Started by lilpaulie85, July 27, 2010, 05:38:54 PM

who will be in the final

kk + wat
kk + tip
cork +wat
cork + tip

Also I agree that Richie Power was brilliant in putting manners on Cadogan with his hurling. He didn't react at the start when Cadogan was roaring abuse in his face - just got on with totally out-hurling him. Brilliant thinking for Fogarty's goal - he sprinted about 30 yards and didn't try to play the ball, just flashed his hurl across Cusack's view and made him miss the catch.

Just back now. Warned yiz yesterday when I said the cats were going to finish of this Cork team once and for all. They were like men possessed today. That was personal today. They are simply an incredible team.

Minors were frightening. Awlyward, Walsh, Kelly, Buckley - get used the names theses are the replacements. Kilkenny aren't going anywhere.

Cork are in BIG trouble by their standards. Nothing at underage comng through either.

Don't know where hurling will be in a few years. Not kilkenny's fault but there are few fiedl sports in the world where one side is so much better then the rest.

Quote from: INDIANA on August 08, 2010, 08:04:46 PM
Warned yiz yesterday when I said the cats were going to finish of this Cork team once and for all. They were like men possessed today. That was personal today. They are simply an incredible team.

mystic meg is in the building

Just back now. Warned yiz yesterday when I said the cats were going to finish of this Cork team once and for all. They were like men possessed today. That was personal today. They are simply an incredible team.

Minors were frightening. Awlyward, Walsh, Kelly, Buckley - get used the names theses are the replacements. Kilkenny aren't going anywhere.

Cork are in BIG trouble by their standards. Nothing at underage comng through either.

Don't know where hurling will be in a few years. Not kilkenny's fault but there are few fiedl sports in the world where one side is so much better then the rest.

KK seeme to have a very deliberate policy of going for goals right from the throw in. Easy points were on offer but they seemed to want to pepper Cusack in the goal. Cusack as good as he is had no answer to that onslaught.

Reillers

Sometimes you just gotta put your hands up and say it when you see a class team, and they were, are, a top class team. Tipp (I presume) will give them a right run in the final. Cork were wasteful to say the least in the first half but weren't let play, were much better in the second half but still, out played, out classed.

Not sure what Walsh was thinking, Cian McCarthy on JJ, wasn't given a go all year and put in against Kilkenny, too much of an ask. He has all year to mould his team, Cork play 5 championship matches and still he has to start at debutant, for the semi final. Aisake got an awful raw deal, got no service and gets taken off.
Pa Horgan to be fair played his socks off and gave Tyrell a hard fuckin run, fair play to the lad, he's had zero confidence for a while and really turned up in the second half. Niall McCarthy worked his socks off as as well.

Some players though, are done I'd say. They've done us proud and given us great days in the sun in Thurles and Croker. But I think it's time for a few boots to be hung up. In a way, they're almost holding back some of our development these days.
Egan, Cronin, Cian McCarthy..some of the U21s, there is a few there to come through, but we really need them to get game time. But it is a dilema, play our argueably better players, or play the young lads and give them a go.

Who knows. It'll be a long year or so ahead though.

Quote from: Reillers on August 08, 2010, 09:01:42 PM
Sometimes you just gotta put your hands up and say it when you see a class team, and they were, are, a top class team. Tipp (I presume) will give them a right run in the final. Cork were wasteful to say the least in the first half but weren't let play, were much better in the second half but still, out played, out classed.

Not sure what Walsh was thinking, Cian McCarthy on JJ, wasn't given a go all year and put in against Kilkenny, too much of an ask. He has all year to mould his team, Cork play 5 championship matches and still he has to start at debutant, for the semi final. Aisake got an awful raw deal, got no service and gets taken off.
Pa Horgan to be fair played his socks off and gave Tyrell a hard fuckin run, fair play to the lad, he's had zero confidence for a while and really turned up in the second half. Niall McCarthy worked his socks off as as well.

