Banning Banners and AZ's email to Croke Park

Started by Hardy, November 09, 2011, 12:08:46 PM

I did get a reply, a polite reply. (I thought I mentioned that on the board, but I might be wrong). The reply didn't necessarily ring true, and to be honest I think the lad who wrote it knew that. It was the Stadium Safety Officer that wrote back to me, but I sent it to Croke Park email address. Can't remember which one. It obviously got routed to him.

You probably did mention it and I forgot. It'd be a surprise if you got anything but a standard brush-off.

"Scaoil amach an bobailín"
Anyone remember the time a couple of lads from Galway had their banner seized by over- zealous stewards when they produced one with this message on it?
I think this happened at an AI hurling final in the late 80s.
The incident was picked up by the media and CP was contacted for a comment. The message was duly handed down from on high that the stewards in question regarded the slogan as lewd, vulgar and designed to offend public taste.
However, when someone decided to look up the Dineen dictionary, it turned out that "bobailín" means a tuft of scotch grass or rushes.
The craic was 90 for a few days until the media grew bored and let the matter drop. The two boys didn't come forward to explain their reasons for producing this banner in the first place and so the incident rests in the realm of forgotten things.

This is the reply I got. I won't include the person's name.

QuoteThank you for getting in touch with a well written email.

Any flag or banner that could cause offence or incite crowd disorder is not allowed in the ground. After that is a question of interpretation for ourselves and the gardaí.

I certainly take your point but the rationale behind refusing that banner is tied in with educating people about the dangers of pitch invasions. Unfortunately the reason the fence went up at all is that many people were determined to ignore the obvious dangers and lampoon genuine efforts by the GAA to deal with a very real safety issue.

It may seem pedantic but at least you have an explanation.

Jesus - I remember joking before about patronising the patrons but you truly have been patronised there. The condescension that drips from the compliment for a "well written email" tells you all you need to know about this fella's attitude to the great unwashed mass of his "patrons".

Yeah :) I rolled over so he could tickle my belly :D

Quote from: AZOffaly on November 10, 2011, 12:21:50 PM

That's not a pretty picture coming up to lunchtime.  ;)

Quote from: Billys Boots on November 10, 2011, 12:24:12 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on November 10, 2011, 12:21:50 PM

That's not a pretty picture coming up to lunchtime.  ;)

True. When I went back to try and widen the discussion into the whole rationale between this banner policy and the confused reasoning we were being told for banning the invasions (if you remember back then). I said...

Thank you very much for the response. As you might imagine, I still find that particular incident a little hard to comrehend, even given your explanation. I won't conduct an email fight about it, because that is obviously your prerogative as the Safety Officer in Croke Park.

I do understand, and empathise, with the difficulties you face in terms of the unruly pitch invasion scenes, but I am just not sure what the actual driver for these new measures are. I have heard various figures, including the Uachtarán, mention different issues ranging from Insurance Costs, to safety considerations of the patrons, to safety considerations of the players and officials, all the way through to potential crushes on exiting the stadium. I have even heard about the grass itself needing to be protected.

As someone who has played, although never won an All Ireland, I can understand that from a players perspective, especially on the losing side, it is important to be able to celebrate, or commiserate, in peace, and not to run the gauntlet of friend and foe as you try to scramble off the pitch.

In any case, I think it would serve the GAA better if they had a consistent message as to the rationale behind the moves to eliminate the pitch invasions, and to stick to that message all the time, no matter who is speaking. Padraic Duffy, Christy Cooney, Peter McKenna or even yourself. An inconsistent message, together with a feeling of disenfranchisement, leads to natural suspicions as to the motive. (It's all about saving the money on insurance costs!) Quite a few people were underwhelmed by the presentation last weekend, and while taste is subjective, at least if there was a constant line, even one that includes all the elements above, people would be more willing to understand, in my opinion. I certainly get the impression that we are descending into an 'us' and 'them' situation, with the leadership in Croke Park firmly in the 'them' camp. I think that is an awful shame for an association that has been such a unifying, and unified, force for over 125 years.

Again, thank you for your reply, and best of luck in maintaining Croke Park as a great place to go and watch a match. I hope the All Ireland Football Final passes off as well from your perspective as the hurling seemed to, from a distance at least.

He said

QuoteI'll take your points on board and will convey them to the relevant people when the opportunity arises.

Now that is world class patronage :)

HiMucker

AZ you can be certain that reply is a template :D.  I remember when the women caught me with "I love you too template"!

EagleLord

Down fan's 'DOWN WITH FENCES, CAREFUL NOW' banner was also taken off them that day.