Taking your kids out of school early

Started by Orior, May 19, 2009, 12:36:59 PM

Myles Na G.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 19, 2009, 08:52:02 PM
QuoteNow we have Ruane taking her child out of school in term time, while ordinary Joes are threatened with dire consequences if they do the same.
What consquences?
http://www.thisisscunthorpe.co.uk/barton/news/fined-taking-kids-class/article-981715-detail/article.html

One random example.

Quote from: Myles Na G. on May 19, 2009, 09:13:02 PM
QuoteNow we have Ruane taking her child out of school in term time, while ordinary Joes are threatened with dire consequences if they do the same.
What consquences?
http://www.thisisscunthorpe.co.uk/barton/news/fined-taking-kids-class/article-981715-detail/article.html

One random example.

Parents of regular absentees are given a 15 school-day penalty notice warning period if school attendance does not improve.

If their children play truant during those 15 days, the parents must pay a £50 fine within 28 days. But if that deadline is not met, the fine doubles to £100.

Prosecutions for parents could range from fines up to £2,500 to community orders and sometimes even the jailing of parents.
That's not quite what we're talking about now is it?

Nice try though  ::)

Myles Na G.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 19, 2009, 09:26:29 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on May 19, 2009, 09:13:02 PM
What consquences?

One random example.

Parents of regular absentees are given a 15 school-day penalty notice warning period if school attendance does not improve.

If their children play truant during those 15 days, the parents must pay a £50 fine within 28 days. But if that deadline is not met, the fine doubles to £100.

Prosecutions for parents could range from fines up to £2,500 to community orders and sometimes even the jailing of parents.
That's not quite what we're talking about now is it?

Nice try though  ::)

You must've missed the first three lines in your rush to select your quote from further down the article. I've copied them for you here:

'PARENTS are being urged not to take their children on holiday during term time following a rise in prosecutions as part of a crackdown on truancy and absenteeism.
Since September 2008, the council has issued 158 penalty notices to parents for taking their children out of school during term-time without special permission to do so.
In 2007, 99 parents were prosecuted and in 2006, there were 75 prosecutions.'

Nice try though.  ;)

Any eejit can see they're talking about children who are never at school. 

How long were you googling before you found that article anyway  ::)

I'm glad all you have to worry about is that someone else took their 12 year old out of school for a couple of days  ::)

Myles Na G.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 19, 2009, 09:39:24 PM
Any eejit can see they're talking about children who are never at school. 
How long were you googling before you found that article anyway  ::)

I'm glad all you have to worry about is that someone else took their 12 year old out of school for a couple of days  ::)
That might be what you're talking about - I'm talking about the 'one law for us and and one for the rest of you' attitude of so many elected representatives, Ruane being a particularly crass example. The Department of Education NI, in one of its documents, strongly recommends that parents do not remove kids from school during term time. How does that square with Ruane's actions? How does sending your own child to a grammar school square with lecturing the rest of us on the unfairness of the grammar school system? But what do you care, eh? You think it's about a 12 year old getting off school for a couple of days. Ruane thinks it's a 'private' matter. You're both wrong in a big way.

I'm just glad you've nothing else to worry about  ::)  ::)  ::)

Quote from: muppet on May 19, 2009, 09:03:52 PM
Jaysus this is a great nanny state we live in.

If I go to the pub, the one that I have to leave to have a smoke, I can't risk driving the kids to school the next morning in case I'm over the new low limit. So by not going to the school I can't get permission to keep the kids at home unless the school decides there is a good enough reason such as my death (note the family don't get to decide). But I wouldn't get the permission anyway because the State has decided not to give money (which it doesn't give anyway) for poor attendance.

Thank God Hitler and Stalin didn't win, imagine what it would have been like.
It says something that the only worry when driving your children whilst under the influence, is whether or not you're breaking the law.

Load of nonsense this story.

This morning I sent a child down a mile to the bakery to get me a sausage roll for my breakfast. 10 mins later I sent another fella out to get the Irish News and a packet of Monster Munch. He returned saying the first fella was nowhere to be seen. I then sent another fella out to look for the first fella and to buy me a suasage roll in case the first one had eaten it. Two hours later they both returned but with no sausage rolls. They'd been lifted for defacing SDLP posters and ate the sausage rolls in the police car. No one batted an eyelid.

