All-Ireland Senior Football final - Kerry v Dublin 18/09/2011

Started by Dinny Breen, August 22, 2011, 06:06:06 PM

Great quote in the IT

"It's coming to me," said Dublin's Bernard Brogan, whose father had played in that 1976 match.
"I couldn't believe it after the game. I didn't know where I was and I had to ask someone who scored the last point. The emotion took over and I couldn't understand what had happened. It is an unbelievable feeling."

Shamrock rovers is great and all but the GAA is in a different space altogether

southsidejohnny

Hi Gold, Connolly was  born and raised in Leitrim, played U 14 with them. Moved to Dublin at 16 and threw his lot in with the Dubs. Colm O Rourke did same with Meath. I think Connolly got a small farm near Ballsbridge.

Well done Dubs, a fine win in difficult circumstances - one to be proud of and enjoy.

A fascinating match for the neutral - wonderful defensive play by both sides, nice patient build-up play by both sides, great intensity for spells by both sides and some lovely score-taking.  Both sides had periods of almost complete dominance.  And then the match hinged on a small number of mistakes (in my opinion): (1) poor possession play by Kerry in the midfield area (allied with the defense being out of position, when the ball was lost), (2) poor refereeing that allowed Brennan to stay on the field twice for two individual red-card offenses, and (3) Kerry taking off Brosnan at the time when they needed him most. 

Nolan and Donaghy's points late in the game were just wonderful, wonderful scores.  For what someone earlier said was a poor midfield display, MOTM for me was between Sheehan and MacAuley, with a strong mention for Darren O'Sullivan.

Fair play to the Dubs.  Congrats to heffo, INDIANA, Canalman and the rest.  Dublin were the better team for about 55-60 mins of that game and not many teams would have been able to come from 4 down with 7 mins left against Kerry.  How many times have we seen Kerry in that position run out winners by 7 or 8 in that position??  Dubs were deserved winners, no question.

In terms of skills, play etc I didn't think it was a classic, but in terms of excitement, intensity, entertainment you couldn't take your eyes off it.  Two great goals, some great tackling and great defensive play by both teams.

No-one who's a GAA fan could begrudge Alan Brogan and Stephen Cluxton All Irelands.

Congrats again.

Quote from: ross4life on September 18, 2011, 11:17:52 PM
Sunday game MOTM Kevin Nolan & there Team of the Year

1. S.Cluxton (Dublin)
2. M. Ó Sé (Kerry)
3. N. McGee (Donegal)
4. R. O'Carroll (Dublin)
5. K. Cassidy (Donegal)
6. K. Lacey (Donegal)
7. K. Nolan (Dublin)
8. B. Sheehan (Kerry)
9. J. Doyle (Kildare)
10. Darren O'Sullivan (Kerry)
11. A. Brogan (Dublin)
12. P. Flynn (Dublin)
13. C. Cooper (Kerry)
14. A. Moran (Mayo)
15. B. Brogan (Dublin)

funny seeing Donegal taking 50% of the defenders spots when each defender had @ least one forward back helping them out  :o

roll on the McKenna Cup

Congrats to the Dubs top o the morning and top of the world no doubt.  Fantastic spectacle similar frenzied finish to 2008 ai with more  drama. Dubs deserved it because they went for it more than Kerry who sat on it in the last 10.  Gaelic Football has now become an intriguing defensive and attacking game with savage intensity and I think yesterday highlighted that well, and once again exposed Pat Spillanes rants about the state of Gaelic Football as hogwash.    Heartbreaking for Kerry but they dont do defensive well and I think that might be the last of them for a generation.  A fantastic team over the last 10 years - possibly the second greatest team of all time, but their numbers up.  Tyrone would have beaten Kerry yesterday but wouldnt have been fit to handle Dublin, who were the best team by a long distance this year in Ireland.   By God they took some tough luck over the years to make yesterday a reality.  To me Cluxton stood up yesterday and showed himself as the soul and leader of the team.  Congrats and enjoy. 

Quote from: southsidejohnny on September 19, 2011, 09:31:55 AM
Hi Gold, Connolly was  born and raised in Leitrim, played U 14 with them. Moved to Dublin at 16 and threw his lot in with the Dubs. Colm O Rourke did same with Meath. I think Connolly got a small farm near Ballsbridge.

Unless Glasnevin is a principality of Leitrim, don't know why he was wearing it.  Now if he'd been wearing a Kilkenny top I could understand that.

