Laois senior hurlers 2026

Started by mcwregor, December 10, 2025, 07:36:04 AM

Ballygowen

A big congratulations to the Laois Hurlers. Watched the game on TV, Laois were the better team, Reilly with a bit of a mistake for their goal, other than that Carlow would of only scored a point or two in 17 mins. Carlow just lumped it up in the first half, hit shocking wides. Laois were just better imo. the subs they brought on really strengthen it, jack kelly with 3, Keys with one, Dowling set up the Goal. Picky just seemed to steady the team. Lee Cleere was aggressive when on the ball, Podge had his hands full and done well. Fennel and Dooley solid, and sure Dunne with 1-6 says its own story. Great to see them get the win and silverware

Voice of tReason

Huge vindication for Tommy Fitzgerald.
He would have heard and read a lot of nonsense about whether he was the right man for the job but he proved himself today.
He was brave all year and made calls that many didn't agree with but they pretty much all paid off. Fair play!

Well done to everyone involved. I'd love more than anything for every single person involved to row in again next year and really see Laois test ourselves against the next tier up. There's absolutely no reason for any of that starting 15 to walk away and hopefully we can find 2 or 3 to supplement the strong panel behind.

Smallballbigballs

Quote from: Smallballbigballs on May 25, 2026, 10:40:10 PMWe'll ate Carlow alive in Croker. The timbering they done in netwatch wont work in Croker. Last year we weren't right either day against Kildare, as we thought we just had a bad day the first day and went again. We've torn it up this time and the build of the forward line has changed. We'll ate them.

Not as comfy as I suspected but comfy in the end. Delighted for Tommy Fitz, a gent of a man and deserving of his moment. He took some blackguarding the past year and half, here and other places, there's not a bad bone in Tommys body and his love and care for our county is always foremost.

Well done also to Picky, what a servant, what a warrior. He had no need to come back, he'd give us plenty, but back he came, and partly down to Tommy also. He had his day again today, and was my MOTM, without him we'd not have had the platform from puck outs for a start. A legend and his name is well made in Laois hurling now.

Two pieces of silverware. Enjoy it, we'll  worry about next year next year.

The Boy Wonder

Quote from: Smallballbigballs on June 06, 2026, 10:03:18 PM
Quote from: Smallballbigballs on May 25, 2026, 10:40:10 PMTwo pieces of silverware. Enjoy it, we'll  worry about next year next year.

Three pieces of silverware actually - didn't you see that the bottom part of the cup broke off  ;)

Congratulations to the lads today. A lot of pressure after the last 2 years but they did the business.
They did the county proud.

Joeythelips

Quote from: Smallballbigballs on June 06, 2026, 10:03:18 PM
Quote from: Smallballbigballs on May 25, 2026, 10:40:10 PMWe'll ate Carlow alive in Croker. The timbering they done in netwatch wont work in Croker. Last year we weren't right either day against Kildare, as we thought we just had a bad day the first day and went again. We've torn it up this time and the build of the forward line has changed. We'll ate them.

Not as comfy as I suspected but comfy in the end. Delighted for Tommy Fitz, a gent of a man and deserving of his moment. He took some blackguarding the past year and half, here and other places, there's not a bad bone in Tommys body and his love and care for our county is always foremost.

Well done also to Picky, what a servant, what a warrior. He had no need to come back, he'd give us plenty, but back he came, and partly down to Tommy also. He had his day again today, and was my MOTM, without him we'd not have had the platform from puck outs for a start. A legend and his name is well made in Laois hurling now.

Two pieces of silverware. Enjoy it, we'll  worry about next year next year.

In fairness the league Laois were in compared to Carlow was a big handicap in terms of preparation so makes it that bit sweeter for the group.

County Man

Congratulations to all involved on the Joe Mcdonagh success yesterday. Laois were more consistent on the day and it is great to return to the Leinster hurling championship next year after a 5 year gap.

Picky Maher, Cillian Dunne and Jack Kelly when he came on were excellent. We held Carlow to just one goal (after 1 minute) and that was down to sheer workrate.

Lads have a real chance now to celebrate the win with the Link match scrapped this year.

We have division 1b league hurling next year which should be great preparation for Leinster. I feel that Wexford will be the pivotal match to target in Leinster when that comes around.

Laoisred

Delighted for the group. Was there the first night v Carlow and felt Carlow played near potential but that Laois had massive room for improvement.
Laois management deserve huge credit for turning things around. It is one thing spotting the issues but another to put strategies in place and coach the team differently. It goes to show the importance of having the right people involved. Well done to Tommy Fitz and co. Completely out smarted the opposition line, a key reason why the cup is back in Laois.

