Dublin v Kerry all ireland SF

Started by anportmorforjfc, August 12, 2007, 03:35:27 PM

Quote from: orangeman on August 27, 2007, 11:55:24 AM
Good to se you condone a member of the Garda commit an assault on an old man !!!! I'm shocked that you can agree that it was ok for your manager to hit another manager - why was he not suspended for the assault ?  That's why you're winning nothing - concentrate on the football and the AI will come - if you keep Caffrey and his stoneage ideas, you're going no where. Get a new manager and not one that is just blood and guts !
He was banned for the 1st game against Meath

Banned for 1 game ? What did he get ? 4 weeks ? 8 weeks ? 12 weeks ? 24 weeks ? 48 weeks ?

1 game ???

Quote from: orangeman on August 27, 2007, 11:49:47 AM
Dublin have made progress - they've made some new finds - but my advice - concentrate on the football and the AI will come.
At the end of the day the 2nd half slump is gone which gives me hope

On a more serious note!

What do you say to a Dub at the All Ireland Final?

2 hotdogs and a can of coke please!

Good to se you condone a member of the Garda commit an assault on an old man !!!!

An assault?? Jesus grow up Orangeman. He hit him a shoulder, hardly GBH!

Shouldnt have done it of course and deserved his punishment, but to call it assault is ridiculous  ::)

Quote from: Gnevin on August 27, 2007, 11:58:13 AM
Dublin have made progress - they've made some new finds - but my advice - concentrate on the football and the AI will come.

yes, but they're still not sticking to the opposition. It's strange, but in the big games, Dublin seem to be losing big leads or clawing back a big deficit. There's no point for point action for 70 minutes. It makes exciting football, but makes you wonder - if they can keep a team scoreless for 15 and 20 mins at a time, why do they then lose their concentration for relatively small spells of time and throw thw whole game away?

Long time dead

Quote from: highorlow on August 27, 2007, 12:01:26 PM
On a more serious note!

What do you say to a Dub at the All Ireland Final?

2 hotdogs and a can of coke please!

Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 27, 2007, 11:48:46 AM
I didnt get home in time to watch the Sunday game last night, are the highlights shown again during the week on Setanta or anywhere else?
game been shown on setanta tonight I think
could be 6pm though - I cant rem , alrhough read the tv guide last night.

you were sitting a few rows in front of me yesterday

Brolly
or something on the jersey ...

Quote from: Maguire01 on August 27, 2007, 12:03:28 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on August 27, 2007, 11:58:13 AM

yes, but they're still not sticking to the opposition. It's strange, but in the big games, Dublin seem to be losing big leads or clawing back a big deficit. There's no point for point action for 70 minutes. It makes exciting football, but makes you wonder - if they can keep a team scoreless for 15 and 20 mins at a time, why do they then lose their concentration for relatively small spells of time and throw thw whole game away?
Now your just depressing me Maguire but i believe its coming for the sideline , With 3 men in the middle Dublin where a totally different team and Magee should of been on 10 minutes in the first half where we were lucky Kerry had so many wides .

Quote from: orangeman on August 27, 2007, 11:34:17 AM
Gnevin - on a serious note - why was Cluxton hell bent on landing a few punches on the Gooch y'day ? Why ?
Gooch simply ran into the square one time and Cluxton nearly went bananas ?

To be fair, Gooch isn't innocent - he uses his small frail appearance to act the victim plenty of times. He goes to ground very easily to get frees (see quarter final) and the hands on the face during the late collision yesterday was more than a bit cynical. He's a great footballer - and had his best game yesterday in about 2 years. But don't be fooled - he's as cunning as you'll find.

Enjoyed the game and felt the better team won out. Dublin kept fighting for it and played some great stuff in the second half especially but in a game as intense as this at at such a high level weaknesses are exposed mercilessly as so it was for Dublin. Their backs are not good enough, their midfield stutters and most tellingly their manager simply is clueless. I was amazed that Sherlock was withdrawn for a one season flash in the pan and even though Bernard Brogan was being well marshalled I'd have left him on when Magee was belatedly introduced. The whole set up of the back line has to be questioned. Casey - not intercounty standard; Cullen - class footballer but no centre back; McConnell? He was supposed to be more comfortable away from goals but had a 'mare on Donaghy. The most worrying thing from a Dubs point of view is that this is an old problem that has not been addressed (ditto midfield). There surely are the player in Dublin to rectify these problems or some sort of system could be used to improve matters. If Caffrey goes and a decent manager is appointed then there is an AI in this team. I won't be sorry to see him go as when you see lads like Sherlock yesterday and others in previous matches indulging in some of the mouthing into peoples faces (totally at odds with their usual conduct) you conclude that - well you'd suspect there's something sinister about it. Those sort of tactics can work on many teams but not on Kerry.

Looking at Kerry's performance - their backs proved to not be as bad as some people thought. Reidy and Young stepped up well and the O'Sé's are just top class. Not fully convinced about the centre men in the defence (both top players but still adjusting to new positions). Midfield is an area of big concern for Kerry the next day. I think if Dara is not right its going to be next to impossible for Kerry to win the final. Cork are so strong in this area. Dublin really messed up by not introducing Magee earlier when Kerry were inexplicably still on top in the centre despite not having Dara. Up front Cooper, Declan O'Sullivan and Sheehan were excellent yesterday and the ability to introduce strong players from the bench was key too.

Finally just to echo the sentiments of those who thought Bannon was useless. I thought he favoured Dublin and gave them every chance of doing it as did the analysts on the Sunday Game. They must have got a phone call to tone it down cos they all rowed back a bit on the highlights programme last night. I'll watch it again myself but I'm dubious.

So a first all Munster All-Ireland final. I'm leaning towards a heavy bet on Cork with the handicap. Think it will be close.

Quote from: Gnevin on August 27, 2007, 11:52:41 AM

Dublin and our game would be better of without this , no doubt

But as with fitness and skill and endurance its all been taken to a higher level. Some balance here would be nice POG we see it up and down the country from under-age too auld fellas no the GAA didn't punish someone for an off the ball punch as an organisation a serious look needs to be taken .

As i've said before a line needs to be drawn in the sand and if a Dub is the first to feel the wrath of a new fairer system so be it.

Fair play, a very sensible post

But Dublin see to concentrate on this negativity - why ? It seems to be preached by Caffrey. Can't understand why -

Good to se you condone a member of the Garda commit an assault on an old man !!!! I'm shocked that you can agree that it was ok for your manager to hit another manager - why was he not suspended for the assault ?  That's why you're winning nothing - concentrate on the football and the AI will come - if you keep Caffrey and his stoneage ideas, you're going no where. Get a new manager and not one that is just blood and guts !

Talk of assault from an Armagh man is a bit rich.

He hit him a shoulder.

With regard to the referee, the experts concluded that he had a decent game - if that is the case ( which I don't think it is ) then what was O'Rourke on about at half time - he said that the people could be forgiven for saying that Bannon was playing for Dublin. And then Brolly in the after match analysis said that Bannon would have to hold up his hand and adit that he had a poor game.

4 hours later ( and without doubt a phonecall from Fr. Seamas Gardiner ) Bannon had a good game.

Come off it. Wise up and call it as it was - Bannon was shite - lost the plot and played for Dublin the whole game.

Dublin NEEDED an AI and Bannon tried to deliver it.