FF
FG
LAB
SF
Others
Greens
Not going to Vote

Seems Labour have locked away Joan Burton for the moment. Which is a good thing.

Jesus, that woman drives me demented.

If Gilmore comes to my door I'll tell him he has my number 1 if, when he gets into cabinet, that they appoint Burton junior minister for Tasmanian affairs, which involves moving to the feckin place.

Has anyone a good link for the runners and riders in the various constituencies. I found this one http://electionsireland.org/results/general/31stdail/candidates.cfm but I'm wondering if there's one where you can predict the results. It'd be an interesting debate/competition coming up to the election. See how close we are here.

Quote from: AZOffaly on February 02, 2011, 12:16:24 PM
Has anyone a good link for the runners and riders in the various constituencies. I found this one http://electionsireland.org/results/general/31stdail/candidates.cfm but I'm wondering if there's one where you can predict the results. It'd be an interesting debate/competition coming up to the election. See how close we are here.

Amazing list on that site. Of FF TDs elected in the last GE 22 of them are not standing this time. When you throw in those that will inevitably lose their seats this time that will be some turnover.

Back to the issues of Kenny's poor public performances (and Adam's if you are that way inclined). Why do we believe the media and think we need a cross between Billy Connolly and Tony Blair?

Look at Liam Mulvihill former Director General of the Gaa. He did his work behind the scenes without courting attention (compare with the various FAI heads). No national debates, daily press releases or photoshoots opening supermarkets as Lenihan and Harney seem to be forever doing. I'm sure with so many Gaa posters here there will be some who have had issues with Mulvihill, but imho they would be few and far between.

While I accept that a Taoiseach and Senior Ministers can't simply stay out of the public eye completely, Prime Time, Vincent Brown etc are simply vehicles for people who can shout loudly and sound like they are saying something. Hardly the basis for selecting people to run a country whose financial crisis is only beginning and will be studied worldwide for a century.

I accept that muppet, but surely a potential taoiseach should be able to calmly articulate their vision, and their party's vision, for the country and for the future without resorting to clichés, foostering and avoiding the questions.

Kenny appears to want to say nothing, ever, and wants to just look statesmanlike. I think he needs to reassure the country that he is a bright, capable, intelligent, articulate man. I've heard he is all of those things, so let the country see it.

I think picking on him because he doesn't know the ins and outs off all the policy positions is OTT, but he needs to show he has a firm grasp of the basics, and as I said, the general direction he wants to take the country.

Quote from: AZOffaly on February 02, 2011, 01:27:35 PM
I accept that muppet, but surely a potential taoiseach should be able to calmly articulate their vision, and their party's vision, for the country and for the future without resorting to clichés, foostering and avoiding the questions.

Kenny appears to want to say nothing, ever, and wants to just look statesmanlike. I think he needs to reassure the country that he is a bright, capable, intelligent, articulate man. I've heard he is all of those things, so let the country see it.

I think picking on him because he doesn't know the ins and outs off all the policy positions is OTT, but he needs to show he has a firm grasp of the basics, and as I said, the general direction he wants to take the country.

TBH I think he is punch drunk after years of abuse by the IN&M. I would prefer to see him come out fighting but even if he did it would only be a stunt and would hardly prove anything with regard to his ability to sort out the banking crisis.

BTW notice how the election 'debate' consensus seems to have decided that 'the issue is jobs'. No it isn't. It is  solvency. Everything else including jobs comes after that. Party strategists announcing 'job creation' by various policies are like announcing new recipes for potatoes during the famine.

An Gaeilgoir

Quote from: muppet on February 02, 2011, 01:44:34 PM

TBH I think he is punch drunk after years of abuse by the IN&M. I would prefer to see him come out fighting but even if he did it would only be a stunt and would hardly prove anything with regard to his ability to sort out the banking crisis.

BTW notice how the election 'debate' consensus seems to have decided that 'the issue is jobs'. No it isn't. It is  solvency. Everything else including jobs comes after that. Party strategists announcing 'job creation' by various policies are like announcing new recipes for potatoes during the famine.

These launch breifings are just like a marketing luanch. The populist issues like job creation, training etc. are what gets peoples attention. Subjects that are deeemed too technical and "Boring" are left until the second week. I know solvency is the main topic, but for the mass media and tobloids its all about jobs, jobs,jobs.

It's not complete. It only has 2 FG candidates for Cavan/Monaghan and they're actually running 4. Which seems a bit mad in itself. I assume they think they're 'guaranteed' two and think with 4 running, they can end up with 3. Seems a bit risky though.

They actually say it's not complete yet. The last day is the 9th.

Is it just me or is Eamonn Gilmore starting to look annoyingly smug at the moment

barelegs

http://fullhouse.whitebox.ie/

Excellent site AZ- I'm holding off finishing my predictions until just before the election.

Orangemac

While I would agree that he seems to be trying less hard to appear statesmanlike, it still comes across as forced. What is maybe more telling than the constant media criticism is that no previous Fine Gael govs have given him any senior ministries despite him being a TD since the mid 70s. He musn't have shone too brightly within the party.

If he can show some balls in negotiating with the E.U all doubts will quickly be forgotten. Ireland can't afford the money, they didn't borrow it. Surely a deal can be hammered out that involves senior bondholders taking a large hit. Otherwise default and hammer out a deal with the IMF alone.

Lies,Damned Lies and Statistics, are all that is being offered by FF,FG and Labour. Lies are also being employed to discredit anyone who attempts to place the truth into the debate. Not a party or factional truth, but the plain unvarnished substantiated truth,  that a default on the Bank Guarantee will occur within the next 6 months. The established parties, who have brought the Country too the brink of bankruptcy, have the sheer gall to question the economic competency of those who see through their waffle, and think that by repeating this big lie loud and often they will prevail. Truth at the end of the Day will ultimately prevail, then we will see who is laughing

Quote from: Orangemac on February 03, 2011, 12:04:50 AM

While I would agree that he seems to be trying less hard to appear statesmanlike, it still comes across as forced. What is maybe more telling than the constant media criticism is that no previous Fine Gael govs have given him any senior ministries despite him being a TD since the mid 70s. He musn't have shone too brightly within the party.

If he can show some balls in negotiating with the E.U all doubts will quickly be forgotten. Ireland can't afford the money, they didn't borrow it. Surely a deal can be hammered out that involves senior bondholders taking a large hit. Otherwise default and hammer out a deal with the IMF alone.

He was Minister for Tourism and Trade from 1994 to 1997. Don't be fooled that Tourism is now part of the minister for fun brief. His predecessor was McCreevy who became Finance Minister in 1997. It derived from the Minister for Energy position of the 1980s (don't ask me how).

As I remember, there was a view in Government circles between the mid 80s and mid 90s that the 'embellishment' of the economy's GDP was dependent on a thriving Tourism 'product'.  Thus the Minister for Tourism (and whatever)'s status became relatively elevated.

Quote from: barelegs on February 02, 2011, 08:25:09 PM

http://fullhouse.whitebox.ie/

Excellent site AZ- I'm holding off finishing my predictions until just before the election.

Good stuff barelegs.