Armagh v Derry 30-05-2026 - 19:15

Started by illdecide, May 20, 2026, 09:59:55 AM

SouthOfThe Bann

Have we enough evidence now to suggest that RG was just an incredibly good manager and had a very Average Derry side massively overperforming.

That's 3 managers now that have failed to get any tune out of them.

Toner and Loughlin good honest players but not at the level required at the top end in my opinion.

Armagh 1-17 Derry 1-8. 10 minutes to play.

5 mins left 1-18 to 1-10

Result Armagh 1-18 Derry 1-13.

Yeah we don't have the players to compete at an Armagh level at the minute. Thats not going to change unless management start giving some new players a shout!

Stickittotheman

Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 30, 2026, 08:41:27 PMHave we enough evidence now to suggest that RG was just an incredibly good manager and had a very Average Derry side massively overperforming.

Toner and Loughlin good honest players but not at the level required at the top end in my opinion.

We have more than matched Armagh throughout the game. What has killed us as per usual is the lack of efficiency which tonight has been appallingly bad. Some shocking wides.

A 5 point hammering. Disappointing performance from the experienced heads we're well off it!

BigGreenField

Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 30, 2026, 08:41:27 PMHave we enough evidence now to suggest that RG was just an incredibly good manager and had a very Average Derry side massively overperforming.

I don't think you can pin the players being unable to kick the ball over the bar from straightforward positions on the manager or something that a Managerial wonder boy would fix

When you consider some of Derry's misses and also then consider the fact that they only lost by 5 points in the end, it just makes my brain hurt. This game was weird.

Comfortable win for Armagh and in truth the five point margin flattered Derry and they'll need a decent draw to avoid championship exit in round 2B.

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: Stickittotheman on May 30, 2026, 08:50:43 PM

We have more than matched Armagh throughout the game. What has killed us as per usual is the lack of efficiency which tonight has been appallingly bad. Some shocking wides.

Yous were nowhere near it lad. Armagh didn't get out of 2nd gear.

Brendan

Not sure why anyone thought Derry would trouble Armagh, haven't beaten them in years (properly) in the championship with Armagh still improving. Derrys only win of note this year coming against Tyrone who were extremely poor in the league so that holds no weight with hindsight

Stickittotheman

Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 30, 2026, 08:58:04 PM

Neither did we!!!

Quote from: OakLeaf on May 30, 2026, 08:09:57 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 30, 2026, 08:05:49 PMDerry haven't the forwards at all.

We should have but severely lacking confidence due to the way we've been playing. The ball in is far too slow. It's been a feature of the Seniors, U20s and Minors. It's mostly down to coaching. Time for a change.
I was thinking this earlier myself, systemic fear just runs through that senior team - the Minors & U20s followed suit this year.

As for Armagh, just a good one to get out of the way. Thomas McCormack got MOTM but I thought Cian McConville run himself into the ground for the cause 2nite. It was obvious that Conaty was going to be man marked, I thought McCormack  & McConville both took on his role at different times.

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: BigGreenField on May 30, 2026, 08:54:50 PM

I don't think you can pin the players being unable to kick the ball over the bar from straightforward positions on the manager or something that a Managerial wonder boy would fix

Not 100% sure whether i agree with what your saying there as im not privy to what is happening in training.

I'd love to see Derry back competing well but they've went from a blistering team full of pace and running to a team that is very hard to watch and make loads of stupid mistakes.

Hopefully they'll get decent draw next day out and try gather some momentum.

NotedObserver

Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on May 30, 2026, 08:58:04 PM

Thought Armagh lads looked full sure of their victory from the off. Lachlan Murray the only threat to them and c Doherty managed to get space when the black card came

Armagh gifted them 1-1 to keep them in he game. Armagh and Donegal were not this force whenRG was in charge of Derry.

Derry still can beat a lot of teams though

I think Derry footballers should look at the heart and energy that the Derry hurlers have brought this year. Up against it against Meath away from home and got the draw through heart nd attitude. They needed to beat Kerry at home to qualify for Chrity Ring Final and they did.

Kerry were strong favourites to beat them in Croke Park today but they came with agression, energy and positive attitude from the first whistle....and never let up until the final whistle. Derry played like a team. They played for each other. Sometimes they're more like a club team in terms of the collective.

Compare that to this evening. Derry had a good break and should have been chomping at the bit to take on Armagh but, in reality, it was lifeless and ponderous. Seemed like a team of individuals. Very disappointing.