Connacht senior football final Galway v Roscommon July 10th

Started by giveballaghback, June 18, 2016, 09:46:19 PM

Quote from: larryin89 on June 23, 2016, 11:19:12 AM
Such a massive opportunity for the winner to get to an all Ireland final , this is just what Roscommon have been waiting for and unfortunately I really fancy them to do this after watching Saturday's game over x4 times now , Galway were value for their win but Mayo would of held out only for the daft kickout by henelly.

Agree that Galway wouldn't have won only for the goal but I do think the win will do wonders for this group of players, it will have given them great belief which only appeared after the goal. I really don't think the players fully believed they could win until that goal went in; Its a young group who now have a big win under their belts whilst Roscommon have no big championship win, you probably have to go back to 2003 for Roscommon's last huge win against good opposition although given the law of averages their due a win. No win against Galway since 2001 and no win in Salthill since the 70's! ( don't know how true is the latter)

Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Kurtz

Quote from: Maroon Manc on June 22, 2016, 02:42:12 PM
A lot of pressure on the Ros, there will be far more expectancy from within the county to deliver now that Mayo are out; Naturally there will pressure on Galway too but at least Galway already have made plenty of progress with the defeat of Mayo.

Its a big opportunity as the draw has really opened up, there isn't too many top teams on the A side of the draw and the winner could well end up playing Tipp in a quarter final depending on draw.

Tactically will KW stick to the same strategy as he did on Mayo's kickouts or will he change given the Rossies are not nearly as strong as Mayo are around the middle.

No pressure at all. 
If Galway win then fair play to them
I think its going to be a cracker

In fairness big wins aren't much use if you can't back it up with a trophy as Sligo found out in 2010 or Galway themselves found out in 2007. A defeat now for Galway will knock their group of young players back again. A lot of pressure on Galway to perform in this final after that big win in MacHale park.

No matter what anybody says, will be a setback for either county to lose. I remember after we beat favourites Mayo in 1986 (who had drawn with Dublin in '85 and had high hopes), it was right sucker punch to lose to Galway in the Connacht final, especially to a late goal. Fella beside me on the embankment roared at the final whistle, "feck ye Galway, we did yere dirty work." So Galway have done the dirty work this year and would be equally galling to lose to Roscommon. Likewise, with no victory over Galway since 2001 and no victory in Salthill since 88, it's now or never time for us. I do think we'll win but lots of demons will have to be overcome.

Quote from: weareros on June 23, 2016, 03:43:14 PM
No matter what anybody says, will be a setback for either county to lose. I remember after we beat favourites Mayo in 1986 (who had drawn with Dublin in '85 and had high hopes), it was right sucker punch to lose to Galway in the Connacht final, especially to a late goal. Fella beside me on the embankment roared at the final whistle, "feck ye Galway, we did yere dirty work." So Galway have done the dirty work this year and would be equally galling to lose to Roscommon. Likewise, with no victory over Galway since 2001 and no victory in Salthill since 88, it's now or never time for us. I do think we'll win but lots of demons will have to be overcome.

These are the sorts of games that make championship football special.

Avondhu star

I think that the Roscommon management team are a good team and would have the edge over Kevin Walshes group. But Galway are always a tough nut to ctack. McStay knows that an All Ireland appearance is on the cards. They put in some great league performances
Lee Harvey Oswald , your country needs you

All Ireland appearance.....houl' on a biteen :o
We'd have bate Galway, A Qualifier and Kerry.
Without a midfield or HB line!!
Let's just play Galway first.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Would be a remarkable achievement for Roscommon to win Connacht after what happened round one in New York however Galway after beating Mayo are hardly going to let this opportunity pass are they?

Potted history.

QuoteRoscommon and Galway have met a total of 52 times in Connacht, with the maroon and white 30-18 ahead on victories, with four draws.

Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 23, 2016, 07:24:47 PM
Would be a remarkable achievement for Roscommon to win Connacht after what happened round one in New York however Galway after beating Mayo are hardly going to let this opportunity pass are they?

Not as remarkable as Mayo 2011 when in their previous three Championship games, they lost to Sligo, Longford and need two injury time points to draw and extra time to beat London.

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 24, 2016, 02:42:20 PM
Potted history.

QuoteRoscommon and Galway have met a total of 52 times in Connacht, with the maroon and white 30-18 ahead on victories, with four draws.

Broken dreams and crossbars.

There 2010 Connacht title was more remarkable given they managed to avoid playing Galway & Mayo.

Quote from: Maroon Manc on June 24, 2016, 02:58:59 PM

There 2010 Connacht title was more remarkable given they managed to avoid playing Galway & Mayo.

Hardly avoiding ye when we do our part but both of ye are so shite ye can't get to the final.

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 24, 2016, 02:42:20 PM
Potted history.

Hard to believe it's the first Galway v Roscommon Connacht final since 1998. Have to go back to 1978 for a Salthill final between the two.