FF
FG
LAB
SF
Others
Greens
Not going to Vote

Irish Times Poll: 21/02/2011
FG 37 +4
Lab 19 -5
FF 16 +1
SF 11 -1
Green 2 +1
Other 15

Indo today was all but anointing Enda.

If he is Taoiseach they will say they caled it right.

If he loses they will hang him a la Neil Kinnock.

A week ago I was predicting Labour/FF/others as Government. Looking less likely but not impossible if FF claw back up into the low 20% area.

Wildest of wildcards: FG/SF?

SF has shown up North that they are not averse to imposing cuts so the ideology is not as far apart as it might seem. It might also suit FG when they talk to the EU about the bailout rate.

Funny outside mass earlier in Blackrock. Both Barry Andrews and Mary Hanafin were there canvassing.

The body language was awful. But it would seem that from people I have spoken to that the vote will go the FF to keep Boyd Barrett out. Main FG candidate wants Blackrock to vote for running mate in late election strategy. Will it work. Probably. Gilmore wont take Demi Moore sorry Ivana Bacik over the line.

Dun Laoghaire

FG 2
Lab 1
FF 1

Would love to put something like this up in the window  :D

Ulick

Quote from: muppet on February 20, 2011, 11:15:23 PM

Wildest of wildcards: FG/SF?

Would be worth it just to see the reaction of the Sindo and the rest of 'Sir' Tonys Irish rags.

Poc me

I'm just looking at some of the polls that have come out over the past few days here and while I'm not surprised i'm a bit disappointed to see that Fianna Fáil are as high in the polls as they are. It seems all their huff and puff of the last few weeks is beginning to work. Although to be honest I think that people hacve found it very hard to give up their allegiances to their 'family' parties and while they are saying in public that FF are a disgrace etc. etc. they'll still vote for them...

Another interesting point of the polls is the position of Sinn Féin. Labour seem to be suffering a similar fate to the Lib Dems in the Westminster elections were a lot of people were saying they'd get hugs increases but overall this didn't materialise.

Anyway...back to SF. Do people think that the predicted 12 seats are achievable or do they think this is a big underestimation or over-estimation? It is very difficult ot measure how successul SF will be because they ahve fluctuated a bit on the polls. It would appear that campaigns to concentrate on Gerry Adams' past by the Sindo and FF amonsgt others are having the desired effect in some quarters. In my view this is pathetic gutter politics but again i'm not surprised by those employing these tactics.

Quote from: Poc me on February 21, 2011, 10:51:08 AM
I'm just looking at some of the polls that have come out over the past few days here and while I'm not surprised i'm a bit disappointed to see that Fianna Fáil are as high in the polls as they are. It seems all their huff and puff of the last few weeks is beginning to work. Although to be honest I think that people hacve found it very hard to give up their allegiances to their 'family' parties and while they are saying in public that FF are a disgrace etc. etc. they'll still vote for them...

Another interesting point of the polls is the position of Sinn Féin. Labour seem to be suffering a similar fate to the Lib Dems in the Westminster elections were a lot of people were saying they'd get hugs increases but overall this didn't materialise.

Anyway...back to SF. Do people think that the predicted 12 seats are achievable or do they think this is a big underestimation or over-estimation? It is very difficult ot measure how successul SF will be because they ahve fluctuated a bit on the polls. It would appear that campaigns to concentrate on Gerry Adams' past by the Sindo and FF amonsgt others are having the desired effect in some quarters. In my view this is pathetic gutter politics but again i'm not surprised by those employing these tactics.

Sindo did a u-turn yesterday presenting a man that they ridiculed for nearly a decade as a statesman. It amazes me how some Irish people allow that paper to influence their thinking.

sorry lads, back again after a weekend of drunkeness in Nottingham. I gathered the results of our last predictions on Friday, and here they are. The overall count of seats predicted is 101 at this stage, with only 5 Munster and the 12 Dublin constituencies left.

At this point, 51 seats would be overall majority territory, but Fine Gael have actually gone backwards in seat percentage terms following the latest results. They are..

Fine Gael 39
Fianna Fail 21
Sinn Fein 20
Labour 14
Other 7

The results from the 4 constituencies most recently predicted are

Very poor turn-out in some of those constituencies AZ; but I have some theories: (a) Mickey Martin can't afford to give lifts to the OAPs, (b) SF are too cocky to use the voting cards of the deceased, and (c) no-one gives a shit anymore. 

There is always a twist or turn in the last week of an election. McDowell's intervention stopping FF getting an overall majority springs to mind. Didn't stop them getting together in Government.

Any predictions as to what major promise will change the course of this one?

My predictions:
FG: This week will announce plan to sell RTE to Sinn Fein.
Labour: Will promise increase education spending so that An Gaeilgoir can learn to spell 'official'
SF: Gerry Adams will announce a promise to downgrade Moody's and S&P.
FF: Martin will challenge all leaders to a tv nude debate at the forty foot.

Ulick

Anyone know what's to stop Gilmore and Martin attacking SF in the debate tomorrow night when Adams is not going to be present?

Quote from: Ulick on February 21, 2011, 02:37:58 PM
Anyone know what's to stop Gilmore and Martin attacking SF in the debate tomorrow night when Adams is not going to be present?
The fact that Gilmore is a former member?

Quote from: AZOffaly on February 21, 2011, 01:02:09 PM
sorry lads, back again after a weekend of drunkeness in Nottingham.

Did ye manage to kit him out or is it a case of what goes on tour stays on tour?

On a different issue, I know there's a ban on GAA property being used for party political purposes but does anyone know if there any rule on GAA crests being used on political leaflets, etc? Reason I ask is Robert Troy of Fianna Fáil was handing out "No.1" leaflets outside Cusack Park yesterday with the Westmeath GAA crest and the fixtures for the year. I presume he had the permission for that from the county board (at a price I hope) but if there's a rule on property it should also extend to digital & print media.