Whats the worst sporting injury you've had

Started by illdecide, February 13, 2009, 02:19:52 PM

WeeDonns

QuoteA broken wrist and am currently sitting on 8 dislocations for my shoulders. 4 on each one.
Should have had the op on it by now but refused it as I had just went two years without any bother. Then low and behold it went again last year!!

C'mon now supersarsfields, tell the lads how exactly it happen last year!! I'm pretty sure it doesn't count as a 'Sporting Accident' when it happens in your bedroom either!

I have had to pull out of training this year due to a pulled eyebrow. Very sore  :P

Broke my sternum, which actually hit my heart, was kept in Hospital for a few days observation

In case no one knows where the Sternum is 

Glad you showed that diagram. I thought it was in Scotland.

WhoAreYaWhoAreYa!

fred the red

Nipple rash was a killer in the old oneills days!!

I lost a vein in my right leg playing indoor soccer against a college team over here, cnut kicked me on the bone with 5 seconds left because we were beating them by a goal and I had the ball against the boards. My leg was twice its normal size and even now, ten years later, if I press my finger into the spot were I was kicked the indentation stays there for over a minute, quite disgusting really.

aroundincircles

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 17, 2009, 12:38:05 PM
Quote from: one for the road on February 17, 2009, 11:30:14 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 17, 2009, 11:13:04 AM
Suffered from torn hamstrings or groins every year for the last four years. Hopefully this is the year I'll get a straight run at it...

use to suffer the same until a physio recommended that i built up my core. touch wood havent had any problems since.

also broke both hands, few broken fingers and stitches in the head

Same here, have been doing exercises every morning for the last 6 months to build it up. Hopefully it stands to me later on in the summer ...

Broke my leg one time suffered greatly from hamstring injuries( back in days when these things where not even heard off) went to some old boy of a physio (who is dead now) with hamstring he asked me did i ever break my leg i said i did he then said "have your problem" when i broke my leg and was starting to walk again i was naturally putting all my weight on other side of my body which in some way knocked my spine of centre a bit and  was nipping the nerve leading to hamstring he fixed that and i never had hamstring injury again.
Moral of the story is if you break your leg or something that makes you walk with a limp for a period of time get your spine staightened again.

not so much bad injuries here but wee sh*tty niggly f*ckin sore ones none-the-less, not bad enough for me to sit out training and matches but still irritating enough for me to play on!! Presently I have:
a huge blister on my heel, the bit right where u squeeze into your football boot, about the size of a thumbprint and a good few mm deep, got it from training with a sock with a big hole in it, skin just rubbed against inside of boot and in the space of an hour burnt away the skin!Open wound ever since!Takes me about ten mins in training to be able to run properly as i usually have to hobble about for a bit and get used to it lol.

really sharp chest pains, started getting them a lock of weeks ago, at first was worried but once i found out it was just muscular i stopped caring. Its sore to sneeze and take a deep breath though! :P

staved finger, not too bad apart from when it gets the odd knock

suspsected staved/broken toe, slipped down stairs last night (whilst wearing slippers) and landed on my toes, if that makes any sense  ??? my 2nd toe broke my fall as it banged against the bottom of the banister, now looks like i've two big toes  ::)
Touch wood i get nothing serious! :P

Quotesuspsected staved/broken toe, slipped down stairs last night (whilst wearing slippers) and landed on my toes, if that makes any sense  Huh my 2nd toe broke my fall as it banged against the bottom of the banister, now looks like i've two big toes  Roll Eyes
Touch wood i get nothing serious! Tongue

Feck it I didn't realize the Ballet would be so hard on a man.... think I'll stick with the Judo :P

milltown row

about 5 years ago we were playing Rossa senior hurling, first bloody match of the year up there and i was (considering my age) flying fit.  twenty minutes into the second half me and young closey went for a ball. was clearly his ball but was not stopping. i turned to win the ball but he came charging in. i went up in the air and landed badly on my back, couldn't walk. struggled of the pitch got in my car and drove straight to hospital.

ended up that i broke a bone in my back. but as Dan turley told me later, if your going to break a bone in your back then this was the one. very lucky indeed.

Quote from: Tyrones own on April 18, 2009, 12:54:02 AM
Quotesuspsected staved/broken toe, slipped down stairs last night (whilst wearing slippers) and landed on my toes, if that makes any sense  Huh my 2nd toe broke my fall as it banged against the bottom of the banister, now looks like i've two big toes  Roll Eyes
Touch wood i get nothing serious! Tongue

Feck it I didn't realize the Ballet would be so hard on a man.... think I'll stick with the Judo :P
believe me us ballerinas get it hard yano

boojangles

Same as most people-broken thumbs and fingers,broken wrist,3 broken teeth that ripped my upper lip,Shoulder problems,torn quad muscle but thank God I never have been out for any sustained period up until this year.
A big problem nowadays is Groin problems. I am currently recovering from Ostitis Pubis and Tendonitis in the right abductor. Its all basically got to do with the groin and the hip bone and them being out of line with eachother. I have been with a few very good physios and doctors and they all say that its the most common injury at the moment caused by Bad training methods,over training and not having built up a strong Core. Im back jogging now and hopefully I should be back in the next month but Im really praying because I really dont know if the feckin thing is right. I told my manager last night that I will be grand so heres hoping.
Any body else suffer from Groin Problems in the past,I would like to know how long until your back right?

Very lucky with injuries while playing....tore ankle ligaments once and had 2 of my back teeth kicked out one day and also ended up having to have my tongue stitched back together from the same boot in the face...

Worst issue though was slipping on a patch of ice crossing the road one day which led to 4 years out of any sport with back/neck/shoulder injury which then caused 10 years of groin/hip/hamstring injuries and no-one able to fix it.....

Gaaman

Ruptured 2 of my ankle ligaments pulling a bit of bone off.  Basically the surgeon said it was the worst way to do it.  Currently awaiting my 3rd operation.  Feckin depressing