Some players though, are done I'd say. They've done us proud and given us great days in the sun in Thurles and Croker. But I think it's time for a few boots to be hung up. In a way, they're almost holding back some of our development these days.
Egan, Cronin, Cian McCarthy..some of the U21s, there is a few there to come through, but we really need them to get game time. But it is a dilema, play our argueably better players, or play the young lads and give them a go.

Who knows. It'll be a long year or so ahead though.

that s as honest and as straight a summary by a langer as is possible fair play
cork are in big trouble not giving more game time to younger bucks is going to backfire bigtime in next few years
kilkenny have constantly refreshed year on year without the wholesale changes that cork will have to undergo

I was thinking this too watching both games today. It's the reason I was shouting for Cork. Still these things usually do come to a sudden end when it's not expected. I think Tipp with their superb U-21s coming through look the best prospect to stop them now and for the next couple of years. I dunno if I could bring myself to cheer for Tipp though.

Hard luck Reillers. At least they battled to the end. I thought that too about Aisake. I wouldn't have him on the team but if he is there you have to land a few balls in the square.

That's a pretty fair assessment Reillers.

Niall Mac was like a raging bull there. He's a tough nut. Lucky enough when getting involved there all the same.

sunday game have repeated ger cannings  michael cussen the 6'7" dinasaur comment

Quote from: spuds on August 08, 2010, 10:25:07 PM
sunday game have repeated ger cannings  michael cussen the 6'7" dinasaur comment

Meant to say monster I'd say   - slip of the tongue - no harm done.

why the hatred for yer man cadogan?? Not a hard core follower, genuine question;

Hurler on the Bitch

A total joy to behold today were the Cats. No matter how many nice scores that Cork fired over in the 2nd half, it was the lesson in skill and class in the opening '35 that told. The GAA should bring in Kilkenny Reserves to the Championship spice up things. They are really akin to the Harlem Globetrotters at present and all the rest cannot but stand back and admire. Some of those catches today were out of this world. When you consider the whole Leinster Championship now, it really is an irrelevancy - as is Munster (Ulster? don't ask!). This Kilkenny team - and look at the minor match also - can do ten in a row if they wish. Also, Cody said to Marty Morrisey that he was unaware of 'any talk' of the 5 in a row in Kilkenny this year. And why not? There is absolutely no pressure on them as they are literally miles ahead of Tipp or Waterford. In fact, if Waterford beat Tipp next week, I would not rule out a serious hammering again for the Deise! Today's defeat for Cork also puts the Dubs and Antrim in perspective also. It is a bit scary..

Reillers

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on August 08, 2010, 10:43:41 PM
why the hatred for yer man cadogan?? Not a hard core follower, genuine question;

God only knows, Cadogan's the poor lad that's been on the end of players targeting him all season, Paul Galvin leading the show. Terrible stuff.   ;)

Quote from: Hurler on the Bitch on August 08, 2010, 10:54:02 PM
A total joy to behold today were the Cats. No matter how many nice scores that Cork fired over in the 2nd half, it was the lesson in skill and class in the opening '35 that told. The GAA should bring in Kilkenny Reserves to the Championship spice up things. They are really akin to the Harlem Globetrotters at present and all the rest cannot but stand back and admire. Some of those catches today were out of this world. When you consider the whole Leinster Championship now, it really is an irrelevancy - as is Munster (Ulster? don't ask!). This Kilkenny team - and look at the minor match also - can do ten in a row if they wish. Also, Cody said to Marty Morrisey that he was unaware of 'any talk' of the 5 in a row in Kilkenny this year. And why not? There is absolutely no pressure on them as they are literally miles ahead of Tipp or Waterford. In fact, if Waterford beat Tipp next week, I would not rule out a serious hammering again for the Deise! Today's defeat for Cork also puts the Dubs and Antrim in perspective also. It is a bit scary..

But for a brilliant Cork team in the beginning of the decade,  this would have been a possibility alright.