Quote from: Maguire01 on May 19, 2009, 10:34:09 PM

If I go to the pub, the one that I have to leave to have a smoke, I can't risk driving the kids to school the next morning in case I'm over the new low limit. So by not going to the school I can't get permission to keep the kids at home unless the school decides there is a good enough reason such as my death (note the family don't get to decide). But I wouldn't get the permission anyway because the State has decided not to give money (which it doesn't give anyway) for poor attendance.

It says something that the only worry when driving your children whilst under the influence, is whether or not you're breaking the law.

It says something when you read an anonymous tongue in cheek post and decide that it is bad parenting. Gobshite.

Will someone please think of the children!

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 19, 2009, 08:22:11 PM
Irrespective of the individual involved this is an issue that actually really bugs me. We were heading back up to the North last Christmas and went to the head master to say to him that we were looking to take the young lad out 2 days early.  I get on very well with him and have been on the PTA before so like Orior I was doing the right thing in my view.  He informed me that he couldn't obviously stop me but that they were coming under increasing pressure from the Dept of Education over "holiday time" absenteeism.  He said that although it was never wriiten down there was a reading between the lines attitude whenever funding was being requested that a school with poor attendance was less likely to get its funding as requested.  I don't know if that is across the board but he said to me that he was getting the same families every Easter and June time taking their kids out for the last few days of the term to take holidays and consequently the Board of Management had to send an official letter to all parents about it.

I do not see this as a non story, I see it as a very relevant story where the Minister of Education is thumbing her nose to the establishment she is designated to represent.  It may only be 3 days for her, but it is still breaking the spirit and probably the letter of the attendance regulations.
In a nutshell  :)

Quote from: hardstation on May 19, 2009, 11:18:05 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 19, 2009, 11:05:07 PM
Load of nonsense this story.

This morning I sent a child down a mile to the bakery to get me a sausage roll for my breakfast. 10 mins later I sent another fella out to get the Irish News and a packet of Monster Munch. He returned saying the first fella was nowhere to be seen. I then sent another fella out to look for the first fella and to buy me a suasage roll in case the first one had eaten it. Two hours later they both returned but with no sausage rolls. They'd been lifted for defacing SDLP posters and ate the sausage rolls in the police car. No one batted an eyelid.
Did they name any Antrim or Celtic players?

Oh yes, must write that on my hand tonight.

Quote from: muppet on May 19, 2009, 11:06:39 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on May 19, 2009, 10:34:09 PM

It says something when you read an anonymous tongue in cheek post and decide that it is bad parenting. Gobshite.
Now now, no need to stoop to name calling!
I was merely pointing out that there's a valid reason for drink driving limits, regardless of 'nanny state' claims.

Aoise

I think Ruane was completely correct this morning when she said that as well as being a minister, she is first and foremost a mother. Her job would undoubtedly dictate for her to be away from home alot, and sometimes trying to balance work and family life is an impossible task.  So she took her daughter from school to spend time with her when she was away and maybe giving her a different experience in the process.  Have we come so far in society that we fail to see that family is becoming a bit of a non-entity when it comes to fulfilling job roles?  She cannot stop being that child's mother because she is a minister and it makes me laugh that a mother taking her child from school for three days got exactly the same coverage as the swiss family robinson spending £30000 of our money to eat out - would yis wise yourselves up and put a bit of perspective on things!!!

Also the Department does not dictate, it merely recommends that parents take their children on holiday outside school time and I've yet to hear of any repercussions taken for parents who do so!  I took my children away two years ago for two weeks in september.  My children, my responsibility and nothing said.  Gutter journalism at its best.  Irish News is getting worse, you just have to look at some of the columnists to get an idea of where their headed - "Sexy GAA player of the week", FFS, my eyes bleed on Fridays!!!

I think in the south, if your child misses 20 days or more school during the year, the school must report it and you can expect some kind of communication which may lead to an investigation.

But I dont think anyone would bat an eyelid over 3 days...