National Poetry Day

Started by ONeill, October 08, 2009, 09:01:36 PM

does any of ye know of good recitations.... and post them up!

TS Eliot got the nod in a bbc poll.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 08, 2009, 11:20:48 PM
TS Eliot got the nod in a bbc poll.

Hmmm... BBC poll --> Sun Readers' poll + 1

William Blake's 'enjoy the moment' poem...

Eternity

He who binds to himself a joy
Does the winged life destroy;
But he who kisses the joy as it flies
Lives in eternity's sun rise.

The only poem I remember from my school years.........

There was a young maid from Madrid
Who said she'd never been rid
Then came an Italian
With balls like a Stallion
And rode her like Billy the Kid

But then in a school that had the Bomber Liston and Jack O'Connor on their staff we weren't really there for the Poetry lessons  :P

Jees! Mike,
Get on yer bike,
away to thine bed,
nae defile this prentious thread,
... like

on yonder field,
there stood a cow,
it must have moved,
for it's not there now.

Little fly upon the wall,
have you got no friends at all?
no mammy-no daddy...
bastard

Uh oh! The Sun-ditty brigade have arrived!  :P

oh this is a poetry thread,
where poems can be read,
from wannabes and dead dudes,
boring men to prudes
oh this is a poetry thread!

christ i'm bored!

...but is it verse...
or something worse?
a stab at higher art
from the heart
or only phoney?  ???     

I blame the Kerry man for following up Blake with pure Kerry doggerel.

But sure, what the fcuk, good to see you're alive KM  ;D

National Poetry Day is over Fear, back to the muck... :-\

dowling

Swear to God lads and lasses, been extremely unwell this last couple of days and haven't read a paper nor seen the news. What national poetry day is this? Throw a bit of light someone please.

Think I'll start a Limerick thread