Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

Truth hurts

Quote from: thewobbler on September 16, 2025, 05:53:47 PMTruth I'm not saying the old system didn't have flaws, but it was much better at separating SFC standard players from the tiers downwards. And it's probably needed more now than ever given that the RFC and PRFC are usually wrapped up by end of August.

In that system, if you played in SFC, IFC or JFC then you couldn't play for your seconds team in their reserve championship that same season, or the following season. 

Which, in a two year cycle, with the back door system in place in SFC etc, would usually rule out the top 20 players for all senior clubs, and usually closer to 25 for the more successful clubs who tend to get to semi finals and finals.

And whilst I can see the short term thinking in smaller clubs demanding named 10 (instead of 13) and not ruling players out of reserve championships, the reality - I believe - is that the majority of reserve standard footballers would sooner eat warts from their dog's arse than play against teams with a spine of SFC standard and fitness players. So player dropout increases.

We need a solution to the ills of reserve football in the county but I don't have the answers myself.

lumpitin

Ive watched a lot of Down football this year, it is extremely poor. Tyrone & Armagh a million miles ahead and thats showing in the county scene. Will anyone else win it other than Kilcoo? I cant see it. Burren have murdock but do they have the balls for beating kilcoo im not sure as shown year after year. I think if there is a team that beat them is carryduff.

The 4 quarter finals will be easy wins for all the favs

Our minors will play Bredagh in the Minor final for the 4th year in a row next Wednesday night in Pairc Esler.

Bredagh have won all three previous encounters.

TBH within the club we didn't expect this considering we'd lost seven lads from last years team and two of our 18yo's have been injured most of the year and another struggling with a knee issue so doing nets.

In the semi-final v a very fancied Castlewellan we were also missing our normal FB who got a straight red in the previous game but battled through, scoring 6 goals in the process. The lads from the U16 team that have been on the receiving ends of big batterings at that level can hold their own at minor.
Castlewellan will be disappointed, they'll be stronger next year though and will need to learn that when you're dominating the game how to convert into scores.

A Wee bit of testerone got the better of some lads after the final whistle, but all made it to school the next day so no harm.  :)

Bredagh had a much easier night out against our neighbours, Portaferry and will go into the final as bigger favourites than last year.

terrifictommy

Quote from: lumpitin on September 18, 2025, 01:45:01 PMIve watched a lot of Down football this year, it is extremely poor. Tyrone & Armagh a million miles ahead and thats showing in the county scene. Will anyone else win it other than Kilcoo? I cant see it. Burren have murdock but do they have the balls for beating kilcoo im not sure as shown year after year. I think if there is a team that beat them is carryduff.

The 4 quarter finals will be easy wins for all the favs

Tyrone is at a different level I agree. But the limited Armagh games I watched I don't think that's too far in front. In fact, when these teams move to Ulster you soon see.

And I'm not sure all the quarters have a distinct favourite. And some certainly won't be comfortable

blackwater1992

Bridge not looking good at all, could be curtains for them this year.

Be even better

Quote from: johnnycool on September 19, 2025, 11:06:04 AMOur minors will play Bredagh in the Minor final for the 4th year in a row next Wednesday night in Pairc Esler.

TBH within the club we didn't expect this considering we'd lost seven lads from last years team and two of our 18yo's have been injured most of the year and another struggling with a knee issue so doing nets.

In the semi-final v a very fancied Castlewellan we were also missing our normal FB who got a straight red in the previous game but battled through, scoring 6 goals in the process. The lads from the U16 team that have been on the receiving ends of big batterings at that level can hold their own at minor.
Castlewellan will be disappointed, they'll be stronger next year though and will need to learn that when you're dominating the game how to convert into scores.

A Wee bit of testerone got the better of some lads after the final whistle, but all made it to school the next day so no harm.  :)

Bredagh had a much easier night out against our neighbours, Portaferry and will go into the final as bigger favourites than last year.

Fair play to Ballygalget continuing to make most of resources. Silverware all good but most important thing is the path to senior level. Hope both clubs can harness what they have at this age going forward but never easy.

Quote from: johnnycool on September 19, 2025, 11:06:04 AMOur minors will play Bredagh in the Minor final for the 4th year in a row next Wednesday night in Pairc Esler.

We have played each other 3 times this year and it's 2-1 yous with a combined score of 2-33 to 11-45 against us (I think) , yes we won the last game but no way are we favourites. It's a final and of course we will give it a rattle as underdogs.

Ed Hardy

Just seen the Saul line up, was wondering does Ruairi O'Hare not play for them now? Or out injured. He looked a good prospect at u20 level few years ago.

downtothecore

Kilcoo make it through to semi finals but we're not impressive to their standards. Loughinisland exit championship but can take a lot of positives. The down championship is there for the taking...

Nanderson

Any truth in St Johns and Atticall game to be replayed?

Quote from: Square Ball on September 20, 2025, 04:19:16 PM

We have played each other 3 times this year and it's 2-1 yous with a combined score of 2-33 to 11-45 against us (I think) , yes we won the last game but no way are we favourites. It's a final and of course we will give it a rattle as underdogs.

The league final plays a big part in your stats where you arrived down at our place shorn three or four of your main players.

We'll give it a lash.

snoopdog

Quote from: downtothecore on September 20, 2025, 08:31:11 PMKilcoo make it through to semi finals but we're not impressive to their standards. Loughinisland exit championship but can take a lot of positives. The down championship is there for the taking...
Kilcoo manage to just do enough in games. Same most years. Burren will want to draw them in the semi final. Better chance of beating them than in the final.

Quote from: Nanderson on September 20, 2025, 08:56:56 PMAny truth in St Johns and Atticall game to be replayed?

Seems to be doing the rounds that. So what actually happened?

befair

Heard that St Johns won by 1 pt, Attical disputed the final score.

Nanderson

Quote from: befair on September 21, 2025, 01:43:11 AMHeard that St Johns won by 1 pt, Attical disputed the final score.
From what i've heard from ones, some neutrals had the game as a draw. Referee had St johns as winners by a point. Atticall watched video of the game and it was a draw on the evidence they watched.