Hooligism in the GAA

Started by Tankie, April 21, 2008, 02:05:24 PM

Quote from: tyssam5 on April 21, 2008, 05:28:38 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on April 21, 2008, 04:24:22 PM
I think it's time that the GAA designated the Canal/Davin Stand and other such stands (parts of stands) around the country as "family friendly" areas, i.e. no foul language or ur turfed out (and train stewards to enforce this)...

Good idea, but in order to do it you would have to have family priced tickets. That could be a problem!

Are these not currently available?  ??? I'm fairly sure they are for the championship and it's a fiver in for students for the league at the moment. Maybe the GAA could setup "family pricing" along with "family friendly areas" for the league, they made the right move with the ticket packages this year I feel... (The only problem with that was remembering de feckin ticket before u were out de drive  :-[)

Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 21, 2008, 03:07:07 PM
first saw a 'hooligan' element in a crowd when Dublin played Derry in Clones a few years ago.
Firstly there were three 'fans' went out on pitch at half time, a few Derry fans were obv unhappy with this knackery behaviur and stopped the three getting away from stewards and back out through the wire around the pitch, the Dub crowd around this area turned nasty(ier) and started throwing missiles and then a few younger (drunkish) lads all got up and started making moves towards the area where the three guys were sitting.
The cops and stewards had to go and escort the three out.
Nothing done about the scummy fans though.
Disgraceful behaviour that day and the first time I had witnessed anthing like that in clones before.

I'd not be against dublin fans (obv reasons) but that was where I saw soccer type of mentality getting into GAA. >:(

First incident I ever saw at an intercounty match was at one of the Derry v Donegal league finals in the mid-90s. A Derry fan, who must have been in his late 30s at the very least, launched a bottle from halfway up the old Hogan stand down towards the pitch. Thankfully, when the cops came up two minutes later, everyone, Derry and Donegal people alike, stood up and pointed the p***k out to the cops!

Quote from: AZOffaly on April 21, 2008, 03:24:31 PM
It's not a huge leap of imagination to picture a row breaking out somewhere, soon. If 'supporters' are now graduating from hurling abuse to hurling objects, how long until a rival supporter puts a dig in to a lad near him in the stand/terrace. And if fighting breaks out, what would you call it?

Here AZ, it's not just Hurling, it's the Football too. (I'll get my coat.)

As for all this disgraceful behaviour, lets not get carried away with ideas of segregation.  The majority of the crowd are well mannered and can police the situations themselves by simply pointing out anyone who steps out of line and turns the terraces into anything other than a family friendly environment.

gander

dont think segregation will solve anything, the problems this year weren't between fans.  If people are going to throw object onto the pitch its gonna happen no matter where they're sitting.  Any one that does that should just be arrested and banned for life from the GAA and any live sporting events.

GAA doesn't have a problem with hooliganism. Catch a grip.

cornafean

Quote from: J70 on April 21, 2008, 09:53:09 PM
First incident I ever saw at an intercounty match was at one of the Derry v Donegal league finals in the mid-90s. A Derry fan, who must have been in his late 30s at the very least, launched a bottle from halfway up the old Hogan stand down towards the pitch. Thankfully, when the cops came up two minutes later, everyone, Derry and Donegal people alike, stood up and pointed the p***k out to the cops!

What on earth motivated him to do that? Both of those finals were dull affairs, to say the least. And Derry won both.
Boycott Hadron. Support your local particle collider.

Quote from: his holiness nb on April 21, 2008, 05:37:27 PM
Quote from: thejuice on April 21, 2008, 05:19:32 PM
Am I also correct in saying that Meath fans had to be removed from the Hill for their own safety last year against Dublin.

Correct in a way Juice. Three lads walked in front of the hill at half time, stopped in the middle at the very front and starter giving the fingers to the hill and roaring abuse. The cops moved them along quickly.

The Dubs hadnt done anything to make innocent fans need to be removed. In fact the best craic on the hill last year was when the Kerry lads mixed in en masse.
That said, it was probably wise that the 3 eegits from Meath were moved on pretty quickly.

Im not saying they weren't the cause of the problem, there seems to be a fair amount of wankers in Meath jersies lately and Im not surprised

dessieisgod

There were coins thrown from the stands at a recent college's game in Nowlan Park.

Quote from: cornafean on April 22, 2008, 09:22:54 AM
Quote from: J70 on April 21, 2008, 09:53:09 PM

What on earth motivated him to do that? Both of those finals were dull affairs, to say the least. And Derry won both.

Can't remember what the incident was - I'm sure he was pissed off at the ref or one of the Donegal players!

One of the games was close, but Derry won the other ('96?) at a canter.

Lads it'll be a sad day when the GAA have to keep opposing fans apart.

For one thing when the fans are mixed people don't tend to be as vocal as if your in a group of your own fans. I think the majority of people tend to be a bit better behaved when there's a good mix of fans.
Secondly if the fans are seperated how long before the soccer chants like ole ole and booing becomes more wide spread. You'd tend to notice that this normally comes from larger groups of fans. Take the Dubs and hill 16 for example ( Not that their the only ones but it's one of the more obvious examples of were one team's fans all group together) because they tend to be located so closely they sound alot louder and unfortunately there's quite a few supporters about from all counties who will copy what others are doing just because they're in a large group. As some one else mentioned earlier it would prob create a more "us" and "them" mentality which I don't think will help the GAA in the long run at all.

What happened at the Dub Meath game would still have happened had the fans been seperated. That was one fan out of how many?

Quote from: orangeman on April 22, 2008, 09:19:40 AM
GAA doesn't have a problem with hooliganism. Catch a grip.

Well it should have a problem with hooliganism!   ;)

Quote from: dessieisgod on April 22, 2008, 01:59:23 PM
There were coins thrown from the stands at a recent college's game in Nowlan Park.

Shocking, would never happen in Cavan  ;D

Think alot of this thread is tongue in cheek and small examples. Don't think anyone would want segregation or expect it. As for hooligans in the GAA  ::) Although some County board officials would like themselves be compared to the Ultra's in Italy - power mad, above the players and the most important thing about their county/club  ;D

The first full season of inter-county football I clearly remember watching was '93 and in the Ulster Championship that year a plastic bottle and a coin were thrown at Finbarr McConnell v Armagh, so its been there for a while.

But I wouldn't get too worked up, its hardly a major problem and there's certainly no need for talk of segregation!

pm1756

Quote from: Tankie on April 21, 2008, 02:05:24 PM
After the recent events in Parnell Park where a senior Dublin player was assalted by a Meath Fan by having a boiling hot cup of tea or coffee thown at him we must ask ourselves where the association is going, a few weeks ago there was a similar incident in Mayo where the player then reacted. Sould these counties be banned to stamp this shocking behaviour out?

i think Meath should be decucted points from this league campaign as we cant have the Hooligans turning a nice day out with the family into an unfriendly atmosphere. And we cannot put players in this enviroment where they feel unsafe and play in the fear of being assalted with boiling water being thrown at them.

I'm not sure that fan hooliganism is more of a problem than having players assaulted by officials that are already on the pitch. Perhaps the team from whom that effort emanated should be docked points too in fairness?  :-\