Dublin v Kildare 26.6.11

Started by Blowitupref, June 05, 2011, 07:59:53 PM

How many of Kildare's scores were from play? I thought they had a few bad wides, but I'd still give them a good chance of hitting an average sized fish in a barrel. A bit hyperbolic and cliched there Indy.

The Brogans hit a few bad wide themselves today.

I think the better side on the day, just about, won, but it was a close thing, and Kildare needed to build momentum a bit earlier than they did. If they got the goal with 20 minutes left they'd have won I think.

Quote from: INDIANA on June 26, 2011, 09:20:18 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 26, 2011, 09:10:19 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 26, 2011, 09:00:40 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 26, 2011, 08:54:47 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on June 26, 2011, 08:45:45 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 26, 2011, 08:27:20 PM
Quote from: heffo on June 26, 2011, 08:21:24 PM
Commisserations to Kildare, but I won´t apologise for getting the decisions today.

Last years Leinster semi final Meath got three blatantly illegal goals and we had a perfect goal dissallowed.

Last years AI semi, Paul Kerrigan on three occassions grabbed the defenders arm and went to ground and Cork scored.

Sometimes you get the decisions and sometimes you don´t .

Bottom line remains Kildare have had two chances to beat us in the space of 24 months and have had an extra man for over seventy minutes of those two games and still haven´t beaten us.

A draw would´ve been a fair result but so would´ve last years AI semi final.

Dublin getting the rub of the green makes for a better headline.

No one wants a patronising apology thanks very much.

And the bottom line is that Dublin would not have won that game if wasn't for the referee.

O Gara wouldnt have got a yellow for this first challenge from a competent referee.

Kildare lost that game because their forwards cant shoot fish in a barrel.

Cribbing about the ref only covers up the glaring inadequacies in their team.

I've never hidden the inadequacies of this Dublin team behind a referee.

Dublin supporter lacking humility shocker!

Are you that stupid not to realise the referee won that game for Dublin through an awful game deciding decision, that's not your negative conjecture that is simple fact.

I'm simply outlining the facts that if the goal posts were located at the corner flags-the kildare forwards would all be allstars.

I've already said it wasnt a  free (shock-horror)

We were ridden rock solid by the ref against Cork last year yet I simply said Dublin werent good enough.

Thats the bottom line for me.

Kildare had an extra man for 30 mins, monopolised midfield and still couldnt win.

As I said Dinny- Joe Duffy is awaiting your call.

To be honest the Dublin marquee forwards were fairly shit today and worst wides than Kildare, at least the Kildare lads were under pressure.

Dublin could win the All-Ireland they still wouldn't good enough for you, to be honest your just a big ball of negative shit.

Any good honest Kildare man would't ring Joe Duffy, Cillian Whelan is our man...

Ah yes - insults Dinny. At the end of the day you're just a big girls blouse.

I'm from a county that had until the 90's a tradition of winning All-Irelands so we have high standards which we havent met since circa 1995. If that's negative that's fine.

I've lost more big games in the last 10 years then Kildare fans have and been hockeyed in a fair few of them but I've yet to blame a ref for any of them. Generally we havent been good enough. But I'm unlikely to whinge about it. That's life.

Overall I've always found Kildare fans more likely to blame the losing of games on solar eclipses rather then simply not getting the job done on the field of play.

Dublin and Kildare are on a pretty similar level. Good but not as good as the top 2. Dublin are short a Brian Mullins and Kildare are short 2 more John Doyles.

Kildare were well below par today hence the reason they weren't in it till the last 5 mins.

Hardly negative-  more realistic.

But as I said lets blame the ref. Its so much easier.

It's not realism, you look for the negative and ignore the positive.

Your lack of humility and grace in victory is either great wumming or just ignorance, I know where my money is.

Those Dublin footballers don't deserve having someone like you claiming to be a supporter because a supporter you certainly are not and your just a negative vortex sucking the life out of every post on this board.

crossfire

Quote from: Armaghgael on June 26, 2011, 06:50:05 PM
Kildare were robbed of a replay at least! >:( >:(

Again the ref centre of attention in yet another game. The Dubs got a serious amount of soft frees today.
The Dubs remind me abit like Crossmaglen in club games get all the big decisions for them. I felt gutted for Kildare players and mangement it seems to be a case of "so close but yet so far" I hope Geezer rallys the team for the qualifers and they go for long and successful summer.

What big decisions have Cross got of referees.? :o

It's a bit clichéd to base the whole analysis of this game on refereeing decisions. Referees have a disproportionate effect on the outcome of every game these days and a wrong decision leading to score is as important in the fifth minute as it is in the 72nd. For me, the outstanding feature of this game was the fact that Dublin, for once, held off the opponents' comeback and won a (fairly) big game having lost a comfortable lead near the end. They're bound to draw strength from that and will no doubt view it as a monkey off their back.

Quote from: INDIANA on June 26, 2011, 09:21:53 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on June 26, 2011, 09:19:31 PM
Lads I wouldn't get annoyed about indy's opinions - they are about the least credible on this board (and that is quite an insult).
No matter how learned or insightful he likes to project himself as, there's rarely an ounce of truth in his thoughts. Look out too for the 'look how off the wall my ideas are' predictions which rarely get resurrected after games...
Usually spot on with his hindsight glasses though.

I would add a caveat- 2nd least credible in fariness. You forgot to include yourself as the least credible. :D
You're the most pulled poster for bullshitting, no doubt about it.

