Armagh’s Dyas Headed for Oz

Started by screenexile, August 28, 2007, 09:51:02 AM

The gaa / club should be compensated ( especially the club ) for the loss of such a player.If he were from a soccer club they'd get compensated.

Armagh4SamAgain

'We just go out to play our football and let the critics say what they want. They usually do anyway"

Aghdavoyle

Kevin will be a huge loss to the club and armagh by extension, but of course he goes with all of our best wishes. the bigger picture is that one of your own could make it in professional sport and dromintee would be delighted to have played some small part in his development if he does. Kevin has two contracts in front of him but has gone for a month to collingwood to see if he likes it and to help him make his decision.

I listened to his interview y'day and by the sounds of things. he ain't coming back !!

Aghdavoyle

We don't expect him back except to pack they rest of his things and for a good sendoff!

Aghdavloyle - are the club members happy that he is getting a chance in the AFL ? Were there any attempts to retain his services by offering him a job locally or anything like that ?

plain man

Quote from: orangeman on August 30, 2007, 01:21:46 PM
Aghdavloyle - are the club members happy that he is getting a chance in the AFL ? Were there any attempts to retain his services by offering him a job locally or anything like that ?

Kevin would have no bother getting any type of job either thru Dromintee or off his own back, I don't think its about the money, but if he makes it he has a chance of getting at least 100,000 stg. The guy obviously wants to be a fulltime sportsman, in a professional environment. He obviously sick of training 3 or 4 times a week with maybe 2 or 3 matches a week and having to study/work in between (plus a drink ban for a good part of the year).

He'll now be able to train up to 4 time a day, and have coaches/trainers/mentors for every aspect of the game.

Dromintee just can't even come close to any of that....

Quote from: orangeman on August 29, 2007, 10:30:15 AM
The gaa / club should be compensated ( especially the club ) for the loss of such a player.If he were from a soccer club they'd get compensated.

Are you a member of the GPA? Do you want pay for play?

If not, stop talking shite. Nobody owns these players so nobody has to pay for them, it's a simple enough concept

Noody owns them - yuo're right - but the AFL are just stepping in and taking way the best athletes we have  - you don't have any problem with that ?

The club that these people come from have devoted a lot of time and energy towards their development and the AFL scouts come and lift them.

With respect Stephenite, it's not shite to use your own well chosen and very choice expression.

Some crazy comments on here about him not wanting to train/drink ban and he is only getting a trail because Marty Clarke recommended him.

I think it is a great chance, show me any young player who could turn down a chance of Proffesional Sport in a Country like Australia and I will show you a fool. Kevin himself knows he is just on trial and knows he has not signed anything. In a months time he may not like it or they may not want him back. Knowing Kevin he will probably walk his way into the team.

Best of luck!

Corn 02 - He must be some player ! Good luck to him by the way  -my irk is not with the players but with AFL who can just come in and walk away with Ireland's most talented and leave NOTHING behind.

Totally agree Orangeman it is a situation which has to be looked at high up in the GAA.

zoyler

As I said earlier - the reason the GAA will support restarting IR games is to have some formal contact with the AFL in an effort to exert some control/regulation on the movement of young players to OZ.  While at the moment its all big clubs with proper training regimes etc. and career development outside sport for those who want/need it, all pro sport is prone to con men and shysters so young lads need protection through proper structures

hitzelsperger

cannot blame any lad for heading away, even if they dont succeed the experience of new training techniques and how to live as a pro cvan only benefit them for when they return to ireland!

Yep - good luck to him - feel sorry for ther cllub who is losing such an obvious talent.