New York

Started by illdecide, January 04, 2008, 10:47:14 AM

john mcgill

I've done a bit of travelling to different parts of the world and I always check an Irish bar out.  I find that the bartenders are pretty knowledgeable and can give you sound advice on avoiding the tourist traps.  Probably come from working abroad in the 70's and using the Irish pub as a labour exchange (God that expression really dates me!).

Fishbat

Quote from: FL/MAYO on January 09, 2008, 02:37:38 PM
Quote from: nifan on January 09, 2008, 11:09:51 AM
If they are over for a few days only Id say avoid travelling to Bronx or Queens for a pub.
There are plenty around Manhattan.

If they stay in that hotel on Washington Sq they are a short dander from some decent places.

I agree, why would you go to New York to hang out in an Irish bar in Queens or the Bronx, we laugh at the Brits going abroad and refusing to eat nothing bit fish & chips when we do something similar like hang out in Irish bars when abroad.

i feel the opposite - its New Yorks Irish bars that are unique especially in those areas - you won't get it anywhere else.  American bars are usually sports bars with an irish feel anyhow

they are only 20 minutes on the subway plus they are not anything like irish bars at home, and you tend to find the biggest local bronx/queens eejits hang out in the irish american places not the manhatten joints, ye won't meet the like anywhere else if ye enjoy that sort of thing!

Why go to New York and hang out in a wine bar?  Embrace the fact you are a paddy in New York and enjoy it

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on January 09, 2008, 05:06:16 PM
the flute  ;)

You are one cheeky fecker gabriel.

Ive been known to twang on the old g-string now and then.

john mcgill

Puckoon are there many Irish bars in Reno?  I think I mentioned on a thread, a couple of years, ago about playing a GAA match in Reno against a touring Kerry team, back then in the late 70's I don't remember any.

http://www.delta.com/booking/retriev...7391728 9#top

£ 150 Return to London Gatwick to New York (JFK)  Wed 12th March  Return 19th March  if any on you fancy St Paddys in the Big Apple !

miss mess

Some nice fancy bars in the east village

fishbait, not a fan of the wine bars myself, and not totally against the irish bars either -as i say theres a few id frequent in NY  -the lock in in PF can be particular craic.

I prefer the "dive bar" types in the east village/LES - the likes of Doc Holday are hard to beat for something a bit different.

each to their own now, if i was there for a few days and staying downtown i wouldnt be heading for 20+ mins for an irish bar - if i was to leave manhattan itd be williamsburg

john mcgill

A few of us flew into NY last Easter and were sitting having dinner in the Shades of Green Pub.  A young American guy served us and wished us all a "happy Good Friday".  When we burst out laughing he was a little bewildered.

Fishbat

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on January 09, 2008, 04:06:44 PM
Quote from: nifan on January 09, 2008, 04:03:01 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 09, 2008, 03:53:45 PM
4 exiles thinking the same thing. Interesting. :-\
eh?

I think the point Puck is trying to make is what's the point in leaving Ireland for another country if all you do is sit in an Irish pub every weekend with other Irish people

Its got nothing really to do with irish people - i go out for a bit of craic, i detest wine bars.  The fact is - even if it doesn't have an irish or british name above the door there will be the same aul caper in any proper bar around the world (no feckin coffee for sale).   People round the world love irish theme bars, a bit of banter and the music etc... so enjoy it for god sake.  Why move to another country and give up part of your culture?  would ye change your accents too?

plus a lot of irish bars are not owned, managed or frequented by paddies - god knows who ye come across in an "irish" bar, all colours, all religions - they all go there because any bar with an irish theme is considered fun, bit of a laugh after a days work and its as simple as that - i've been in "irish" places where me and the barman are the only honky's about the place - great stuff, theres a good reason why theres irish bars in some of the most godforsaken places ye'll ever see

miss mess

i worked in newyork and a man in a bar told me he was in ireland before and visited county donegalway  ???

amallon

Anyone recommend a reasonably priced hotel in NY thats not a dungeon for the paddys weekend?

5Sams  - fighting in the pub??  Couldn't have been like Gormans then so... ;)
Disclaimer: I am responsible for MY comments only.  I don't own this site.

Fishbat

Quote from: miss mess on January 09, 2008, 09:40:13 PM
i worked in newyork and a man in a bar told me he was in ireland before and visited county donegalway  ???

ha ha, where else would ye get it!

Have sat with pished aussies actually sobbing into their beer about missing the "Homeland"  "when were you last back home?"  "never been there mate..."   well it was about 800 fahrenheit outside, so i gave him the benefit of the doubt

miss mess

when we said we were from the north of ireland the yanks used to ask, did you come over here to escape the troubles? they are mental.. and this was only 2yrs ago