Mayo - Championship 2012 news and views

Started by From the Bunker, May 03, 2012, 02:47:41 PM

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on May 28, 2012, 12:11:10 PM
Quote from: moysider on May 26, 2012, 12:00:28 AMshite

What s nice about it seafoid?

Seafoid attempts to curry favour amongst Mayo folk by posting  how he would love Mayo to win. Then when they dont win he rubs it in by telling them how they let the province down about not winning against Meath or kerry.

A quintessential Galwegian.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 28, 2012, 02:12:13 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 28, 2012, 11:43:02 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 28, 2012, 11:11:17 AM
well unlike 90% of the discussion on this thread its about Football and the love of it rather than discuss who can say what to whom on what thread on what pages.

Sad that Trevor retired a year early and look like hes gonna miss out on that elusive All Ireland medal....
That particular gent always turns up whenever a Mayo thread is started. Without fail, he sticks his oar in and demands that we should be chatting use the local section.
He's like a fiddler with only one string under his bow.
The gas thing is that he never seems bothered when any other county is involved.
There are more Tyrone threads than Mayo ones and he even posts on them himself.
I cam in late one night and found he had just made his usual post.
I was going to go give him a good bollicking when I got up next morning only to find he had deleted his post.
Probably felt better after a good night's sleep. Sh1te with sh1te is all he understands.

I take it that that honey-worded eulogy is in my honour!?  :D

Jeez Lar, temper the ultra-defensive ire and lose the persecution complex -- I may have requested before that a local Mayo thread be moved to the proper section, but don't recall "demanding" anything. The Local section was set up initially for such (any posts not directly involving more than one county), though of course it's the Mod's call if the OP doesn't see fit to move it  -- I've absolutely no axe to grind with Mayo.

Regarding those Tyrone threads you persist in referring to: the most recent was initiated by a Down poster, and the one before that by a Meath poster, and in both cases the OP's primary discussion-pool was not Tyrone posters, i.e., not a local thread. And another about a physio had a total of two replies, so hardly likely to loiter about page 1 for too long, etc., etc. (I'm well aware of the mechanics of why a page remains on page one, and that's the point, before some hairy-arsed bollix tells me I'm missing the point, even though I'm merely making a point, not aiming for a point, if you get the point  :P).

Buy hey, like I said that was then and this is now, and I'm ever so grateful for the presence of this thread -- as seafoid remarks it may well be a source of inexhaustible enlightenment.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 25, 2012, 10:02:31 PM
From one incorrigible bullshitter to another...

Amen to that, brother.

Maithiú, Fear, I knew you'd not let that go.
Good to have you back of course and there's absolutely no ultra-defensive ire or any form of persecution complex to be found on my side of the fence. Nothing on this board ever bothered me yet and I very much doubt that anything ever will.
Occasionally, I like to dabble in facts, not too often mind you and only when it suits my purpose.
Right now, I feel it does.
I'm not in the least bothered about Tyrone-specific threads appearing on the main board. If I am curious enough I will check one out and if I am interested I might join in but that's about the height of it.
However, there's something incongruous in the fact that you repeatedly "request" that Mayo threads be moved to the local section while I can't recall you ever requesting that Tyrone (or any other county) threads  be moved also.

Okay, your initial post on this subject began with a polite suggestion but your closing observation belied the nature of your request somewhat.
"Your internal/internecine musings aren't really of national interest, sorry.   "

Do you feel that you are the sole guardian of the national interest?
(Not being sarcastic, BTW, just wondering..)  ;D
When you first posted on this topic, Mano, omagh_gael, Syferus, Zulu, Blowitupref, ross4life and seafood had already contributed.
That's a nice cross-country mixture, isn't it?
Our "internal/internecine musings" seems to be of interest to some outside of Mayo's borders.- or so it would appear.
Anyway, enough of that oul' guff; you should have realised by now that I don't have a lot on my hands at present and a decent row is as good a way to pass the time as any other I know of.

PS. I wonder if you recall the late night/early morning when you did post a less than polite request for us all to feck off to the local section.
I did come across it and I toddled off to bed, happy in the knowledge that I was going to have some fun when I got up.
I was very disappointed to find your post had been deleted by the time I had got ready to go on the offensive. 

PPS Maybe you really ought to take Tubberman's advice and go out and get a bit of sun.
I doubt it will hang around as long as Mayo's "internal/internecine musings"   ;D

Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 28, 2012, 09:09:39 PM
Occasionally, I like to dabble in facts, not too often mind you and only when it suits my purpose.
Right now, I feel it does.
I'm not in the least bothered about Tyrone-specific threads appearing on the main board. If I am curious enough I will check one out and if I am interested I might join in but that's about the height of it.
However, there's something incongruous in the fact that you repeatedly "request" that Mayo threads be moved to the local section while I can't recall you ever requesting that Tyrone (or any other county) threads  be moved also.

