Muineachán v Doire 19/20 July

Started by screenexile, June 30, 2008, 09:00:00 AM

Oakleafer1993

Lads just read this over in the Hogan stand - is that story about michael mcgoldrick true - has he tore his hamstring. Can any of you Bellaghy boys confirm this tale?

Hinphey set to return to Derry fold

Liam Hinphey 
03 July 2008

Derry's Liam Hinphey made a shock return to the playing field on Monday night when he lined-out for his club side St Canice's, Dungiven in their four-point victory over Bellaghy in the Derry county championship.

The defender was expected to miss the rest of the Championship for the Oak Leafers after he had suffered a pelvic injury, but his rapid recovery will no doubt come as welcome new for Paddy Crozier ahead of the team's crunch All-Ireland qualifier with Monaghan on July 19.

Other pluses for the Derry boss ahead of the clash are Barry McGoldrick, Joe O'Kane, John Deighan and James Conway, with the latter still making himself available to play despite getting married the Friday before the game.

Michael McGoldrick has been ruled out of the meeting with the Farney men after tearing his hamstring and veteran defender Sean Marty Lockhart also remains a doubt as he is struggling to overcome a thigh muscle injury.

Quote from: ONeill on July 03, 2008, 12:19:45 AM
I didn't think Finlay was available for the game.
He isn't. I was just trying to compare strength of players and who would make a combined starting 15.

Will Hunting

Quote from: Maguire01 on July 03, 2008, 01:30:25 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 03, 2008, 12:19:45 AM
I didn't think Finlay was available for the game.
He isn't. I was just trying to compare strength of players and who would make a combined starting 15.

Ok Maguire, you seem to have taken issue with the view that Derry have better players than Monaghan, so what would your combined starting 15 be?

gaagaa

Quote from: Kentucky Blue on July 03, 2008, 11:50:24 AM
Like bingobus, the teams we want and the teams we think may start are polls apart.
What id like from a derry point of view (but know wont happen);

Deighan

McGoldrick
McCusker
Lockhart

McGuckin
G O'Kane
Hinphey

Doherty
Diver

Lynch
E Bradley
P Murphy

C Devlin
E Muldoon
P Bradley

the blanket defence could be bypassed by long high balls into Muldoon with Devlin and Paddy underneath him. Eoin Bradley running direct from CHF would be hard to stop without fouling.
Hinphey adds a bit of steel to the half back line. McGuckin is decent attacking and good height for kick outs. McCloy may have to bite the bullet for the good of the team.

not a bad eam but im not sure about lockharts mental attitude anymore - he always seems to have excuses not to play

Quote from: gaagaa on July 03, 2008, 01:59:20 PM
Quote from: Kentucky Blue on July 03, 2008, 11:50:24 AM
Like bingobus, the teams we want and the teams we think may start are polls apart.
What id like from a derry point of view (but know wont happen);

Deighan

McGoldrick
McCusker
Lockhart

McGuckin
G O'Kane
Hinphey

Doherty
Diver

Lynch
E Bradley
P Murphy

C Devlin
E Muldoon
P Bradley

the blanket defence could be bypassed by long high balls into Muldoon with Devlin and Paddy underneath him. Eoin Bradley running direct from CHF would be hard to stop without fouling.
Hinphey adds a bit of steel to the half back line. McGuckin is decent attacking and good height for kick outs. McCloy may have to bite the bullet for the good of the team.

not a bad eam but im not sure about lockharts mental attitude anymore - he always seems to have excuses not to play

::) ::) ::) ::) What a stupid comment to make!

Kentucky Blue

i presume gaagaa is on the wind up.

Lockhart is one of derry's finest defenders and has been for a decade.
he didnt play in the club championship this week so his injury may rule him out. Had a deadly game coming on in the National league final against Kerry

I think the team i have named would take some beating providing all fully fit! But for the monaghan game this is unlikely.

southderryman

Quote from: Doire abú on July 02, 2008, 12:44:19 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on July 01, 2008, 02:25:12 PM
not much of derry gets tv3, our travelling support will still be strong!!

You sure about that? I know the hallions around Screen don't get it, but never heard of anywhere that doesn't get it.

you watch your mouth!  ;) your really a tyrone man anyway!  :P

Doire abú

southderryman

maybe not, but not all screenians are hallions! hows the loughshore flies behavin?

southderryman

Quote from: ONeill on July 02, 2008, 08:50:06 AM
Should be a great game, albeit a war of attrition - 2 teams with lofty ambitions at the start of May, now staring into a depressing abyss of chronic underachievement. The losers will be distraught. Although Monaghan have home advantage, I think Derry will prevail simply because they have better footballers in most sectors and only lost to Fermanagh by 2 despite playing shite for 50 mins. Doherty's return will reinvigorate the side. 3 point win for the in-breds.

after discussing the merits of derry and monaghan, for no apparent reason you make a prediction on the tyrone game?  ??? :P

Real Talk

Lads what about my team
I think PC is going to shock everyone incuding the Derry panel and the team will be:
S McGuckin
K McGuckin N McCusker Eunan O'Kane
G O'Kane John O'Kane Joe O'Kane
F Doc and J Diver
E Muldoon E Bradley Patsy Bradley
Paul Bradley Paddy Bradley Seamus Bradley
I read on the Tyrone thread that Clonoe beat Errigal in th Championship, is that the team Damian Cassidy manages????  Its time to give him the Derry job before he 'goes off the boil'

gaagaa

Quote from: Kentucky Blue on July 03, 2008, 04:10:24 PM
i presume gaagaa is on the wind up.

sorry kentucky im not and i dont believe im the only person to express this opinion (off the board)
lockhart was good in his day and did well in league final
sometimes i think hes more worried about preserving his reputation than trying to play in the hard matches
sorry but that how i and some others feel

jimbob123

monaghan isnt the worst draw we could have got! aslong as we avoided meath, westmeath and tyrone i didnt really mind who we got as we have the team there after taking the defeat to fermanagh to get bak 2 winnin ways  ;D as for monaghan... kevin mcguckin was the star performer against fermanagh in our defence and if he is on tommy freeman we wil b secure enough  :) paul finlay is a massive loss to monaghan which should give us a huge advantage in midfield and with doherty and conway ready to take advantage of his absence we should go to clones with 100% confidence to do the job! our forward line the last day could have beaten fermanagh if they hada taken ther scores but its easier sayin it in the stands than it is to do when yur on the pitch :o if we take the points when we can get them and stop freeman as much as possible we should go through to round 2 with a good win  ;D ;D ;D

Doire abú

Quote from: southderryman on July 03, 2008, 09:55:13 PM
maybe not, but not all screenians are hallions! hows the loughshore flies behavin?

They're ating me alive this weather, but sure ye wouldn't have it any other way!!

Quote from: gaagaa on July 03, 2008, 01:59:20 PM
if you had gone through some of the family problems due to illness that he experienced at the start of this year (and is still doing so) - you might be in the same boat.
Dont put yer foot in your mouth