Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 05, 2011, 03:24:26 PM
Quote from: ck on March 05, 2011, 03:22:06 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 05, 2011, 03:19:20 PM
Quote from: ck on March 05, 2011, 03:16:31 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 05, 2011, 12:32:20 PM
Quote from: ck on March 04, 2011, 11:38:25 PM
Yeah I appreciate the centenary thing and the return to the old format but surely there are better ways to celebrate the 100 years than slogging the life out of lads. 3 games in 3 days. Mad. I'll be interested to see what the final is like. I heard that UCC have 3 bad injuries, 2 of which are their captain and vice captain. Tough going.
Sigerson is a GAA treasure IMO.

Are you serious?

Yeah very serious. What other competition has a combination of county stars from different counties along with quality club players, playing in their prime around 21 years old? I just think its a complete sham that they are asked to play 3 days in a row. Completely de-values the whole thing

Railway Cup??

"along with quality club players" !!

I know of players that have played Railway cup and couldn't get on their County team that season.  Johnny McIntosh From Antrim

LOL who the hell is Johnny McIntosh?! I assume you are refferring to hurling? Hardly the same as football!! Especially in Ulster!

Quote from: ck on March 05, 2011, 03:38:16 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 05, 2011, 03:24:26 PM
Quote from: ck on March 05, 2011, 03:22:06 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 05, 2011, 03:19:20 PM
Quote from: ck on March 05, 2011, 03:16:31 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 05, 2011, 12:32:20 PM
Quote from: ck on March 04, 2011, 11:38:25 PM
Yeah I appreciate the centenary thing and the return to the old format but surely there are better ways to celebrate the 100 years than slogging the life out of lads. 3 games in 3 days. Mad. I'll be interested to see what the final is like. I heard that UCC have 3 bad injuries, 2 of which are their captain and vice captain. Tough going.
Sigerson is a GAA treasure IMO.

Are you serious?

Yeah very serious. What other competition has a combination of county stars from different counties along with quality club players, playing in their prime around 21 years old? I just think its a complete sham that they are asked to play 3 days in a row. Completely de-values the whole thing

Railway Cup??

"along with quality club players" !!

I know of players that have played Railway cup and couldn't get on their County team that season.  Johnny McIntosh From Antrim

LOL who the hell is Johnny McIntosh?! I assume you are refferring to hurling? Hardly the same as football!! Especially in Ulster!

Completely different to Football, it involves a Caman and a sliotar, centuries old and the fastest team field sport in the world
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Sigerson football as a spectacle is overrated. Yes there are big names but watching that UUJ side today you'd think they'd never played together. Too many individuals, especially for UUJ.

Quote from: Family guy on March 05, 2011, 03:36:19 PM
Poor showing if you were a uuj forward today bar maybe mcmanus who showed well,out of there 7 points 4 was scored by the defenders from play,talk of mattie donnelly should be starting for tyrone should never be mentioned again please

Surely that last statement is a bit sweeping based on one poor performance. Donnelly would definitely make a quality inter county player.

Donnelly's point off his left foot in the 2nd half today was just pure class.

He's a fantastic footballer IMO.

Quote from: shark on March 05, 2011, 03:34:48 PM
Niall Daly from Roscommon looks a super player. Well done UCC

Was going to say the same but didn't want to sound biased great to see him win a Sigerson Cup medal.

Anyways over the 60mins the best team won well done UCC

Family guy

Quote from: omagh_gael on March 05, 2011, 05:53:46 PM
Quote from: Family guy on March 05, 2011, 03:36:19 PM
Poor showing if you were a uuj forward today bar maybe mcmanus who showed well,out of there 7 points 4 was scored by the defenders from play,talk of mattie donnelly should be starting for tyrone should never be mentioned again please

Surely that last statement is a bit sweeping based on one poor performance. Donnelly would definitely make a quality inter county player.
[/quote

Thats ok might have been a bit harsh i admit but for you to say he would definitley make a quality inter county player is madness,how or what would make him a quality intercounty player.His man had him al day long,and donnelly was lucky he didnt walk the amount of fouling he did

Quote from: ross4life on March 05, 2011, 05:59:13 PM
Quote from: shark on March 05, 2011, 03:34:48 PM
Niall Daly from Roscommon looks a super player. Well done UCC

Was going to say the same but didn't want to sound biased great to see him win a Sigerson Cup medal.

Anyways over the 60mins the best team won well done UCC

I thought the opposite but thought UUJ just kicked themselves out of it

UUJ can't really argue with much conviction that they were the best team after scoring 0-7 in over 60 minutes of football.

Brutal game of football for what seemed to be decent conditions and especially with Jtown having a 'star studded' attack.

Have to say UCC worked their asses off and were full value for the victory in my opinion and by far the better team!! Jordanstown looked like a bunch of lads at a trial match with all of them playing for themselves, indeed some of them should be ashamed for that performance it was awful.

I would also agree with someone about Mattie Donnelly . . . the lad has a long way to go to make it on the intercounty scene and if he produced a performance like that for Tyrone Mickey Harte wouldn't have let him see the 2nd half!!

redandblack4ever

Just finished watching the Sigerson Final on TG4. I thought the team that played the better football over 60 minutes won in the end. It was far from a dazzling display from either side though.

Does anyone know what team has won the most Sigerson's over the course of this competion?

One other thing, why did UCC choose to place the "Death's Head" insignia on their jerseys? As an American who had an uncle die in France fighting the SS Panzers during the Battle of the Bulge seeing that insignia is rather disturbing.

Mrs. redandblack4ever
"A nation of sheep will beget a government of wolves."Edward R. Murrow,American Jounalist,1908-1965

Tony Daily

lads ye are all commenting on the final like its a normal game - this was these lads 3rd game in 3 days - how the f**k to ye expect lads to be fresh and able to show their full potential after 3 games in 3 days - you hear professionals all over the world saying they are playing 2 many games in short of periods of time without enough rest - and we have posters on here giving out about the standard of football - fair play to both teams - decent game under very hard circumstances - Sigerson is about unity of purpose and a team efort - not idividuals. 

Quote from: redandblack4ever on March 05, 2011, 07:15:32 PM
Just finished watching the Sigerson Final on TG4. I thought the team that played the better football over 60 minutes won in the end. It was far from a dazzling display from either side though.

Does anyone know what team has won the most Sigerson's over the course of this competion?

One other thing, why did UCC choose to place the "Death's Head" insignia on their jerseys? As an American who had an uncle die in France fighting the SS Panzers during the Battle of the Bulge seeing that insignia is rather disturbing.

Mrs. redandblack4ever

That's their normal insignia Mrs r&b and would seem to be something to do wit their students union:

http://collegeroad.ie/clubs/index.html

Any craic

Sigerson Cup 2011 REVIEW!
http://www.jeromequinnmedia.com/watch/Super-Sigerson-2011-Ulster-Bank-Sigerson-Cup-REVIEW-384
Watch a collection of images and interviews from the 2011 Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup Competition at UCD.

The compiliation includes the Ulster Bank Trench Cup, the Ulster Bank Corn na MacLeinn Cup, and all games in the Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup.

UCC's three-game run to an historic success in Centenary year features strongly, with captain Adrian Greaney, coach Billy Morgan and James Fitzpatrick.

The video also has scores from other games featuring UUJ, NUIG, NUIM and UCD.

Quote from: redandblack4ever on March 05, 2011, 07:15:32 PM

Mrs. redandblack4ever

I assume you found 'Pirates of the Caribbean' equally disturbing.