- free scholarships
- sponsored cars
- free gear
-free holidays
- free meals
-paid accomodation in some cases
- paid medical expenses
-paid expenses

as regards family events. My club are in the leinster club final in a few weeks -the players on that panel have given up a variety of family events to be at training -matches etc over the year. the point being it was a choice. They ain't getting any grants. All of the above apply to the top ranked counties including your own where 99% of everything they need to play at inter county level is paid for. It really amazes me how inter county players claim they get nothing. Surely its the weaker counties where they get screwed over.
Rather than try to redress the balance for the weaker counties- this deal appears to screw them out of it even more that's what i can't get over.

I haven't read all the comments on the thread but I agree with those saying it's a sad day for the GAA.

For me, it's the final nail in the coffin as far as the intercounty scene is concerned. 

I think I'll just stick to club football from now on.

Sad day alright  - have the GAA issued a statement yet ? That will be interesting alright !!!!! Weasel words ( more weasel words rather ! ) !!  >:( ??? :'(

The G.A.A. has welcomed the Government's confirmation that they will make annual awards available for senior intercounty players in recognition of the role of Gaelic Games in the social, economic and cultural life of the nation and on the basis that because of their amateur status they cannot avail of tax relief applicable to professional sports people.

· The new schemes will be open to players participating in the Senior Hurling and Football Intercounty Championships, including the Tommy Murphy Cup and the Christy Ring and Nicky Rackard competitions. €3.5 million is being made available in 2008 and the level of award to teams will be calculated on a sliding scale increasing with continuing involvement in the Championships. This is consistent with the G.A.A. and G.P.A. joint submission made with the approval of Central Council earlier this year.

· Payment of these awards is contingent on the G.A.A. and the G.P.A. agreeing standards and criteria with the Irish Sports Council. It will also be subject to County Committees, team management and players representatives developing plans and measurable goals and objectives which are agreed by the Irish Sports Council and consistent with GAA policy.

· The funding for the proposed awards will be made available by the Irish Sports Council through Croke Park to County Boards on a squad basis of 30.

· The revised proposal is acceptable to the G.A.A. in principle on the basis that players award funding is being paid through the Irish Sports Council and that the funding will be additional to any current or future funding, including capital and games development funding, provided by the Government to the G.A.A.

· The Irish Sports Council has also accepted responsibility for monitoring of the schemes and will oversee a tri-annual review in that context.

· Mr. Nickey Brennan, President of the G.A.A., stated that "I am pleased that the issue of recognition for G.A.A. players has been addressed". He said that from a G.A.A. perspective "the Association's core concerns had been addressed - the protection of the Amateur Status, the payment of funds from the exchequer clearly defined as sports awards and the commitment that G.A.A funding generally would not be negatively

impacted on in any way". He said that "the proposal will however require the ratification and approval of Central Council and it will be placed on the agenda for its December meeting".

· Mr. Brennan paid tribute to the Minister for Arts, Sports & Tourism, Mr. Séamus Brennan, and his officials, to the Irish Sports Council and to all involved in the recent discussions

Just a few comments on the conditions

Quote•   Demonstrate improvement through regular fitness testing

How exactly is this going to work? You have to run the 100m faster everytime your tested? Will we end up with a association of Asafa Powells?

Quote6.   This agreement applies to senior inter-county football and hurling panels only. Funding will be based on panels to a maximum of 30 players

What about counties who operate with panels of more than 30 players throughout a year? Where does this square with the scheme to be worked out for players leaving and joining panels?

Quote•   Players will commit to participate in an agreed level of coaching and games development work in their county on a voluntary basis.

Having to do the coaching to get money sort of makes a sham of the phase "voluntary".

I'd agree with most of the comments above. Quite a depressing document. The wording used screams of professionalism and elitism.

blast05

QuoteAnnual Support Scheme for the Development of Excellence in the Indigenous Sports of Hurling and Gaelic football
The Annual Support Scheme for the Development of Excellence will be based on the achievement of standards and performance-based criteria designed to raise/maintain the levels of preparation and skill of the teams and individuals not qualifying for the Team Performance Scheme. The GAA, the GPA and the Irish Sports Council will agree a set of standards and performance based criteria for counties and their senior team squads eliminated in the first two rounds of the All-Ireland Football Qualifiers, and those participating in the Tommy Murphy Cup, the Christy Ring and Nicky Rackard Cups. Recognising that the achievement of excellence necessitates increased sacrifice and effort by counties and individuals, this scheme will assist them in achieving/maintaining the required standards. Support will not be made available to individuals or squads that fail to meet minimum standards.   

So you could end up winning the league with your county but then mess up in the chamionship and you get knocked out. Later you are chosen as the 'token' All-Star for being outstanding in the league ...... but you could end up with no grant

What odds that the next public utterings from Larry, Moe and Curly (woops, sorry - McGeeney, the weasel from Cork and Farrell) will include the word "inflation" ?

