Paddy O'Rourke Out!

Started by tevez, February 28, 2011, 10:29:29 PM

He's done the job. Credit where credit is. due.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Orangemac

Fair play to Paddy. He deserves lots of credit for tonights result and performance.

Have always felt that we have good enough players to be in top 8 or so in the country. Still not sure if Paddy is the man to get the best out of them but a few more performances like tonight and I would be happy to be proved wrong.

Performance tonight certainly displels rumours about unrest in camp.

It all clicked for Armagh tonight. My sources have suggested the players discontent over the last few months against the management team has brought the players closer together. Maybe in spite of management?
Regardless, Paddy got it all right today so fair play. Let's see where they end up.

I am still to be convinced about him as the manager to take this team where it needs to be.  I don't think it is a coincidence that the forwards played better after Oisin was brought in, nor do I see it a coincidence that CV played a strong game after McGrane being there for some work.  Maybe this is a trend that POR will continue, it was something that JK did with us in Cross quite a lot, he realised he didn't know everything.  If POR tales this approach and manages in a Clive Woodward style then I would welcome that.  If he can do that then he deserves to be recognised as a good manager.  One swallow does not make a summer though.

oakleafgael

Quote from: ck on May 29, 2011, 12:46:08 AM
It all clicked for Armagh tonight. My sources have suggested the players discontent over the last few months against the management team has brought the players closer together. Maybe in spite of management?
Regardless, Paddy got it all right today so fair play. Let's see where they end up.

My sources have suggested that you talk a serious amount of shite.

randomtask

Quote from: ck on May 29, 2011, 12:46:08 AM

Holy jesus give the man some credit, are you seriously trying to say the reason the team won yesterday was to spite the management? you do chat some brown.

borderfox

Nostalgia isn't what it used to be.

wearing an armagh hat changes nothing i'm not convinced yet i think the arrival of oisin and mcgrane was forced on paddy probably by the county board and the need for some change, had down won paddy may as well got on the bus home with them for it would have been the safest place for him. the test will be in his team selection for the next match hes liable to revert to the old style handpassing crap at the drop of an armagh hat

BerfArmagh

Well done Paddy, tactics and team set-up were spot on Saturday night. Credit where credit is due. A sign of a good manager is to see his/her failing & bring in a support team to fill the gaps.

Like many I seriously doubted Paddy was up to the task. I was however heartened by the early signs last year only to be totally dismayed by the performance against Derry. Saturday night was a return to that early style of play and good to see. I still have doubts, but a good manager recognises his own failings and drafts in people who can help so fair play to him for that. A similsr performance and result against Derry is now required so here's hoping. A repeat against Derry is a must.

whitegoodman

Quote from: Take Your Points on May 30, 2011, 07:55:50 PM
I could have stood on the sideline and waved both arms in urging the players forward and they would still have won so long as I had an experienced conditioning coach, an AI winning manager to coach the defence and give advice and the services of two of Armagh's most experienced and best players of the last twenty years available to coach the forwards and the midfield.

There is still a chaotic approach to the overall management but the combination of all those present was more than enough to put on a great display and hammer the old enemy.

No u couldnt as u think county players would have to same respect for an nameless poster on a gaa forum compared to a multi all ireland winner who has also coached club teams to numerous championships and taken an armagh team that is in transition to a division 2 title and kept them in the first division without the cross contingent or arguably their best player.

What exactly is on ur CV again that ur think of motivating a team to the same level as POR does??

Quote from: whitegoodman on May 30, 2011, 08:12:07 PM

Quote from: Take Your Points on May 30, 2011, 07:55:50 PM
I could have stood on the sideline and waved both arms in urging the players forward and they would still have won so long as I had an experienced conditioning coach, an AI winning manager to coach the defence and give advice and the services of two of Armagh's most experienced and best players of the last twenty years available to coach the forwards and the midfield.

There is still a chaotic approach to the overall management but the combination of all those present was more than enough to put on a great display and hammer the old enemy.

No u couldnt as u think county players would have to same respect for an nameless poster on a gaa forum compared to a multi all ireland winner who has also coached club teams to numerous championships and taken an armagh team that is in transition to a division 2 title and kept them in the first division without the cross contingent or arguably their best player.

What exactly is on ur CV again that ur think of motivating a team to the same level as POR does??

Our TYP isnt without some management experience. Whats yours?

whitegoodman

None but I'm not claiming to be able to do the same job as por ffs. Maybe the armagh county board should look here for their next manager saying as there are so many experts on here

NP 76

Take Your Points all he has done with yous boys is win a game against Down . No one said he was a great coach or manager if they did they didnt follow Down when he was manager . We couldnt wait to get rid of him just like all you boys until saturday night now he seems to be a folk hero with you all

POR, Oisin McConville, Paul McGrane, Donal Murtagh, McGurn ... not a bad management and backup team in anyone's books.