Ulster GAA Coaching Conference 2010

Started by Celt_Man, January 27, 2010, 11:59:51 PM

Celt_Man

Anyone heading to this one on Saturday in Cookstown?  Or at a previous one, what did you make of it?

http://ulster.gaa.ie/2010/01/19/coaching-conference-2010/

The 6th Ulster GAA Coaching and Games Development Conference will take place on Saturday 30th January 2010 in the Glenavon House Hotel in Cookstown.

This year's conference targets coaches who are working with youth players from 13-18 years. It builds on a successful Conference in 2009 where we targeted children's coaches.

The Conference consolidates the coach education work that is ongoing within the County programmes and the Provincial Coach Development Programme.

Ulster coaches are constantly refocusing and challenging their coaching practices and the speakers this year will again challenge the coaches to raise the bar.
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

boojangles

Taking this Coaching serious Celt Man ha?? Fair fucks to ya. Wouldn't mind travelling but Im in Dublin this weekend.

Celt_Man

Quote from: boojangles on January 28, 2010, 12:25:02 AM
Taking this Coaching serious Celt Man ha?? Fair f**ks to ya. Wouldn't mind travelling but Im in Dublin this weekend.

Thinking about heading alright... Not too sure how serious I take it but if the 6 nations was on I know I would be parked in front of the TV and not even thinking about any conferences - GAA or otherwise!!
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

I noticed in the Irish News yesterday that it said the course was fully subscribed and that only those who are pre registered need attend.

Anyone else going to this? I'm going along with my work, cheif executive of my organisation is speaking about individuals with learning disabilities gettting involved in the GAA.

I was meant to go, but it was booked up.  >:(

Just in the door here from the conference. Have to say it was a very enjoyable day with a lot of excellent speakers and interesting seminars.

Highlight of the day was without doubt Paudi Butlers talk on the pitfalls of adolescence and the role the gaa coach can play. This was really inspiraitonal stuff (even though i'm not a gaa coach it would certainly make me think of playing some sort of role in the future). This is a very charasmatic man who knows his stuff, introduced a lot of psychology into his talk an made it really easy to understand how the average coach on the ground can adapt his/her way of working and make a real difference in a young fella/girls life not just their ability to play gaelic games at a higher level.

For the first time today i met Tony Scullion, what a legend of a man! His seminar was stuffed and now i know why...he's more like a comedian than a coach (not taking away from his talk which was extremely informative). Does this man run on duracell batteries? He never stopped hoping round the room, roaring and having the craic. Threw up some video's from youtube which were hilarious. In fact in the link below he tried to pass the fella on the boat of as himself...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lV-iP1jSMlI 

Also managed to include this video and link it to time management...  :o

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=66gRa31cQWw

Fair play to the organisers in putting together an extremely enjoyable day and look out for the videos coming up on the ulster gaa youtube page as jerome was flat out with the camcorder.

Any craic

Quote from: Any craic on February 01, 2010, 08:34:43 AM
http://www.youtube.com/user/UlsterGAA - Tony Scullion was in some form at this, as you can see.

He spoke at Greencastle once. Brilliant stuff, real hair standing on the back of your neck stuff.