All-Ireland Senior Football final - Kerry v Dublin 18/09/2011

Started by Dinny Breen, August 22, 2011, 06:06:06 PM

haveaharp

Quote from: The Hill is Blue on August 29, 2011, 12:45:48 AM
Quote from: haveaharp on August 29, 2011, 12:36:36 AM
Quote from: ross4life on August 28, 2011, 06:45:54 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 28, 2011, 06:35:24 PM
What odds would ye reckon Kerry by 15+ will be?
Kerry by 16 or more is 33/1 with PP

its worth a punt, this final could be mayoesque

Definitely – I'll be out tomorrow to get my fiver on.

How long are you watching gaelic football?

Long enough to remember your last championship form against Kerry.

haveaharp

Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 29, 2011, 12:45:22 AM
Yerra we might not even send up the bus to collect Sam if the bookies are to be believed. Just ship him down to the Gooch and cancel the final.

He will still get an all star for his performance in the final, been quiet all year but class is class.

Will Dublin's usual referee, Joe McQuillan, get the final now?

I hope Dublin win. Getting a bit boring Kerry there all the time!

Lads, why are ye tipping Kerry by a huge margin? Just out of interest.

I can see Kerry winning, provided their forwards see enough of the ball, but I could easily make a case for Dublin as well, and would not be shocked if they won.

Just don't tell me it's on the basis of yesterday.

I think that Connolly will win an appeal for the following reasons

1 The dive. They will not want "playacting" rewarded
2 The fact that if a Kerry lad had done this his suspension would be up for the final (4 weeks) while the 2nd semi is only 3 weeks from final.(Expect Congress to revisit this anomaly).
3 The precedents already set (Thank you Frank Murphy)
4 I reckon Deegan will admit that the info given to him at the time wasn't really on the button
5 Fairness dictates that Dublin shouldnt be penalised again as they were in 1979 and the Papal visit.
6 The provocation.

However I acknowledge that Kerry will be over this like a rash and the easy option will be to give him the month suspension.

Having said that it won't be a travesty if he misses final as by the letter of the law he had to go (as did another 12 players on the day)

Quote from: Canalman on August 29, 2011, 10:44:47 AM

2 The fact that if a Kerry lad had done this his suspension would be up for the final (4 weeks) while the 2nd semi is only 3 weeks from final.(Expect Congress to revisit this anomaly).

Not true Canalman - straight red means you miss next game in same competition + time ban.

Frank Casey

I think that Connolly will win an appeal for the following reasons

1 The dive. They will not want "playacting" rewarded
3 The precedents already set (Thank you Frank Murphy)
4 I reckon Deegan will admit that the info given to him at the time wasn't really on the button
5 Fairness dictates that Dublin shouldnt be penalised again as they were in 1979 and the Papal visit.
6 The provocation.

However I acknowledge that Kerry will be over this like a rash and the easy option will be to give him the month suspension.

Having said that it won't be a travesty if he misses final as by the letter of the law he had to go (as did another 12 players on the day)

From the book - should be no way out....unless he has a Cork granny.

RULE 5 - AGGRESSIVE FOULS
Category II Infractions
5.1 To strike or attempt to strike an opponent with
arm, elbow, hand or knee.

5.2 To kick or attempt to kick an opponent, with
minimal force.
5.3 To behave in any way which is dangerous to
an opponent.
5.4 To spit at an opponent.
5.5 To contribute to a melee.
5.6 To use abusive language to a Referee, Umpire,
Linesman or Sideline Official.

PENALTY FOR THE ABOVE FOULS -
(i) Order offender off.
(ii) Free kick from where the foul occurred
except as provided under Exceptions of
Rule 2.2.

Suspensions for above Infractions are governed by
Rule 7.2 - Infractions, Official Guide, Part 1.
As a guide, the suspensions, in part, are outlined
below:
Category II
Minimum: 4 weeks Suspension in the same Code and
at the same Level, inclusive of the next Game in the
same Competition of that Competition Year, even if
that Game falls outside the Suspension time period.
KERRY 3:7

Quote from: Frank Casey on August 29, 2011, 10:53:43 AM

Category II Infractions

It can easily be interpreted as a more of a push than a strike.

What?

Hoganstand are saying that Connolly has no avenue of appeal.

Quote from: Hardy on August 29, 2011, 11:03:06 AM
Quote from: Frank Casey on August 29, 2011, 10:53:43 AM

Category II Infractions

It can easily be interpreted as a more of a push than a strike.

What?

The '79 season was shortened by a couple of weeks because of the Pope's visit in September. As a result, the suspension Jimmy Keaveney got after the Leinster final encapsulated both the semi-final and final, where normally it would only have included the semi-final.

Well done Dubin.  Stuck to it, adapted when needed and got the result.

QuoteThe romantic in me wants a Kerry v Dublin final but equally the thoughts of a Kerry v Donegal final fascinates me.

From Dinny at the start of the thread and this was the way I was feeling until I saw the game yesterday. 

Fair play to Donegal but their reluctance or inability to change system found them out in the end.  If Lacey had been able to finish, would the result have been any different?

Quote from: haveaharp on August 29, 2011, 12:47:30 AM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on August 29, 2011, 12:45:48 AM
Quote from: haveaharp on August 29, 2011, 12:36:36 AM
Quote from: ross4life on August 28, 2011, 06:45:54 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 28, 2011, 06:35:24 PM
What odds would ye reckon Kerry by 15+ will be?
Kerry by 16 or more is 33/1 with PP

its worth a punt, this final could be mayoesque

Definitely – I'll be out tomorrow to get my fiver on.

How long are you watching gaelic football?

Long enough to remember your last championship form against Kerry.

Cork in the football, Waterford and Limerick in the hurling would be other useful final comparrisons and Dublin v Kerry in the Championship.

Surely a Cork V Meath final would be a traditionalist final, at least they are close rivals.