G@@

Fantastic to win, a decent performance from the lads too. I was horrified watching the first round game V Carlow and genuinely thought our season would be a tough slog following that performance. However, credit to everyone for turning the campaign around and getting through and winning the final. Was very impressed with Tommy Fitz for mentioning Darren Gleeson in his post-match interview, a very decent gesture by Tommy.

There are some questions now as we head into 2027. Would that Laois performance on Saturday have been enough to see off Kildare last year and Offaly the year before in the respective finals? i.e. have we improved since those two finals?

Will we survive in Leinster next year? Can we muster a win and probably a draw too to stay up? The two games we will target will be Offaly and Wexford. Our 1B League campaign will be vital preparation in getting up to speed at which these two teams hurl at.

On the flip side, both Wexford and Offaly will be eyeing Laois as the whipping boys to preserve their Leinster status for 2028.

NHL 1B will have Laois, Kerry, Antrim, Kildare, Wexford, Waterford and Offaly. We will need wins over Antrim and Kerry to survive here too.
"I can't get over you - 'till you come out from under him" - Pat Shortt - Class!

The PRO

Delighted with that win on Saturday - would've been very hard to come back from losing three in a row. Particularly happy for the manager who has done well with the hand he was dealt - FWIW, I've heard he's definitely not staying on. Had decided that even before the final.
We were the more efficient team and had the better bench. Once we didn't cough up the goals we did down in Carlow in the first round, we were always likely to win. Carlow's shooting was atrocious though!
I know Dunne probably deserved man of the match but I though our defending as a unit was brilliant and wouldn't have been disappointed to see Cleere or Fennell get it. 

redsetanta

It was real relief to get over the line. Once the lads got the upper hand in the second half their confidence grew and they hit some wonderful points from out the field. The goal by Dunne was so important.

Nothing init in the first half even though we had our noses in front. Fair play to Picky Maher who carried the scoring and was a great target man. He won primary possession and used it. His first point was excellent.

I felt he really carried the fight in the first half when it was all a bit hectic and you could see the nervousness in lads.

I never felt confident when we were 3 or 4 points ahead because i felt that one of the high balls into their full forward line would result in a goal. Fair play to the defense though and Podge Delaney held the line very well.

I though Eoin Reilly spoke very well after the game and his experience and leadership could be seen right throughout encouraging his defenders. Good move bringing him back in.

Fair play to Tommy and it's a pity he can't give it another year or so. He did what was needed to get us back up.

A good day in HQ overall and the Laois crowd certainly outnumbered Carlow.
The real glory is being knocked to your knees and then coming back. That's real glory. VinceLombardi

Laois Rising

The team that played Offaly two years ago in the Joe McD final was probably stronger than the current team. That day against Offaly they probably were he better team but weren't as clinical.

With Picky and Dunphy back in team and back nearer to their full fitness it made a massive difference to the team. The biggest compliment you can give them is to say that with them in the team they make the players around them look better as well. Winning primary possession and being able to score from out the field. If we are to be competitive next year we badly need them involved in twelve months time.

I would love if we were going out this weekend against an Offaly or Clare team. The buzz after the win and a big support in Portlaoise this weekend for a game against either Clare or Offaly would have been brilliant. A Double header with the Laois v Down game would have been a great occasion. Still think we shot ourselves in the foot taking out the winners of Joe McD from the championship.

On a separate note-If Tommy isn't involved next year will Davy Fitz we in the running!!!!

Zooming around

Quote from: Laois Rising on June 12, 2026, 10:56:51 AMThe team that played Offaly two years ago in the Joe McD final was probably stronger than the current team. That day against Offaly they probably were he better team but weren't as clinical.

With Picky and Dunphy back in team and back nearer to their full fitness it made a massive difference to the team. The biggest compliment you can give them is to say that with them in the team they make the players around them look better as well. Winning primary possession and being able to score from out the field. If we are to be competitive next year we badly need them involved in twelve months time.

I would love if we were going out this weekend against an Offaly or Clare team. The buzz after the win and a big support in Portlaoise this weekend for a game against either Clare or Offaly would have been brilliant. A Double header with the Laois v Down game would have been a great occasion. Still think we shot ourselves in the foot taking out the winners of Joe McD from the championship.

On a separate note-If Tommy isn't involved next year will Davy Fitz we in the running!!!!

I'd say there would be budgetary concerns there.

Genocide Organ

Quote from: Zooming around on June 12, 2026, 03:17:40 PMI'd say there would be budgetary concerns there.

I'd say his stock has fallen considerably!

Verbal

I'd say he'll attempt first to sneak back into Wexford.