Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

YoungSaff

Quote from: Dunsilly King on September 02, 2026, 02:56:45 PMpunching some one in the face to shatter a checkbone whilst he hadn't the ball and the ref 5m away not awarding a red card is acceptable to you. Young Shivers requiring 5 staples on the back of his head as a result of a moneyglass player attacking him off the ball is acceptable to you. Thats not physicality mate, its not in tackles, its thuggery.

I had said if someone is properly hurt I don't agree , I was unaware of Shivers. The video I thought seemed an attempt to play the ball , I was not at the game but have heard mixed reports. Was the Red card for Michael not for a headbutt ? I know this has been overturned but I am sure they all weren't angels. A bit of bite about the championship is good and physicality but unfortunate to hear of lads sustaining serious injuries , was there an update on Tomas and expected return to play?

SlemishSoldier31

Only catching up on the news now but who would've thought it Mick McCann 3 game suspension completely eradicated to no suspension due to "Compelling evidence".

What a shame but really no surprise with how the county has been ran last 10/15 years. A big shame for our lads who if we were to go out and beat Creggan this week would've been coming up against a Cargin team without the McCann brothers.

We've had our own hard luck stories in recent years with big McVeigh missing multiple games for very similar incidents and his appeal wasn't so fortunate, but I guess you're up against it if you're not a McCann ;D

All jokes aside will look forward to hopefully getting to meet Cargin in the 1/4 finals and will just give us that extra bit of drive to go and beat them.

Caesar

On what grounds was the headbutt overturned? Or was that never actually what happened?

SlemishSoldier31

Quote from: Caesar on September 02, 2026, 03:31:18 PMOn what grounds was the headbutt overturned? Or was that never actually what happened?

You'd have to speak to someone a bit better connected than myself now if you're looking the answer to that one Caesar. I am a member of All Saints and that is about the height of it.

I am only only on to have a laugh with the Cargin supporters as we potentially play them in the 1/4 final, I am really not overly bothered about the whole situation. However after seeing the video I would love to hear from the people who made the decision what the "compelling evidence" was as from what I could see there was a clear headbutt from Cargin 14. Again there was so much going on from both sides that went unnoticed, but 2 wrongs don't make a right does not mean McCann's rightful suspension should be overturned

NorthAntrimSaff

Quote from: SlemishSoldier31 on September 02, 2026, 03:22:46 PMOnly catching up on the news now but who would've thought it Mick McCann 3 game suspension completely eradicated to no suspension due to "Compelling evidence".

What a shame but really no surprise with how the county has been ran last 10/15 years. A big shame for our lads who if we were to go out and beat Creggan this week would've been coming up against a Cargin team without the McCann brothers.

We've had our own hard luck stories in recent years with big McVeigh missing multiple games for very similar incidents and his appeal wasn't so fortunate, but I guess you're up against it if you're not a McCann ;D

All jokes aside will look forward to hopefully getting to meet Cargin in the 1/4 finals and will just give us that extra bit of drive to go and beat them.

squad depth and discipline a major problem

NatSoSaff

My my my, The All Saints brigade seem to be getting way ahead of themselves! I am hopeful of a stark reality check for them this weekend. We haven't lost too much sleep after a tough but fair loss to a good Jonnies side. Just weren't at it on the day. There'll be no repeat of that this time round.

As much as it would be easy to jump on the County's 'McCann favouritism' train, even I cant make an argument against that decision being overturned. I was at that game and I have seen the video. There was indeed a headbutt or 2, none coming from a Cargin player however. I agree with the previous poster, the way that Moneyglass team were sent out to 'play' was disgraceful, and quite laughable in fact, but for the fact a guy's season was ended as a result, not to mention the disruption to his work and personal life.

Hopefully some lessons are learned.

Ghost+Tommy

Quote from: Would ye whist on September 02, 2026, 02:16:57 PMSeems the people in authority, McCague thinks different as the ref is doing the big game this weekend Ports v Aghagallon
Before the refs get on their high horses on here,the quality off refs in antrim bar Colm Mc,Colly,KP the rest make it up as they go along,and that more so than ever applies to Murrays Grandson Roberts,was at the moneyglass/Cargin game and he was an absolute joke,the strike on Tomas,then I said at the time that the moneyglass man struck M Mc Cann,how he sent Mc Cann off,beggars belief,Good luck PG1/Aghagallon god knows what'll take place

Ghost+Tommy

This level of physicality and boil overs happen every other county regularly I don't see the issue. Have you seen the Tyrone leagues and championship!? Understandably if someone is properly hurt like Tomas was but from what I was told this was accidental ? At the same time in any video I have seen both teams were getting wellied into each other which was quite refreshing to see I think Antrim football is far too soft and letting a bit of physicality go won't do teams any harm.
Someone told me,you were playing YoungSaff 😉

Swsaffs

Quote from: MontyWM on August 27, 2026, 08:50:38 AMNot suprised this Antrim forum isnt lively, Id back carlow/longford football 100 times over antrim club football, complete dogwater.

This tool must've got his 5 mins of fun and pissed off, some people have to much time on their hands

Hectic

Some craic Slemish Soldier 😂

I'm sure you know well the end of the line is approaching this weekend.

NorthAntrimSaff

We are talking about referee quality for the senior games. Player welfare is important at every level regardless if its a SFC final or an 16c Prelim game

belfastsaff

any predictions for the weekend.......

Swsaffs

Quote from: belfastsaff on Today at 11:53:59 AMany predictions for the weekend.......

I'll take a stab in the dark

Tnn vs rossa. Rossa by 4
Dunloy vs Glenravel.  Dunloy by 8
Sairsfields vs Lamh dhearg. Ld by 18+
Pg1 vs Aghagallon. Aghagallon by 3
St Paul's vs St John's. St John's by 7
Creggan vs Ballymena.  Creggan by 4
Cargin va stalls.  Cargin by 9
Biddies vs mglass. Biddies by 7

Fancy Aghagallon to turn over the pg1 lads 
Cargin score based on no burnsy
Biddies score based on taking core players off to rest for 1/4 in last 10-15 mins
Other than that pretty straight forward

NorthAntrimSaff

Tnn vs rossa. Rossa by 6
Dunloy vs Glenravel.  Dunloy by 5 dual players rested
Sarsfields vs Lamh dhearg. Ld by 12
Pg1 vs Aghagallon. pg1 by 2
St Paul's vs St John's. St John's by 10
Creggan vs Ballymena.  Creggan by 8. tight 1st half wheels will fall off
Cargin va stalls.  Cargin by 7
Biddies vs mglass. Biddies by 13 moneyglass will be down men

SlemishSoldier31

My two pence on this weekends final round of Group games

Tnn vs rossa. Rossa by 6
Dunloy vs Glenravel.  Dunloy by 5
Sairsfields vs Lamh dhearg. Ld by 20+
Pg1 vs Aghagallon. Pg1 by 4
St Paul's vs St John's. St John's by 14
Creggan vs Ballymena.  Ballymena by 3
Cargin va stGalls.  Cargin by 8
Biddies vs mglass. Biddies by 11

Sticking by my prediction of our lads to do a number on Creggan. We have been building consistently for a few years now and this is where we will finally put a marker down in my opinion. Creggan are no big shakes seen them against St Johns very ordinary side and we should have nothing too fear after our performance in Corrigan.