REf attacked in Tipp

Started by Declan, April 21, 2010, 08:33:47 AM

Quote from: johnneycool on April 21, 2010, 04:32:26 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on April 21, 2010, 12:41:13 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/hurling/hurleyattack-victim-barrett-insists-final-whistle-not-yet-blown-on-career-2143846.html

Match officials and officials from the South Tipperary Board, who hope to wrap up their investigation into the incident by tomorrow, are satisfied that the attack was alcohol-fuelled, a disturbing development for the GAA.

And does that in some way justify or explain it? Fuckin sure, the hoor needs to go through the courts whether he'd a bit of dutch in him or not.

How many alcohol-fuelled people carry hurleys?

That video leaves no doubt that there should be a court case. The problem of course is that we have had this before elsewhere and the Gaa never take them to court. So every now and then it will happen.

The problem is always that there are people from clubs who see the incident and who know rightly who the perpetrator is, but who say they didn't see anything. This video cannot be used as evidence, but it can identify those who must have seen something.

Watched the vid, and here are my thoughts, crazy act and disgraceful, i wont lie there have been many times where i felt like fcking a ref out of it, call him a cheating bastard which some of them are but i have some measure of self control, never felt like assaulting him or wielding a hurley. I can understand how this can happen though, the frustration and anger builds up and is dangerous thing. If a ref is fair there is no way this would happen IMO, as hardstation says but it doesnt condone what that supporter did.

Where do ye start on prosecutions, i seen a video of Niall Cahalane ex cork footballer playing  for a club and punching a ref with  a garda escort and nothing was heard of since. I rememeber a 16 yr old from my club getting a serious drubbing by a adult supporter of the opposition and no one from his club would name him. This will be swept under the carpet, guarnteed.

EagleLord

Ragin the video has been deleted so i cant see it. must have been interesting.

QuoteIf a ref is fair there is no way this would happen IMO,

That's a ridiculous statement in fairness Sligonian. There are the odd occasions when a ref is riding teams on purpose, but that happens very rarely, and those refs tend to have fairly short careers as they are found out.

Of course a ref can be bad, but that is not the same as unfair.

I believe that referees do their best 99% of the time, and I also believe that supporters can perceive a slight where none actually exists. If you ask me which person is typically more rational, a referee or a supporter foaming at the mouth on the sideline, it's going to be the ref.

Finally, not that it should be said, but this referee is Willie Barret, an intercounty ref of some distinction who has refereed All Ireland Finals. To somehow imply that he wasn't fair or impartial is an awful swipe at a man of his experience, never mind the fact that it doesn't excuse for a moment what the supporter did.

How would a man who allegedly was drunk or half drunk know whether the ref was being fair or not ??  ??? ::)

Quote from: AZOffaly on April 22, 2010, 09:45:17 AM
QuoteIf a ref is fair there is no way this would happen IMO,

That's a ridiculous statement in fairness Sligonian. There are the odd occasions when a ref is riding teams on purpose, but that happens very rarely, and those refs tend to have fairly short careers as they are found out.

Of course a ref can be bad, but that is not the same as unfair.

I believe that referees do their best 99% of the time, and I also believe that supporters can perceive a slight where none actually exists. If you ask me which person is typically more rational, a referee or a supporter foaming at the mouth on the sideline, it's going to be the ref.

Finally, not that it should be said, but this referee is Willie Barret, an intercounty ref of some distinction who has refereed All Ireland Finals. To somehow imply that he wasn't fair or impartial is an awful swipe at a man of his experience, never mind the fact that it doesn't excuse for a moment what the supporter did.

I disagree, i see it happen often where a ref is riding a team. I remember a few yrs back in girls club game, the wife of the opponents rang our club to say the ref was riding us, and it was as subtle as this, he was told to stop the short passing game so he gave a few frees for not striking the ball. I look at the GAA as one of most political orgainsations, where who you know  etc.. playing the game to get you to the top etc... goes on. So otherwise impossible to prove but you can see when your watching a game, to me the evidence is on the field. Look at Connacht senior championship, we had to bring in outside the province refs to ensure a fair chance is given, Mick curley head of the refs played 25 secs injury time in 97 when sligo were one point down and scored last 4 to mayo in connacht final. The man didnt want Sligo to win and panicked blew the whislte early, unfortently at underage this crap still goes on. He then went on to give us a awful doing in Cavan one yr a game we won but it lives long in the memory with us who were there. ALot of people in Sligo believe we would of won no connacht championship had  someone else rather than Crowe reffed our game in 07.

Take Padraig Hughes from Armagh, I seen him as a neutral give one of the most biased performances as ref against Tyrone last yr or the yr before, and hes getting rewarded with a National final on Sunday, so saying willie barret ref AI means nothing to me. The GAA is a joke where refereeing is concerned, and some do it for there ego and centre of attention stuff, so are genuine but theyd be in the minority imo.

It was an awful act of thuggery, maybe he was fair the ref i mean so i'll take it back as I didnt see the game.

Sligonian, if you are saying that referees are deliberately doing teams consistently and at high levels, then there's no point discussing any further because that's anathema to the way I think.

