Official Gooners Thread - A New Hope

Started by Dinny Breen, November 10, 2006, 09:10:06 AM

statto

Quote from: tiempo on May 31, 2026, 05:33:04 AMThe referee gave some incredibly soft calls to PSG throughout the game, and blowing up for half time when Arsenal had a corner was ridiculous

PSG the better team, Arsenal v stout but papering over cracks at left wing and up front

Arsenal come a long way since the latter half of the Wenger era with a ton of misfits scrambling for 4th on the cheap, a lot of credit due to Arteta but he needs to evolve the team now to a more forward thinking outfit
Hard to criticise the strikers in this instance Havertz had one chance and finished it well.  The manager setup the team not to create any chances  after that. Said before the game Arsenal could win if they found the right balance between attack and defence but Arteta reverted to type after scoring first.  The obvious weak link in psg team was the keeper who wasn't put under any type of pressure.

One for arsenal fans.
If yous had won playing like that with 24.7% possession, would yous have cared? I'm not sure I would have too annoyed if it was Liverpool.

straightred

Quote from: tiempo on May 31, 2026, 05:33:04 AMThe referee gave some incredibly soft calls to PSG throughout the game, and blowing up for half time when Arsenal had a corner was ridiculous

PSG the better team, Arsenal v stout but papering over cracks at left wing and up front

Arsenal come a long way since the latter half of the Wenger era with a ton of misfits scrambling for 4th on the cheap, a lot of credit due to Arteta but he needs to evolve the team now to a more forward thinking outfit
Blowing for half time was his best decision of the night. I first noticed Arsenal acting the b*ll*x in the 19th minute. Time wasting, breaking up play and all the dark arts. The ref should have booked one of them early on - that would have sorted it out. Thats what did happen when eventually booked one of them although he then bottles it by not sending him off. Time was well up and arsenal were still fluting around at the corner - the ref rightly lost patience with them

The Penalty Kick Exception: According to Law 7 (The Duration of the Match), the only game event that forces the referee to extend a half beyond the designated added time is a penalty kick. If a penalty is awarded right at the death, the referee must allow it to be taken. Corner kicks, free kicks, and throw-ins do not get this special treatment.

Quote from: RedHand88 on May 31, 2026, 08:22:05 AMOne for arsenal fans.
If yous had won playing like that with 24.7% possession, would yous have cared? I'm not sure I would have too annoyed if it was Liverpool.
There isn't one team in the history of sport that would care about winning ugly.

JollyGreenGiant

Arteta is very sympathetic to the plight of a referee, and has said himself before how hard the job is. He acknowledges "brave" and "correct" decisions. So I'm sure he can extend that to last night's referee?

onefineday

Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 31, 2026, 10:20:32 AM
There isn't one team in the history of sport that would care about winning ugly.
Harlem Globetrotters??

In fairness PSG were almost as cynical in their semi away to Bayern - although they did create a load of chances too

Just came up short yesterday. Gabriel was a colossus throughout. Made PSG's attack look as bad as Arsenal's.

N London is going to be manic today. Already rows deep and still 4 hrs to the parade. Wouldn't want to be heading out for a loaf.

Ah you would. You were giving out about Slot and his style of football. A manager who won the league 12 months previous and lost a player in car crash.

Baile Brigín 2

Not a thing

Quote from: onefineday on May 31, 2026, 10:37:08 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 31, 2026, 10:20:32 AM
Harlem Globetrotters??

In fairness PSG were almost as cynical in their semi away to Bayern - although they did create a load of chances too
;D  I was actually thinking of them when I wrote that!

The morning after is when you realise how hard it is to get back to the Champions League final. It took Arsenal 20 years to get back there. You need a good draw.

befair

To be fair, Arsenal may have had a good draw, especially when Barca were hamstrung by red cards in each game vs athletico, but they earned it by finishing top of the league section

Quote from: Aaron Boone on May 31, 2026, 12:49:52 PMThe morning after is when you realise how hard it is to get back to the Champions League final. It took Arsenal 20 years to get back there. You need a good draw.

This is very true. I wasn't really up for the game at all and had barely given it a thought beforehand.

Was mildly disappointed at the end but again didn't give it much thought as PSG were by far the better side.

Sort of sinking in now how difficult it is to get there. I might not see them win it in my lifetime.

As bad as Arsenal fans are I don't think they'd have wrecked London for a celebration, see hundreds arrested in Paris!