Hardy Bucks

Started by MadMayo, October 10, 2010, 10:24:11 PM

watched it tonight and didn't laugh....

think its dung

I can see the lads appealing more to Connacht and maybe Munster folk, most of the comedy on RTE, TV3, BBC NI & UTV set in the North or East I just don't get and think is horsemuck, so it maybe just that.

southdown

The youtube episodes are much better than what RTE are showing.

MadMayo

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 20, 2010, 02:41:41 AM
I can see the lads appealing more to Connacht and maybe Munster folk, most of the comedy on RTE, TV3, BBC NI & UTV set in the North or East I just don't get and think is horsemuck, so it maybe just that.

Any monkey chats??

My theory - the generation gap in the appreciation of comedy is due to the fact that, at some stage, shock and cringe replaced wit and irony as the roots of comedy (and what used to be called humour) in the popular culture, as driven primarily by TV. It was a parallel to the punk movement in music but lagged it by a decade.

Punk music, to a greater extent than anything that went before, was about rebellion and difference and conscious rejection of the norms of music - tonality, melody, etc. This went to the extreme of rejection of any requirement for competence in the performance of the art itself. In the same way, new wave comedy rejected the traditional basic requirements of comedy (primarily, that it should make you laugh) with an emphasis on rebellion and shock value. I'd pinpoint "The Young Ones" as the first manifestation of it.

Thus people in their teens and twenties appreciate this kind of humour while the rest of us just stare with our mouths hanging open, failing to comprehend that, according to the current fashion, comedy is no longer required to make you laugh. Making you cringe is considered just as worthwhile.

it just made me never wanna go to mayo.... (but it was never in my plans anyway,, its a football thing,)

not saying our mayo posters are dour.. however i have met a few in my time and the craic is usually minus..

Quote from: Hardy on October 20, 2010, 11:17:23 AM
My theory - the generation gap in the appreciation of comedy is due to the fact that, at some stage, shock and cringe replaced wit and irony as the roots of comedy (and what used to be called humour) in the popular culture, as driven primarily by TV. It was a parallel to the punk movement in music but lagged it by a decade.

Punk music, to a greater extent than anything that went before, was about rebellion and difference and conscious rejection of the norms of music - tonality, melody, etc. This went to the extreme of rejection of any requirement for competence in the performance of the art itself. In the same way, new wave comedy rejected the traditional basic requirements of comedy (primarily, that it should make you laugh) with an emphasis on rebellion and shock value. I'd pinpoint "The Young Ones" as the first manifestation of it.

Thus people in their teens and twenties appreciate this kind of humour while the rest of us just stare with our mouths hanging open, failing to comprehend that, according to the current fashion, comedy is no longer required to make you laugh. Making you cringe is considered just as worthwhile.

You've something there alright - as a 'young' person I used to really enjoy and look forward to 'The Young Ones'.  I've seen it again recently and (apart from the bands playing in the kitchen) I didn't really enjoy it, or laugh. 

However, I think the 'cringe' factor has been more prevalent recently as a result of the success of 'The Office' - following 'The Young Ones', the 80s/90s was dominated by 'clever' comedies (that made people laugh) like 'Blackadder', 'Alan Partridge', 'Victor Meldrew' etc.  I think the crude, unfunny comedies has been spawned by the availability of satellite tv 'specialist' access to comedy, rather than it having to have broad (i.e. funny) appeal.  One thing's for sure, the era of 'Four Candles' humour is gone forever, sadly.

Quote from: Billys Boots on October 20, 2010, 11:49:22 AM
Quote from: Hardy on October 20, 2010, 11:17:23 AM

You've something there alright - as a 'young' person I used to really enjoy and look forward to 'The Young Ones'.  I've seen it again recently and (apart from the bands playing in the kitchen) I didn't really enjoy it, or laugh. 

However, I think the 'cringe' factor has been more prevalent recently as a result of the success of 'The Office' - following 'The Young Ones', the 80s/90s was dominated by 'clever' comedies (that made people laugh) like 'Blackadder', 'Alan Partridge', 'Victor Meldrew' etc.  I think the crude, unfunny comedies has been spawned by the availability of satellite tv 'specialist' access to comedy, rather than it having to have broad (i.e. funny) appeal.  One thing's for sure, the era of 'Four Candles' humour is gone forever, sadly.

Gone it may be but never forgotten!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCbvCRkl_4U

Youtube keeps us older folks happy!

Good piece in the Irish Times yesterday about why Lee Evans isn't funny (in the scribe's opinion).

For a moment I thought I was the only one.

Each to their own.

For the record Billy is spot on.

Quote from: leenie on October 20, 2010, 11:28:00 AM

it just made me never wanna go to mayo.... (but it was never in my plans anyway,, its a football thing,)

not saying our mayo posters are dour.. however i have met a few in my time and the craic is usually minus..

I know what you mean...Give my head peace had the same affect on me.

Quote from: ballinaman on October 20, 2010, 12:31:21 PM

Sickens my hole too ballinaman, shite "entertainment".  Hardy Bucks is funny in 10 minute slots, don't know if there is a whole show in it. 

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 20, 2010, 12:36:44 PM

Sickens my hole too ballinaman, shite "entertainment".  Hardy Bucks is funny in 10 minute slots, don't know if there is a whole show in it.

Ballinaman, thats exactly what I was on about, give my head peace was one of the most unfunny things I ever seen, but maybe thats coz I from the West not the North.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 20, 2010, 12:39:59 PM

Ballinaman, thats exactly what I was on about, give my head peace was one of the most unfunny things I ever seen, but maybe thats coz I from the West not the North.
I agree with you 100% but i was just trying to show(obviously not that well) how ridiculous it is to base an opinion on a place because of a tv piss take show.
Hardy bucks will have a limited lifespan I'm guessing, only so much they can do. Fair play to them though, complete amateurs taking the piss and ended up getting a show commissioned from it.

Quote from: fitzroyalty on October 19, 2010, 11:34:33 PM
Would consider myself a Bucks connouser but that was shite IMO...maybe I need to watch it again. The original interview web episode on which that was based was far funnier. They've changed some of the jokes and if anything it has made it less funny. The Viper's character is taking a bashing with these scripts, his original sayings were far better. It's also a bit more PC than I would like..

Snap. First episode was decent, but I didn't find many laughs in last night's. Glad Salmon is getting a good run out in the TV episodes, probably my favourite character.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 20, 2010, 12:39:59 PM

I'm northern and living eastern, and give my head peace was pathetic and the hardy bucks aren't funny either.  I'm obviously another relic who found the likes of blackadder et al funny.