeens yis are!!!!!   A strong ref? What, ye mean one with the balls to send off Whelan without fear of the Hill?  Aye, like the man says, you'll probably get yer oul mate Paddy Russell

Quote from: red hander on August 03, 2008, 08:10:42 PM

Gamesmanship?  What, like screaming into the faces of the opposition after scoring like the hateful jackeens yis are!!!!!   A strong ref? What, ye mean one with the balls to send off Whelan without fear of the Hill?  Aye, like the man says, you'll probably get yer oul mate Paddy Russell
Very true, you got to love the brass neck of the dubs

Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 03, 2008, 08:12:25 PM

Gamesmanship?  What, like screaming into the faces of the opposition after scoring like the hateful jackeens yis are!!!!!   A strong ref? What, ye mean one with the balls to send off Whelan without fear of the Hill?  Aye, like the man says, you'll probably get yer oul mate Paddy Russell

So Pints - When did Dublin do any of that this season??? This season did anyone start hitting guys like Gormley did to Mortimer after the goal, did they blatantly lie on the ball like Dooher/McMenamin?

Cavanagh has never gotten the better of Whelan at winning posession in midfield and even in 05 they had to move him out as he was being dominated...

Do Tyrone have the defenders to keep the Dublin forwards quiet - after watching yesterday its unlikely...

Its a great draw and should be a great game. There is no doubt that Tyrone will perform better than they did today. Their chances will increase further if the match is delayed a week.

I would be hopeful of a Dublin victory, but there is the big caveat that we probably haven't beaten a team as good as Tyrone in the championship since we beat Tyrone in '95.

So Pints - When did Dublin do any of that this season??? This season did anyone start hitting guys like Gormley did to Mortimer after the goal, did they blatantly lie on the ball like Dooher/McMenamin?

I never said Tyrone weren't as bad as yous.

I think Dublin will win with quite a bit to spare.

seems that its now the 16th, that isn't good from our point of view, and is great from tyrone's view.

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D Priceless  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

tyrone86

The Dubs are hot favourites with the bookies - 4/9 with Ladbrokes and 8/15 with Paddy Power - with Tyrone 9/4 and 15/8 I don't think Tyrone have been such large underdogs since the 2000 game with Armagh.

reddgnhand

Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 03, 2008, 08:17:24 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 03, 2008, 08:12:25 PM

Cavanagh has never gotten the better of Whelan at winning posession in midfield and even in 05 they had to move him out as he was being dominated...

Do Tyrone have the defenders to keep the Dublin forwards quiet - after watching yesterday its unlikely...

"Hitting guys" I'm sure Whelan and yourselves were horrified watching that. What did Whelan score over the 2 games in 05?