Should they be named and shamed?

Started by copperz, July 13, 2010, 04:02:33 PM

I' sure the whole of Louth know who they are.

For any prosecution Sludden would have to make a complaint

Quote from: Gaffer on July 13, 2010, 11:42:22 PM
I' sure the whole of Louth know who they are.

For any prosecution Sludden would have to make a complaint

No

Winnie Peg

Let's get a handle on this. A county which has won nothing in 57 years was deprived of glory which many GAA people in their county never lived to see and the rest probably thought they would never see. They were 10 seconds away from this moment of unbridled joy to be denied it by an incompetent referee. My surprise is that only a few individuals out of 20 thousand found it impossible to control their emotions in those split seconds. I have no doubt that had it been anyother county in the same situation the same would have happened only probably a lot worse. I am not condoning it by any stretch of the imagination.
In the circumstances, the problems were initiated by an incompetent official and the total lack of security by one of the richest sporting organisations in the world.

By the way there were only two things that Meath could have done in the aftermath.
1. Award Louth the Leinster title and hand over trhe Cup.
2. Keep the title and the cup.

They did the second which every other county in the country would have done.

I think these guys will at the very least receive hefty suspensions from the GAA (not that it will be any bother to some of them I'd guess). Its hard to say whether any prosecutions will result. Threatening behaviour - is that a crime? Possibly. Don't think what happened could really be classed as assault but maybe it could. Sludden would have to cooperate with the Gardai wouldn't he?

Geoff Tipps

Quote from: magpie seanie on July 14, 2010, 11:22:17 AM
I think these guys will at the very least receive hefty suspensions from the GAA (not that it will be any bother to some of them I'd guess). Its hard to say whether any prosecutions will result. Threatening behaviour - is that a crime? Possibly. Don't think what happened could really be classed as assault but maybe it could. Sludden would have to cooperate with the Gardai wouldn't he?

He was shouldered in the back at one stage. Reckon that's assualt.

Quote from: beer baron on July 13, 2010, 10:40:43 PM
Friend of mine knows 3 of them and won't name any of them!Another friend of mine  is related to one of them and has called him  a 'hero' the bolox!Good to see the decent Louth fans are trying to get these people named and shamed!
Are they GAA people / genuine fans, or was this their first match?

All of a Sludden

Quote from: Maguire01 on July 14, 2010, 06:44:44 PM
Are they GAA people / genuine fans, or was this their first match?

All GAA members. The guy in the red and white striped t shirt (ginger head) was supposedly arrested yesterday afternoon.
At this stage the Louth County Board would know they are.
I'm gonna show you as gently as I can how much you don't know.

All of a Sludden

Quote from: AFS on July 14, 2010, 07:28:53 PM
All of a Sludden

Great name.

If I had read the Argus before I registered I would have used the name Dick Turpin. There is a great pic of Mr Sludden on the front page wearing a Turpin style hat, minus the mask. He robbed us of a Leinster title plain and simple. He should never be allowed to referee another game at any level.
I'm gonna show you as gently as I can how much you don't know.

Quote from: beer baron on July 13, 2010, 11:40:00 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 13, 2010, 11:35:11 PM
I don't get this name and shame thing. We've seem them on the tv acting the pricks.
If someone knows them they know them, for the rest of us who don't know them what difference does it make if their name is printed?

By naming and shaming i and most others mean aking them known to the powers that be so they can be banned from G.a.a matches!

Just an aside, but how does this work? Do the GAA send your photo around to every club to be hung on the wall inside the turnstiles so they dont let you in?

Sure throw the book at them. Ban them for life. Though after the shite they witnessed the last day masquerading as a sport at the end I doubt they ll be in a hurry back for more.

Great people on here. Always even tempered. Never lose the cool. Of course everybody should be that way, always.

Those lads that lost it the last day were plain to see and instantly recognisable to anybody that knew them. I don't want to know who they are. What they did was stupid, but the fact that they did so in the presence of Gardaí, stewards, and numerous cameras shows just how flipped they were. They made no attempt to disguise themselves with scarves or huddies. This shows that their actions were not premeditated and probably out of character. Not that it matters much to me what becomes of them. Name and shame though. Wonder if people would be as brave if it were paedophiles and drug peddlars we were talking about?

Or are people worried about the image of our games? Well the ref did a good job on that as well. That is the real story still.

dundrumite

Quote from: beer baron on July 13, 2010, 10:40:43 PM
Friend of mine knows 3 of them and won't name any of them!Another friend of mine  is related to one of them and has called him  a 'hero' the bolox!Good to see the decent Louth fans are trying to get these people named and shamed!
Hope all your friends aren't like that.. them two seem clowns

Quote from: moysider on July 15, 2010, 01:13:46 AMWhat they did was stupid,

What they did was criminal. I have to wonder at the attitudes of the people who are suggesting that it's OK for people to commit crimes because they're upset at the result of a football match. The French had the concept of crime pasionelle that accommodated a certain leniency for cheated husbands. I've never heard even them suggest we should make allowance for disappointed football fans. And, of course, with a sliding scale of tolerance related to the amount of time since their team won anything.

Cop yourselves on and consider the consequences of turning a blind eye to the thuggery we saw on Sunday for just twenty seconds and I'm sure those of you with a quota of brain cells will understand the nonsense you're spouting.

Quote from: moysider on July 15, 2010, 01:13:46 AM
Sure throw the book at them. Ban them for life. Though after the shite they witnessed the last day masquerading as a sport at the end I doubt they ll be in a hurry back for more.

Great people on here. Always even tempered. Never lose the cool. Of course everybody should be that way, always.

Those lads that lost it the last day were plain to see and instantly recognisable to anybody that knew them. I don't want to know who they are. What they did was stupid, but the fact that they did so in the presence of Gardaí, stewards, and numerous cameras shows just how flipped they were. They made no attempt to disguise themselves with scarves or huddies. This shows that their actions were not premeditated and probably out of character. Not that it matters much to me what becomes of them. Name and shame though. Wonder if people would be as brave if it were paedophiles and drug peddlars we were talking about?

Or are people worried about the image of our games? Well the ref did a good job on that as well. That is the real story still.

You for real Moysider? Cant believe that you honestly stand by that post. Normally read and rate what  you have to say about football very highly. Dont know where you're going with the paedo/drugs comparisons either.

All I m saying is that there are lads in every parish and club in the country that would probably have done something similar or maybe worse. That is unfortunate but also the reality I m afraid. Do you think those guys set out that morning - some with kids in tow - to attack the referee? The same fellas would have been hopping around the pitch celebrating if the game had ended as it should have, with a free out to Louth. A grotesque circumstance led to those ugly scenes at the end. It also appeared that a few more were trying to join the fray from the stands. Human nature being what it is (a lot of people are quick with their hands) these things will happen. I can see the logic of making an example of these guys as a deterrent. The best deterrent of all would be to make decision making in the game as fair and transparent as possible. Disaster refs, like Gearóid O C should have been cut from the panel years ago. He could have caused a similar situation a few weeks ago if (a) there was anybody there and (b) anybody cared any anymore. As it was a county chairman got 4 weeks suspension for suggesting to Gearóid where he should stick his whistle. That something similar could have kicked off there is not pushing it too much. Something the national papers seem to have missed, or maybe there are too many jucier things happening. I wonder did Sludden include the abuse in his report. Gearóid did but ironically did not own up to his mistake. Ah well.

That comparison - a bit clumsy, I ll admit - was meant to make a point that there are much worse things happening out there.