Man Utd Thread:

Started by full back, November 10, 2006, 08:13:49 AM

Quote from: An Fear Rua on July 30, 2008, 01:07:15 PM
Quote from: nifan on July 30, 2008, 11:08:14 AM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on July 30, 2008, 10:30:54 AM
but as you know Utd don't have a billionaire owner.

Malcolm Glazier is a billionaire.

actually , hes not

You better tell Forbes then because they seem to think he is and I'd imagine they should know.

QuoteLow-key billionaire thrust into the limelight with $1.5 billion purchase of pro soccer's Manchester United

An Fear Rua

when the gimp bought utd he was worth approx 670mill (inc his caravan parks, sport franchise and cash), now add to that the value of utd at approx 800mill, and you get the forbes figure then take into account that the majority of the 800m is owed to hedgefunds and banks.

But then again half of Ireland are at least 1/2 millionaires because their estate agent says so.
Its Grim up North

QuoteMalcolm Glazier is a billionaire.

Technically he may be a $ billionaire. What is not for debate is that he is a gimp.

Jaysus lads, how ungrateful ye are.

After all that man brought ye a Premiership and a Champions League double last season. He could be the best owner in sport!

An Fear Rua

Quote from: magpie seanie on July 30, 2008, 01:47:34 PM
QuoteMalcolm Glazier is a billionaire.

Technically he may be a $ billionaire. What is not for debate is that he is a gimp.

Technically the gimps manage at least a billion dollars worth of assets, GBB quotes was from 2006, at a time when the value of utd was at a very high level, as was the value of the gimps property in the states. With the us mortgage market affecting prices, and the fact that utd are barely managing to service the interest on the loans, never mind not paying for last years transfers, it may not be long before hes not even a billion dollar asset manager.
Its Grim up North

An Fear Rua

Quote from: AZOffaly on July 30, 2008, 01:51:53 PM
Jaysus lads, how ungrateful ye are.

After all that man brought ye a Premiership and a Champions League double last season. He could be the best owner in sport!

Same thing happened at the bucks didnt it, he came in as a saviour , won a superbowl, and now look at them. I believe he even threatened to move the team away unless the city stumped up a load of cash for ground repairs because he wouldnt/couldnt pay for it.
Its Grim up North

Quote from: Maximus Marillius on July 30, 2008, 10:30:54 AM
in both Chelesa and Uniteds published accounts , Utd are better off by a mile, but as you know Utd don't have a billionaire owner. If he walks Chelesa are in some diffs

If he walks surely someone has to buy the club?
Anyhow...Chelsea were 'in diffs' prior to RA's arrival. What he has now is a club with a profile ten times what it was, and strip back some of the wages a very marketable commodity. Just note the number of youngsters with Chelsea tops these days as opposed to 5-10 years back. These effect is multiplied throughout the continents etc.

Note: I had terms like marketable commodity for football clubs, but that's the reality of it.

He has $2.5billion net worth, according to forbes, so he is a billionaire by most of the worlds reckoning.

An Fear Rua

Utd in the Milk Cup final, won the semi 4-2 against Watford
Its Grim up North

Geez lads...I am the only one keeping your thread going  :D

Do you think Fergie's comments re Campbell are an indication he can't/won't buy another striker this summer? Don't have the exact quote to hand but he essentially said that Simpson would be back up to Tevez/Rooney which doesn't auger well for Saha.

If this is the case is it an indicator that United are getting it financially tight? Traditionally Fergie would go out and buy 2 or 3 to keep it fresh but it doesn't look like it's going to happen this season.

Goats Do Shave

Quote from: Norf Tyrone on August 03, 2008, 11:21:47 PM

Do you think Fergie's comments re Campbell are an indication he can't/won't buy another striker this summer? Don't have the exact quote to hand but he essentially said that Simpson would be back up to Tevez/Rooney which doesn't auger well for Saha.

If this is the case is it an indicator that United are getting it financially tight? Traditionally Fergie would go out and buy 2 or 3 to keep it fresh but it doesn't look like it's going to happen this season.

I reckon he'll still sign a striker, possibly just playing hardball with spurs or whoever...

Not a ringing endorsement of young Campbell though is it!!!

I would be more worried if I was Saha, rather than if I was Campbell.
At least it looks as though Campbell is going to get a few chances.
Saha, on the other hand, well Fergie didnt even list him as a striker. He said we have Rooney & Tevez as strikers along with Campbell.
Wonder does anyone (Rafa) want Saha for 8/10 million?

An Fear Rua

Quote from: Norf Tyrone on August 03, 2008, 11:21:47 PM

I refer you this http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=32.msg324530#msg324530

Utd want rid of Saha, as hes fucked in the head, most of the time he is "injured" he is physically fit to play, but isnt up to it mentally, and he hasnt been since he bottled it against celtic at park head.
Keane wants him at Sunderland apparently.
Its Grim up North

I remember you saying that at the time AFR to be fair, so that was partly the reason for my question.

More importantly...how did you get the link to go half way down the page to where your part was?

An Fear Rua

Quote from: Norf Tyrone on August 04, 2008, 09:07:03 AM
I remember you saying that at the time AFR to be fair, so that was partly the reason for my question.

More importantly...how did you get the link to go half way down the page to where your part was?

On your post above, right click "Re: Man Utd: Premier League & Champions League Winners 2007/08 " and you will get a link for the message. That URL will take you to the place in the page.
Its Grim up North