Kieran McGeeney is New Kildare Manager

Started by Seany, September 18, 2007, 09:20:45 PM

Deal_Me_In

Quote from: ONeill on September 19, 2007, 11:14:03 PM
I just hope McGeeney doesn't still believe in the muscle. I don't think it enhanced Armagh's prospects whatsoever from 2004 on. Sure Paddy McKeever could've been a legend without the beef.

The only reason Paddy McKeever ever beefed up was becasue he wanted to look at himself in the mirror and think that he would look the part when he went to australia with his shirt off.

Goats Do Shave

Quote from: Deal_Me_In on September 20, 2007, 06:27:19 AM
I just hope McGeeney doesn't still believe in the muscle. I don't think it enhanced Armagh's prospects whatsoever from 2004 on. Sure Paddy McKeever could've been a legend without the beef.

The only reason Paddy McKeever ever beefed up was becasue he wanted to look at himself in the mirror and think that he would look the part when he went to australia with his shirt off.

Back to personal insults!  :-\ No point being jealous Dealer!

Maximus Marillius

Quote from: cavanmaniac on September 19, 2007, 10:57:40 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on September 19, 2007, 10:39:25 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 19, 2007, 10:21:07 PM
Jeez you'd think he'd want to take at least one year out (though I suppose he had a relatively play-free summer). Not getting personal here, but does he have a wife and kids?

Long term girlfriend is
Julie Davis
renowned physical fitness trainer,
she trained Cavan this year and is head of DCU elite athelte physical fitness programme.
they are well matched id say  :D

And she's a total lasher as well.  :o

Will be interesting to see how Grimley fares. I'm undecided on him after his sojourn in Cavan, there was some improvements but some negatives too. Then again, it was the particular caste of mind that is the Cavan senior footballer he was working with, it might be different elsewhere.

When are the Cavan folk gonig to realise that there players are shite and are too small. They have had Grimley, Mc Elkennon and Coleman in charge and have done zero in the championship. If your p[layers were greyhounds or horses they would all be put down.

I hope he believes in some muscle. Kildare are one of the weakest county teams around.
The amount of times i see county men flattenned with shoulders in club games is a joke.
When you get hiot by a ciounty man you should know all about it, not the case with the vast majority of Lilywhite players.

Deal_Me_In

Quote from: Goats Do Shave on September 20, 2007, 08:27:46 AM

Not an insult or jealous. Have met the man a number of times and found him to be arrogant and self obsessed.  Was talking to members of the Armagh team that said he was in the gym 3 times a week pre season prior to going to Australia and that was not his normal attitude.

Settle down lads - Paddy's a legend in Armagh - a nice fella - not arrogant - you need to know the man before you start throwing the brickbats !

spiritof91and94

I have heard that Grimley didnt get the Armagh job as Big joe didnt want him too.
Morgan was also going to pull the pin if he got in?

So Morgan picked the manager then effectively ??

Goats Do Shave

Quote from: Deal_Me_In on September 20, 2007, 10:37:48 AM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on September 20, 2007, 08:27:46 AM

Not an insult or jealous. Have met the man a number of times and found him to be arrogant and self obsessed.  Was talking to members of the Armagh team that said he was in the gym 3 times a week pre season prior to going to Australia and that was not his normal attitude.

You are insulting him, & what do you care if he looks after himself?

Sure wouldn't it be great to be in the shape Paddy is in ?

Deal_Me_In

I don't care what shape he is in but i congratulate him on the disipline needed to get into such conditioning. My original post in relation to Paddy beefing up was implying he done it as much to go to australia as anything else, which was also told to me from various sources in Armagh, which you took to be an insult (although it wasnt intended as one). I them responded saying this plus what i have personally thought of the man on the ocasions i met him (personal views of which everyone is entitled)

Goats Do Shave

Paddy, along with the rest of the panel, have been on specific weight training programmes for years....not just in the lead up to his travels!!!

I'm not sure it's right to question his motives.

I suppose the rest of the Armagh panel's bulking up is conincidence.

QuoteI suppose the rest of the Armagh panel's bulking up is conincidence.

....maybe they just want to look their best in the Kremlin of a Saturday night?  ;):P

Was all this bulking up productive ? In terms of Ulster titles, yes, but what about the AI ? Did it slow them down ???

QuoteWas all this bulking up productive ? In terms of Ulster titles, yes, but what about the AI ? Did it slow them down

Agianst Fermanagh in 04 they looked like tree trunks, but otherwise I didnt notice any slowness.