Monaghan v Tyrone - Sunday 15th June - St Tiernach's Park Clones

Started by GrandMasterFlash, May 25, 2014, 12:23:31 PM

Quote from: babarino on June 05, 2014, 11:08:03 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 05, 2014, 02:18:53 PM
Monaghan these days remind me of... Monaghan.  Wee buns, wee fecking buns!

Brian O'Nolan wouldn't have put it better himself. Tyronie prose and I dare say we'll be quoting that Belfast catch phrase very soon.

When scores are tight and hard to get
And your manager has no plan
When all you have is no bulging net
A pint of plain is your only man

Wow good man AnFheardubh. I did the same myself for the last 2 years. Well actually I went last year to the final and was in the Hill with a few Dubs.
The two years before that I managed to buy two tickets on the day and sold them on to Donegal and Dub fans. I was on crutches in 2011 and watched in it Jurys hotel surrounded by 10 Armagh women who had had their tickets stolen the night before.

Would ye rather meet Tyrone in the final as we're easier bate or like another go at Monaghan. Sorry Cavan & Armagh of course we're not forgetting ye.

GrandMasterFlash

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 06, 2014, 11:03:21 AM

Brian O'Nolan wouldn't have put it better himself. Tyronie prose and I dare say we'll be quoting that Belfast catch phrase very soon.

"Moderation, we find, is an extremely difficult thing to get in this country."

babarino

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 06, 2014, 11:03:21 AM

When the game's tight, a win hard to get,
it comes down what makes a man. 
All-star McManus goes for the net,
haul 'im down, however ye can.

babarino

For us that don't know can you explain?
Enjoy this weekend Farney boys as yis will be awful panicky all next week.
The wife recommends Imodium.

babarino

Quote from: Fuzzman on June 07, 2014, 01:17:47 AM
Enjoy this weekend Farney boys as yis will be awful panicky all next week.
The wife recommends Imodium.

Ask O'Neill. He knows. I couldn't be bothered with WUMs.

Yes I'm enjoying the weekend, but really looking forward to next weekend. BTW what's Imodium? Is that a drug for Tyronie assholes?

Yeoooooo. The Farney Oriel lads are wobbling. It's the Red Hand syndrome.

Kyle Coney for midfield says McGuigan.

GrandMasterFlash

Quote from: ONeill on June 07, 2014, 09:17:42 AM
Yeoooooo. The Farney Oriel lads are wobbling. It's the Red Hand syndrome.

Don't jeopardise your high standing satirical perception with this sort of nonsense O'Neill.  ::)

babarino

Quote from: Fuzzman on June 07, 2014, 01:17:47 AM

Farney, is comprised of about 6 parishes in the south east of the county (where they talk with a Louth/south Armagh type accent). Farney is a misnomer when used for the whole county. It would be a bit like Inishowen in Donegal, or Ards in Down. Not that The Irish News cares, as it makes for better bylines. Gaelic Life, get it right, more often than not. The whole of the county is in the Kingdom of Oriel, so it's more accurate.

So, it shouldn't be called Monaghan either as it was, like Farney, one of the regions.

Hmm, can we get the Farney Monaghan Oriel kicked out?

babarino

Quote from: ONeill on June 07, 2014, 06:06:27 PM
So, it shouldn't be called Monaghan either as it was, like Farney, one of the regions.

Hmm, can we get the Farney Monaghan Oriel kicked out?

Do you not learn history in Tyrone? Monaghan, like Tyrone and all other counties, came into existence as an administrative unit, post plantation. Farney is a barony, much like Dungannon and Clogher were; Oriel, Breffni were gaelic kingdoms and predate counties.

It's one of our national ironies that counties have been adopted with such gusto by the GAA, when they were created by the Sasanachs. Counties loosely follow older kingdoms.

http://www.billmacafee.com/admin/mapbaroniesulster.htm

History this week, next up it'll be a football lesson.