Should Roy Keane be the next Ireland manager?

Started by CorkMan, June 18, 2012, 05:27:38 PM

Should Roy Keane be the next Ireland manager?

Yes
No

Quote from: laoislad on June 18, 2012, 06:46:07 PM
I voted no as the question is for next Ireland manager.
I wouldn't be against it further into the future when he has managed  another club or two.
I think there are better options than him right now like Chris Hughton, Brian McDermott or even Mick McCarty again.

If Keane did get the job he would pretty much need to be an instant success with all the shite he is spouting at the moment people would soon be getting on his back if things were going wrong.
Also I doubt Keane would work for John Delaney, but then he did work for Niall Quinn so who knows...

Fair play to you LL. You can look at something objectively without the tinted glasses.

CorkMan

He's a bad manager at club level. He's never been tried as an international manager.

When he took over Sunderland they were way down the table. They ended up wining the championship and going up to the premier league where he kept them for a season. Not great after that but to say he has had no success as a manager is just wrong.

I'd say give him a chance, but it will all end in tears so lets get it and him out of our system.

Would players put their neck on the line for him?

Is he a good motivator or just a thug/bully?

We'll never win any tournament though. So I think Roy should stay away from management.

CorkMan

Good post LL.

I voted no because even though I suspect he could be a good international manager it would be a complete circus.

Quote from: EC Unique on June 18, 2012, 08:34:54 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 18, 2012, 06:46:07 PM
I voted no as the question is for next Ireland manager.
I wouldn't be against it further into the future when he has managed  another club or two.
I think there are better options than him right now like Chris Hughton, Brian McDermott or even Mick McCarty again.

If Keane did get the job he would pretty much need to be an instant success with all the shite he is spouting at the moment people would soon be getting on his back if things were going wrong.
Also I doubt Keane would work for John Delaney, but then he did work for Niall Quinn so who knows...

Fair play to you LL. You can look at something objectively without the tinted glasses.

Unlike yourself . . .

Quote from: EC Unique on June 18, 2012, 05:56:06 PM
I'm sure he will get his chance at the Ireland job at some stage. He was the best palyer Ireland has ever had, he has had success at management and would be respected by the players. Sure some of the fans would not be happy but that would not really be relevent.

Would he take the job though?

Not true!!

I hate the man with a total passion due to his thuggery and walking out on the Country . . . But!

to try and be objective about the thing he has no great experience as a manager let alone success, he has an army of people in the FAI who hate him and a media and public who will jump all over his back should the slightest hint of trouble appear. Allied to that controversy has courted him everywhere he has gone I don't think he is the man for the job.

Having said that if he takes a decent managerial job, keeps his head down and his mouth out of the papers for a few years and becomes a reasonable success I would be happy to take him as long as he has the credentials and the maturity to take the job. I would say that will take at least 10 years though.

dillinger

Can't believe as a Northern Ireland fan i voted no! Maybe i should vote yes. He would make you's as bad as us. ;D

Orangemac

Roy would probably start a war with some country at a press conference somewhere.

Roy always set high standards for himself and others which was a good thing when he had good players around him but he seems to struggle to deal with players who are not as good. He had a good start with Sunderland but has done nothing over the last few seasons.

CorkMan

Quote from: dillinger on June 18, 2012, 10:49:43 PM
Can't believe as a Northern Ireland fan i voted no! Maybe i should vote yes. He would make you's as bad as us. ;D

Steve Staunton almost managed that and I don't think Roy would be quiet that bad.

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

he is one of the most negative ex-footballers out there, and a crap manager- so no would be my answer

Fear Bun Na Sceilpe

Quote from: dillinger on June 18, 2012, 10:49:43 PM

Not even that could bring us down to those depths

Quote from: EC Unique on June 18, 2012, 08:42:14 PM
When he took over Sunderland they were way down the table. They ended up wining the championship and going up to the premier league where he kept them for a season. Not great after that but to say he has had no success as a manager is just wrong.

True he did great with Sunderland. He couldnt have done much more in the Premier League

Ipswich were just a shite team

Cant believe he walked out in 02--what the f**k was he thinking

Leo

Quote from: EC Unique on June 18, 2012, 08:42:14 PM

No. when he took over Sunderland they had just changed ownership and he was given a ball of money to out-spend the rest of the championship - which is what he did. They then struggled to stay in the premier league and guess what ... he walked out when the heat was on (so unlike our Roy!!).

Get it right.
Fierce tame altogether