Also, on 6 1 news this evening Luke Dempsey was interviewed and gave his opinions on it (grinning cheek to cheek with "its a great day for the GAA" line) and then answered the question "what next for the GPA" with the answer - " i am sure the next step for them will be to look for a representative on the central council"   ...........  some so called expert. I wonder do RTE have some performance based criteria for there so called experts ? If so then you can wave your expenses good bye for this year Luke. More worryingly is the effect of gombeens like this being given airtime will have on the opinion of the uninformed Joe Soaps watching on.

Jayses Boys this thread is certainly in first place for the "Negativity/Gloom/Doom /The GAA is finished" Award of the year.
The GAA survived the abolition of Rule 27; Rule 21 and the amending of Rule 42 but it seems it is now finished never to rise again.
Ah well it was nice while it lasted -all 123 years of the poor little fragile organisation.
F F S lads - wise up a little.

Triple Connacht Champions

Quote from: Rossfan on November 29, 2007, 08:01:25 PM
Jayses Boys this thread is certainly in first place for the "Negativity/Gloom/Doom /The GAA is finished" Award of the year.
The GAA survived the abolition of Rule 27; Rule 21 and the amending of Rule 42 but it seems it is now finished never to rise again.
Ah well it was nice while it lasted -all 123 years of the poor little fragile organisation.
F F S lads - wise up a little.

There'll certainly be some craic when it comes to the handing out of the expenses - imagine Derry, Eoin Bradley doesn't qualify as he wasn barely in the panel all year, out walks Paddy too, and so on, replicated country wide.
More importantly, Rossfan what's the story with the 'double All Ireland champions'?  I could go and check, but really can't be bothered.

If you go back to the gaaboard home page very quickly and look at the last post in the GAA Discussion section you may well see:

Strike Averted by saffron sam2.

Only if you're very, very quick though.

Quote from: Bogball XV on November 29, 2007, 08:25:07 PM
[.
More importantly, Rossfan what's the story with the 'double All Ireland champions'? 

All Ireland U21 Hurling ( "B") - bet Kerry in the Final -as we have a habit of doing in both codes this century ;)
And of course the All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship (Tier 3 Rackard Cup :-[)
The Manning is a U16 Football League in these parts while the Hastings is a U21 Football League also in these parts.
I hope the top table at the County Board's annual do doesnt collapse under all that silver. :)
Triple Connacht Champions

It's gone ;)

That was for SS2, but I was really slow I see!!

Quote from: Rossfan on November 29, 2007, 08:33:28 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on November 29, 2007, 08:25:07 PM
[.
More importantly, Rossfan what's the story with the 'double All Ireland champions'? 

All Ireland U21 Hurling ( "B") - bet Kerry in the Final -as we have a habit of doing in both codes this century ;)
And of course the All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship (Tier 3 Rackard Cup :-[)
The Manning is a U16 Football League in these parts while the Hastings is a U21 Football League also in these parts.
I hope the top table at the County Board's annual do doesnt collapse under all that silver. :)
No, but the players tables might, they'll have 30 pieces of silver each :D

Quote from: AZOffaly on November 29, 2007, 09:54:48 AM
The dénouement of this mini-sage will be interesting in it's detail. How much money is actually available? Are all teams on the same pay scale?

As I said, I have no real problem with the GPA getting their players recognised as elite athletes, I think we all feel they are that, but my problem was with the GAA getting involved in the nuts and bolts. I hope they've avoided that, or at least got clear delineation between GAA money and 'Players' money.

Haven't time this morning to read through 5 pages, will do so later, but for now  - what he said :)

believebelive

Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on November 29, 2007, 05:33:30 PM

Believebelieve - Why don't you actually wait till you see the detail rather than just complaining about it.....The GPA/GAA put forward a proposal last year as to how the money would be distributed - and here is a summary - I will find the detailed listing when I can......

The GPA-GAA document provides €2,800 for each squad player in the All-Ireland senior football and hurling finals, right down to €1,650 for Tommy Murphy Cup first round losers.
Said a GPA-GAA statement: "It has been indicated that Government funding would be made available in the event that the GPA and GAA could agree terms on the utilisation and distribution of any funding provided. The proposal is under consideration."
The document reveals that the proposed scheme will be administered by a national committee which will consist of the Player Welfare Manager and the players' representative at Central Council, ie Farrell.
According to the GPA-GAA proposal, funding would be distributed in a number of ways:
75% to cover players out-of-pocket expenses arising from their participation on intercounty senior football and hurling panels.
A dual player will only be eligible for expenses in respect of his participation with either the senior hurling of senior football panel.

25% for the National Player Welfare programmes which will cover player insurance, scholarship, education/tuition/ distance-learning and such other programmes as may be considered appropriate.
The document contained a detailed breakdown of out-of-pocket expenses highlighting the special dietary needs of players, their training gear, motor expenses, communications and gym equipment.
The agreement would apply only for so long as government funding is made available for player welfare and will cease when and if government funding ceases. In this event there will be no responsibility on the GAA to continue funding and no such request will be made to it by the GPA.

The initial proposal contained only a small difference in payments from All-Ireland winners to Tommy Murphy first round losers....
25% didn't even go to the players but rather for a welfare programme...

