U21 Football Championship

Started by Croí na hÉireann, February 13, 2008, 03:39:38 PM

Kerry captain Killian Young raises the Cadbury's All-Ireland U21FC trophy after Kildare were beaten in the final at Thurles

Kerry Under 21's secured a 70th All-Ireland football title, across all grades for the Kingdom at Semple Stadium, Thurles tonight with goals from Mike O'Donoghue in each half the decisive scores against Kildare.

By Cóilín Duffy

Kerry 2-12
Kildare 0-11

Nothing could deny Sean Geaney's charges of their first Cadbury's Under 21 crown in a decade, following a power-packed second half, which saw Kerry firing on all cylinders.

With the inspirational Glenn Ryan as manager Kildare were certainly fired up for this clash and they led by 0-3 to 0-1 after eight minutes thanks to a brace of Eoin O'Flaherty points and a free from full-forward Alan Smith.

Following a fine catch at midfield by Alan O'Sullivan, Kerry burst up-field and with plenty of momentum behind him, full-forward Tommy Walsh slotted over a superb point between the posts.

Kerry were on fire at this stage and when Spa man O'Donoghue rounded Sean Murphy in the 14th minute he only had one thing on his mind - goal. He crashed the ball past Kildare goalkeeper Niall McConnell and ensured a lead Sean Geaney's charges wouldn't relinquish for the remainder of the hour.

Paul O'Connor, Paddy Curran and David Moran all tagged on excellent points as Kerry raced 1-5 to 0-3 clear by the 25th minute.

However Kildare finished the half strongly with three unanswered points from Mark Waters, Alan Smith and O'Flaherty to cut the gap to two points by the interval.

Both sets of players emerged fired up for the second half, but Kildare really were starting to play second fiddle and Kerry had three points on the board before Gavin Smullen sent over his side's first point of the second half in the 38th minute.

O'Connor with a brace and Moran with his second from play, got the Kingdom off the mark as they now looked like a team that were nicely set up for victory.

Smullen's score left four points between the sides but that was as good as it got for his side as O'Donoghue rifled home another goal which put daylight between the sides.

Kildare did try hard with the likes of substitutes John Fogarty, Joe Cocoman and Mark O'Sullivan getting very much in on the action, but with Kerry on fire there was no stopping the Kingdom who joined Cork on the top of the Roll of Honour with ten titles each.

After the game Kerry Captain Killian Young accepted the Clarke Cup from GAA President Elect Christy Cooney.

Kerry - T Mac an tSaoir; C O'Mahoney, M Moloney, S Enright; A O'Sullivan, K Young, G Duffy; D Moran (0-2), A O'Sullivan; K O'Leary (0-1, 1f), J Buckley (0-1), M O'Donoghue (2-0); P Curran (0-2), T Walsh (0-1), P O'Connor (0-5, 3f). Subs - K Brennan for Duffy (HT); E Hickson for O'Sullivan (53); B Looney for Buckley (57); J Doolan for Walsh (59); E O'Neill for Curran (61)

Kildare - N McConnell; C Brophy, D Brennan, S Murphy; J Browne, G White, T Byrne; M Waters (0-1), N Higgins; D Whyte, E O'Flaherty (0-4), K Kelly; S Fahey, A Smith (0-2, 2f), G Smullen (0-1). Subs - N Clinch for Brophy (25); J Fogarty for Kelly (35); J Cocoman for Whyte (42); M O'Sullivan (0-1) for Fahey (48).

Ref - Michael Duffy (Sligo)

laoisgaa

Jaysus Kerry Mike ye had to stick up my report - I come back from Thurles log in here and it's the first thing I see!!!

Just read back there - I've predicted Kildare/Kerry final from early on and Kerry to win - pity I didn't have a few quid on it!

QuoteI expect this game to go down to the wire - Kerry to shade it but after a battle hardened Kildare performance. Won't be much between them.

I don't know if that exactly sums it up but Kildare did try hard - I have to say I did get some pleasure after the game saying to the Kildare journos - now ye know how Laois felt last year - same time, same day, same venue, same provinces, same channel.

There ya go the last two Leinster teams to reach an Under 21 final and where are we for next year's league - in Division 2. Dinny do you reckon yer lads reaching the final this year will have much long term benefit?

