Villagers boycott pub after Irish landlady refuses to sell poppies

Started by seanf, October 31, 2009, 02:30:47 PM

Quote from: J70 on October 31, 2009, 02:42:32 PM
Not sure about England, but in the states people are very, very sensitive about the military and veterans. Disrespect them at your peril. If that is the case in England, I can well understand why there would be this type of reaction.

The thing is that the veterans from wars worth fighting are all dead. Now the money goes to an army of verterans involed in war crimes in Ireland and Iraq etc

There is a neighbour calls to our house every year in the full knowledge that a poppy won't be bought for the next 100 houses. My mother hides when she comes and sends my brother out to tell her No.

Hard to know who is more annoying: someone who can't do this simple thing to keep their neighbours content or neighbours who want to force their worldview on everyone around them.

Quote from: deiseach on October 31, 2009, 09:03:52 PM
Hard to know who is more annoying: someone who can't do this simple thing to keep their neighbours content or neighbours who want to force their worldview on everyone around them.

If it was that simple. Ever had a friend who was passionate about your blessing for something you didn't agree with yet you knew it would be over in a week or two?

Quote from: Zapatista on October 31, 2009, 09:09:04 PM
If it was that simple. Ever had a friend who was passionate about your blessing for something you didn't agree with yet you knew it would be over in a week or two?

Can't say I have, no.

"I hope ALL the village boycotts (an Irish word describing an Irish practice!)"

Bit of a history class required.  Could hold one in said pub, for good measure too, I suppose.

dillinger

Imagine a pub with no dogs! ;
[/quote

Know a guy rode a horse into a bar once. Ok, that could start a new thread, as in whats the most unuasel animal etc you have seen in a bar. In my case, prob the wife. :D

QuoteBarwoman - Well Spot, how's the head this mornin?
Spot - Ruff ... ruff.

Barwoman - D'ya fancy a hair of ... ah never mind.
:)
QuoteKnow a guy rode a horse into a bar once.

So do I, I wonder if its the same galoot?  D.C. down in Crumlin did it one night when he was locked and someone hit the horse a box to put it back out and it reared up and caught his arm between its neck and the top of the door and he was out of work for five weeks, feckin eejit.

I think I will put a few bags of spuds in the back of the Transit and head over and move in with Miss Walsh from Mayo.  We could spend years talking around the fire about what it would be like if Mayo or Laois won an All-Ireland.  See the offer here:

http://www.newjobsinkent.com/Head-Chef-Cook-1965636

I see on other Brit discussion forums where a couple of hard chaws are going to go to the pub for a bit of fun 'when the heat dies down' .    This was never about poppies or dogs.  This was about racism by a few bigots who did not want an Irish Landlord in their Village, similar to what I felt in Hornchurch and Sidcup in the same Kent on a few occasions.  The facts are that the villagers tried to take over the pub themselves but the Mayo woman got there instead.  Here is a local news article from back in February.

Saturday, February 21, 2009.

VILLAGES around Sevenoaks are in danger of losing their identity as a swathe of traditional pubs close.
In recent months half a dozen pubs have shut. This is in addition to those left empty, unloved or handed over to developers for housing.
In Weald the village's only pub, The Windmill, has long been a contentious issue for residents, having had four landlords in eight years.
It closed just after Christmas and was poised to be taken over by village couple Ron and Jan Mannering but the deal fell through on Monday.
Mr Mannering blamed the high rent asked for by brewery Greene King. He said: "We are in hard times, things have changed."
Mrs Mannering added that the pub was left in a terrible state and it would have taken a while to clean up.
She said: "We are losing a feature of village life. A pub is not a drinking hole, it is a meeting place.
"Someone should recognise that village pubs are part of our heritage. When people think of England they think of the pub."
The couple sent a letter around the village asking for support and said they were overwhelmed by the responses.
Mrs Mannering said: "We had around 40 letters back from the villagers.
"I got a phone call from a lady who said when she moved to the village 20 years ago there were seven pubs. Now there are none."
Sevenoaks town councillor Ann Dawson said: "So often in villages the pub is the centre of the community, people will gather in the pub, make friends and chat
"The Windmill was very much part of the community. When the only pub in the village goes it gets worrying."
Greene King said the search was under way for a new landlord at The Windmill.
Spokesman Steve Head said: "We are currently in the process of finding a new licencee to take the business forward. We apologise for any inconvenience."