AND THE MONEY WOULDN'T BE COMING FROM THE GAA IF HTE GOVT FUNDING CEASED...

you see there you go again - talking when you don't actually know the detail. I have said that we do not know the detail of this latest deal but that in my opinion i think it will be even more elitist than the last proposal in april of this year.

on your point relating to the initial proposal - you said there was only a small difference between the All Ireland winners and first round losers. Sorry but I am afraid I am going to have to pull you up on that. The difference between All Ireland winners and those who lose in the second round of the qualifiers and before is roughly 20 euro a week. To spell it out for you that means that when both were still involved in the championship the eventual All ireland winner was entitled to 20 euro more per week. or 80 euro per month while they were both involved. I don't class 20 euro a week to be a small difference.
If you want the details on this I will email you the joint document.

Can I ask you one simple question. Supposing I agreed with all these grants; would it not be fairer to provide each inter county footballer and hurler with the same grant aid per week and then simply stop the aid once your knocked out - wud this not be fairer? Or is it a case that the harder to train the further you get. Try telling Bryan Cullen that James Masters trained harder than him in 07.

mick999

From today's Irish Times :

GAA to introduce charter for players
Seán Moran GAA Correspondent

The GAA will introduce a charter for players and counties to expedite the agreement with the Gaelic Players Association and Irish Sports Council for the payment of player awards.

Yesterday's announcement of the deal that has averted the possibility of intercounty players withdrawing from panels at the start of next season will create obligations for players and counties.

"We're about to propose a charter on performance and standards that will apply to both counties and players," said Con Hogan, one of the GAA's negotiators. "Counties will have the responsibility for making sure they agree key performance criteria and training schedules to the required standards."

Among the county board responsibilities under the agreement are the establishing of performance targets with team managements and a code of conduct, including advice on the anti-doping code and the provision of qualified personnel to assist in and enhance player development.

The agreement had been negotiated to a successful conclusion earlier in the week by representatives of the Government, the Irish Sports Council, the GAA and GPA. Minister for Sport Séamus Brennan signed off on the deal after getting it green-lighted by the Taoiseach and Minister for Finance.

Both the GAA and GPA welcomed the preservation of the association's amateur status. President Nickey Brennan expressed happiness that "the association's core concerns had been addressed - the protection of the amateur status, the payment of funds from the Exchequer clearly defined as sports awards and the commitment that GAA funding generally would not be negatively impacted on in any way".

GPA secretary Kieran McGeeney said at a media conference the agreement would "keep amateur status in place". The conditions of the agreement state: "These schemes will be additional to, and will not negatively impact on existing funding or any future funding, provided by the Government to the GAA through the ISC. All parties recognise the amateur status of the GAA . . ."

The financial awards will largely conform to the schedule of payments agreed between the GAA and GPA last April. That schedule (see panel) was divided into four categories whereas the agreement between the Government, GAA, GPA and ISC will be based on two payment types, the Annual Team Performance Scheme and the Annual Support Scheme. In the case of the first group the players eligible will be footballers and hurlers with the top 12 counties: football's provincial finalists and the counties qualifying for the final qualifier round and in hurling the counties contesting the MacCarthy Cup.

The precise reconciliation of the figures will be worked out in the months ahead and the schemes will take effect from the end of 2008.

It is believed the sums available to players will range between €1,500 and €2,500. The money will be provided by the Irish Sports Council but distributed by the GAA through county boards. Payments and disputes will be monitored by a committee of Páraic Duffy, the GAA's player welfare manager, and Dessie Farrell, the GPA chief executive.

The GAA were at pains to emphasise the payment mechanism does not represent a climb-down. The association has said publicly since the agreement concluded with the GPA last April it would be prepared to distribute the money if made available by the Government. There had, however, been vehement objections to the proposal by the previous Minister for Sport, John O'Donoghue, that the funding be made available through additional infrastructural payments.

Players' responsibilities include attendance at 80 per cent of all training sessions/matches, demonstration of improvement through regular fitness testing, maintenance of an updated training log/diary, strict adherence to anti-doping code. Players who violate the code will not receive awards.

Players will commit to participate in an agreed level of coaching and games development work in their county on a voluntary basis. In co-operation with the Local Sports Partnerships players will visit schools and youth facilities as part of an overall policy to promote increased participation in their sports and involve themselves in initiatives at county and national level to promote their sports.

It is also specified "any inter-county squad or player may decline the amount".

The proposed payments to players isn't substantially affected by the reduction in the originally floated €5 million, as the schedule agreed by the GPA and GAA last April included a payment of €1,25 million into a player welfare fund, which will not now be available - it is stated in the agreement's conditions that player welfare is to be the responsibility of the GAA.

"If it had come we would have taken it," said Hogan of the amount, "but we acknowledge our own responsibility for player welfare. The involvement of the Sports Council removes this from the realms of pay-for-play. The rationale behind these awards is players aren't paid and so don't qualify for tax concessions."

Whereas there is no official guarantee the funding will be on an annual basis the sense of the agreement indicates payments will be ongoing and it is stated the schemes will be subject to triennial review, by the ISC. The agreement will require the endorsement of the GPA's executive and the GAA's Central Council.

© 2007 The Irish Times