Kerry V Dublin

Started by magickingdom, July 26, 2009, 06:51:09 PM

Eff me pink. Sucked in again I was. Actually felt sorry for the Dubs in the crowd.

Watched the game in Cork. They're dismissing Tyrone down here.

mc_grens

Quote from: paddypastit on August 03, 2009, 07:26:52 PM
Was at the match with my Dublin born and bred brother in law. In the after match conversation there were two points made.  Firstly no-one under 16 in Dublin has a memory of Dublin winning an AI.  Secondly one lad had a story of a 12/13 year old in Dublin this summer giving up soccer to play rugby following on from the Leinster and Ireland successes in that code this year.  Put the two together and all those that are crowing about Dublin's defeat may find that a weak Dublin weakens the GAA as a whole because that is where the big marketing bucks are attracted to the game and without them (the bucks) the game will stuggle to get support long term.  The national pot is only so small and with professional and Government backed (i.e. Olympic) sports being the ones that are getting the dosh, this is not about Dublin for Dublin's benefit

Also I think that Dublin need to introduce a "three foreigners" type rule for their club sides. I wonder how many teams have a lad originally from down the country playing at full back, and maybe a good young Minor or U-21 not getting an opportunity to play Senior football.

talktothehand

Quote from: ONeill on August 03, 2009, 08:08:22 PM
Eff me pink. Sucked in again I was. Actually felt sorry for the Dubs in the crowd.

good ;)

comethekingdom

Was at the match with my Dublin born and bred brother in law. In the after match conversation there were two points made.  Firstly no-one under 16 in Dublin has a memory of Dublin winning an AI.  Secondly one lad had a story of a 12/13 year old in Dublin this summer giving up soccer to play rugby following on from the Leinster and Ireland successes in that code this year.  Put the two together and all those that are crowing about Dublin's defeat may find that a weak Dublin weakens the GAA as a whole because that is where the big marketing bucks are attracted to the game and without them (the bucks) the game will stuggle to get support long term.  The national pot is only so small and with professional and Government backed (i.e. Olympic) sports being the ones that are getting the dosh, this is not about Dublin for Dublin's benefit

So, should the other 31 counties participating in the AI all sit back and allow the Dubs to win an AI for the good of the GAA ????

anglocelt39

Anybody surprised by that needs to get out more often, the definition of a Corkman with an inferiority complex being a langer that reckons he's only as good as everybody else
Undefeated at the Polo Grounds

Quote from: mc_grens on August 03, 2009, 08:11:23 PM
Was at the match with my Dublin born and bred brother in law. In the after match conversation there were two points made.  Firstly no-one under 16 in Dublin has a memory of Dublin winning an AI.  Secondly one lad had a story of a 12/13 year old in Dublin this summer giving up soccer to play rugby following on from the Leinster and Ireland successes in that code this year.  Put the two together and all those that are crowing about Dublin's defeat may find that a weak Dublin weakens the GAA as a whole because that is where the big marketing bucks are attracted to the game and without them (the bucks) the game will stuggle to get support long term.  The national pot is only so small and with professional and Government backed (i.e. Olympic) sports being the ones that are getting the dosh, this is not about Dublin for Dublin's benefit

Also I think that Dublin need to introduce a "three foreigners" type rule for their club sides. I wonder how many teams have a lad originallz from down the country playing at full back, and maybe a good young Minor or U-21 not getting an opportunity to play Senior football.

I've said that for years  but what does that mean for guy who is from Donegal or Mayo? Is he going to drive 300 miles per weekend to play? I doubt it. I proposed a draft system. Whereby the weakest club gets the best players- which would mean amore even county championship. But as usual these things fall on deaf ears.

Quote from: INDIANA on August 03, 2009, 07:52:44 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 03, 2009, 07:43:28 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 03, 2009, 07:28:13 PM

The current Dublin management won't win an All-ireland. the next Dublin manager won't either. 6/7 years away at best. That will do untold damge to thre Gaa in Dublin today.

if dublin club football is as good as you say it is indiana why do you think it will be 6 or 7 years before ye can challenge for an all ireland ?

I said Dublin club football was a decent standard- read the relevent thread extracts. Mayo is a decent standard but you haven't won an all-ireland since the 50's. Club football means feck all at county level when you haven't the attitude or winning mentality associated with the kerry's and tyrone's of this world.
Kerry and Tyrone are born to win the likes of dublin and others were born to lose.

well in that thread you said that the level of club football in mayo wasn't that great otherwise we wouldn't be waiting since 1951 to win an ai intercounty final yet here you say club football means feck all at county level. also tyrone only have that attitude since 2003 when they won thier 1st all ireland, at the end of the day you only get that attitude by winning the ai . what happened dublins attitude from the 70's then they seemed to be born to win back then

mc_grens

Quote from: INDIANA on August 03, 2009, 08:14:51 PM

Also I think that Dublin need to introduce a "three foreigners" type rule for their club sides. I wonder how many teams have a lad originallz from down the country playing at full back, and maybe a good young Minor or U-21 not getting an opportunity to play Senior football.

I've said that for years  but what does that mean for guy who is from Donegal or Mayo? Is he going to drive 300 miles per weekend to play? I doubt it. I proposed a draft system. Whereby the weakest club gets the best players- which would mean amore even county championship. But as usual these things fall on deaf ears.

Very true, maybe they should play for teams like the Civil Service, that have teams at different levels, and have no underage system to damage.

