Diesel, petrol, oil price watch

Started by Dire Ear, March 08, 2022, 10:00:40 AM

The schools buses to go on a 1 day strike tomorrow, and possibly the following Wednesday  https://www.meathchronicle.ie/2026/04/13/school-buses-to-strike-on-wednesday/

Quote from: illdecide on Today at 10:47:28 AMHow many of you guys drive your car for a living?. Well not for a living as such but I do use my vehicle to get to sites scattered all over the country to which I'm paid £0.45p a mile. This hasn't been increased in 15 years and it costs me money to drive to site, I can't go to my employer about this as it's a Government figure that only they can change.
I was also told in the late 90's people were paid £0.52p a mile for a 2.0 litre car or above then, how can the Government still be paying £0.45p a mile for travel almost 2 decades later?.
Madness that rate and drops to 25p after a certain mileage as well.

7,500 kms coastline.
From Donegal to Cork must be 4,000 with an awful lot of wind not to mention crashing waves.

Fluctuating imported oil/gas prices, (probably will remain high while the thick Yanks keep interfering in the mid East), leave us totally exposed to shocks like the current one.

The Exchequer can hardly keep throwing buckets of money at us, yet agriculture, transport etc can't be let go to the wall.

Would throwing money at HVO make more sense?
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Rossfan on Today at 10:59:32 AM7,500 kms coastline.
From Donegal to Cork must be 4,000 with an awful lot of wind not to mention crashing waves.

Fluctuating imported oil/gas prices, (probably will remain high while the thick Yanks keep interfering in the mid East), leave us totally exposed to shocks like the current one.

The Exchequer can hardly keep throwing buckets of money at us, yet agriculture, transport etc can't be let go to the wall.

Worth looking at HVO but supply would be an issue you'd imagine.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Armagh18 on Today at 07:45:15 AM1. Ambulances were allowed through as well you know.
2. Rich of any FFG to give a shite about ambulances or cancer patients, must be a first.
3. Pepper spraying children is brutal.
1. Yes they were. You have quite the habit of denying things happened to quietly admit it a couple of days later.
2. Zzzzzz
3. The protesters were told the Gardai would clear the barricades over the weekend. When the Gardai arrived they gave the mob a chance to disperse then moved in. If kids were still there at that point, that is on the mob.

2ndstringsub

Quote from: illdecide on Today at 10:47:28 AMHow many of you guys drive your car for a living?. Well not for a living as such but I do use my vehicle to get to sites scattered all over the country to which I'm paid £0.45p a mile. This hasn't been increased in 15 years and it costs me money to drive to site, I can't go to my employer about this as it's a Government figure that only they can change.
I was also told in the late 90's people were paid £0.52p a mile for a 2.0 litre car or above then, how can the Government still be paying £0.45p a mile for travel almost 2 decades later?.

Why cant you go to your employer?  I'm sure you can ask for more regardless of the "approved" government figure. even if you work for a contractor who is completing work for the government I'm sure the rate they charge for completed work will have certainly gone up in the last 15 years..

Genocide Organ

Quote from: Armagh18 on April 13, 2026, 10:05:12 PMYet to see a time in history when the police pepper spraying and kicking peaceful protestors on the ground were on the right side of things, maybe this time will be the first...

Except when they're protesting outside an IPAS centre, of course.

5times5times

Caught in this crap in Ballygawley this morning. Hopefully the rain washes them away.

Is it expected to last for multiple days? Or a 1 day show and go home?

Upp the lads.

Highly doubt Starmer will give a f**k but hopefully sparks something in England.

Louther

Quote from: 2ndstringsub on Today at 11:50:30 AM

Why cant you go to your employer?  I'm sure you can ask for more regardless of the "approved" government figure. even if you work for a contractor who is completing work for the government I'm sure the rate they charge for completed work will have certainly gone up in the last 15 years..

In fairness if you not making money for yourself on mileage claims you not doing it right.

playwiththewind1st

Any employer can pay as much, or as little, as they like, in terms of car mileage. That's basically their decision.

The 45p figure is simply the current recognised & approved non-taxable element of any travel allowance, as permitted by HMRC.

AustinPowers

Quote from: 5times5times on Today at 12:32:04 PMCaught in this crap in Ballygawley this morning. Hopefully the rain washes them away.

Is it expected to last for multiple days? Or a 1 day show and go home?

Are they expecting  Stormont to do something? That's laughable .

Or  are they hoping a few tractors blocking the Ballygawley roundabout will  make headline news in London?

Well if they clog Belfast up for the afternoon it will make news, wont make any difference but will be noticed.

Quote from: weareros on Today at 10:26:03 AM
Quote from: trileacman on Today at 09:54:22 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 13, 2026, 03:47:38 PMWhen or by whom was it decided we had almost reached wind capacity?
I'm looking at a big hungry mountain in Laythrum with not a wind turbine in sight.
To my left on the horizon is a high hill in Roscommon with a load of turbines.

Read any research paper, Ireland is the world's highest user of wind power with the exception of Denmark, who export massive amounts of spare energy to the Germans. We're not in a position to do that.

I'd take the opinion of experts over some bollix looking out his window at mountain in Leitrim.

Only reaching capacity because of grid infrastructure but Ireland has ability to double it from 35% wind generated to 70% with upgrades to grid. The plan was to get to that by 2030, likely ambitious. Quicker we lessen the need for fossil fuels the better. Not in a position today but in a unique position to get there with a bit of forward thinking.

That 70% figure is a bluff, only achieve-able with a inter connecter to France. We'll sell them wind power and buy back non-renewable nuclear power but on our books it will be counted as "renewable" because in terms of production we actually "made" the wind energy in Ireland. As with most green calculations it's riddled with half-truths and misrepresentations to portray things in as favourable a light as possible.

And the "upgrade" the greens talk about is really much more of a doubling of the grid network, essentially you need a network that will carry the renewable energy from the turbines down to the east coast commuter belt, still retaining and maintaining your existing network from the oil-powered plants to produce and carry electricity when the wind isn't blowing both to the east coast and to all the regional villages.

This is of course ignoring the cost of what it will take to defend the 1.6 billion (estimate, final figure could be double) sub-sea cable, in which case we don't have the funds or material to do such as task. Meaning we'll be asking or more likely paying someone with a proper navy to do it for us.

Quote from: Rossfan on Today at 10:59:32 AM7,500 kms coastline.

What have waves got to do with anything?

As for Donegal to cork that exactly what we need. Energy production built where no-one lives. 🙄