2022 National Football League

Started by The PRO, January 26, 2022, 10:02:31 AM

Spiritof86

The 'green' football championship proposal has been approved . From 60 games (pre super eights) to 99 in 2023.A 65 pc increase which is huge .
So basically only teams in Division 1 and 2 can compete for All-Ireland . Reality check for teams like Meath who are fighting to stay in Division 2 .

Heshs Umpire

Bloody hell that was frustrating tonight. The most annoying part being that Antrim were very average. Once again, Evan was being subject of plenty of hardship without getting too many frees.
Hard night to play football to be fair to both teams. Must win next week now.
Well I could keep it above
But then it wouldn't be sky anymore

Spiritof86

Frustrating alright against a poor enough Antrim outfit . This is the level we are at though and this is something we are going to see more of . Can't fault the effort but we definitely falling into the category of division 3 side . Hope I'm proved wrong . The lack of depth off the line is worrying too .
Have  Collins O , Dunne and Foster all left the panel or just not in the matchday panel ?

recyclebin

Any news on the rescheduled Fermanagh game? I assumed it would be next weekend.

Spiritof86

Fermanagh match next Saturday @ 3:30

SCFC

Quote from: beano on February 25, 2022, 09:03:41 PM
Who left the panel ?
I've heard Jake Foster, Adam Campion and Collins Ugochukwu have all left panel of their own volition. I'd imagine Billy will have to let go a couple more to bring the number to around 34.

Spiritof86

Pity about Foster . We are not exactly overloaded with forwards coming off the bench.

BallyroanAbu

We are just in a bad place,  can't beat the first one on one physically.  We must of coughed the ball up 70% of the time in a tight tackle.  Bringing Ross on is not the solution to this,  I heard about the Kildare practice game but he is a shadow of the player he was.   To be honest his inclusion is an open joke at this stage,  there is only so long this can be defended.  Shoot me

Laois Rising

Billy has pretty much stuck with the same starting team since the O'Byrne Cup semi-final. I do think he should shake things up a little and make 4-5 changes the next day and keep things competitive within the squad. The fact he made no change until the 60th minute and with that made only 3 changes (one of them was to bring in Ross) would send a message to the rest of the squad outside of the 15 that he doesn't have huge faith in their abilities. Antrim had four or five subs in well before Laois made their first change. If he continues to operate the way he is doing, expect more lads to walk away and lads within the squad to lose interest and motivation.

Spiritof86

Can see why Foster walked after the challenge match against Kildare .

Laois fan

Quote from: Spiritof86 on February 28, 2022, 08:06:03 PM
Can see why Foster walked after the challenge match against Kildare .
why what happened?

town1980

im judging billy on his loyalty to Ross which is shocking for any panel member to see him coming on at nearly 40 years of age i do know alot already cant wait for it to be over ,,is beano gone ??
regarding the football the scores the last two days have being very low now we are conceeding very little also which is great so he has to try find that balance and look we nearly won the game im just shocked at how management still are picking a guy thtas nearly 40 and we all can see his time in the blue and white and let me say im a massive fan down through the years but jays hand the batton over

Giovanni

Is there a particular age that you think should be the cut-off point for a player's involvement with the county team? A mandatory retirement age?

Ross has spent 20 years looking after his health and fitness at elite levels, just in order to represent Laois (and with very little gain).

I don't think anyone could deny that he is still in the top 10 best forwards in the county.

I would normally try to ignore these nonsensical posts but Ross deserves a little more respect for what he has given to Laois and what he is continuing to give.

BallyroanAbu

Quote from: Giovanni on March 01, 2022, 11:56:12 AM
Is there a particular age that you think should be the cut-off point for a player's involvement with the county team? A mandatory retirement age?

Ross has spent 20 years looking after his health and fitness at elite levels, just in order to represent Laois (and with very little gain).

I don't think anyone could deny that he is still in the top 10 best forwards in the county.

I would normally try to ignore these nonsensical posts but Ross deserves a little more respect for what he has given to Laois and what he is continuing to give.

Absolute BS but you keep telling yourself this, his been about 50% the player he was for about 5-6 years maybe longer.  Pace is gone that's life, not big enough to throw himself about.  Sick of stupid argument he was great for years thus he can't be criticised and should remain on the panel.  His not up to it, nor is there anything to be gained by his continual involvement as a player.  I have no issue with him being part of the management as he has a lot to offer that way. 

You can think Ross is a legend but also think it's over.  I don't see any conflict with this thinking.

town1980

what are you on about im one of the lads bigest fans the best forward EVER laois has produced ,,so dont go down that route please and good lord open your eyes a bit the man is just 40 and well past it for intercounty the dog on the street knows that the panel players are bemused by it its totally not his fault if he has the desire to train but for gods sake Billy and Chris should know this,,not for one second am i giving out about Ross but there is clueless people like yourself who want the young lads to step up too and when they see him comming on it does effect there confidence and ability and there confidence in there manager to trust the younger lads ,,,im a fan of Billy by the way i just dont agree on this point thats all