Not quite factual Lar: I have, in the past, requested that local Down and Sligo threads (for example) be moved -- maybe the mess that the board once was with local threads cluttering up the main page still weighs inordinately heavily on my consciousness.

Incidentally, if you, for example, requested that an obviously local Tyrone thread be moved from the main section I'd have no problem at all with that, none!

Okay, your initial post on this subject began with a polite suggestion but your closing observation belied the nature of your request somewhat.
"Your internal/internecine musings aren't really of national interest, sorry.   "

Tongue-in-cheek, and you continuously ignore (to quote) the smiley that I inserted at the of that line (that's what smilies are for  ;)).

Do you feel that you are the sole guardian of the national interest?
(Not being sarcastic, BTW, just wondering..)  ;D
When you first posted on this topic, Mano, omagh_gael, Syferus, Zulu, Blowitupref, ross4life and seafood had already contributed.
That's a nice cross-country mixture, isn't it?
Our "internal/internecine musings" seems to be of interest to some outside of Mayo's borders.- or so it would appear.

Fair enough Lar, I think I'll reconsider and relinquish my thread policing responsibilites from this on.   :)

Incidentally, it's the thread subject that determines the 'locality quotient' of a thread, and the origins of the contributors is quite irrelevant (see remark about above local threads cluttering up the main page -- 99% of those had contributions from outside the concerned county too).

PS. I wonder if you recall the late night/early morning when you did post a less than polite request for us all to feck off to the local section.
I did come across it and I toddled off to bed, happy in the knowledge that I was going to have some fun when I got up.
I was very disappointed to find your post had been deleted by the time I had got ready to go on the offensive. 

So sorry to have deprived you of a right oul bollicking, and I do recall a rather mischievous post on my part late one night, and let's just say that I hadn't posted that through a fug of sobriety, though I did think that some bollicky bill  :P ;) wouldn't see the 'funny' side and thought the better of removing it with a clearer head.

PPS Maybe you really ought to take Tubberman's advice and go out and get a bit of sun.
I doubt it will hang around as long as Mayo's "internal/internecine musings"   ;D

Well, if I had, for example, compared you to Hitler for your reaction to my initial post you might have a point. Anyway, I think that I've 'contributed' enough now to this thread (immensely enjoyable though it has been  :D), and I do have Poland to invade.

Hi Fear,
The very best of luck on your journey.
I sincerely hope you and all who travel have a marvellous time, good cause to celebrate and return safely.
When you do make it back, I expect you will find us all here nattering away as usual and not causing anybody else any bother, again as per usual.
Maybe I should leave you with a few points to mull over sometime when you need to stop and catch your breath.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 29, 2012, 12:12:58 PM

Not quite factual Lar: I have, in the past, requested that local Down and Sligo threads (for example) be moved -- maybe the mess that the board once was with local threads cluttering up the main page still weighs inordinately heavily on my consciousness.

On the contrary, if you care to check again, you will find that I was being quite factual when
I wrote:
".....I can't recall you ever requesting that Tyrone (or any other county) threads  be moved also."
I think my meaning was very clear and I'm surprised that you misinterpreted my statement.

However, your reply leaves me more concerned than heretofore.
So, you keep tabs on other county posts as well as those of Mayo interest.
Hmmmm...interesting.
I really don't know of anybody else who goes around vetting the contents of threads on the main board to ensure they meet his or her criteria of relevance.  I could well be wrong of course but, somehow, I don't think so.
Others may well be annoyed to some extent but they don't act as self-appointed mods.
IMO. there's no hard and fast line between genuine "interest" and  outright "obsession."
I mean that to be taken at face value-there's no malice intended.

Incidentally, if you, for example, requested that an obviously local Tyrone thread be moved from the main section I'd have no problem at all with that, none!

That's fine but I am most unlikely to ever want to do this.
I did write:
"I'm not in the least bothered about Tyrone-specific threads appearing on the main board. If I am curious enough I will check one out and if I am interested I might join in but that's about the height of it."

In the vernacular, that means that I couldn't give two flying fucks about what goes on in any topic posted here as long as it doesn't obviously  breach conventional guidelines. (Nothing libellous, indecent, pornographic, inflammatory etc. etc.)
If I found a post that I objected to, I'd report it to the mods and leave the matter with them.

