Connacht Club Championship

Started by stephenite, November 06, 2007, 01:00:54 AM

Fair play to Ballina, when things were getting tight yesterday they steadied the ship. No doubt the goalkeeping was a major difference between the 2 teams.

BTW, a f**king disgrace is the only way I can sum up David Brady yesterday >:(
He should be ashamed of himself & this sort of sh1te is destroying our game

Fair play to Ballina, took their chances on the day, had a little luck run their way and are worthy Connacht Champions.  In contrast, Bridgets were the architects of their own dowfall on this occassion.  In what was always going to be a tight and keenly contested game, no team can afford to miss some of the relatively kickable frees that Frankie missed yesterday.  Hitting the crossbar late in the game just summed up their day.

McGarrity was excellent yesterday and is maturing into a fine midfielder (thought he was v v green in 2004).  Clarke in goals made some crucial saves and the little corner forward also played v well.  Brady was decent throughout, although some of his time wasting tactics were blatant (one of two of the dives were shocking), he was basically trying to steer the ship home at that stage.  A lot of people dont like the chap (even in Mayo!) but in fairness to the man he has stood up to be counted on some big days for Mayo football when all around him was falling to asunder.     

Excellent and well made points about Brady Blast. I dont for a moment think the overall dislike of him is peculiar to Roscommon or Galway. There are many Mayo football supporters (with the obvious exception of his biggest fan) who consider him to be an embarrassment. He is a tough, powerful campaigner who has done the business on some big days but is a limited footballer who has been found lacking against the likes of Kevin Walsh and others of that calibre many other times. His media interviews give him a level of importance way above that which his ability or "suffering" demands. Definitely the David Brent of Gaelic Football. 

Sadly the goalkeeper comittted an awful howler or 2  - this was essentially the only difference between the teams !

I'm ploughing a fairly lonely furrow here obviouisly, evryone in the oul sod still in bed nursing hangovers no doubt - he still continues to provoke some interesting reactions such as that from Ross Matt (David Brent, classic ;D) and as long as that is happening he's probably doing something right for the club, and sure that's all I really care about

I'll leave it at that for now - the lads will enjoy the Xmas and look forward to whoever Munster throws up.

Na Stiofanaigh abu!!

Mc Garrity is great player - Ballina have a very strong team all round - Frankie Dolan was disappointing y'day - he has provoked a lot of debate about whether or not he could do a job for Roscommon next year - based on y'day's performance I can't see it.

Your obsession with David (coupled with your own attention seeking posts) makes me wonder if you really are him Stephenite. Look  back over my original post on the match (which unlike you I saw) and you will see I gave Brady his due as a footballer on the day but there are more than just Rossies who have commentated here regarding his other antics. Really unclear as to why you came charging to his defence or take it all so personal.

I think I've made it clear that I don't condone anyone getting another player sent off - as regards to rushing to his defence. Pointless personal attacks aside, I've simply tried to defend a fella I know from some unwarranted vitriol over the amount of coverage he gets in the media

AS regards to posting your surname - you have it highlighted for everyone to see - I've responded to your PM letting you know that I've edited it, and explained how to hide it - I posted it because I though you were maybe attention seeking.

Specifically which of my own posts have been attention seeking, out of interest??

heineken_on_tap

I was very dissappointed with Bridgets yesterday - thought they had a great chance of going the whole way this year. Ballina were that little bit cuter and experienced and that brought them through in the end. In regard to all the talk about David Brady on this thread, it is obvious many people dont like him(personally I am not a fan)  but he is a great servant to his club and county and you have to respect him for that.

Anyway well done to Ballina and all the best in the next game.

I thought that David Brady's behaviour yesterday was awful and it is a sad day when you see a big strong man resorting to such low-life behaviour. Contrast his behaviour with that of both Aaron Kernan and Oisin McConville who could easily have reacted in a way that would have ensured two opponents were sent off. That they didn't meant the referee gave the benefit of the doubt twice when few would have argued with red cards.

If Cross come up against Ballina, I know who I support.