I believe referees in the vast, vast, majority of cases go out to do an honest job to the best of their abilities. In some cases, that ability doesn't amount to much.

To say that an All Ireland referee means nothing is ridiculous. It means he's among the best referees in the country.

I think there may be an issue with interpretation in some cases, which can look like bias against a team or whatever. For example, Michael haverty from Galway in hurling is a referee that just crucifies Offaly every time. It's not because he hates Offaly, but he has a very peculiar interpretation of the flicking that Offaly do when a lad is soloing the ball etc. He's fine with a lot of physical contact, but not with the use of the hurl to dispossess.

Now I disagree with him, I think his interpretation hurts us and I hate to see him reffing Offaly. But do I think he is riding us on purpose? Absolutely not.

Quote from: AZOffaly on April 22, 2010, 12:47:34 PM
Sligonian, if you are saying that referees are deliberately doing teams consistently and at high levels, then there's no point discussing any further because that's anathema to the way I think.

I believe referees in the vast, vast, majority of cases go out to do an honest job to the best of their abilities. In some cases, that ability doesn't amount to much.

To say that an All Ireland referee means nothing is ridiculous. It means he's among the best referees in the country.

I think there may be an issue with interpretation in some cases, which can look like bias against a team or whatever. For example, Michael haverty from Galway in hurling is a referee that just crucifies Offaly every time. It's not because he hates Offaly, but he has a very peculiar interpretation of the flicking that Offaly do when a lad is soloing the ball etc. He's fine with a lot of physical contact, but not with the use of the hurl to dispossess.

Now I disagree with him, I think his interpretation hurts us and I hate to see him reffing Offaly. But do I think he is riding us on purpose? Absolutely not.

Look I just  feel a far higher percentage than 1% are biased. In football the main one I see, is in the tackle, if one set of forwards gets touched he gives a free, the other set of forwards get pulled and dragged and no free and usually have to shoot under severe pressure. Then usually you'll see the free count as 12 and 12 equal and people think aw he was fair. Then you look where there most of the 12 frees were given 20 yards out in front of the posts, oh a yours arent within 45 m.. This happened in a recent schools All Ireland final.

In our game against Offaly in the NFL the ref from leitrim rode us. We won but he did his best for that not to happen. There was one incident where sweeney was running through and his man was pulling and dragging at him and sweeney shruged him off and the ref gave a free against him, the Park went crazy, that decision rubber stamped what we already knew because it was so blantant. Just lucky for the ref we won despite him.

Im not saying match fixing is going on although, if it happens in Serie A and uefa are currently looking at 300 matches where they belive it happens then you think its not happening here, i wouldnt be shocked, refs do have alterior motives, and dislike other counties and have vendettas against players and counties aswell.

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 22, 2010, 01:12:19 PM

Look I just  feel a far higher percentage than 1% are biased. In football the main one I see, is in the tackle, if one set of forwards gets touched he gives a free, the other set of forwards get pulled and dragged and no free and usually have to shoot under severe pressure. Then usually you'll see the free count as 12 and 12 equal and people think aw he was fair. Then you look where there most of the 12 frees were given 20 yards out in front of the posts, oh a yours arent within 45 m.. This happened in a recent schools All Ireland final.

In our game against Offaly in the NFL the ref from leitrim rode us. We won but he did his best for that not to happen. There was one incident where sweeney was running through and his man was pulling and dragging at him and sweeney shruged him off and the ref gave a free against him, the Park went crazy, that decision rubber stamped what we already knew because it was so blantant. Just lucky for the ref we won despite him.

Im not saying match fixing is going on although, if it happens in Serie A and uefa are currently looking at 300 matches where they belive it happens then you think its not happening here, i wouldnt be shocked, refs do have alterior motives, and dislike other counties and have vendettas against players and counties aswell.

With that attitude you are about 1 step away from being yer man with the hurl.  Load of balls.

Quote from: Franko on April 22, 2010, 01:40:20 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 22, 2010, 01:12:19 PM

With that attitude you are about 1 step away from being yer man with the hurl.  Load of balls.
In fairness i wasnt referring to me, I know some of the stewards in the Park and they told me a few old men in 60s wanted to have a word with the ref after the game even though we won, they were told to be on there way and they left. Ive never even bollocked a ref out of it after a game never mind wield a hurley, i have shouted in during a match but thats the height of it. But after some matches in my mind I have been angry but never let it out maybe on here.

Disgraceful. He should be charged with assault with intent to cause grevious bodily harm and as he used hurley... possession of an offensive weapon. Once he uses it in this matter same as hitting someone with a chair or snooker cue or baseball bat  it becomes  a weapon.

How you can say that referees from a neutral club are biased all the time? thats rubbish.

I've refereed for 3 years and i couldn't give a stuff who wins, you'll call it as you see it. i usually dislike both teams. you maybe get annoyed at people giving you stick but you call the frees as you see them.

that gobshite should get charged with assult

No, I think this lad is onto something. Congress should consider. It will improve our games no end!

If a referee makes a decision anyone disagrees with then the club who disagrees with his decision should send a lad on to beat him with a hurl (football or hurling).

That's the way forward.

would be funny seeing them come after you ;D