AFL 2008

Started by zoyler, March 22, 2008, 02:01:15 PM

zoyler

The Pies beat the Crows in Adelaide by 31 points. It was a super game - well worth getting up at 5 am to see on Setanta.  Marty had a good game - hardly touched the ball in the first quarter because the ball never left the Crows half.  Was under pressure when the Crows scored 7 goals in the 2nd quarter but was flawless thereafter with pin  point passes and some hgreat tackleing and interceptions.  To top it all off he scored  the clinching score and then made the pass for tlhe icing on the cake final score,  Next up Kennelly and the swans at 10.00am!

bridgegael

thought clarke was excellent today,  his tackling, passing and picking up loose ball was top class.  as said already he scored late on and could have went for his second goal but laid it off to medhurst.  all in all a good game.

saying as malthouse is manager for aussie international rules team this year, how many collingwood players do ya's think will play and who??
"2009 Gaaboard Cheltenham fantasy league winner"

As a well-publicised fan of whoever the pies are playing, I have to admit, that was quite an enjoyable game and good to see Marty get a goal and a win.  That's not the end of the road for them this year either as they will be up against, most likely, St.Kilda who play Geelong tomorrow.  However, thereafter there will only be one winner this year, the Cats.

Off to watch the second half of Sydney v. N.Melbourne at the boss's house. 

youbetterbelieveit

Anymore word on new Irish recruits for next year.
Brendan Donnelly (Louth)   Adelaide Crows
Kyle Coney (Tyrone) Sydney Swans
Zac Tuohy (Laois) - Carlton

Right I think I've got this now... hadn't a clue how the Finals worked until I checked it up on Wikipedia there.

So these semi finals are actually a kind of quarter final with the teams going through to play Geelong and Hawthorn. Might make an effort to get up and watch them this weekend actually. I watched a few Swans and Magpies games this year and was impressed with both... what odds on them in the Grand Final? Anyway I hope for 2 exciting games this weekend!

Can't see anyone getting near Geelong to be honest - Hawthorn the only ones that might. That said it is the finals and anything can happen etc.

Cats look unbeatable alright but Buddy took some scores at the weekend

He's unbelievable alright

Swans go out of this year's comp. after being well beaten by the Bulldogs.  It was a good game imo.  But neither team would have gone much further.

That leaves Marty and Collingwood tomorrow v. St.Kilda.  Should be a pies victory.

Quote from: Aerlik on September 12, 2008, 03:06:23 PM
Swans go out of this year's comp. after being well beaten by the Bulldogs.  It was a good game imo.  But neither team would have gone much further.

That leaves Marty and Collingwood tomorrow v. St.Kilda.  Should be a pies victory.

Hope its pies victory. Great win last weekend and with saints getting a good beating on the other hand, pies will be slight favs.  Winners play hawthorn and thats a daunting prospect. They have some unbelivable forward i think called franklin (i really bad with names) he scored over 100 goals this yr...a i felt sorry for fevola though coming so close to 100 aswell.
Marty seems to be playing well judging by the highlights show. Good luck to him..

Franklin is the one and only Lance "Buddy" Franklin.  He is some operator alright, with a great left peg.  I expect Collingwood to win fairly handily tonight but that will be the end for them.  I'm hoping for a Hawks Cats final, with the former to win.  Keep an eye out for young Cyril Rioli, another star of the future and the big forward Roughhead.  He's a great athlete.

barryhatrick

I wouldn't write off the pies assuming they get past the saints. They have the stuff to beat the Hawks alright. They will have to fire up on the day but they definitely have it in them.
As a cats fan though I cant wait for the bulldogs game next week. Expect another massacre :)
Gaz Ablett vs Jim Bartell in the Brownlow should be interesting.

Down Gael

Collingwood are dire. Ball into their forwards is terrible. Outplayed all over the field.
49-35 at half time to St Kilda, it should be more.

bridgegael

i see medhurst  giving out to a few of the pies players at half time,  no doubt abiut the quality of ball going in.  thay haven't really got going yet,  this one will go right to the end!
"2009 Gaaboard Cheltenham fantasy league winner"

barryhatrick

Great to feel the finals atmosphere in the air. It was certainly lacking last night. Travis Cloke is a total spectator. Pies need to get on their bike in the next 10 mins or the saints might kick away. Hope it stays close and a barnstorming finish follows. Medhurst is an awful gobshite!