Some people have no class, simply.

Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on November 26, 2007, 10:14:06 AM
It should be a source of pride in the County Mayo that other counties attack David Brady as much as they do. Anyone from Galway or Roscommon that I know despise him at a very visceral level. This is good. If they're suffering, then Mayo must be prospering, and that can only be a good thing. Mayomen spend too much time tipping their caps and buying glass hammers. His refusal to do this is one of the things that makes David Brady great.

I don't think criticising the actions of David Brady Esq is peculiar to Galway or Roscommon people. Far from it in fact. Some of the worst criticism I've heard about him has been from, wait for it, Mayo people. And I'd hardly think we're suffering all that much becasue DB is still togging out these days. However when you court the media like he has done throughout his career and then indulge in the various antics he gets up to on a football field such as diving, feigning injury and throwing digs about (and receiving a few himself it has to be said) then you can expect to get some stick for it and I'm sure he's big and ugly enough to realise this himself.

As a footballer I have respect for Brady as even though he was fairly limited talent wise he usually turned up on some days when not many of his teammates did in a green and red jersey.

Brady has been at this craic for years. It also drives me mad when he refers to himself in the 3rd person. "This isn't about David Brady" etc. etc.

Ryano

Quote from: saffron sam2 on November 26, 2007, 12:10:36 PM
I thought that David Brady's behaviour yesterday was awful and it is a sad day when you see a big strong man resorting to such low-life behaviour. Contrast his behaviour with that of both Aaron Kernan and Oisin McConville who could easily have reacted in a way that would have ensured two opponents were sent off. That they didn't meant the referee gave the benefit of the doubt twice when few would have argued with red cards.

If Cross come up against Ballina, I know who I support.

Some people have no class, simply.

Fully agree Sam. McConville no matter what people's opinion of him should be lauded for his behaviour towards the end of the game. (i did not see the other incident). He could have easily stayed down and got the other lad in a lot more bother. There was only the kick of a ball between them at the end and reducing St Gauls by a player would have certainly been a huge advantage and upset the Gauls players. Contrast it with that clown David Brady who repeatedly fell down and rolled about feigning injury and succeeded in having a player sent off. Give him a red nose and over sized shoes and the image is complete....

On another note congrats to Ronan McGarrity. He is a credit to himself and his club to come back from his illness and be able to turn out a MOTM performance like that. He came across so well too (for a Mayo Man ;)) on the tv afterwards. An inspiration to all.

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 26, 2007, 12:48:07 PM
Some of the worst criticism I've heard about him has been from, wait for it, Mayo people.

The worst critics of any Mayo player are Mayo people Galway Bay Boy. Take a look at the threads after any Mayo loss and you'll see every damn one of them is both the most gifted player to ever lace a boot and hopeless, heartless son of a bitch ratbastard that shamed the proud old colours of the heather county, all at the same time. I wouldn't be placing too much store in that.  ;D

And I still stand over what I said earlier - there is something about David Brady that especially gets on the goat of the Rosserroos and the Heron Chokers. The Rossies especially - welcome Ryano, how have you been? ;)

prewtna

attempting to rationalise david brady.

first of all im not a defender of david brady but it has to be said that he did what he felt was necessary to win the game.  brigids were coming back towards the end and brady probably felt the momentum was with them and this had to be stopped. so, waste a bit of time, have a chat with the worms under the grass, take a dive - call it what you want - he disrupted brigids a lot and probably saved ballina. it was a win at all costs attitude he had. he knew it would make him look like a gimp but winning is winning. there wont be too many ballina people saying anything bad about him today!

ballina were very lucky yesterday and i dont think they are a better team then brigids. the young keeper for brigids - what was he at crossing his own goalmouth?! they outscored ballina 12 scores to 10. they missed a lot of scorable chances and had the ros men brought their shooting boots with them i believe they would have kicked ballina out the gate. their forwards seemed to have the beating of the ballina backs. ballina can thank clarke for his heroics in goals. had brigids regular keeper been playing the result would have been much different.