Dublin Vs Meath

Started by Jinxy, April 13, 2008, 09:50:54 PM

The fighting helped bring a great atmosphere to Parnell by the looks of it for a league game (apart from the dick throwing tea), I'm sure the whole country will be even more eager to see the two counties face off in the Championship in the summer.

16 suspensions seems a bit ridiculous, there was punches thrown by a few but thats over the top.

"Contributing to a melee", I presume.

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 22, 2008, 03:02:12 PM
In fairness the dubs are building up some list of ill discipline. Not my list by the way but it certainly highlights the now many incidents.

Pillar having words with Ryan McMenanmin on the sideline after he was sent off league 07

Shane Ryan and others smirking at opponents after they get a score in last years championship.

Vaughan and Cullen sent off v Monaghan

Yep, having words with a player who just kicked a man on the ground is deplorable.
As is smirking.

And as for guys getting sent of for two yellow cards, well they should bring back execution!  ::)

Ridiculous shite coming out on this thread, I said it before, ye culchies are going soft  :D

Feckin scumbags the bleedin lot of them. All ye Dubs are the bloody same!! Isn't that right his holiness?And Meath fellas aren't much better it seems.   :D

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 22, 2008, 05:39:36 PM
Feckin scumbags the bleedin lot of them. All ye Dubs are the bloody same!! Isn't that right his holiness?And Meath fellas aren't much better it seems.   :D

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

I still think the Louth/Laois championship brawl from years back is the daddy of all intercounty rows. I remember one of the subs was particularly handy! :o

hardy i've a number there for specsavers if you want. Murphy levelled brogan with a cheap shoulder in the back and then legged it. jesus meath have become awful softies since the 80's, the likes of lyons and harnan must be foaming at the mouth watching their lads getting the shit kicked out of them and then being beaten by 12 men. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
time to move on i think.

Murphy didn't "leg it" anywhere after he burst Brogan. He went after Jayo! Brogan had it coming anyway. Its not like he was just standing around minding his own business. He was flailing around like a deranged octopus.

Quote from: Jinxy on April 22, 2008, 07:04:35 PM
I still think the Louth/Laois championship brawl from years back is the daddy of all intercounty rows. I remember one of the subs was particularly handy! :o
Couldn't agree more that was a right good fight the one on sunday was only handbags. With all these suspensions put your money on a Laois v Louth Leinster Final. .! ;)

That is a severe reaction by the Gaa.

If they consistantly punish teams involved in melees equally severely from now then I applaud the suspensions. If however players escape due to appeals or if the next row in Connacht, Munster or Ulster, hurling or football, is not punished as severely then the suspensions are a waste of time.

The Claw

Quote from: Rav67 on April 22, 2008, 03:25:43 PM
The fighting helped bring a great atmosphere to Parnell by the looks of it for a league game (apart from the dick throwing tea), I'm sure the whole country will be even more eager to see the two counties face off in the Championship in the summer.
Have to agree with this, the atmosphere was electric for the rest of the game.

Im not going to say much on the so called 'brawl' because I think the whole thing is blown out of proportion, hardly any digs thrown, couple of shoulders in the back alright which I didnt like.
I was more disappointed with the Meath performance. A man up and they were poor, they were so lucky to get anywhere near them. Only players to come out with any bit of credibility were Harrington and possibly King.
It was the first time I had seen the Dubs and I have to say there were some storming performances, Fennel and midfield could be the new hero of the hill, David Henry was excellent. Ross McConnell, cleaned Joe Sheridan out of it even though Joe still came out with 1.1. Connolly was on form and im not sure any fullback could have kept him quiet with the amount off room that was on the field.

Very hard for a full back to defend when there is nothing but empty space to shepherd the full forward into. I'd imagine most Dubs have enough knowledge of the game to know that it is extremely unlikely Connolly would have had the upper hand if Fay hadn't lost his 2 cornerbacks after 4 minutes.

mhacadoir

Quote from: Jinxy on April 22, 2008, 07:30:48 PM
Murphy didn't "leg it" anywhere after he burst Brogan. He went after Jayo! Brogan had it coming anyway. Its not like he was just standing around minding his own business. He was flailing around like a deranged octopus.

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

All things consdiered I think the punishment did not fit the crime - I think it was very harsh and they made an example of Dublin and Meath -

I wonder has Fergal Logan been contactec yet ???

€ 20K fines are over the top as well.