Quote from: anglocelt39 on August 03, 2009, 08:14:19 PM

Anybody surprised by that needs to get out more often, the definition of a Corkman with an inferiority complex being a langer that reckons he's only as good as everybody else
Or maybe Mickey has sent him down to misinform ;)

Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 03, 2009, 08:20:52 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 03, 2009, 07:52:44 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 03, 2009, 07:43:28 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 03, 2009, 07:28:13 PM

The current Dublin management won't win an All-ireland. the next Dublin manager won't either. 6/7 years away at best. That will do untold damge to thre Gaa in Dublin today.

if dublin club football is as good as you say it is indiana why do you think it will be 6 or 7 years before ye can challenge for an all ireland ?

I said Dublin club football was a decent standard- read the relevent thread extracts. Mayo is a decent standard but you haven't won an all-ireland since the 50's. Club football means feck all at county level when you haven't the attitude or winning mentality associated with the kerry's and tyrone's of this world.
Kerry and Tyrone are born to win the likes of dublin and others were born to lose.

well in that thread you said that the level of club football in mayo wasn't that great otherwise we wouldn't be waiting since 1951 to win an ai intercounty final yet here you say club football means feck all at county level. also tyrone only have that attitude since 2003 when they won thier 1st all ireland, at the end of the day you only get that attitude by winning the ai . what happened dublins attitude from the 70's then they seemed to be born to win back then

Hardened men and good footballers. Thats the difference between now and the 70's. Also the landscape has changed- more counties now are competitive. Kerry have raised their standards to meet this. The likes of Dublin and Mayo haven't.
If you want to have a debate on club football I'll be happy to do so- But not on this thread.

nobackdoor

Why don't Dublin bring back Mullins and Moran from the '77 team?

They could be the GAAs version of Foreman in the boxing. They'd still tackle better than any of the current manequins. Plus Dublin would then be expected to lose and Kerry do not play as well when they r complacent.

Dublin would continue to win meaningless Leinster titles and fill Croke park with people anxious to c boys from the good old days. McNally could take the place of Whelan and throw in the sly dig/elbow, when the occassion arises.

The backdoor has ruined it

Quote from: mc_grens on August 03, 2009, 08:23:21 PM

I've said that for years  but what does that mean for guy who is from Donegal or Mayo? Is he going to drive 300 miles per weekend to play? I doubt it. I proposed a draft system. Whereby the weakest club gets the best players- which would mean amore even county championship. But as usual these things fall on deaf ears.

Very true, maybe they should play for teams like the Civil Service, that have teams at different levels, and have no underage system to damage.

Thats the way it used to be.

mc_grens

Quote from: INDIANA on August 03, 2009, 08:29:03 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on August 03, 2009, 08:23:21 PM

Thats the way it used to be.

Its up to the County board to put something in place. According to my info, a vote to limit non Dubs in club Senior teams was defeated at a County Board AGM about 3 or maybe 4 years ago. I remember meeting a lad for a pint in the Carpenter on his way back from that meeting. He was (and still is) the county board delegate for the Civil Service club. He said that the majority of the delegates there just didnt understand how potentially important the vote was.

I've said that for years  but what does that mean for guy who is from Donegal or Mayo? Is he going to drive 300 miles per weekend to play?
I doubt it. I proposed a draft system. Whereby the weakest club gets the best players- which would mean amore even county championship. But as usual these things fall on deaf ears.
If I was a Dub my attitude would be that's not our problem.  I know we all want as many people involved and playing football/hurling but when it fucks up your underage system and chances of success...

cadhlancian

Quote from: yellowcard on August 03, 2009, 06:40:14 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on August 03, 2009, 06:21:00 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 03, 2009, 06:05:54 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on August 03, 2009, 05:59:04 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 03, 2009, 05:23:19 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on August 03, 2009, 05:11:13 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 03, 2009, 05:08:40 PM
That dreadful thought of another Tyrone v Kerry final is creeping in again now. Kerry going for 6 finals in a row look to be a shoe in to make the final on that display. I really am sick of them at ths stage but their class told today up front where their passing and movement was top notch. I still think they are weak up the middle of the defence against a team running at pace. McCarthy done well today even though he was put under no real pressure.

Come on Cork, please save this championship from another Tyrone Kerry final fest.

Aye cos the last Kerry v. Cork final was such a classic and all!

Never mentioned it being a classic, just fed up of the same 2 teams contesting the final. No doubt Kerry would probably do the usual crumbling when confronted with Tyrones in your face tactics. The rebels are the only chance of breaking this monopoly so I'm willing them on from here on in.

And your not fed up of Kerry being in the final year after year? They have been in the final 7 years out of last 9 and look like making in 8 out of 10.

archie, whose fault is that? i get sick of the sight of killkenny in the hurling but their brilliant at the end of the day and i dispare at times of anyone beating them because of the skill levels involved. not so much in football where the skill levels are not so different and its a huge tribute to the kerry players that they put in so much time and effort. the most important ingredient in kerry football is hunger and others counties can quickly match kerry if they match their hunger

Im not saying it Kerry's fault, they were good value for getting to all them finals and fair play to them. He quoted that he was fed up seeing Tyrone and Kerry in the final all the time, but they have only played in the final twice this decade and Tyrone have only appeared in one other final compared to Kerry's 7 finals this decade, so I cant see why he is fed up seeing Tyrone and Kerry in the final when Kerry have been there more times.

True I know they only played twice in finals but they have shared the last 6 All Irelands and I really hope we see a new face lifting Sam in September. Nothing wrong with that. Cork are best equipped to do this and the likes of Canty, Lynch, Murphy et al deserve an All Ireland.
whys that? u get what u deserve