LeppinMick

Quote from: southsidejohnny on September 19, 2011, 09:31:55 AM

Not sure about him playing u-14 with Leitrim but his Dad was from Leitrim and his bro plays hurling with Leitrim (so obviously it was only a matter of time until an all-ireland medal came into the house!)

Just wanted to mention - While the ref had a poor enough game, his decisions evened up over the duration of the match.
What had me very annoyed at times was the diving antics of darran osullivan. Every time he was touched, his two legs straightened and he hit the deck as if poleaxed. One dublin player did this also though I cant remember who it was, but O'Sullivan was a disgrace imo.
I have yet to watch the game a second time to confirm this, but that was my initial reaction.
A good example of where a ref can sort out messing going on - Aidan O'Mahoney was acting the mick for a while in the first half, pushing, hitting pulling players etc - but the ref eventually booked him for something harmless but for me this was the ref sending out a message to him to stop his messing and persistent fouling. It worked.
Thats how to deal with any of this kind of ould craic in a game, and for that well done to the ref.

Enjoyed the match yesterday - but was not surprised to hear spillane et al refuse to criticise Kerry for their Donegal esque tactics of having one man in the Dublin half of the field multiple times and alaso that they worked the bal up to Dublins 45 metre line and then played the ball backwards into their own defence. I recall Donegal getting lambasted for that !
Dublin were also defensive but again no criticism.
Dublin deserved their win and for a while I thought they might let it slip. Thankfully not.
my pre game prediction of them holding the kerry attack and winning by a point maybe two proved correct.
Couldnt believe all the papers and build up citing previous years stats and games earlier this season pointing to a Kerry win. Not when Kerry only played one meaningful game all year and that was against a cork side that were only interested in the second half.

Well done Dublin.......but u will never be forgiven for 95 final. Will be a sweet day this time next yr when we take sam off ur good selves in style.

fearglasmor

Quote from: seafoid on September 19, 2011, 09:25:14 AM
Great quote in the IT

"It's coming to me," said Dublin's Bernard Brogan, whose father had played in that 1976 match.
"I couldn't believe it after the game. I didn't know where I was and I had to ask someone who scored the last point. The emotion took over and I couldn't understand what had happened. It is an unbelievable feeling."

Shamrock rovers is great and all but the GAA is in a different space altogether

Bernard Brogan also claimed that he stayed in the "centre circle" and just didnt want to leave the pitch.  Obviously his mind was on something else.

fearglasmor

Kerry did just what Donegal did and paid the same price. Why oh why did they insist on handpassing sideways and backways  instead of getting the ball into Donaghy and Cooper  ?

And whats more its nothing new. 29 years ago they were 4 points up on Offaly and on the verge of history when they fell back inviting Offaly on to them. Points from questionable frees and a late goal undo them again.

I'm afraid that any team that ever tries to defend again is going to be 'doing a Donegal'. Any crossfield pass, backwards free, or successful quick kick-out by the opposition will be used a justification, by comparison, for Donegal's tactics.

People love arguing in extremis but at no stage yesterday did I see 13 men retreat into their own half for an opposition kickout. I saw both teams compete for kickouts and both teams fight for breaking ball, something Donegal conceded. Dublin, in particular, attacked at pace and in numbers something Donegal supporters didn't see this year.

Both teams fielded what we would recognise as relatively orthodox defensive systems while even Donegal cheerleaders on here admitted to being intrigued and fascinated by Donegal's system. One would have to presume that they found it different in some way.

There are some who admire Donegal's tactics, fair enough, everyone is entitled to their opinions. But please don't tell us that every team that defends is somehow justifying Donegal's tactics.

fearglasmor

Is refusing to attack when you have posession of the ball the same thing as defending  ??

I wouldnt have any problem with any defensive tactics when th eopposition has the ball provided you have the courage to use the ball when you have posession of it.

Strange argument muppet.  Just as it isnt anything thats peculiar to Donegal, despite what the Nualas argue, a team can freeze and become coservative and not get the ball in.  Donegal did it in the semi and Kerry did it in the final.  Same result.  Dublin the braver team with more composure going forward won.  Because Pat Spillane promotes lazy analysis which does influence the mindset of even the most sensible watcher Im gonna leave this game with this thought...  "Kerry dont win tight ai finals." where the opposition work hard and dont bow down.   Discuss..