QuoteIt's a bit clichéd to base the whole analysis of this game on refereeing decisions. Referees have a disproportionate effect on the outcome of every game these days and a wrong decision leading to score is as important in the fifth minute as it is in the 72nd.

Your point has a lot of validity but a free in the 5th while changing the dynamic leaves time for the mistake to be rectified whereas a free in the 72nd is game not only changes the dynamic but decides the game. You have to contextualise in this instance. Common sense is just coached out of these referees.

Groucho

Ridiculous decision at the end for the free :o
I like to see the fairways more narrow, then everyone would have to play from the rough, not just me

Armaghgael

Quote from: crossfire on June 26, 2011, 09:34:37 PM
Quote from: Armaghgael on June 26, 2011, 06:50:05 PM
Kildare were robbed of a replay at least! >:( >:(

Again the ref centre of attention in yet another game. The Dubs got a serious amount of soft frees today.
The Dubs remind me abit like Crossmaglen in club games get all the big decisions for them. I felt gutted for Kildare players and mangement it seems to be a case of "so close but yet so far" I hope Geezer rallys the team for the qualifers and they go for long and successful summer.

What big decisions have Cross got of referees.? :o

You get every 50/50 call going :P :P
If in doubt.......take man and ball!

Sunday game are analyising the so called free that won the game for Dublin today. No free IMO. In saying that Dublin looked to be the better team. Heartbreaking for Kildare all the same. It'll take a lot of work to get them lifted again for the next day.

There's bound to be somebody in the Leinster council not very happy with the referee not blowing the game up at a draw and getting another day out and another big payday for them.

Quote from: heffo on June 26, 2011, 08:21:24 PM
Commisserations to Kildare, but I won´t apologise for getting the decisions today.

Last years Leinster semi final Meath got three blatantly illegal goals and we had a perfect goal dissallowed.

Last years AI semi, Paul Kerrigan on three occassions grabbed the defenders arm and went to ground and Cork scored.

Sometimes you get the decisions and sometimes you don´t .

Bottom line remains Kildare have had two chances to beat us in the space of 24 months and have had an extra man for over seventy minutes of those two games and still haven´t beaten us.

A draw would´ve been a fair result but so would´ve last years AI semi final.

Dublin getting the rub of the green makes for a better headline.

Which three goals were these?

Is it OK to criticise the ref on a GAA Discussion board ?  I think not, so I won't but, if I was to be critical of the ref today I would say he was a complete donkey, from start to finish.  Dub's, did admit before the game, they have enough Leinsters and the players themselves would not begrudge Kildare one.  However, when you get a looney like that ref today and give him a whistle, and to deprive someone like Johnny Doyle, or, what could have been Dermot Early from winning a Leinster medal they might never get,  then that ref today was a disgrace.  When I see Gardai walking onto the pitch and escorting a ref off to the other side of the field (Cusack) as if he was some kind of criminal there is something wrong with our games - that being, selection of refeeres.

Like I said, I don;t think I am allowed to be critical of the ref here but he had not got a clue as to what he was about, from start to finish, the last minue of injury time only compounded the fact.  Hopefully he will relax in Morrisseys pub in Abbeyleix before Laois play Kildare.  Bad as Laois were against the Dub's we might have some chance. 

Quote from: Bud Wiser on June 26, 2011, 10:37:55 PM
Is it OK to criticise the ref on a GAA Discussion board ?  I think not, so I won't but, if I was to be critical of the ref today I would say he was a complete donkey, from start to finish.  Dub's, did admit before the game, they have enough Leinsters and the players themselves would not begrudge Kildare one.  However, when you get a looney like that ref today and give him a whistle, and to deprive someone like Johnny Doyle, or, what could have been Dermot Early from winning a Leinster medal they might never get,  then that ref today was a disgrace.  When I see Gardai walking onto the pitch and escorting a ref off to the other side of the field (Cusack) as if he was some kind of criminal there is something wrong with our games - that being, selection of refeeres.

Like I said, I don;t think I am allowed to be critical of the ref here but he had not got a clue as to what he was about, from start to finish, the last minue of injury time only compounded the fact.  Hopefully he will relax in Morrisseys pub in Abbeyleix before Laois play Kildare.  Bad as Laois were against the Dub's we might have some chance.

Brilliant Bud!!
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

What was the story with Coldrick anyway?

Reillers

Quote from: Bud Wiser on June 26, 2011, 10:37:55 PM

Read an article in the indo the other day, questioning the right of fans to abuse amateur players after a bad performance, should the same be said about refs.
Incompetent was the best way to put his performance today, months and months of hard work, of winter training, hard graft in the pissing rain and mud. All of that undermined by one incompetent referee.

You could argue all day along that Kildare had all match long to put away Dublin etc. They could have done this, should have done that, but at the end of the day they didn't, and were still in the game but one mans incompetency cost Kildare the game. That's the long and short of it. No ifs and buts, facts. Fact is, he made a terrible decision, it was the last play of the game, and Dublin won directly because of that decision.

I'm all for fairness, and not acting like a soccer crowd in England, but too many times we see pathetic refereeing displays cost teams games. Players work too hard, and too long for someone else's stupidity to cost them their season.

It's not good enough, plain and simple.

And it wasn't good enough in Cork on Saturday when Offaly were robbed by the born again strikers.  The only difference now betweeen GAA and Soccer is that Police/ Gardai have to escort our refs off the pitch.