Obama wins Nobel Peace prize

Started by mhacadoir, October 09, 2009, 10:20:55 AM

redhugh

I heard this on the news this morning and it felt like I was living in a parallel universe . He's the commander in chief of the American armed forces ffs, how did this happen? What a joke.

This is a strange decision, he was only in ofice two weeks before voting took place so how can they come to this decision?

This guy is more like a rock star than a President, he plays basketball, does chat shows and makes himself look like an everyman and although he has talked a good game on disarmament he has not had time to deliver on anything yet.

I hope he ends up worthy of this award but to me it is very premature and it smells, this is quite possibly the single most politically motivated Nobel prize ever handed out and that takes some doing.

There foxy, i fixed it for ye.  ;)

Quote from: stew on October 09, 2009, 05:07:21 PM
This is a strange decision, he was only in ofice two weeks before voting took place so how can they come to this decision?

This guy is more like a rock star than a President, he plays basketball, does chat shows and makes himself look like an everyman and although he has talked a good game on disarmament he has not had time to deliver on anything yet.

I hope he ends up worthy of this award but to me it is very premature and it smells, this is quite possibly the single most politically motivated Bobel prize ever handed out and that takes some doing.

Good post, stew.

Quote from: playwiththewind1st on October 09, 2009, 12:12:54 PM
If Trimble can waltz down Garvaghy Road & end up getting it, any ould eejit can get it too.

Obama probably threatened to nuke Oslo, if he didn't get it, so the Committee probably didn't have much choice.

Poor auld Norway, what did they do? The bucko's in Helsinki would be pissing themselves

Quote from: stew on October 09, 2009, 05:07:21 PM

I hope he ends up worthy of this award but to me it is very premature and it smells, this is quite possibly the single most politically motivated Bobel prize ever handed out and that takes some doing.

Jees! he didn't win the Bobel as well ?... crazy  ???

What a total joke. In one swoop the whole idea of a peace prize is destroyed, or is being black and elected in a rascist country enough to get you this accolade

Was it not destroyed when Billy Wright's adviser, David Trimble got it? 
check back to 1996 when the world's great peace maker met the psycho  ...

...."During the 1996 Drumcree stand-off Billy Wright had discussions with the Ulster Unionist Party leader and MP for Upper Bann, Mr David Trimble. The discussions were initiated by Mr Trimble and took place in the church hall at Drumcree..."

Capt Pat

They'll be lighting bonfires in Moneygal tonight afte one of their own was finally awarded the nobel peace prize. He's got some Irish in him begorrah, maybe Albert reynolds campaigned secretly for him to win.

Fcukin incredible  :o :o :o
I presume it's for being the first US Pres not to invade any Country in a year ending in a 9.
Triple Connacht Champions

very disappointed- I thougt I had a good shot at it this year.
corrigan, williams, hume, trimble, any clown in the north that wants it gets the million dollars- joke.
the official commendation said "on behalf of the rest of the world, thank you for not being George Bush"

T.O. this is your cue....

I like Obama as far as US presidents go, but this was fckn stupid. How the hell did he get this prize, ha has done nothing but not be George W.Bush.

I'd be in favour of this, he has been one of the few beacons of hope throughout the crises of the past year, he's visionary and he's reached out to nations everywhere - it may turn out to be wrong, but hey, Trimble and Kissinger, they've got history!!

Quote from: heganboy on October 09, 2009, 09:01:00 PM
very disappointed- I thougt I had a good shot at it this year.
corrigan, williams, hume, trimble, any clown in the north that wants it gets the million dollars- joke.
the official commendation said "on behalf of the rest of the world, thank you for not being George Bush"

T.O. this is your cue....

Corrigan and Williams got it based on what they were doing at that time.  The Peace people originated out of very tragic circumstances.  I remember the day the children were killed and the subsequent tv interview.

Hume is no idiot.  Light years from it.  As for trimble, well we'll leave it at that.

Quote from: Bogball XV on October 10, 2009, 12:23:35 AM
I'd be in favour of this, he has been one of the few beacons of hope throughout the crises of the past year, he's visionary and he's reached out to nations everywhere - it may turn out to be wrong, but hey, Trimble and Kissinger, they've got history!!

It's the noblel peace prize not the not the nobel might doing something to peace in the near future prize

To quote  "Sideshow Bob: Attempted murder? Now honestly, what is that? Do they give a Nobel prize for attempted chemistry? Do they?"

Well it appears they give them for of may attempt peace.

Quote from: Gnevin on October 10, 2009, 01:45:02 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on October 10, 2009, 12:23:35 AM

It's the noblel peace prize not the not the nobel might doing something to peace in the near future prize

To quote  "Sideshow Bob: Attempted murder? Now honestly, what is that? Do they give a Nobel prize for attempted chemistry? Do they?"

Well it appears they give them for of may attempt peace.
and who has done more for international relations in the past year?