Finally as I mentioned in that report - a 70th All-Ireland Football title for Kerry - a great achievement - presume no one else can better it

SuperDooperCooper

Well done to the u-21 on producing a well overdue under age success.
Vindicated the stance to keep the u-21 out of the squad for the league final.
Was Behind the Kerry seniors in the stand who supported the u-21 all the way, a great send off for the week's training in Portugal.
David Moran had some second half, while Brennan also made a big impression. Tommy Walsh will see championship game time this summer.
O'Leary fully deserved his MOTM tag.
PS Official attendance of 7,157 seemed a little small, I certainly though many more were there.

Tatler Jack

Quotenow ye know how Laois felt last year - same time, same day, same venue, same provinces, same channel

Yes but Laois could feel robbed last year while Kildare never really looked like winning this one. Kildare will get a few players from this squad but none of the forwards look anything exceptional and the type of player that would solve Kildares scoring problems. Interestingly Cork have already lost 2 of the best players from last years winning team - Cadogan to hurling and Shields to Aussie Rules. Laois have also lost some to Ausssie Rules. Its amazing that the Aussie rules scouts have never hard that Kerry have some handy players ::)

Great win ,powerfull second half where kerry totally dominated mid field .This team has improved with every match . What will happen in the future nobody knows but I think been involved with the senior panel has helped some players especially Kieran o Leary . 

Tatler every game has what ifs ,I thought that Kildare would have been closer to night but they seemed overawed by the occasion ,Their 2 wing forwards were taken off ,these were key players in their earlier matches

Tatler Jack

QuoteTatler every game has what ifs ,I thought that Kildare would have been closer to night but they seemed overawed by the occasion

Exactly what I said earlier
QuoteI think the occassion may have  got to Kildare

Kerry were the better team especially around the midfoeld area. I know there are what ifs in every game - just think it might have been interesting iKildare took the goal chance with about 10 mins to go. Would it have given them confidence and inspired a real go at it in the last 10 minutes or would Kerry's overall better strength have prevailed. WIll never know - anyway best team won not ifs or buts.

would disagree with the assesments of the merits of the kerry side. at least 5/6 senior players on that team, could have won by an awful lot more. kildare still producing the big,fit athletic players, although their number 11 looked a classy forward, while their number 8 looked good too. but tommy walsh,paul oc onnor, kieran o leary,david moran, mike o donoghue will surely see senior time with kerry. kildare's peak was beating a very good down side, still getting to an all-ireland u21 final has to be encouraging for them.

Onlooker

I expected Kerry to win, but did not think it would be as comfotable a victory as it was.  Maybe, Kildare did not play up to form, but Kerry had harder games against Tipperary (Munster Final) and Mayo (All Ireland Semi Final) and taking a line through Kerry you would say that both were better teams than Kildare and are at least as likely to produce a number of good Senior players.  Kildare's win over Down was an excellent one, but a heavy defeat in the Final takes a lot of the gloss off that win.  All in all, I think it was a very good Under 21 Championship.

As usual people as has become our want tend to eulogise winners and castigate losers.

Obviously very disappointed from a Kildare perspective but as cliched as it is goals win games. Those two goals, Kerrys dominance at midfiield (Moran was my motm) and Kerry's tactic of denying Kildare's half-back line any space, they were almost man-marked to a man were the winning of this game. However it has been great u/21 championship for Kildare, disappointed that the occasion got to these young men, we must have gifted Kerry half their points through poor distribution and basic errors but overall they will learn from this and I can see big futures for Smullen, Smyth, White and Brown and I think those four will feature in the championship this summer for Kildare.

Also a 7pm Saturday throw-in on a bank-holiday was reflected in the attendance,  7,500, of which I'd say 7, 000 were from Kildare, another 400 were there for the ladies football and a generous 100 were from Kerry  :o

ríochtciarraí

Was very impressed with the win on saturday. Thought it was an excellent advertisement for football with no cynical tackles etc being made. I feel this is a Kerry team containing many excellent footballers many who will go on to wear the senior jersey. O' Leary was excellent with top class distribution while Moran was imperious in the air at midfield. Also thought that Socky played well he completely nullified the threat posed by their big wing forward when he was moved back there for the second half. Stam took his goals brilliantly and I thought his all round contribution was excellent with tireless running and he displayed a great range of passing, think he set up 3 or 4 points as well. Surely it can't be too long till himself and Socky join the other lads in the senior set up or are they there already training?