AI Football Final 2010: An Corcaigh vs An Dún

Started by under the bar, August 23, 2010, 02:25:01 PM

Dubh driocht

Quote from: thewobbler on September 16, 2010, 10:32:56 PM
If Canty does start he'll not be fit to run around after any of the Down half-forwards. So he'd have to deployed as a sweeper. Probably in front of Coulter.

From a Down perspective, I can see Garvey and McKernan switching so that Garvey and King can put a two man wall in the direct line of Cork's running game. I'd also think that Down's best 3-4 athletes, the likes of Fitzpatrick, Hughes and Poland, will be under instructions to empty the tanks for 50 minutes, and that's their job done.

My biggest concern on Sunday is soft frees. I don't think Cork's attack has more than 8 points from play in it, and Down will balance off any goals if needed. But 5-6 unnecessary frees might be too big a challenge to get over. So keep your hands visible fellas.

Down by 4. Cork to get a couple of men sent of towards the death for dissent and handbags. Pete Fitz to be the real man of the match, martin Clarke to be the official one, Ronan Murtagh to bag 3 points.
Like this analysis Wobbler. Also like DF's take on Mc Comiskey and John Clarke. At least one of these men will score a goal and we will win the 2010 All Ireland.

MCMLX

The Irish Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ISPCA) has implored Down and Cork fans not to paint farm animals in their county colours ahead of tomorrow's All-Ireland final.

Sheep, cattle and horses have been painted in the county colours in the run-up to the football decider, and ISPCA chief Barbara Vent has asked farmers to refrain from spraying their livestock, or allowing others to do so.

"Animals should not be used in such frivolities. It is totally unacceptable to be putting animals at risk by doing things like that. For what benefit? Just to have a laugh? It's silly and irresponsible."

She warned: "If the animals lick each other or themselves you don't know the implications. We would sent out the message, would farmers please be responsible and act like adults."

Mourne Rover

From the moment that they ran on to the field in Newry back in January for the first game of the season against Queen's in the McKenna Cup, there was a buzz about this Down team. By the first leage match away to Kildare the following month, it had developed into a confident style and a clear sense of purpose. There have been a few twists since then, but their standards have never wavered. For one last time, to quote Brian McIver, `Heads up, chests out.' We believe in them, and tomorrow is our day.

Quote from: Mourne Rover on September 18, 2010, 11:41:33 AM
From the moment that they ran on to the field in Newry back in January for the first game of the season against Queen's in the McKenna Cup, there was a buzz about this Down team. By the first leage match away to Kildare the following month, it had developed into a confident style and a clear sense of purpose. There have been a few twists since then, but their standards have never wavered. For one last time, to quote Brian McIver, `Heads up, chests out.' We believe in them, and tomorrow is our day.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DAwG0mg7wSw&feature=related

Very good Tom Humphries interview with Eoin Cadogan in the Times.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0918/1224279172680.html

The hurlers crossed the border into Kerry for a training weekend. Banna Strand. Bonding.

The waitress story. He insists it was a set-up. If so it was a good one.

They were eating in Abbeydorney. Having the craic at the table. Cadogan's looks are celebrated on several continents so it was no surprise when the waitress cruised by late in the meal.

"How tall are you?" she purred

Cadogan smiled. Every head leaned forward. This is what it must be like to be George Clooney.

"I'm six foot two inches," said Cadogan with the smoothness of Bond, James Bond. Not Michael.

A pause. Every breath at the table held and baited.

"And Paul Galvin beat you up?"

Uproar. He laughs now at the good of it. He heard it all summer. Hatfields and McCoys. Wear a gumshield kids, he says with a smile, and jiggles the tooth at them.

Quote from: Jinxy on September 18, 2010, 02:52:56 PM
Very good Tom Humphries interview with Eoin Cadogan in the Times.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0918/1224279172680.html

The hurlers crossed the border into Kerry for a training weekend. Banna Strand. Bonding.

The waitress story. He insists it was a set-up. If so it was a good one.

They were eating in Abbeydorney. Having the craic at the table. Cadogan's looks are celebrated on several continents so it was no surprise when the waitress cruised by late in the meal.

"How tall are you?" she purred

Cadogan smiled. Every head leaned forward. This is what it must be like to be George Clooney.

"I'm six foot two inches," said Cadogan with the smoothness of Bond, James Bond. Not Michael.

A pause. Every breath at the table held and baited.

"And Paul Galvin beat you up?"

Uproar. He laughs now at the good of it. He heard it all summer. Hatfields and McCoys. Wear a gumshield kids, he says with a smile, and jiggles the tooth at them.

Excellent :D :D

Humphries must have a serious man-crush on Cadogan. That's the second article I've read by him where he gushes like a schoolgirl about his looks.

Some travesty if Eoin Cardigan and the Cork CCCC's win tomorrow.  Tramps of the highest order led by the Ball grabber Counihan himself.  Then add in the likes of Frank Murphy and Christy Cooney and you know where I'm coming from.

the look on Cooney's puss as he hands Sam over to a Kerry man after beating his native crowd, and it took us to 37, one ahead of the langers, priceless.

downredblack

Did the tour and museum today , good way to put in a couple of hours . Must say the pitch is looking amazing .

Best of luck to the Down team and management ,

Best of luck to both teams tomorrow. Don't really dislike either of them. Wish we were there but it wasn't to be.

On the face of it Cork should win especially since the weather forecast isn't great. But Down are hard to beat in Croker but Cork's greater squad depth should get them over the line.

There is something of myth about Cork's greater strength in depth.

Down are a bit light in terms of defender, but in Murtagh, Maginn and hopefully Rogers, they have 3 players very capable of leaving a huge stamp on the game.

Do Cork reasly have three such options?

Orangemac

Really looking forward to the game tomorrow. Hopefully both teams play to their full potential ( and Down win).

Weather forecast doesn't look great but a bit of zip on the surface may suit Down more.

Quote from: thewobbler on September 18, 2010, 09:44:15 PM
There is something of myth about Cork's greater strength in depth.

Down are a bit light in terms of defender, but in Murtagh, Maginn and hopefully Rogers, they have 3 players very capable of leaving a huge stamp on the game.

Do Cork reasly have three such options?

John Miskella, Nicholas Murphy and Colm O'Neill.

Best of luck to Both Tyrone and Down...Bring them North lads! ;D