Tongue-in-cheek, and you continuously ignore (to quote) the smiley that I inserted at the of that line (that's what smilies are for   ;D

Nah, I don't think so.
This was the sixth or seventh time you had barged in and told the lot of us to f**k off.
Okay, maybe you didn't use that type of language  but your meaning was clear.
Smilies don't necessarily convey humour; they can imply sarcasm as well.
Wit, like beauty, lies in the eye of the beholder and this particular  beholder saw  nothing witty here.
(There, you are now,  I think that's witty. ;D)

So sorry to have deprived you of a right oul bollicking, and I do recall a rather mischievous post on my part late one night, and let's just say that I hadn't posted that through a fug of sobriety, though I did think that some bollicky bill 

This particular bolllicky bill found that post hilarious. I knew damn well that John Barleycorn or one of his extended family had a a part in composing that one. I felt positively cheated when I found you had taken a morning-after-the-night-before decision to have a rethink.
I certainly wasn't annoyed. I too have been that soldier many times, if you follow me.

However, while I felt a bit disappointed at a lost opportunity to have some fun, something bothered me.
In vino veritas, as the Latin proverb puts it.
I'd say, "What's in sober, come out drunk," is a more homely way of putting it.

Do we really bug you that much?

The last thing I'd do if I had been letting (what's left of) my hair down is to brood over what some anonymous keyboard warriors were gabbing about.

I am not being disingenuous in any sense when I say that I find you to be one of the more capable and entertaining debaters we have on this board and you are definitely on my "must read" list at all times. 
It's a pity you feel the need to slip into Thought Police mode at times but even then I find your contributions to be absolutely rivetting.

I'm all for freedom of expression but that implies freedom of reply also.

Speaking strictly for myself, I don't mind you butting in at any time -it all adds to the craic.
By the same token, you shouldn't be surprised if anyone here tells you to f**k off either.

Sauce for the goose, sauce for the gander and all that!

I've been one of Kilcoyne's critics (amongst Knockmore supporters) but surelybhe could be cslled into the panel at least after scoring 11 points?? Maybe not, he does have a tendancy to go for scores himself, at least when playing for the club. Sometimes a pass could be better.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 29, 2012, 11:47:31 PM
I've been one of Kilcoyne's critics (amongst Knockmore supporters) but surelybhe could be cslled into the panel at least after scoring 11 points?? Maybe not, he does have a tendancy to go for scores himself, at least when playing for the club. Sometimes a pass could be better.
i think one of horans 1st actions was to drop Kilcoyne . sometimes  a manger just doesnt rate a player. are we going to have another Kevin o'neill here here was top scorer in the championship for years and not getting a lookin at county Level.
hes well worth a place on the panel
a Personality clash maybe   or just too many injuries over the years

Quote from: rosnarun on May 30, 2012, 09:56:05 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 29, 2012, 11:47:31 PM
i think one of horans 1st actions was to drop Kilcoyne . sometimes  a manger just doesnt rate a player. are we going to have another Kevin o'neill here here was top scorer in the championship for years and not getting a lookin at county Level.
hes well worth a place on the panel
a Personality clash maybe   or just too many injuries over the years

I'd say injuries were a major factor. Aidan never lived up to his promise at underage level and I think that's because he took so many knocks.
What's the story with Trevor Howley?

Howley's in Oz. Don't know when he'll be back.

anyone heading to  Roscommon for the game against westmeath
has the squad been finalised yet rumoors about whos is in and who is out
what the sytus of Alan feeney Chris barret and evan Regan  3 that didnt see much action all year

So they've replaced the Roscommon jersey in Egans' window in Ballagh with a turn-coat manquinn in the Mayo jersey.  :(

Will the insults ever stop?

Quote from: Syferus on June 01, 2012, 06:09:44 PM
So they've replaced the Roscommon jersey in Egans' window in Ballagh with a turn-coat manquinn in the Mayo jersey.  :(

Will the insults ever stop?
Look, everyone is happy as long as Roscommon Co. Co. keep putting money into Ballaghaderreen the the locals keep playing for Mayo.

Sam2011

SF Team: Clarke, Keane, McHale, Caff, Feeney, Higgins, Boyle, McGarrity, Moran, McLoughlin, O'Connor, Harte, Freeman, Moran, Doherty

Nice bit of experimenting in that team, interesting to see how McGarrity gets on.

Sam2011

Mayo: 1.03 Westmeath:0.0
MacLoughlin with the goal, Doherty with the point O'Connor with a free and McGarrity with a pont.