Then arrives Miss Walsh from Mayo and the two that failed to get the franchise have their nose out of joint along with the 40 villagers who signed their letter of support because,  Jan and Ron, owning the B&B up the road,  and half the village along with it thought they should have got the pub before an Irish person.   And guess what?  I would bet my house that the one with the tray of poppies is a signatory to the letter of support for Jan and Ron which, if the Brit Tabloids were any good, would be the story they are reporting on instead of running off with the headlines "Irish Woman Refuses To Sell Poppies" - -  da gobshites.

The Watcher Pat

Quote from: Bud Wiser on November 01, 2009, 07:31:23 AM
I think I will put a few bags of spuds in the back of the Transit and head over and move in with Miss Walsh from Mayo.  We could spend years talking around the fire about what it would be like if Mayo or Laois won an All-Ireland.  See the offer here:

http://www.newjobsinkent.com/Head-Chef-Cook-1965636

I see on other Brit discussion forums where a couple of hard chaws are going to go to the pub for a bit of fun 'when the heat dies down' .    This was never about poppies or dogs.  This was about racism by a few bigots who did not want an Irish Landlord in their Village, similar to what I felt in Hornchurch and Sidcup in the same Kent on a few occasions.  The facts are that the villagers tried to take over the pub themselves but the Mayo woman got there instead.  Here is a local news article from back in February.

Saturday, February 21, 2009.

VILLAGES around Sevenoaks are in danger of losing their identity as a swathe of traditional pubs close.
In recent months half a dozen pubs have shut. This is in addition to those left empty, unloved or handed over to developers for housing.
In Weald the village's only pub, The Windmill, has long been a contentious issue for residents, having had four landlords in eight years.
It closed just after Christmas and was poised to be taken over by village couple Ron and Jan Mannering but the deal fell through on Monday.
Mr Mannering blamed the high rent asked for by brewery Greene King. He said: "We are in hard times, things have changed."
Mrs Mannering added that the pub was left in a terrible state and it would have taken a while to clean up.
She said: "We are losing a feature of village life. A pub is not a drinking hole, it is a meeting place.
"Someone should recognise that village pubs are part of our heritage. When people think of England they think of the pub."
The couple sent a letter around the village asking for support and said they were overwhelmed by the responses.
Mrs Mannering said: "We had around 40 letters back from the villagers.
"I got a phone call from a lady who said when she moved to the village 20 years ago there were seven pubs. Now there are none."
Sevenoaks town councillor Ann Dawson said: "So often in villages the pub is the centre of the community, people will gather in the pub, make friends and chat
"The Windmill was very much part of the community. When the only pub in the village goes it gets worrying."
Greene King said the search was under way for a new landlord at The Windmill.
Spokesman Steve Head said: "We are currently in the process of finding a new licencee to take the business forward. We apologise for any inconvenience."

Then arrives Miss Walsh from Mayo and the two that failed to get the franchise have their nose out of joint along with the 40 villagers who signed their letter of support because,  Jan and Ron, owning the B&B up the road,  and half the village along with it thought they should have got the pub before an Irish person.   And guess what?  I would bet my house that the one with the tray of poppies is a signatory to the letter of support for Jan and Ron which, if the Brit Tabloids were any good, would be the story they are reporting on instead of running off with the headlines "Irish Woman Refuses To Sell Poppies" - -  da gobshites.

That's the guy from dad's army...Any wonder they are trying to sell poppies.... :D
There is no I in team, but if you look close enough you can find ME

Not so in the case of our Mr. Mannering who is founder member of one of the Royal Regiment's History Museum.  See:
http://www.royal-westies-assn.ca/Museum/founding_members.htm third column about half way down.

Nice little hamlets for the military retired like Deal and Weald and Hornchurch and several more in Kent do not want Irish even in their pubs much less running them.

The Watcher Pat

I was joking Bud...them places are probably like something out of midsommer murder's.. :D

Well watcher pat, did ya ever hear as much rubbish over a tray of poppies !  Next they will boycott anyone who refuses to buy them.  Wouldn't you know I had nothing to do this morning?

The Watcher Pat

I haven't much to do myself at least until 11 o'clock then i'm going for the cure. But i'm not going to any pub unless they are selling poppies. lol